iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Before buying a Metroidvania on PS5, check the actual game description rather than relying on the genre label. The two currently documented examples here take different approaches: Hollow Knight: Silksong highlights discovering a new kingdom, gaining powers, fighting enemies, and solving mysteries, while Afterimage specifies a large nonlinear map, character builds, equipment, quests, multiple endings, and abilities that open new routes.
Neither listing supplies an objective difficulty rating, so you should not assume one is easier. Confirm the current platform edition, accessibility panel, upgrade terms and regional price on the live PlayStation Store page immediately before purchase.
What the Metroidvania label tells you—and what it does not
“Metroidvania” is a broad description, not a standard specification. Most games associated with it combine side-scrolling or top-down exploration, areas that are initially inaccessible, permanent abilities that open new paths, and backtracking through an interconnected world. Beyond those ideas, games can differ substantially in map size, combat speed, build complexity, boss design, story structure, art direction and accessibility.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Use the label as a starting point, then verify the features that matter to you in the individual store listing. A game can be marketed as a Metroidvania without offering the same amount of map interconnection, build depth or challenge as another title. The PlayStation descriptions for Hollow Knight: Silksong and Afterimage are specific enough to compare their stated priorities, but not enough to assign an objective difficulty ranking.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
PS5 comparison at a glance
| Factor | Hollow Knight: Silksong | Afterimage |
|---|---|---|
| Listed platform | PS4 and PS5 | PS4 and PS5 |
| US price in the checked listing | $19.99 | $24.99 |
| Store-described structure | Explore a new kingdom, gain powers, fight foes, use weapons and traps, and uncover mysteries | Nonlinear levels in a vast interconnected world; abilities open areas and shortcuts |
| Additional systems named in the listing | New powers, combat, weapons, traps and mysteries | Character builds, equipment, quests and multiple endings |
| Scale claims in the listing | Not stated in the inspected listing | More than 50 NPCs, over 170 enemy varieties, 30 boss encounters and more than 200 equipment items |
| Accessibility information available | Basic controller remapping; can be played without motion controls, vibration or adaptive-trigger effects | Not confirmed from the inspected listing excerpt; check the current accessibility panel |
| Ownership or upgrade note | PS5 version is listed; store terms include online-account language | PS4 owners can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the listed conditions |
Prices and availability are snapshots from the US PlayStation Store pages, not permanent recommendations. Check the current listing in your country before paying: Hollow Knight: Silksong and Afterimage PS4 & PS5.
Compare exploration and progression first
Silksong: powers, routes and mysteries
The PlayStation Store listing describes Silksong as an adventure through a new kingdom with new powers, combat, weapons, traps and mysteries. That wording points to ability-gated exploration: progression is expected to come from discovering powers and using them to reach places or solve situations that were previously unavailable.
The listing does not provide a map size, number of regions, number of bosses or a completion-time estimate. Do not infer those figures from the genre label or from another game in the series. If your buying decision depends on a very large world, extensive post-game content or a particular map system, inspect the current store description, screenshots and any official feature details rather than assuming they are present.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Afterimage: an explicitly interconnected, nonlinear world
Afterimage gives more concrete structural information in its PlayStation listing. It calls the world vast, interconnected and nonlinear, and says that abilities unlock new areas and shortcuts. That is the clearest match here for players who prioritize free-form route planning and revisiting earlier locations with new traversal options.
The same listing names more than 50 NPCs, over 170 enemy varieties, 30 boss encounters, more than 200 equipment items, quests and multiple endings. These are publisher and store claims, not independent measurements. They indicate a broad content and build system, but they do not tell you how evenly the content is distributed, how difficult the bosses are or how much optional exploration is required.
Questions to ask about any candidate
- Are new abilities used mainly for movement, combat, puzzles, or all three?
- Does the description promise a genuinely interconnected map, or only separate stages with occasional backtracking?
- Are shortcuts, fast travel, map markers or objective guidance mentioned?
- Is progression ability-based, equipment-based, level-based, or a mixture?
- Does the game advertise multiple endings or meaningful quest choices?
- Can you return to earlier zones freely, and does revisiting them reveal new routes?
- Does the store page explain whether optional areas and bosses are part of the main path?
