Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

People First Bank’s Home Contents Plus is contents insurance issued by Insurance Australia Limited under the CGU brand and distributed by People First Bank. For renters, its advertised advantages include accidental damage and electric motor burnout cover, plus up to two years of temporary accommodation. Whether those benefits apply to a particular renter’s claim—and on what terms—depends on the current policy documents and the customer’s certificate, selected options and excess.

What People First Bank Contents Plus covers

Contents insurance is intended to protect belongings such as furniture, jewellery, televisions, laptops, carpets and curtains—not the building a renter does not own. People First Bank lists cover for a range of event categories, including fire, flood or rainwater run-off, storm, theft, escape of water or liquid, accidental breakage of glass, impact, lightning, earthquake and liability. A category on the summary page does not mean every item or circumstance is covered; the applicable Product Disclosure Statement (PDS), any Supplementary PDS and the certificate set the actual terms, limits and exclusions.

People First Bank says Contents Plus automatically includes accidental damage at home and electric motor burnout. Its comparison with Contents Standard also advertises higher limits on some inclusions, including food spoilage. These are headline product features, not a substitute for checking how the policy defines a covered loss.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How Plus differs from Standard

Feature Contents Plus Contents Standard
Temporary accommodation Advertised by People First Bank as up to two years; eligibility, calculation and conditions depend on the policy wording. Advertised by People First Bank as up to 12 months; eligibility, calculation and conditions depend on the policy wording.
Accidental damage at home Advertised as automatically included. Not stated as automatically included on the bank’s comparison page.
Electric motor burnout Advertised as automatically included. Not stated as automatically included on the bank’s comparison page.
Food spoilage maximum People First Bank lists a maximum payment of $2,000, subject to policy circumstances and terms. People First Bank lists a maximum payment of $500, subject to policy circumstances and terms.

People First Bank says food spoilage has no excess, but the circumstances and wording still matter. Check the current PDS and certificate for the applicable limits and claim requirements before relying on any of these figures.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What renters should check about temporary accommodation

The bank advertises temporary accommodation for Contents Plus, but its summary describes living in “your home” and does not clearly establish how the benefit works for every tenant. A separate CGU-branded summary from Bank First discusses reasonable extra rent costs for tenants with contents insurance, but that is another distributor’s summary—not the controlling wording for a People First Bank policy. Do not assume the tenant benefit, duration, payment cap, approval process or treatment of other accommodation is the same.

Before buying or making a claim, check the current People First Bank PDS and your certificate for whether renters qualify, what counts as additional rent or accommodation cost, how long payments can continue, any cap or approval requirement, and whether other accommodation support affects payment.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Portable belongings, valuables and headline limits

People First Bank lists portable contents away from home and valuable contents inside the home as optional cover. Its summary advertises portable cover for loss, theft and accidental damage, up to $10,000 per item unless an item is separately listed. That headline limit is subject to the policy’s item definitions, exclusions and geographic terms; check the current wording, particularly for items outside Australia or New Zealand.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The bank’s summary identifies limitations involving scratches and dents, items being cleaned or repaired, and specified sporting, fishing, drone, musical-instrument and firearm use. Confirm the exact scope and wording of these limitations in the policy version that applies to you. For valuable items, check whether they need to be separately listed, whether an optional cover selection is required, and what evidence or valuation the insurer requires.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Is Contents Plus worth considering as a renter?

It may be worth considering if you want the features People First Bank advertises—especially accidental damage and motor burnout included as standard in Plus, or the longer headline temporary-accommodation period—provided the cover and premium suit your circumstances. The available product information does not establish a quote price or support a claim that Plus is cheaper or better than other policies. Compare the premium and selected excess against the belongings and benefits you actually need, using the policy documents rather than headline features alone.

  • Estimate the replacement value of all belongings, not just the most expensive items. People First Bank links to a contents calculator to help estimate the amount of cover.
  • Check whether jewellery, electronics and other valuables need to be listed or covered through an optional selection.
  • Decide whether belongings need protection away from home, and confirm the relevant item limits and geography.
  • Read the selected excess, any unoccupied-home conditions and the policy schedule on your certificate.
  • Confirm the tenant-specific temporary-accommodation terms in the current PDS and certificate.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Who issues the policy, and where to check documents

People First Bank says it distributes the insurance under its own Australian financial services licence and an agreement with Insurance Australia Limited, which issues the policy under the CGU brand. The bank says cover is subject to CGU underwriting rules and acceptance guidelines; excesses and exclusion periods may apply. Start with People First Bank’s contents insurance page and its home insurance information for current product information and policy documents. Check the PDS, any Supplementary PDS and your certificate for the version, options and limits that apply to your cover.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

People First Bank’s pages state that online claims are available for policies first purchased after 16 June 2025 or renewed after 9 August 2025; online policy-management functions also depend on purchase or renewal dates. Check the current eligibility details on the bank’s site. CGU’s claims team is listed as available 24/7 on 13 24 80.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.