iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
No single B2B marketplace platform is the best fit for every business. The first question is whether you need several independent sellers operating on one storefront, or whether you sell your own catalog to business buyers. That answer removes much of the field before price enters the picture. This guide walks through ten platforms named in Mercur’s 2026 comparison, updated October 6, 2026, explains how each one is built, and shows what the published prices do and do not tell you.
Marketplace software and B2B ecommerce are different purchases
A B2B marketplace platform runs a multi-seller marketplace. It coordinates a buyer storefront, a seller portal, operator administration, and the splitting of each order and its payment among suppliers. Purchase orders, customer contract pricing, net payment terms, and approval chains can be added to that core.
A B2B ecommerce platform is built around one seller’s catalog. Many of them offer business accounts and negotiated pricing, but they do not automatically support independent sellers. The table shows where the two categories diverge.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute| Capability | B2B marketplace platform | B2B ecommerce platform (single seller) |
|---|---|---|
| Several independent sellers on one storefront | Core function | Not included by default |
| Seller portal | Part of the model | Not included by default |
| Order splitting and payment to each supplier | Part of the model | Not included by default |
| Business accounts and negotiated pricing | Depends on the platform; verify | May be offered |
| Purchase orders, net terms, and approval chains | Depends on the platform; check whether native or added by extension | Depends on the platform |
Shopify’s 2026 B2B ecommerce overview lists fifteen platforms: Shopify, BigCommerce, Adobe Commerce, commercetools, Oracle NetSuite Commerce, Salesforce B2B Commerce, SAP Commerce Cloud, OroCommerce, Optimizely, Sana Commerce, Spryker, CS-Cart, PrestaShop, Elastic Path, and NuORDER. That list mixes ordinary B2B commerce platforms with products that can also run multi-seller marketplaces, so appearing on it does not tell you whether a product supports sellers other than the store owner. Shopify wrote the overview itself.
#1 Best Overall
- Simple shift planning via an easy drag & drop interface
- Add time-off, sick leave, break entries and holidays
- Email schedules directly to your employees
Ten options, five architectures
The ten platforms fall into five architectural groups. The group determines who hosts the software, who maintains it, and how far you can change buyer logic without the vendor.
Open source: Mercur
Mercur is open-source marketplace software that you self-host. Source-code access gives you the most room to change marketplace logic, but your team or a partner then carries hosting, upgrades, and security.
SaaS marketplace overlays: Mirakl and Marketplacer
An overlay adds the marketplace layer, meaning seller management, multi-seller order handling, and operator tools, on top of a commerce platform. The marketplace layer is licensed separately from the commerce platform underneath, so that second system is a cost and an integration task of its own.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Full-stack SaaS: VTEX
VTEX is the comparison’s only full-stack SaaS entry. One hosted platform covers the commerce stack under a single subscription or usage-based contract. You hand off most hosting and infrastructure work, and in return you accept the vendor’s platform choices and hosting model.
Self-hosted systems: Spryker, OroCommerce, Virto Commerce, CS-Cart Multi-Vendor, and Yo!Kart B2B
Spryker, OroCommerce, and Virto Commerce are offered self-hosted or as SaaS, depending on edition. CS-Cart Multi-Vendor and Yo!Kart B2B are listed as self-hosted. In a self-hosted deployment, servers, upgrades, and maintenance sit on your side of the budget and the operations calendar.
Commerce platform with marketplace extensions: Adobe Commerce
Adobe Commerce is a commerce platform first. Multi-seller operation comes from marketplace extensions added to it. The underlying license, the extensions, and the continuing work to keep those extensions working through platform updates are all separate line items.
Ten platforms side by side
Every row below comes from Mercur’s 2026 comparison, and two qualifications apply. Mercur publishes that comparison and is one of the ten entries, so treat the list as a shortlist rather than an independent ranking. The comparison also says it did not measure support quality, partner networks, or roadmap promises. Most prices are unpublished or negotiated, so the pricing column describes how each price is structured, not what you will pay.
Recommended Free Tools
| Platform | Architecture | Pricing picture reported | Sales-linked charge reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mercur | Open-source marketplace software; self-hosted | Open-source edition is free; Enterprise edition has a commercial license | No GMV fee reported |
| Mirakl | SaaS marketplace overlay | Platform license, with a separate commerce platform underneath | Share of GMV |
| Spryker | Self-hosted or SaaS by edition | Negotiated enterprise license; published example in the next section | Not stated in comparison |
| OroCommerce | Self-hosted or SaaS by edition | Tier-based license | Not stated in comparison |
| VTEX | Full-stack SaaS | Enterprise contract | Not stated in comparison |
| Marketplacer | SaaS marketplace overlay | Negotiated license plus a separate commerce platform | Not stated in comparison |
| Adobe Commerce with extensions | Commerce platform plus marketplace extensions | Commerce license plus extension costs | License tied to order volume |
| Virto Commerce | Self-hosted or SaaS by edition | Negotiated subscription or license | Not stated in comparison |
| CS-Cart Multi-Vendor | Self-hosted | Subscription or one-time license plus hosting; published examples in the next section | Not stated in comparison |
| Yo!Kart B2B | Self-hosted | One-time license plus hosting | Not stated in comparison |
What the published prices do and do not show
Two figures from the comparison
- CS-Cart Multi-Vendor: $725 per year, or $3,590 as a one-time payment, according to Mercur’s 2026 comparison. The comparison describes both as license prices with hosting on top.
