Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: A “Wiggy” is a solenoid-style voltage tester, not a precision meter. A spring-loaded solenoid moves a pointer as voltage creates a magnetic field, giving a rugged, battery-free indication of voltage presence. The available evidence does not establish one universally best Wiggy or prove that any model is available everywhere in 2026. Choose by voltage range, AC frequency, indication method, continuity function, lead construction, duty limits, and the current manual for the exact model.

The term is used loosely in catalogs and retail listings. Traditional instruments use the solenoid mechanism; newer electronic testers may provide lights or an LCD but are not the same device. The distinctions below help you select the right tester without treating an old catalog claim or a retailer description as a current performance ranking.

What is a Wiggy voltage tester?

Southwire’s FAQ defines a “wiggy” as a solenoid voltmeter that uses a spring-loaded solenoid and pointer to indicate voltage. When voltage is applied, current produces a magnetic field. A higher voltage produces a stronger pull, moving the solenoid against its spring and shifting the pointer on a marked scale. The result is a direct, mechanical indication rather than a numerical digital readout.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That mechanism explains both the appeal and the limits. A solenoid tester can operate without batteries and gives a visible movement that many electricians find easy to interpret. Southwire also cautions that solenoid voltmeters are not precision instruments. Treat the scale as an indication of the circuit’s voltage range, not as a calibrated substitute for a multimeter.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The name is sometimes applied to products that add lamps, vibration, or electronic displays. Before buying, check the mechanism and the manufacturer’s manual rather than relying on the word “Wiggy” in a listing title.

What a Wiggy is designed to do

Seattle City Light’s equipment standard describes a 120–600 V spring-loaded solenoid tester called a Wiggy. Its stated application is detecting the presence or absence of voltage before circuit work. That is an application description for a utility standard, not a blanket approval for every electrical environment.

Traditional Wiggies are therefore best understood as rugged go/no-go or approximate-voltage indicators for circuits within their marked range. They are not automatically suitable for low-voltage electronics, frequency-sensitive systems, or precision troubleshooting. The exact model’s range, frequency limit, category marking, and instructions control.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the tester does not establish

  • A pointer movement does not provide the resolution of a digital multimeter.
  • A model marked for AC and DC is not necessarily approved for every frequency or waveform.
  • A zero indication is meaningful only when the instrument has passed its functional check and is used according to its instructions.
  • A retailer’s “Wiggy” label does not prove that the product uses a solenoid mechanism.

How the solenoid mechanism compares with electronic testers

Southwire distinguishes traditional solenoid voltmeters from its newer electronic voltage testers. The solenoid design uses magnetic movement and a pointer. Electronic designs measure AC and DC voltage using electronic circuitry and communicate the result through lamps, an LCD, or another display.

Southwire identifies the 41161N and 41171N as electronic testers that share features and functions, with LEDs on the 41161N and an LCD on the 41171N. They are useful comparison points for indication style, but they should not be presented as traditional Wiggies. Whether an electronic tester supplies continuity indication, what voltage range it accepts, and what safety ratings apply must be verified in that model’s current documentation.

Choosing between movement, lights, vibration, and a display

  • Moving solenoid and pointer: Gives a mechanical response and approximate scale reading; battery-free on models that use only the solenoid circuit.
  • LED or neon lamps: Provides discrete visual states that can be easier to see in a cramped panel, but the meaning of each lamp depends on the model.
  • Vibration: Adds a tactile response. The IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 listing describes visual and vibration indication.
  • LCD: Presents a numerical or segmented indication, as on the Southwire 41171N comparison model, but remains an electronic tester rather than a solenoid Wiggy.

Documented models and specifications

The table lists only specifications stated in the cited product or utility documents. Dates matter: the Klein catalog sheet carries a 2006 footer, the Square D bulletin is dated January 2001 and archived, and the IDEAL figures come from a retailer listing accessed in 2026. None of these sources establishes a current price, inventory position, or overall performance winner.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Product or reference Voltage and frequency stated Indication and functions stated Other documented details Source qualification
Klein 69115 120–600 V AC at 50/60 Hz; 120–600 V DC Large voltage scale; DC polarity indication Battery-free operation; protective probe sleeves; replacement lead and polarity-cap parts named Klein catalog sheet with 2006 footer; verify current documentation and listing
IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 5–600 V AC/DC identification Continuity testing; visual and vibration indication; LED/neon lamps Described as a solenoid tester and labeled “Wiggy” in the retailer listing Platt Electric Supply retailer description accessed in 2026; not an independent test
Square D WIGGY 6610 VT1 and VT1S 120–600 V AC/DC; AC use limited to 50/60 Hz Instruction bulletin describes voltage testing Intermittent duty; maximum 15 seconds on a circuit and 1:16 on/off ratio in the bulletin Archived Schneider Electric/Square D bulletin dated January 2001; confirm the current manual
Seattle City Light specified Wiggy Standard describes a 120–600 V device Use specified for detecting presence or absence of voltage before circuit work At 600 V, the standard says 10 seconds of operation followed by five minutes off for cooling Seattle City Light 2019 material standard; applies to that specified device
Southwire 41161N Not stated in the cited FAQ excerpt Electronic tester with LEDs Presented by Southwire as a newer electronic design, not a traditional solenoid Wiggy Southwire FAQ comparison
Southwire 41171N Not stated in the cited FAQ excerpt Electronic tester with an LCD Presented by Southwire as a newer electronic design, not a traditional solenoid Wiggy Southwire FAQ comparison

