Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

World of Warcraft: Forever is Blizzard’s officially announced World of Warcraft game, not a fan-made release. The confusion comes from independent projects with similar names: wowforever.info is a fan information site, while ForeverWoW describes itself as an unaffiliated fan server. They are separate from Blizzard’s game and do not provide its official access.

What World of Warcraft: Forever is

Blizzard describes World of Warcraft: Forever as a new permanent home alongside modern World of Warcraft and World of Warcraft Classic. It is intended to preserve the recognizable foundations of Azeroth while giving players a separate progression path, stories and updates.

The announced setting sits after the events of Warcraft III: Reforged – Forsaken Kingdom and before Molten Core. Players return to the original continents and progress toward level 60. Blizzard’s description emphasizes a familiar world with new experiences rather than a replacement for the modern game or Classic realms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That makes “fan-made project” an inaccurate description of the official title. Fan-made guides and servers using “Forever” in their names exist, but their content, accounts, clients, rules and schedules are not Blizzard’s official game systems.

#1 Best Overall
World of Warcraft - PC/Mac
  • World of Warcraft Game
  • Includes Expansion Packs: The Burnings Crusade, Wrath of the Lich King, Cataclysm, and Mists of Pandaria
  • 30 days of free game time included
  • Includes levels 1 through 90
  • Subscription, Internet connection, and Battle.net registration required

Blizzard’s announced game at a glance

Detail What Blizzard has announced
Operator Blizzard Entertainment
Position in the franchise A new permanent home alongside modern and Classic World of Warcraft
Story placement After Warcraft III: Reforged – Forsaken Kingdom and before Molten Core
World The original continents of Azeroth
Progression cap Level 60
Content direction New stories, experiences and updates built around the original-world setting
Announced launch November 4, 2026, at 3:00 p.m. Pacific time, globally
Base access Included with a World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time
Optional purchases Skyborne Heroic Pack, Skyborne Epic Pack, a limited-time Warcraft Forever Collection and a physical Collector’s Edition

The launch time, beta timing, edition contents and retail availability are time-sensitive. Check Blizzard’s current announcement and Battle.net information before making a purchase, especially if the date has passed or the product page has changed.

How the announced setting and progression work

A return to the original continents

Forever takes place on the original continents rather than introducing an entirely separate planet or replacing the current game’s geography. The setting is designed to make the world itself central to play, with travel, exploration and community activity forming part of the experience.

A level-60 journey

The announced progression target is level 60. Blizzard has not described every class, specialization, item system, raid schedule or endgame rule in the material available here, so those details should not be inferred from the level cap alone. A level-60 cap does not, by itself, confirm that every historical Classic feature will return unchanged.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For players deciding whether to start at launch, the level cap is best understood as the length of the initial journey, not a promise about how quickly characters will reach it. Blizzard has not stated experience rates, rested-experience rules, catch-up systems, profession caps or whether later updates will raise the cap. Guides that present those details as settled are going beyond the official announcement.

New content in a familiar era

Blizzard says the game will add new stories, experiences and updates while returning players to the original continents. That combination matters: Forever is not presented as a static museum version of early World of Warcraft, nor as a private server reproducing a particular patch. It is an official Blizzard project with its own planned content within a recognizable setting.

The phrase “permanent home” also distinguishes the project from a temporary event realm. It signals an enduring place in the World of Warcraft lineup, alongside the modern game and Classic, although Blizzard has not published a complete long-term roadmap. Players should therefore separate the announced direction from assumptions about expansion cadence, seasonal resets or future level increases.

Launch date, subscription and game-time requirements

Blizzard’s announcement gives a global launch date of November 4, 2026, at 3:00 p.m. Pacific time. Access to the base game is included with a World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time. In practical terms, a player should have an active qualifying subscription or game-time balance on the Battle.net account used to play.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The announcement does not say that an optional upgrade pack is required. The subscription or game-time requirement and the paid upgrade editions are separate purchasing paths:

  • Base access: World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time.
  • Optional upgrades: Skyborne Heroic Pack or Skyborne Epic Pack for additional items and benefits.
  • Limited collection: Warcraft Forever Collection, which also includes Warcraft III: Reforged and the Forsaken Kingdom campaign.
  • Physical product: Collector’s Edition sold through the Blizzard Gear Store while supplies last.