How much content do the listings actually promise?
Store copy can help you compare scope, but numbers should be read as advertised targets rather than guarantees about your personal playtime. Afterimage is the only one of these two pages that supplies counts: more than 50 non-player characters, over 170 enemy varieties, 30 boss encounters and more than 200 equipment items. Those figures suggest a game built around variety and experimentation. They do not establish how many of those encounters are mandatory, whether equipment is meaningfully different, or how much repetition appears during a playthrough.
Silksong’s page uses qualitative language instead, focusing on a new kingdom, powers, weapons, traps and mysteries. That can appeal to a buyer who wants discovery without needing a long list of systems, but the page does not establish total regions, boss count, map dimensions, completion time or endgame activities. Treat the absence of a number as missing information, not as evidence of a smaller game.
If length is a deciding factor, write down the exact claim you need answered—main-story hours, optional content, repeatable activities or multiple endings—and look for a current source that addresses that specific point. A price difference of five dollars does not prove one game offers more hours or better value.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Do not buy based on an assumed difficulty ranking
Both store descriptions mention combat and enemies, but neither provides an objective difficulty scale. They also do not establish how demanding the platforming is, how often checkpoints appear, whether bosses have selectable modes or how much grinding is expected. Consequently, it is not supported to call either game definitively easier or harder.
Instead, match the available evidence to your tolerance for challenge:
- Want combat and discovery to be central? Both listings emphasize fighting and exploration; Silksong additionally names weapons and traps.
- Want build experimentation? Afterimage explicitly lists character builds, equipment and more than 200 equipment items.
- Want a large amount of named enemy and boss content? Only Afterimage supplies numerical claims—over 170 enemy varieties and 30 boss encounters—and those figures come from its listing.
- Need a forgiving experience? Neither inspected listing proves that. Look for a current difficulty selector, assist options, checkpoint details or independent reviews before purchasing.
- Dislike repeated backtracking? Check whether the description mentions shortcuts, fast travel or map tools. Afterimage explicitly mentions shortcuts; no equivalent detail is stated on the Silksong page.
- Prefer a low-system game? Silksong’s listing names fewer separate systems, while Afterimage advertises builds, equipment, quests and multiple endings. That is a difference in listed features, not a judgment about complexity in practice.
Art style: verify what you actually want to see
Afterimage is explicitly described as a hand-drawn 2D action adventure. That gives you a concrete visual expectation without requiring assumptions about resolution or animation quality.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The Silksong listing emphasizes its setting, powers, weapons, traps and mysteries rather than using a technical art-style label. If your decision depends on avoiding pixel art, preferring hand-drawn animation or choosing a particular camera presentation, examine the current screenshots and trailer on the official store page. Community searches include questions such as “Any good Metroidvanias on PS5 that are NOT pixel art?”, but those search snippets are examples of reader language, not evidence that a specific game meets that preference.
Also inspect screenshots for practical issues: small text, bright effects, dense backgrounds, color-coded hazards and interface elements that may be hard to read from your seating distance. Images can clarify presentation, but they cannot confirm accessibility options or performance behavior, so use the dedicated accessibility panel for those questions.
Accessibility checks before you buy
What is confirmed for Silksong
PlayStation’s accessibility panel for Hollow Knight: Silksong lists basic controller remapping. It also says the game can be played without motion controls, controller vibration and adaptive-trigger effects. These are useful if you need to avoid motion input, haptic feedback or trigger resistance, or if you need to move functions to different buttons.
“Basic” remapping does not establish that every action can be assigned independently, nor does it confirm text-size controls, color options, audio sliders, hold-versus-toggle settings or assistive combat features. Review the live panel for the exact current details. If you share a console, remember that console-level controller assignments and game-level settings can interact differently; confirm which behavior you need before starting a long save.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →What remains unconfirmed for Afterimage
The inspected Afterimage listing excerpt does not confirm accessibility features. That is not proof that options are absent; it means you should open the current PlayStation Store accessibility section and, if necessary, consult the developer’s documentation before purchase. Pay particular attention to remapping, subtitle presentation, contrast, screen effects, vibration controls and any options that affect timing-sensitive combat.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Do not substitute another title’s accessibility list for Afterimage’s. Store panels can change, and a feature may be available on one platform but not another. Save a screenshot or note of the panel if a specific option is essential to your purchase decision.