How to choose a Wiggy or comparable tester

1. Match the voltage range to the circuits you will test

A tester must cover the lowest and highest voltages in the intended work. The Klein 69115 documentation specifies 120–600 V for both AC and DC. The IDEAL listing starts at 5 V and extends to 600 V for AC/DC identification. Do not infer that a 120–600 V model can safely identify a 5 V control circuit, or that a 5–600 V listing carries the same duty limits as a traditional 120–600 V solenoid design.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

2. Confirm AC frequency limits

Both the Klein catalog specification and the Square D bulletin limit the stated AC use to 50/60 Hz. If your system is driven by a variable-frequency drive, inverter, aircraft supply, or another non-mains waveform, a 50/60 Hz marking is not evidence of suitability. Look for an explicit rating in the current manual.

3. Decide whether DC polarity matters

The Klein 69115 catalog sheet specifically lists DC polarity indication. That feature can help identify which lead is positive on a DC circuit. If polarity information is important, verify how the model displays it and whether replacement polarity-cap parts remain available.

4. Decide whether continuity testing is required

The IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 retailer listing includes continuity testing. A traditional solenoid voltage indication and a continuity function are different capabilities; one does not imply the other. Confirm the continuity range, indication method, and whether the function requires a battery or another power source before treating it as part of your workflow.

5. Inspect leads, sleeves, and replaceable parts

Probe insulation and lead flexibility are safety-critical. The Klein catalog names protective probe sleeves and replacement leads and a polarity-indicating cap. Confirm exact compatibility before ordering parts. The archived Square D bulletin warns that leads can fracture after repeated use and flexing, and it directs users to replace a lead when looseness or intermittent response appears.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

6. Read the exact model’s duty instructions

Solenoid coils can heat during a test. The documented time limits are not universal: the Square D bulletin says no more than 15 seconds on a circuit with a 1:16 on/off ratio, while the Seattle City Light standard specifies 10 seconds at 600 V followed by five minutes off for cooling. Use the limit printed for your exact tester, not the most convenient figure from another model.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

7. Verify current documentation and market status

The Klein 69115 sheet is dated 2006, and the Square D instruction is an archived 2001 bulletin. They remain useful for understanding those models’ documented features, but they do not confirm that the products, replacement parts, approvals, or instructions are unchanged today. Ask the manufacturer or an authorized electrical supplier for the current manual and exact-market listing.

Safe operating procedure

The following sequence reflects the known-live-circuit warnings in the Klein documentation and the archived Square D bulletin. It is a practical checklist, not a replacement for the current instructions supplied with your tester.

  1. Identify the exact model. Read its voltage range, AC frequency limit, category or environmental markings, and duty-cycle instructions before connecting it.
  2. Inspect the instrument. Look for cracked housing, damaged insulation, loose probe sleeves, bent probes, frayed leads, or intermittent connections. Remove damaged leads from service.
  3. Test on a known live circuit. The Square D bulletin’s January 2001 warning is explicit: “Test on known live circuit before use.” Klein’s catalog sheet gives the same type of warning. Use a source that is known to be energized and within the tester’s rating, then confirm the expected response.
  4. Apply the probes using the model’s prescribed technique. Keep fingers behind guards and avoid contacting conductive metal. Do not exceed the marked voltage or frequency limits.
  5. Observe every indication. Note pointer movement, polarity, lamps, vibration, or display behavior as applicable. A weak, erratic, or unexpected response is a reason to stop and investigate, not to continue testing.
  6. Respect contact time. If your manual specifies a 15-second maximum, do not exceed it. If it specifies a 10-second test at 600 V followed by five minutes off, follow that longer cooling interval. Never combine limits from different models.
  7. Recheck the tester after the circuit test. Return to the known live source and confirm that the instrument still responds. This catches damage or a failed indication that occurred during use.

Understanding intermittent-duty limits

Unlike a digital meter designed for extended connection, a solenoid tester may draw substantial current while its coil is energized. That is why manufacturer instructions specify short contact periods and cooling intervals. The Square D bulletin’s 15-second maximum and 1:16 on/off ratio apply to the 6610 VT1 and VT1S instructions dated January 2001. The Seattle City Light standard’s 10-second-at-600-V and five-minute-off instruction applies to the device specified in its 2019 standard.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

These figures are model-specific operating rules, not a general recommendation that every Wiggy may be held on a circuit for 15 seconds. If the current manual is missing, obtain it before using the tester on high voltage.