No regional subscription price, Game Time price, tax treatment or currency conversion is established in the announcement summarized here. Those amounts can differ by country and can change, so do not treat a third-party price screenshot as a permanent cost. The safest comparison is to check the Battle.net checkout total for the account’s region.

Because launch and retail terms can change, confirm the current Battle.net purchase screen and Blizzard announcement rather than relying on an old social post, fan-page summary or reseller listing.

What the optional editions include

Edition or product Announced benefits Is it required for the game?
Skyborne Heroic Pack Listed by Blizzard as an optional upgrade edition; the announcement identifies the pack but does not establish every individual item in the supplied information. No. Base access uses a subscription or Game Time.
Skyborne Epic Pack Beta access beginning September 17, 30 days of Game Time starting November 4, plus cosmetics and other extras. No. The beta and extras are upgrade benefits, not a prerequisite for launch access.
Warcraft Forever Collection A limited-time collection that includes Warcraft III: Reforged and the Forsaken Kingdom campaign, in addition to the Forever-related offering described by Blizzard. No. It is a separate collection rather than the required base purchase.
Physical Collector’s Edition Physical Collector’s Edition offered through the Blizzard Gear Store while supplies last. No. Physical availability does not define digital access requirements.

The Epic Pack’s beta access starts on September 17, while its 30 days of Game Time start on November 4. Those dates identify the announced benefits; they do not mean every buyer receives permanent beta access or that the pack is necessary after launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When comparing editions, count only benefits that matter to your play style. A player interested solely in reaching level 60 does not gain a required gameplay entitlement by choosing Epic instead of base access. A collector may value the physical edition, while someone who wants to test the game before launch may value the Epic beta window. Blizzard’s product page, not a fan-made table, should be treated as the final list of included items.

Is WoW: Forever fan-made or official?

The answer depends on which “Forever” a page means. Three similarly named subjects are easy to confuse.

1. Blizzard’s official World of Warcraft: Forever

This is the game described in Blizzard’s announcement. Blizzard sets its launch schedule, access rules, editions and content roadmap. Official access runs through Blizzard’s normal World of Warcraft account and game-time systems.

2. wowforever.info, an independent fan information site

wowforever.info describes itself as an independent fan and information site unaffiliated with Blizzard. Its role is informational: it can collect announcements, explain terminology and label unreleased details as pending. It is not the operator of Blizzard’s game, and a guide on that site does not establish an official feature, date or account requirement unless Blizzard has announced the same fact.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

3. ForeverWoW, a separate fan server project

ForeverWoW describes itself as an English-language fan project, unaffiliated with Blizzard, running on its own server core. Its statements about a client, accounts, beta access, rules or downloads apply to that server project. They are not instructions for accessing Blizzard’s official Forever game.

A similar logo, domain name or use of Warcraft terminology does not change that distinction. The operator and login destination matter more than the wording in a search result. If a page asks you to create a project-specific account or download a custom client, assume it is describing a separate service unless Blizzard’s own site explicitly says otherwise.

How to identify which project a page is describing

Use the following checks before downloading anything or entering account details:

  1. Read the operator statement. Blizzard’s announcement identifies the official game. A page that calls itself independent or unaffiliated is describing a fan project, not Blizzard’s service.
  2. Check the access path. The official game uses a World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time. A separate launcher, private account portal or server-specific client indicates a different project.
  3. Look for the source of the rule. Blizzard announcements establish official launch, edition and access information. A fan server’s own FAQ establishes only that server’s policies.
  4. Separate similar names. “World of Warcraft: Forever,” “WoW Forever” and “ForeverWoW” are not interchangeable labels.
  5. Do not assume endorsement. A fan guide may summarize Blizzard news without being affiliated with Blizzard; a fan server may use Warcraft terminology without authorization or official support.