Platform, edition and ownership details
Both games are listed for PS4 and PS5
The checked store pages list both Silksong and Afterimage for PS4 and PS5. Select the exact version shown on your console’s store page: a PS4 entitlement, a PS5 entitlement and a bundle can have different download and upgrade behavior.
Afterimage’s PS4-to-PS5 entitlement
The Afterimage listing says PS4 owners can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the stated terms. If you own the PS4 disc, you must keep that disc inserted to download or play the PS5 version. A PS5 Digital Edition cannot use the disc-based route because it has no disc drive. Digital PS4 ownership follows the account entitlement shown by the current store page. Verify the live terms for your edition before deleting a disc, selling a copy or changing consoles.
Before purchasing a second copy, sign in to the account that owns the PS4 version and check whether the PS5 download button appears. If you are buying used media, ask which region issued the disc and whether the seller is including the original disc; the upgrade condition depends on possession of that disc. Do not assume that a PS4 entitlement automatically includes every bonus edition or downloadable add-on.
Silksong account and offline information
The checked Silksong page identifies it as a one-player game with offline play enabled and lists a September 4, 2025 release date. Store terms include online-account language, so confirm the sign-in requirement presented to your account when you purchase or download. Offline play availability does not necessarily mean every account, license or first-launch requirement is identical in every region.
Price, region and physical-copy cautions
At the time the US listings were checked, Silksong was shown at $19.99 and Afterimage at $24.99. Those are store snapshots. Prices can change, sales can end, taxes can be added at checkout and other territories can use different currencies or price tiers. Do not treat the difference as a permanent value ranking.
Compare like with like: a standard digital edition, deluxe bundle and physical package may include different content. Check whether a sale price is tied to PlayStation Plus, a specific account or a limited date. If a discount expires during checkout, the final amount shown by your console is the amount that matters.
The documented evidence confirms official digital-store listings. It does not verify current retail stock, a boxed PS5 edition or the contents of any physical package. If you prefer a disc, confirm that a physical release exists for the exact platform and region before assuming the digital listing has a disc equivalent. A physical PS4 disc also has different usefulness depending on whether your PS5 has a disc drive.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
A practical PS5 buying checklist
- Open the live regional store page. Confirm the title, platform icons, edition name and current price in your own account region.
- Read the feature description. Note whether the game promises interconnected exploration, ability-gated shortcuts, builds, quests, multiple endings or only general action-adventure language.
- Inspect screenshots and video. Use them to verify camera perspective, visual style, interface density and effects that may affect readability.
- Open the accessibility panel. Check remapping, motion and vibration controls, subtitles, contrast and other options relevant to your needs. Do not transfer another game’s settings to a title whose panel you have not checked.
- Check ownership terms. If you own a PS4 copy, verify whether the PS5 version is included, whether a disc must remain inserted and whether the offer excludes a PS5 Digital Edition.
- Check account and offline wording. Silksong is listed for offline play but also includes online-account language in its store terms; read the wording shown to your account.
- Decide how much uncertainty you accept. If difficulty, map size or completion time is essential, wait for evidence that specifically addresses that point; a genre label and store blurb cannot answer it.
- Recheck at checkout. Confirm the final currency, tax, discount expiration and download size shown by your console or regional store.
How the two documented choices fit different buyers
Choose Silksong when the listing’s emphasis matches your priorities
Silksong is the more natural candidate if you want a focused promise of discovering a new setting, gaining powers, fighting with weapons and dealing with traps and mysteries. Its confirmed accessibility options may also matter if basic remapping or the ability to disable motion, vibration and adaptive triggers is important. The listing does not establish its total map size, difficulty or build depth, so those should not be assumed.
Choose Afterimage when systems and explicit scale claims matter more
Afterimage is the better fit for a buyer attracted to a stated vast interconnected world, nonlinear routes, ability-unlocked shortcuts, character builds, equipment, quests and multiple endings. Its listing also supplies the only numerical content claims in this comparison: more than 50 NPCs, over 170 enemy varieties, 30 bosses and more than 200 equipment items. Treat those as publisher/store claims rather than independently verified counts, and inspect its accessibility panel before buying if you need specific controls.