- Spryker: $900,000 per 12 months, a figure the comparison attributes to AWS Marketplace. It is a single cited example, not a standard total cost, and the comparison does not present it as a full implementation cost.
The comparison reports that seven of the ten platforms have no published figure. Neither example is a quote for your deployment, so use them to gauge the order of magnitude, not to set a budget.
Costs outside the platform fee
The comparison’s central cost lesson is that the platform fee is often only one line in the total. The table lists what sits outside that fee for each architecture.
| Architecture | Cost lines the comparison names beyond the platform fee |
|---|---|
| Open source (Mercur) | No license fee in the cited open-source model; you pay for implementation, servers, and maintenance |
| SaaS marketplace overlay (Mirakl, Marketplacer) | A share of GMV where charged, a separate commerce platform, and integration and setup work |
| Full-stack SaaS (VTEX) | None named beyond the contract itself; the general costs below still apply |
| Self-hosted systems | Servers, maintenance, and upgrades, on top of the subscription or one-time license |
| Commerce platform with extensions (Adobe Commerce) | Underlying commerce license, extension costs, infrastructure, and continuing extension maintenance |
Across all architectures, budget for the following:
- Implementation and integrations with your ERP, CRM, PIM, or OMS
- Infrastructure, whether your own servers or hosting you pay for
- Ongoing maintenance and upgrades
- Exit work if you later migrate to another system
Shopify’s overview also makes total-cost-of-ownership comparisons. Those come from a study Shopify commissioned, so treat them as vendor claims rather than neutral measurements.
How to shortlist
Answer these six questions for each candidate before you compare prices. The first two decide which architectures are relevant at all.
Rank #3
- Used Book in Good Condition
- Business model. Decide whether you need a multi-seller marketplace, dropship, a single-seller B2B store, or a hybrid. A multi-seller requirement rules out single-seller ecommerce platforms.
- Cost at scale. Model the full cost using the cost lines in the previous section, at three times your current sales volume, as the comparison recommends.
- Ownership and control. Confirm who holds the source code and the data, who hosts the system, and what a migration out would involve.
- B2B workflow depth. Check contract and customer-specific pricing, bulk orders, purchase orders, quote and approval workflows, payment terms, organizational accounts, and order splitting.
- Integration and operations. Map the ERP, CRM, PIM, and OMS connections you need, plus seller onboarding, inventory and catalog synchronization, settlement, and support.
- Build versus buy. Mark each requirement as ready on day one, available through an extension, or needing custom development. The last two categories are where costs beyond the license tend to accumulate.
Starting points by situation
| Your situation | Architectures to examine first | Check before committing |
|---|---|---|
| Independent suppliers selling through your storefront, and you want a vendor to run the hosting | SaaS marketplace overlays; full-stack SaaS | Cost of the separate commerce platform under an overlay; usage-based terms under full-stack SaaS |
| Independent suppliers, and the code and data must stay on your infrastructure | Open source; self-hosted systems | Staff for hosting, upgrades, and security; your exit path |
| One seller selling to business customers with account-specific pricing and approvals | Commerce platform with extensions, or a B2B ecommerce platform without multi-seller support | Whether pricing and approval rules are native or extension-based |
Where Mirakl fits
Mirakl is listed as a SaaS marketplace overlay with a platform license and a share of GMV, running on a separate commerce platform. Its official Marketplace Platform page describes B2B use by manufacturers and distributors and states the following:
“Retailers run B2C marketplaces while manufacturers and distributors use the same platform for B2B — with native support for bulk pricing, customer-specific pricing, payment on terms, and quote management.”
Mirakl also says it supports marketplace and dropship models from one instance. These are vendor statements, not independent verification. Mirakl is a reasonable candidate when you need multi-seller operations and the B2B workflows listed above. It is not a default winner, because its GMV share and the commerce platform underneath must be priced against your own volume.
Mirakl Connect is a different product
Mirakl Connect is a separate multichannel selling service for sellers. Its official page describes connectors for Shopify, Adobe Commerce, WooCommerce, and BigCommerce, with volume-based pricing. It is relevant to seller operations on those storefronts, but it does not replace the operator marketplace platform discussed in this guide.
Market size, for context
The figures below are reported in Mercur’s 2026 comparison and attributed to the organizations named.
Quick Recap
- U.S. B2B marketplace sales were $351 billion in 2024, up 35%, according to Digital Commerce 360 as reported in Mercur’s 2026 comparison.
- About 45% of EU enterprises that sold online used a marketplace in 2024, according to Eurostat as reported in the same comparison.
- Marketplaces accounted for 1.3% of total enterprise turnover in the EU in 2024, according to Eurostat as reported in the same comparison.
- U.S. B2B ecommerce sales reached $2.93 trillion in 2025, up 13% year over year, according to Digital Commerce 360 as reported in the same comparison. This covers B2B ecommerce overall, not marketplace sales alone.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

