iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Neither game can be called universally cheaper without specifying the platform, edition, season and whether you buy premium tiers. Both Battlefield 6 and Call of Duty use recurring seasonal passes on top of a purchased game or a free-access mode. Battlefield 6 offers a 100-plus-tier Battle Pass and a €24.99 Battlefield Pro upgrade, while Call of Duty offers a free pass, a 1,100 COD Point base pass, a 2,400-point bundle and BlackCell. The bigger difference is presentation: Battlefield’s documented rewards stay centered on grounded military equipment and identity items, whereas Call of Duty’s catalog extends into reactive and Mastercraft blueprints, finishing moves, emotes and crossover operators.
Quick verdict
| Question | Battlefield 6 | Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 and Warzone |
|---|---|---|
| Is there a seasonal pass? | Yes. The current Season 5 listing has more than 100 tiers. | Yes. There is a free track and paid seasonal passes. |
| Standard paid-pass price | 1,100 in-game currency units for Season 5, according to EA’s comparison table. | 1,100 COD Points for the Base Battle Pass. |
| Premium upgrade | Battlefield Pro costs €24.99 on the listed Season 5 page and includes the season pass plus convenience features. | BlackCell adds exclusive content and other benefits; the cited support page does not state a cash price. |
| Tier skips or tokens | Battlefield Pro includes 25 tier skips. | The Battle Pass Bundle includes 20 tokens; BlackCell also includes 20 tokens. |
| Currency returned through completion | Not stated in the cited Battlefield listings. | Activision’s Season 4 announcement says premium progression can return up to 1,100 COD Points. |
| Cosmetic direction | Soldier, vehicle, weapon-package, melee and player-card customization presented around a military setting. | Operator skins, weapon blueprints, finishing moves, calling cards, emotes, collaborations and BlackCell variants. |
| Documented gameplay advantage | The premium list contains boosts, skips, rerolls and Portal hosting rather than weapon-stat upgrades. | Activision says Base Battle Pass, Battle Pass Bundle and BlackCell rewards are cosmetic and provide no gameplay advantages. |
If your priority is the most restrained military look, Battlefield 6 is the clearer fit based on the documented direction. If you want a wider range of character themes, weapon treatments and collaborations, Call of Duty offers the broader type of catalog. For price, calculate your own seasonal spending rather than assuming one game is always cheaper.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Battlefield 6 Standard -- PC EA App [Online Game Code] | $31.50 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
BATTLEFIELD 6 | PHANTOM EDITION | XBOX Series X|S Digital | $99.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Battlefield 6 - Standard Edition - EN/FR (Xbox Series X) | $39.36 | Buy on Amazon |
How Battlefield 6’s monetization works
The standard Battle Pass
EA’s current Season 5 store listing describes a Battle Pass with more than 100 tiers of unique items. It also lists six instant unlocks, a persistent Portal server and a 10% XP bonus. The pass is seasonal, so the exact inventory and any associated offer can change when a new season replaces it.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Progress comes from normal XP and weekly challenges. EA’s Battle Pass page says the next tier is reached every 10 points. Reaching a tier does not by itself grant every item: you must purchase the pass to claim rewards from tiers you have already reached. That distinction matters if you play first and decide later whether the paid track is worth buying.
#1 Best Overall
- The ultimate all-out warfare experience.
- MULTIPLAYER Victory, however you envision it. Battlefield 6 has more ways to win than ever before.
- GLOBAL SCALE CAMPAIGN Join an elite squad of Marine Raiders fighting relentlessly to save a world on the edge of collapse.
- PORTAL Battlefield Portal is a massive sandbox where creators and players can push Battlefield to the limit. Take unprecedented control of your environment by moving, scaling, and duplicating objects.
- Pre-order Battlefield 6 Standard Edition and get the Tombstone Pack*, featuring: - Gravedigger Soldier Skin - “Fallen Heroes” Player Card - “Bandolier” Weapon Charm - “Express Delivery” Weapon Sticker - “Hatchet” L110 Weapon Package - “Doomsayer” Soldier Patch - Tombstone XP Boost Set
Battlefield Pro
Battlefield Pro is the premium Battlefield 6 option listed for Season 5. EA’s comparison table shows the standard pass at 1,100 currency units and Battlefield Pro at €24.99; local taxes, currency conversion and regional pricing can change what appears in your store. The listing does not establish that the 1,100-unit price and the euro price are directly comparable in every region.
Pro includes the Season 5 Battle Pass and 25 tier skips. It also adds a 5% extra XP benefit, a vehicle radio station, special assignments, extra challenge rerolls, Portal hosting for up to 100 players, an exclusive bonus path and six instant unlocks.