For newcomers to the genre
A newcomer should prioritize clear progression tools and comfort options over a supposed “best” Metroidvania ranking. Read how the game explains abilities, routes and objectives, then check whether the control and accessibility settings fit your needs. Because neither listing establishes difficulty, a first-time player should seek current, game-specific difficulty information rather than assuming that one title is beginner-friendly from its price, art style or platform.
If you are choosing between these two with no prior genre experience, decide which unknown matters less. Silksong leaves more questions about scale and systems, while Afterimage leaves accessibility details unconfirmed in the inspected excerpt. That framing lets you identify what to verify instead of turning incomplete store copy into a confident ranking.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What can—and cannot—be concluded about Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown
The official PlayStation search result for Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown points to a PlayStation Store game page and notes that playing the PS4 version on PS5 may omit some PS4 features: PlayStation UK game page. The page timed out when checked, so its present price, complete feature list, demo availability and edition options are not established here. Treat it as a separate candidate to verify on the live store page, not as a basis for ranking the two documented listings above.
Common buying mistakes to avoid
- Assuming every Metroidvania has the same map. Confirm whether the listing says interconnected, nonlinear, staged or simply exploratory.
- Using price as a difficulty signal. A lower or higher price does not prove a game is easier, longer or more accessible.
- Confusing publisher counts with independent testing. Numbers for enemies, bosses, NPCs and equipment describe what the listing claims, not how varied or memorable each item feels.
- Ignoring the exact edition. PS4, PS5, bundle and disc entitlements can behave differently, especially on a PS5 Digital Edition.
- Assuming a feature is universal. Motion settings, remapping, subtitles and vibration controls must be checked on the title’s own current panel.
- Buying a physical copy without checking the platform. Official digital availability does not prove that a boxed PS5 release exists in your territory.
- Treating a timed-out or incomplete page as confirmation. For any candidate whose store page does not load fully, wait until price, edition and feature details are visible in the live listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are both Hollow Knight: Silksong and Afterimage available on PS5?
Yes. The checked PlayStation Store pages list both games for PS4 and PS5. Confirm the platform icons and edition on your regional page before purchasing.
Which game is easier for a newcomer?
Neither listing provides an objective difficulty rating. Do not call one easier based only on price, art style or genre reputation; look for current game-specific difficulty and checkpoint information.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsWhich game has the larger world?
Afterimage explicitly advertises a vast, interconnected, nonlinear world and abilities that open areas and shortcuts. Silksong’s listing describes a new kingdom but does not state map size, so a definitive scale comparison is not supported.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Does Afterimage include a free PS5 upgrade?
Its listing says PS4 owners can obtain the PS5 digital version at no extra cost under the stated conditions. PS4 disc owners must keep the disc inserted, and a PS5 Digital Edition cannot use that disc route.
What accessibility options are confirmed for Silksong?
PlayStation lists basic controller remapping and play without motion controls, controller vibration or adaptive-trigger effects. It does not, from the cited panel, confirm every other accessibility feature.
Does Afterimage have accessibility options?
The listing excerpt checked here does not confirm them. Open the current PlayStation accessibility panel or the developer’s documentation before buying if a specific option is necessary.
Recommended Free Tools
Are the listed prices permanent?
No. The checked US prices were $19.99 for Silksong and $24.99 for Afterimage, but sales, taxes, currencies and regional pricing can change.
Are physical PS5 copies confirmed?
No. The documented pages confirm official digital listings, not current retail stock or a boxed PS5 edition. Verify a physical release separately for your region and exact platform.
Is Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown a confirmed alternative in this comparison?
It is a separate candidate to check. A PlayStation search result notes that PS5 play of the PS4 version may omit some PS4 features, but the full page did not load, so its current price, features, demo and edition options are not established here.
The Bottom Line
Choose from the features the live listing actually confirms: Silksong emphasizes a new kingdom, powers, weapons, traps and mysteries, while Afterimage emphasizes nonlinear interconnected exploration, builds, equipment, quests, multiple endings and larger advertised content counts. Verify accessibility, edition, upgrade terms and your regional checkout price, and do not assume either game is easier without stronger evidence.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteQuick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

