Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Amazon has announced two new kids’ tablets: the Amazon Kids Tablet 8 with an 8.7-inch screen and the Amazon Kids Tablet 11 with an 11-inch screen. Each size comes in versions for children aged 3+ and 6+. The US starting prices are $229.99 for the 8 and $329.99 for the 11, with shipping announced for October 14, 2026 in the United States, Mexico, Canada and Japan, and October 19 for several European markets. All of these details come from Amazon’s October 8, 2026 announcement. This article reports what Amazon says about the devices. It does not reflect independent testing.

The two models at a glance

The two tablets differ mainly in screen size and in the features Amazon highlights for each. The table below lists only what Amazon’s announcement states. Where the announcement is silent, the cell says so rather than guessing.

Detail Amazon Kids Tablet 8 Amazon Kids Tablet 11
Screen size 8.7 inches 11 inches
Age versions 3+ and 6+ 3+ and 6+
Display “Vivid” display (resolution not stated) 2.5K display
Storage 64 GB Not stated
Memory (RAM) Not stated 8 GB
Video playback Up to 14 hours (Amazon’s figure) Not stated
Stylus support Not stated Supported; whether a stylus is included is not stated
US starting price $229.99 $329.99

Source for every cell: Amazon’s October 8, 2026 announcement. Battery and memory figures are manufacturer claims, and the announcement does not say how they were measured.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which age version fits a 3-year-old or a 6-year-old

Amazon sells each size in a 3+ version and a 6+ version. The announcement distinguishes the two mainly by case style, so the age label matters for the protective case as well as the software positioning.

#1 Best Overall
Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids tablet (newest model), ages 3-7. With bright 8" HD screen. Includes ad-free and exclusive content, parental controls and 13-hr battery, 32GB, Blue
  • SAVE UP TO $100 — Bundle includes a full-featured tablet (not a toy) for kids ages 3-7, a 1-year Amazon Kids+ subscription, and a kid-proof case, versus items purchased separately.
  • 2 YEAR WORRY-FREE GUARANTEE INCLUDED - If the tablet breaks, return it and we’ll replace it for free. Screen made with strengthened aluminosilicate glass and every Fire Kids tablet comes with a sturdy Kid-Proof Case designed to protect against drops and bumps.
  • AMAZON KIDS+ INCLUDED - Includes 1 year of Amazon Kids+, an award-winning digital subscription offering thousands of ad-free books, interactive games, videos, and apps. Kids can explore content from trusted brands like Disney, Nickelodeon, and PBS Kids including educational STEM activities, language learning, and entertainment they love - all in one place. After 1 year, your subscription will automatically renew every month starting at $7.99/month plus applicable tax. You may cancel any time by visiting the Amazon Kids Parent Dashboard or contacting Customer Service.
  • EASY-TO-USE PARENTAL CONTROLS - Remotely review child activity to learn more about what your child is enjoying, set time limits, or prioritize books and learning apps before entertainment.
  • RESPONSIVE WITH LONG BATTERY LIFE - Features 8" HD display, 3GB RAM (50% more than 2022 release), 32GB, up to 1 TB of expandable storage (sold separately). All-day battery life - Up to 13 hours of enjoying books, shows, and listening to music.
  • Age 3+: Amazon says this version ships with a soft bumper case, designed for younger children.
  • Age 6+: Amazon says this version ships with a slim hard case, designed for older children.

The announcement does not spell out other hardware or software differences between the 3+ and 6+ versions of the same size. If you are choosing between sizes rather than ages, the screen size and the 11-inch model’s stylus support are the main differences Amazon describes.

Included items and Kids+

Each tablet includes a kid-proof case and one year of Amazon Kids+. Amazon describes Kids+ as a curated selection of apps, videos, games and books, and says the subscription also works on other compatible Amazon devices.

