Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

If you only draft in 2D, AutoCAD LT covers most of that work. If you need 3D modeling, automation through APIs or add-on apps, or Autodesk’s specialized industry toolsets, the full AutoCAD subscription is the product to compare. The headline’s “deal” is the part the official pages do not confirm: what can be verified is the product difference and Autodesk’s listed prices. On Autodesk’s official pages as of October 8, 2026, we could not identify a specific AutoCAD discount with a stated amount, eligibility rules, or end date.

What AutoCAD is

Autodesk describes AutoCAD as “computer-aided design (CAD) software that is used for precise 2D and 3D drafting, design, and modeling with solids, surfaces, mesh objects, documentation features, and more.” The product page names architects, engineers, designers, students, project managers, real estate developers, and construction professionals among its users. In practice, that means the same program handles floor plans and detailed 2D drawings as well as solid and surface 3D models, with tables, drawing comparison, and object counting for documentation.

What the full AutoCAD subscription includes

According to Autodesk’s FAQ, the full subscription includes AutoCAD for Windows and Mac, AutoCAD Web, and seven specialized toolsets. The product overview adds the following capabilities:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • 2D geometry and 3D models in one drawing environment
  • Task automation with AutoLISP and APIs
  • Customizable workspaces and add-on apps
  • Desktop, web, and mobile access to DWG files for collaboration

The specialized toolsets

The seven toolsets are industry-specific add-ons within the full subscription. The set changes between releases, so confirm the current list on Autodesk’s product page before you buy. Autodesk’s page also reports an average 63% productivity gain for the specialized toolsets, based on studies it commissioned from an outside consultant. The page does not state the study year, so treat that figure as a vendor-reported claim rather than an independently dated benchmark.

AutoCAD vs. AutoCAD LT

AutoCAD LT is a separate subscription focused on 2D drafting, drawing, and documentation. Autodesk says the full product includes everything in LT and adds 3D modeling, automation, APIs, add-on apps, and the specialized toolsets. The table below sets out the differences the official material supports.

Capability Full AutoCAD AutoCAD LT
2D drafting, drawing, and documentation Included Included (core focus)
3D modeling with solids, surfaces, and mesh objects Included Not included
Automation, AutoLISP, and APIs Included Not included
Add-on apps Included Not included
Specialized industry toolsets Seven included Not included
Web and mobile access to DWG files AutoCAD Web and mobile access included Not stated in the Autodesk material reviewed
U.S. listed price (one user) From $2,095/year, billed annually Not stated in the Autodesk material reviewed

Because LT’s price and web/mobile details are not stated in the sources reviewed, compare LT’s price on Autodesk’s regional store before deciding.

Current listed prices

Autodesk’s U.S. FAQ lists the following prices for one user. Autodesk states that pricing depends on subscription term and region, and it directs buyers to the local Autodesk site for the most accurate figures. These are list prices, not evidence of a discount.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Subscription option (U.S., one user) Listed price What it works out to
Annual, paid annually $2,095 per year $2,095 per year
Three-year term, paid annually $6,285 Equal to three annual payments at $2,095
Monthly $260 per month About $3,120 over 12 months at this rate

On these listed figures, paying monthly costs more over a year than the annual plan, so the monthly option makes sense mainly if you need software for only a few months.

Trials, education access, and promotions

The Autodesk Store has sections for free trials, educational access, and offers and promotions. The official pages we reviewed did not state the amount, qualifying customers, redemption method, or expiry date for any AutoCAD-specific offer. If a promotion appears at checkout, read its terms before you rely on it.

How to check the price before you buy

  1. Open Autodesk’s official site for your country or region rather than a third-party listing.
  2. Go to the AutoCAD subscription page and choose the product, either AutoCAD or AutoCAD LT.
  3. Select the term you want, annual, three-year, or monthly, and confirm the currency and region shown.
  4. Compare the price against the list figures above, noting that regional prices differ.
  5. At checkout, read any discount line, eligibility note, or expiry date. If none appears, the price shown is the standard listed price for that region and term.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which subscription fits your work

  • Choose AutoCAD LT if your work is limited to 2D drawings, documentation, and no 3D modeling, automation, or industry toolsets.
  • Choose full AutoCAD if you need 3D solids, surfaces, or mesh modeling, AutoLISP or API automation, add-on apps, or any of the specialized toolsets.
  • Consider a multi-year term only if you are certain you will use the software for the full term. The three-year listed price equals three annual payments, so the saving comes from avoiding the monthly rate, not from a discount.
  • Check regional pricing first if you are outside the United States, since Autodesk says prices vary by region.

Before purchasing, confirm the current feature list on Autodesk’s product page and the price on your regional store, since both change over time.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.