The listed instant unlocks illustrate the intended mix:
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
- Soldier skins.
- A helicopter vehicle skin.
- An assault-rifle weapon package.
- A player-card background.
- An ice-climbing-axe melee skin.
- One additional instant unlock shown in the season’s Pro listing.
Those benefits combine appearance items with time-saving and hosting features. The 25 skips can move you through the track faster, XP bonuses reduce the time needed for later tiers, and challenge rerolls can make weekly objectives easier to pursue. Portal hosting is a functional server feature rather than a cosmetic item, particularly relevant if you run large private sessions.
What Battlefield players actually have to do
- Play and earn progression: complete matches, gain XP and finish weekly challenges to accumulate Battle Pass points.
- Reach a tier: EA’s page describes one new tier for each 10 points.
- Choose when to buy: if you purchase the pass after progressing, you can claim rewards from tiers already reached, but only after buying it.
- Use Pro features if purchased: tier skips, extra rerolls, assignments and Portal hosting are available in addition to the pass rewards.
The store listing does not state a Battlefield currency refund for completing the pass. Do not assume that finishing Battlefield 6’s track makes a later season free.
How Call of Duty’s monetization works
Free track, Base Battle Pass and Battle Pass Bundle
Activision documents three principal levels for Black Ops 6 and Warzone: a free Battle Pass, a Base Battle Pass for 1,100 COD Points and a Battle Pass Bundle for 2,400 COD Points. The Base Battle Pass provides access to more than 100 unlockable rewards and a 10% Battle Pass XP boost. The Bundle adds 20 Battle Pass Tokens, which let you advance through rewards without waiting for as much ordinary progression.
The free pass includes selected rewards, including free base weapons and cosmetic content in the documented seasonal catalog. Activision says the free pass does not provide tokens. You can earn Battle Pass XP across Black Ops 6, Warzone and Warzone Mobile; that progression contributes to Battle Pass Tokens, and tokens can also be purchased with COD Points.
Recommended Free Tools
BlackCell
BlackCell includes the Battle Pass, 20 tokens, 1,100 COD Points, an instant-rewards page, exclusive operator skins and exclusive weapon blueprints, plus a 10% XP boost. The support documentation cited for this comparison does not state a single universal cash price, so the amount shown in your platform store is the authoritative figure for your region and season.
BlackCell’s value is therefore not just “more levels.” It combines immediate items, an allowance of COD Points, faster progression and variants that are unavailable on the ordinary track. Whether that is worthwhile depends on whether you would have bought the Base Battle Pass and how much you value the exclusive designs.
Rank #2
- PHANTOM EDITION — Full Game Download + Battlefield Pro Token + 1 Token redeemable against the season of first play which includes Battle Pass, 25 Tier Skips, exclusive rewards, and more.
- ALL‑OUT WARFARE GAMEPLAY — Engage in massive combined‑arms battles with high‑intensity infantry combat, aerial dogfights, tanks, jets, and large combat arsenals.
- KINESTHETIC COMBAT SYSTEM — Harness precise control over movement and actions with a refined combat system built for fluid gunplay, traversal, and environmental interaction.
- MULTIPLAYER AT SCALE — Fight for victory across iconic modes like Conquest, Breakthrough, Rush, Domination, King of the Hill, Payload, and the revamped Battlefield Portal.
- TACTICAL DESTRUCTION — Turn the environment into a weapon by demolishing structures, reshaping the battlefield, and using reactive destruction systems for strategic advantage.
Tokens, seasons and automatic spending
A Call of Duty season ends when the next season begins. Any unspent Battle Pass Tokens are automatically spent on remaining rewards at the end of the season. That rule removes the option of carrying a token balance indefinitely, so save tokens only when you have a short-term plan for the current track.
Activision’s Season 4 announcement says premium progression can return up to 1,100 COD Points. “Up to” is important: the maximum depends on completing the relevant premium rewards, and the return is tied to that season’s catalog rather than a permanent promise for every future season.
What the passes contain
| Content or feature | Battlefield 6 standard pass | Battlefield Pro | Call of Duty Base Pass | Call of Duty BlackCell |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seasonal reward access | More than 100 Season 5 tiers. | Includes the Season 5 pass and an exclusive bonus path. | More than 100 unlockable rewards. | Includes the pass and BlackCell-exclusive rewards. |
| Instant progression | Six instant unlocks listed with the pass. | 25 tier skips plus six listed instant unlocks. | Not stated in the cited support summary. | 20 tokens and an instant-rewards page. |
| XP benefit | 10% XP bonus on the Season 5 listing. | Pass benefit plus 5% extra XP listed for Pro. | 10% Battle Pass XP boost. | 10% XP boost. |
| Challenge or assignment features | Not stated beyond weekly challenges used for progression. | Special assignments and extra challenge rerolls. | Not stated. | Not stated. |
| Hosting or server feature | Persistent Portal server listed with the pass. | Portal hosting for up to 100 players. | Not stated. | Not stated. |
| Currency included or returned | Not stated. | Not stated. | Not stated as an inclusion; the season announcement says premium progression can return up to 1,100 COD Points. | 1,100 COD Points included. |
Which game is cheaper after the Battle Pass?