Rank #2
Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Pro tablet (newest model), ages 6-12. Bright 8" HD screen, includes ad-free content, parental controls, 13-hr battery, slim case for older kids, 64GB, Hello Teal
  • SAVE UP TO $100: Get a full-feature tablet (not a toy) made for big kids ages 6–12, 1-year subscription Amazon Kids+ and a slim Kid-Friendly Case, versus items purchased separately.
  • 2 YEAR WORRY-FREE GUARANTEE INCLUDED: If it breaks, return it and we’ll replace it for free for 2 years.
  • AMAZON KIDS+ INCLUDED - Includes 1-year of Amazon Kids+, a digital subscription that provides unlimited access to ad-free, age-appropriate books, videos, apps and games that kids love to play, create and learn. After 1 year, your subscription will automatically renew every month starting at just $7.99/month plus applicable tax. You may cancel any time by visiting the Amazon Kids Parent Dashboard or contacting Customer Service.
  • EASY-TO-USE PARENTAL CONTROLS - Remotely review child activity to learn more about what your child is enjoying, approve (or deny) purchase and download requests, manage content, and more.
  • FAST WITH LONG LASTING BATTERY - Features all-day up to 13-hour battery life, powerful hexa-core processor, with up to 4 GB RAM (2X more than 2022 release), 64 GB of internal storage for content, and up to 1 TB of expandable storage (sold separately) for even more. It’s great for downloading games, videos, books, and music for their on-the-go educational entertainment.

After the included year, Amazon’s announcement lists recurring US prices of $7.99 per month for Prime members and $8.99 per month for non-Prime customers. These are time-sensitive US figures from the announcement. Check the current Kids+ terms on Amazon before you rely on them, especially if you plan to keep the subscription after the first year.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Android, Google Play and parental controls

The tablets run Android. Amazon says parents can manage Google Play app access through Parent Dashboard, which the announcement describes as allowing remote management of screen time, content filters and activity monitoring. Amazon’s announcement states: “Every download goes through parental approval, so kids get more room to explore and parents stay in control.” Attribute that line to Amazon’s official announcement, which carries no named individual author.

Rank #3
Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids tablet (newest model), ages 3-7 | 4GB memory, Includes ad-free and exclusive content, parental controls and 13-hr battery, 64GB, Blue
  • SAVE UP TO $100 — Bundle includes a full-featured tablet (not a toy) for kids ages 3-7, a 1-year Amazon Kids+ subscription, and a kid-proof case, versus items purchased separately.
  • 2 YEAR WORRY-FREE GUARANTEE INCLUDED - If the tablet breaks, return it and we’ll replace it for free. Screen made with strengthened aluminosilicate glass and every Fire Kids tablet comes with a sturdy Kid-Proof Case designed to protect against drops and bumps.
  • AMAZON KIDS+ INCLUDED - Includes 1 year of Amazon Kids+, an award-winning digital subscription offering thousands of ad-free books, interactive games, videos, and apps. Kids can explore content from trusted brands like Disney, Nickelodeon, and PBS Kids including educational STEM activities, language learning, and entertainment they love - all in one place. After 1 year, your subscription will automatically renew every month starting at $7.99/month plus applicable tax. You may cancel any time by visiting the Amazon Kids Parent Dashboard or contacting Customer Service.
  • EASY-TO-USE PARENTAL CONTROLS - Remotely review child activity to learn more about what your child is enjoying, set time limits, or prioritize books and learning apps before entertainment.
  • FAST AND RESPONSIVE WITH LONG BATTERY LIFE - Features 8" HD display, 4 GB RAM (2X more than 2022 release), 64GB storage, up to 1 TB of expandable storage, plus a powerful hexa-core processor. All-day battery life—up to 13 hours of enjoying books, games, shows, and listening to music.

Amazon’s Japanese release, which is headlined as the first Amazon tablets to support the Google Play Store, says guardians can individually select and manage apps through parental controls. These are the controls Amazon says it provides. They are not independent evidence that any particular app is suitable or that the controls block everything a child might reach.

Prices and availability by market

United States

Amazon announced preorders on October 8, 2026, with shipping on October 14. Amazon said US customers can buy directly from Amazon.com, and that select retail partners include Best Buy and Target. The $229.99 and $329.99 figures are starting prices announced by Amazon. Stock and the price shown on a given listing can differ from the launch figure, so confirm both at checkout.