Lead care and failure symptoms

Repeated flexing can fracture a lead internally even when its outer insulation looks intact. The archived Square D guidance recommends regular checks and replacement when looseness or intermittent response is found. Add a lead inspection to the start and end of each work session.

  • Visible damage: Cracks, cuts, flattened insulation, exposed conductor, or a loose probe sleeve require removal from service.
  • Intermittent indication: A response that changes when the lead is moved can indicate a broken conductor or connection.
  • Loose fittings: Movement at the probe, strain relief, or instrument body is a replacement signal.
  • Unexpected polarity or lamp behavior: Stop testing and verify the leads and tester on the known live circuit before proceeding.

Use only replacement leads and caps identified for the exact model. A physically compatible part is not automatically electrically or mechanically approved.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Common buying mistakes

Assuming “Wiggy” means precision

Southwire’s statement that solenoid voltmeters are not precision instruments is the key limitation. If you need a precise voltage reading, frequency measurement, resistance, or other multimeter function, select equipment documented for that task rather than relying on pointer position.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Treating a retailer description as a certification

The IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 specifications above come from a retailer listing. The listing is useful for its stated 5–600 V AC/DC identification, continuity, visual/vibration indication, and LED/neon lamps, but it does not establish comparative superiority, independent test results, or current certification. Verify the manufacturer’s documentation.

Mixing instructions from different models

Combining the Square D 15-second rule with the Seattle five-minute cooling interval can create a procedure that matches neither device. Keep the model number beside the manual and follow that document.

Ignoring the age of catalog information

A 2006 catalog sheet can accurately describe a historical model while saying nothing about present inventory or a current safety listing. Confirm that the model number, accessories, approvals, and instructions are still current in your market.

Choosing by the highest advertised voltage alone

Two testers may both reach 600 V yet differ in low-end range, frequency limit, indication, continuity capability, lead construction, and duty cycle. Voltage maximum is only one selection criterion.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Decision guide by work requirement

You need a battery-free presence check on 120–600 V circuits

Look for a genuine solenoid model whose current documentation states 120–600 V AC/DC and the applicable AC frequency. The Klein 69115 catalog is an example of that specification, but its 2006 documentation must be checked against current availability and instructions.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

You need a lower-voltage start point and continuity indication

The IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 listing states 5–600 V AC/DC identification and continuity testing, along with visual and vibration indications. Confirm the current manufacturer manual, power requirements for continuity, and safety ratings before purchase.

You prefer an electronic display

Consider an electronic tester rather than a traditional Wiggy. Southwire’s comparison identifies the 41161N with LEDs and the 41171N with an LCD. Their exact ranges, functions, and safety limits are not established by the cited FAQ excerpt, so obtain the current model documentation.

You work on nonstandard frequencies

Do not assume a 50/60 Hz AC rating covers variable-frequency or inverter outputs. Select a tester whose current specification explicitly includes the frequency and waveform you encounter.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What “best” can legitimately mean

There is no documented side-by-side test in the available material that ranks these products for accuracy, durability, response speed, or safety. “Best” must therefore be defined by your task. A sensible shortlist records the following for each exact model:

  • AC and DC voltage range, including the lowest detectable voltage.
  • Permitted AC frequency and any waveform restrictions.
  • Solenoid, lamp, vibration, LCD, or combined indication.
  • Polarity indication and continuity function, if required.
  • Probe guards, lead construction, replacement-part support, and inspection requirements.
  • Maximum contact time, required cooling interval, and on/off ratio.
  • Current manufacturer manual, approvals, and market availability.

This approach produces a defensible choice without turning a dated catalog or retailer listing into an unsupported overall winner.

Availability and documentation in 2026

“Available everywhere nowadays” is not established by the cited material. Retail inventory and regional approvals change, and the Klein and Square D documents are old. Before ordering, verify the exact model number, seller authorization, delivery region, replacement-lead availability, and the date or revision of the manual. If a listing omits the manual or gives only a generic “Wiggy” label, treat that as a reason to request more information rather than as proof of equivalence.

For utility, industrial, or regulated work, confirm that the tester’s current marking and instructions meet your employer’s and jurisdiction’s requirements. A product’s historical approval notation in a catalog is not a substitute for checking the present listing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bottom line for buyers

A Wiggy is a solenoid voltage tester valued for straightforward, battery-free indication, but it is not a precision instrument and its operating limits are model-specific. The documented Klein 69115 example covers 120–600 V AC/DC with 50/60 Hz AC and DC polarity indication; the IDEAL Vol-Con 61-076 listing adds a 5–600 V range, continuity, visual/vibration indication, and LED/neon lamps; electronic Southwire models illustrate a different LED or LCD approach. None is proven “best” by the available evidence. Buy only after matching the exact range, frequency, indication, continuity needs, lead condition, duty cycle, and current manual to your work.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.