A reliable answer needs more than the pass price. Your total seasonal cost is the game’s required entry cost, plus the number of seasons you buy, plus any premium upgrade, minus any currency you actually receive and spend later. The entry cost differs by platform and edition, and the available evidence here does not establish one current universal purchase price for either game.
Scenario: you buy only one standard pass
Battlefield 6’s Season 5 standard offer is listed at 1,100 currency units. Call of Duty’s Base Battle Pass is 1,100 COD Points. Those figures look similar numerically, but they are different currencies and may have different real-money bundles in your store. Compare the smallest amount of currency you must purchase, not just the number printed on the pass.
Scenario: you want faster progression
Battlefield Pro costs more than the standard pass on the cited European listing, but it includes 25 tier skips, XP benefits, rerolls, assignments and Portal hosting. Call of Duty’s 2,400-point Battle Pass Bundle supplies 20 tokens, while BlackCell also supplies 20 tokens and adds exclusive content plus 1,100 COD Points. These are not equivalent packages: Battlefield’s premium offer emphasizes progression and a private-server feature, while BlackCell emphasizes exclusive catalog items and currency.
Scenario: you complete the Call of Duty pass
The documented Call of Duty season can return up to 1,100 COD Points through premium progression, which may offset the Base Battle Pass in a later purchase if you complete the qualifying rewards and spend the returned currency carefully. That is a completion-dependent possibility, not an automatic discount. Battlefield’s cited listings do not promise a comparable currency return.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallScenario: you skip seasons
Do not annualize either pass unless you know how often you will play. Buying every season multiplies a modest individual charge into a recurring expense. If you play only occasionally, a free track may deliver most of the practical value, while a premium purchase made near the end of a season may be poor value unless you have already reached enough tiers to claim the rewards you want.
Battlefield 6 versus Call of Duty cosmetic style
Battlefield’s grounded military presentation
Battlefield’s documented rewards focus on soldier skins, vehicle skins, weapon packages, melee items and player-card customization. The game’s technical director, Christian Buhl, described the intended direction as: “We want to be a gritty, realistic shooter.” That statement is a design aim, not a guarantee that every seasonal item will look identical, but it explains why the catalog is organized around military equipment and battlefield identity.
For a player who wants a restrained loadout, the practical test is whether a reward changes the silhouette or theme of the soldier, vehicle or weapon more than the player is comfortable with. Battlefield Pro’s listed helicopter skin, rifle package and ice-climbing-axe melee skin show that even the grounded catalog can include unusual equipment choices, but the documented set remains tied to the game’s military framing.
Rank #3
- Battlefield 6 Standard Edition (disc) for XBOX Series X contains the full game
- All-out war, fast-paced close-quarters combat, tactical destruction - Welcome to the definitive Battlefield experience
- THE NEW STANDARD OF FPS COMBAT: With overhauled gunplay and tactical movement, from crouch sprint to drag and revive, every shot and movement is more instinctual and precise
- MORE WAYS TO BATTLE: Victory, however you envision it; Seize glory in iconic, large-scale modes including Conquest, Breakthrough, and Rush; Fight in iconic locations all over the world including Cairo, Brooklyn, Gibraltar and more
- ICONIC ALL-OUT WARFARE: Wage all-out war with infantry and vehicle combat, class-based squad play, and cutting edge audiovisual immersion; Where fighter jets, tanks, skydiving RPGS, heavy artillery, and high-intensity infantry combat become one
Call of Duty’s wider seasonal catalog
Call of Duty’s official Season 4 announcement describes more than 100 rewards in the season and more than 130 item rewards for a fully completed BlackCell track. Its categories include operator skins, reactive and Mastercraft weapon blueprints, calling cards, finishing moves, emotes and collaborations. The announcement also names a collaboration with Ballerina.
That breadth gives Call of Duty a different cosmetic rhythm. A blueprint can alter the visual treatment of a weapon, a finishing move changes the presentation of an elimination, and an operator or collaboration can move well beyond conventional military styling. BlackCell-exclusive variants provide another layer for players who want their premium purchase to be visibly distinct.