Rank #4
Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids Pro tablet, ages 6-12. Bright 8" HD screen, includes ad-free content, parental controls, 13-hr battery, slim case for older kids, 64GB, Hello Teal, (2024 release)
  • SAVE UP TO $70: Get a full-feature tablet (not a toy) made for big kids ages 6–12, 6-month subscription Amazon Kids+ and a slim Kid-Friendly Case, versus items purchased separately.
  • 2 YEAR WORRY-FREE GUARANTEE INCLUDED: If it breaks, return it and we’ll replace it for free for 2 years.
  • AMAZON KIDS+ INCLUDED - Includes 6-months of Amazon Kids+, a digital subscription that provides unlimited access to ad-free, age-appropriate books, videos, apps and games that kids love to play, create and learn. After 6-months, your subscription will automatically renew every month starting at just $7.99/month plus applicable tax. You may cancel any time by visiting the Amazon Kids Parent Dashboard or contacting Customer Service.
  • EASY-TO-USE PARENTAL CONTROLS - Remotely review child activity to learn more about what your child is enjoying, approve (or deny) purchase and download requests, manage content, and more.
  • FAST WITH LONG LASTING BATTERY - Features all-day up to 13-hour battery life, powerful hexa-core processor, with up to 4 GB RAM (2X more than 2022 release), 64 GB of internal storage for content, and up to 1 TB of expandable storage (sold separately) for even more. It’s great for downloading games, videos, books, and music for their on-the-go educational entertainment.

Japan

Amazon Japan’s release says local preorders opened October 8, with shipping planned from October 14. It lists these prices, which are market-specific launch prices and not conversions of the US figures:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Model Standard version Character edition
Amazon Kids Tablet 8 (8.7-inch) ¥39,980 ¥41,980
Amazon Kids Tablet 11 (11-inch) ¥54,980 ¥56,980

The Japanese release names a Japan-only Chiikawa design for the 6+ versions and includes Paw Patrol designs among the Japanese configurations. It does not say which design goes with which size.

Best Value
Amazon Fire HD 8 Kids tablet, ages 3-7 | 4GB memory, includes ad-free and exclusive content, parental controls and 13-hr battery, 64GB, Blue, (2024 release)
  • SAVE UP TO $70 — Bundle includes a full-featured tablet (not a toy) for kids ages 3-7, includes 6 months of Amazon Kids+ subscription, and a kid-proof case, versus items purchased separately.
  • 2 YEAR WORRY-FREE GUARANTEE INCLUDED - If the tablet breaks, return it and we’ll replace it for free. Screen made with strengthened aluminosilicate glass and every Fire Kids tablet comes with a sturdy Kid-Proof Case designed to protect against drops and bumps.
  • AMAZON KIDS+ INCLUDED - Includes 1 year of Amazon Kids+, an award-winning digital subscription offering thousands of ad-free books, interactive games, videos, and apps. Kids can explore content from trusted brands like Disney, Nickelodeon, and PBS Kids including educational STEM activities, language learning, and entertainment they love - all in one place. After 1 year, your subscription will automatically renew every month starting at $7.99/month plus applicable tax. You may cancel any time by visiting the Amazon Kids Parent Dashboard or contacting Customer Service.
  • EASY-TO-USE PARENTAL CONTROLS - Remotely review child activity to learn more about what your child is enjoying, set time limits, or prioritize books and learning apps before entertainment.
  • FAST AND RESPONSIVE WITH LONG BATTERY LIFE - Features 8" HD display, 4 GB RAM (2X more than 2022 release), 64GB storage, up to 1 TB of expandable storage, plus a powerful hexa-core processor. All-day battery life—up to 13 hours of enjoying books, games, shows, and listening to music.

UK and Europe

Amazon’s US announcement lists October 19, 2026 as the shipping date for the UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain. The announcement does not give European prices in the material available for this article, so check your local Amazon store for the price and the configuration on sale.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

The stylus question

Amazon says the 11-inch model supports a stylus. The announcement does not say whether a stylus comes in the box, and it does not name a compatible stylus. Do not assume a stylus is included or buy one on the basis of this announcement alone. Check the product listing for the 11-inch model, or ask Amazon, before purchasing an accessory.

What the announcement does not establish

  • Performance and durability: The specifications are Amazon’s own. No independent testing of battery life, speed or build quality is reported.
  • Child-safety outcomes: The parental controls are described by Amazon. Their effectiveness has not been independently assessed.
  • Long-term software support: The announcement does not describe how long the devices will receive updates.
  • Replacement cases: The included case is the only case the announcement describes. It does not identify third-party cases that fit the new dimensions.

Product pages and the official Amazon Amazon kids devices buying guide describe Amazon’s earlier Fire Kids and Fire Kids Pro lines. The new Kids Tablet 8 and Kids Tablet 11 are separate product names, so check which line a listing belongs to before comparing it with an older device.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Amazon’s companion announcement for its Alexa Tablets, dated the same day, is here. It is a separate product family and is not part of the Kids Tablet announcement described above.

“

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.