These checks are particularly important when a page offers a client download. A fan server client is not a method for installing or launching Blizzard’s official game.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to access the official game when it launches

Blizzard’s announced access model is straightforward, but launch conditions can change. Use this sequence against the current Battle.net instructions:

  1. Confirm the current launch information. Check Blizzard’s official World of Warcraft announcement for the latest date, time and regional notices. The announced global time is November 4, 2026, at 3:00 p.m. Pacific time.
  2. Use a Blizzard account. Sign in to the Battle.net account on which you intend to play. Do not enter those credentials into a fan server’s account page.
  3. Activate qualifying access. Maintain a World of Warcraft Subscription or add Game Time. The base game is announced as included with either option.
  4. Install through Blizzard’s official game client. Follow the current Battle.net installation path for World of Warcraft and select the Forever version if Blizzard presents separate game entries or realms.
  5. Choose upgrades only if their benefits matter to you. The Heroic and Epic Packs are optional. The Epic Pack’s announced beta access, 30 days of Game Time and cosmetics should be weighed against the base subscription or Game Time cost.
  6. Check the account’s entitlement before launch. Verify that the subscription or Game Time is attached to the same Battle.net account that will run the game.

If the official client does not show Forever, do not substitute a third-party launcher. Recheck Blizzard’s current release notice, regional availability and account instructions instead. Also confirm that the account is in good standing and that the client has completed its update; a missing game tile can be an installation or entitlement issue rather than evidence that a fan download is needed.

Controller and gamepad support

A Blizzard What’s Next panel recap says Forever includes official gamepad support for players who prefer a controller. This confirms the feature at a high level, but the available announcement excerpt does not identify tested controller models, operating-system requirements, button layouts or accessibility limits.

Accordingly, a controller is an option rather than a stated requirement. Players should wait for Blizzard’s current support documentation or in-game control settings before buying hardware specifically for Forever. A generic PC controller may work, but no particular model can be confirmed from the announcement information available here.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Gamepad support also does not imply that every interface works identically to keyboard and mouse play. Blizzard has not specified how targeting, chat, inventory management, add-ons or accessibility features will behave. Players who rely on a particular layout should check the final controls documentation and return policies before buying a new device.

Rank #4
World of Warcraft Battle for Azeroth - PC Standard Edition
  • Enter a world divided
  • Recruit Allied races
  • Plunder Uncharted islands
  • Storm the warfronts
  • Includes level 110 character Boost

What is not established yet

Several details should remain qualified until Blizzard publishes them:

  • Specific classes, races, professions, talent systems and itemization rules.
  • Exact dungeon, raid and player-versus-player content schedules.
  • Realm types, population limits, transfers and naming policies.
  • Supported controller models and the complete gamepad configuration process.
  • Regional pricing, taxes, currency conversion and the final availability of physical products.
  • Whether every announced edition remains purchasable after launch or while supplies last.
  • System requirements, storage requirements, preload timing and launch-day queue policies.
  • Whether characters, achievements, cosmetics or purchases can transfer from modern WoW, Classic or any fan-run server.

Fan pages may discuss possible features, but speculation should be labeled as such. The most reliable confirmation for launch, access and edition information remains Blizzard’s current announcement and Battle.net product pages.

Official game versus fan projects

Question Blizzard’s Forever Independent guide ForeverWoW server
Who operates it? Blizzard Entertainment wowforever.info identifies itself as an independent fan information site ForeverWoW identifies itself as a fan project running on its own core
How do players access it? World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time through Blizzard’s systems Read the site; it is not the game service Through that project’s own client and account process, according to its self-description
Who establishes rules and content? Blizzard’s announcements and official game systems The site summarizes information and labels pending details The server project sets its own policies and content
Blizzard affiliation? Official Blizzard product States it is unaffiliated States it is unaffiliated
Can it provide official access? Yes, through Blizzard’s account and game-time process No No; its client or account process is separate

The comparison is about identity and access, not a judgment about which experience an individual should prefer. A fan server can offer a different ruleset or community, but its uptime, moderation, security practices and content are controlled by its operators. Blizzard’s service has its own support, account recovery and purchase systems. Treat those as separate products and separate risk decisions.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Who should use which information?

If you want to play Blizzard’s announced game

Follow Blizzard’s announcement, Battle.net instructions and current World of Warcraft account requirements. Treat the Skyborne packs, the limited collection and the physical Collector’s Edition as optional purchase choices, not access prerequisites.

If you want background or release tracking

An independent fan information site can be useful for organizing announcements and explaining terms. Verify any date, feature or purchase claim against Blizzard before treating it as final.