Can anyone prove one game has more cosmetics?
No. The available figures describe particular seasons and tracks, not the lifetime inventory of either game. Battlefield’s “100+” figure, Call of Duty’s “more than 100” seasonal rewards and the “more than 130” completed BlackCell item count are measured differently. Seasonal catalogs also change. They support a comparison of categories and tone, not a universal claim that one game has more cosmetics overall.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Are either game’s passes pay-to-win?
Call of Duty’s stated position
Activision explicitly states that “Base Battle Pass, Battle Pass Bundle or BlackCell rewards are cosmetic and do not provide any gameplay advantages.” On that documented basis, the paid Call of Duty tracks do not sell stronger guns, higher damage, extra health or map access as Battle Pass rewards.
What Battlefield Pro changes
Battlefield Pro’s listed advantages are different from weapon power. Tier skips and XP bonuses reduce the time needed to reach rewards; challenge rerolls and special assignments alter how you pursue progression; Portal hosting expands private-session functionality. The cited premium list does not identify weapon-stat upgrades or paid map access. Those features can matter to a player’s time and group experience, so they should be counted as convenience or functionality rather than dismissed as purely cosmetic, but they are not described as combat-stat advantages.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsHow to interpret “not pay-to-win”
- Cosmetic: changes appearance, animation, card art or presentation without changing combat capability.
- Progression convenience: XP boosts, tier skips and tokens shorten the route to rewards.
- Social or hosting functionality: Portal hosting can affect what private group sessions you can run.
- Gameplay power: stronger statistics, exclusive competitive equipment or locked maps. The cited pass descriptions do not list these.
This distinction is useful even when a game is not selling direct power. A player who values a level playing field may be comfortable with skins but still dislike paying to reduce grind or unlock hosting capacity.
Which pass should you buy?
Choose the Battlefield 6 standard pass if
- You want military-themed soldier, vehicle and weapon customization.
- You expect to complete enough of the season to claim rewards rather than buying at the last minute.
- You do not need tier skips, challenge rerolls or large Portal hosting.
- You accept that the cited Battlefield listings do not promise currency back.
Choose Battlefield Pro if
- You regularly play Battlefield 6 throughout the season.
- Twenty-five tier skips and XP benefits are worth more to you than the standard pass alone.
- You run private Portal sessions and can use hosting for up to 100 players.
- You want the exclusive bonus path and the listed instant unlocks.
Choose the Call of Duty Base Battle Pass if
- You want access to the premium catalog without buying BlackCell exclusives.
- You will play across Black Ops 6, Warzone or Warzone Mobile, allowing shared Battle Pass XP to contribute to progression.
- You are prepared to finish enough of the season to pursue the possible COD Point return.
Choose the Battle Pass Bundle if
- You value 20 tokens more than the lower initial price of the Base Pass.
- You want to front-load progression but do not need BlackCell operator and blueprint variants.
Choose BlackCell if
- Exclusive operator skins, weapon blueprints and an instant-rewards page are central to your purchase.
- You would use the included 1,100 COD Points.
- You want 20 tokens and the 10% XP boost in the same package.
- You understand that the season’s item count and offer can change.
How to check the live offer before spending
- Open the in-game store for your platform and region. Record the displayed currency price, tax treatment and season number.
- Read the reward preview. Confirm whether the items you want are on the free, standard or premium track.
- Separate visual items from convenience features. Count skins and blueprints separately from XP boosts, skips, rerolls, tokens and hosting.
- Check the season deadline. For Call of Duty, the pass expires when the next season starts and unused tokens are automatically spent.
- Estimate completion honestly. A pass has less value if your normal play schedule will not reach the rewards you want.
- Compare the currency return only after reading the conditions. Call of Duty’s stated maximum is up to 1,100 COD Points through premium progression; Battlefield’s cited pages do not state a refund.
Bottom line
Battlefield 6 and Call of Duty use the same broad business model—seasonal passes layered over a full game or free-access mode—but they target different reasons to spend. Battlefield 6’s standard Season 5 pass has more than 100 tiers, while Battlefield Pro adds 25 skips, XP and challenge conveniences, Portal hosting and a military-themed bonus package. Call of Duty offers more clearly separated price tiers: a free pass, a 1,100-point Base Pass, a 2,400-point Bundle and BlackCell with tokens, COD Points and exclusive operator and weapon cosmetics.
For grounded military customization, Battlefield 6 is the better match on the evidence available. For a catalog built around operators, elaborate blueprints, finishing moves, emotes and collaborations, Call of Duty is the broader choice. Neither title should be labeled simply “cheaper” without your platform, season, completion rate and preferred premium tier; calculate those variables before buying.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