If you are considering a fan server

Read that project’s own rules, account terms, privacy information and software requirements. Understand that it is separate from Blizzard, that its uptime and content are controlled by its operators, and that its client is not the official game client. Never assume that an account, character or purchase transfers between the projects.

Practical warnings before downloading or paying

  • Do not buy a fan server account or client believing it unlocks Blizzard’s Forever.
  • Do not treat a fan site’s unreleased feature list as a Blizzard commitment.
  • Confirm the seller and product name before purchasing a physical Collector’s Edition; availability is limited to supplies while Blizzard says stock lasts.
  • Check whether a quoted date is a launch time, a beta start or the beginning of a 30-day Game Time allowance. The Epic Pack’s beta and Game Time dates are different benefits.
  • Keep Blizzard credentials on Blizzard-owned login pages and use unique passwords for unrelated services.
  • Recheck volatile information immediately before launch because dates, edition contents and retail availability can change.
  • Be cautious of “early access” claims that do not match the Epic Pack’s specifically announced beta window. A fan server’s test period is not Blizzard beta access.
  • Save receipts and verify the Battle.net account receiving an entitlement before redeeming a code; digital purchases generally cannot be moved casually between accounts.

Bottom line for readers

World of Warcraft: Forever is Blizzard’s official announced game, built as a separate permanent home alongside modern and Classic World of Warcraft. It returns to the original continents, targets level 60 and adds new stories and updates. The “fan-made” label applies only to similarly named independent information or server projects, not to Blizzard’s game itself. Use Blizzard’s subscription or Game Time access path for the official release, and treat every fan project as a separate service with no implied Blizzard affiliation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is World of Warcraft: Forever a private server?

No. Blizzard’s World of Warcraft: Forever is an officially announced game. Separately, ForeverWoW describes its own service as an unaffiliated fan server; that project is not Blizzard’s game.

Best Value
World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria - PC/Mac - (Obsolete)
  • Master the Path of the Monk - Learn the mystic powers of the Monk, World of Warcraft's newest playable class. Destroy foes with the Windwalker's devastating attacks, replenish allies with the Mistweaver's spiritual energies, and shrug off enormous damage with the Brewmaster's unyielding strength.
  • Battle to level 90 - Ascend to new heights of power as you explore the verdant reaches of the Jade Forest, war with the terrible Yaungol on Kun-Lai Summit, and unlock the secrets of the Mogu'shan Vaults.
  • Unleash the Mighty Pandaren - Set out as a member of the enigmatic Pandaren -- World of Warcraft's first neutral race -- and join the ranks of either the Horde or Alliance as you enter the conflict brewing on Pandaria's shores.
  • Discover a Lost Continent - Explore the ancient kingdoms of Pandaria and mount your defense against a newly awakened evil stirring in the continent's dark corners.

When does World of Warcraft: Forever launch?

Blizzard announced a global launch of November 4, 2026, at 3:00 p.m. Pacific time. Confirm the current Battle.net listing in case timing or regional details change.

Do I need to buy the Skyborne Epic Pack to play?

No. Blizzard says base access is included with a World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time. The Epic Pack adds benefits such as beta access beginning September 17, 30 days of Game Time starting November 4, cosmetics and other extras.

What level can characters reach?

The announced progression target is level 60. Blizzard has not yet established every class, item, endgame, experience-rate or future-cap detail.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is wowforever.info?

It describes itself as an independent fan and information site unaffiliated with Blizzard. It is a guide site, not the operator of Blizzard’s game and not an official account or download service.

Can a ForeverWoW account or character transfer to Blizzard’s game?

There is no stated transfer path. ForeverWoW and Blizzard use separate operators, account systems, clients and rules, so assume characters, purchases and credentials do not carry over.

Does Forever support controllers?

A Blizzard What’s Next panel recap says official gamepad support is included. Blizzard has not identified tested controller models, layouts or complete technical requirements in the announcement excerpt.

Where can I buy the physical Collector’s Edition?

Blizzard says the physical Collector’s Edition is offered through the Blizzard Gear Store while supplies last. Verify the current listing, seller and regional shipping terms before paying; no third-party listing is automatically official.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Blizzard’s World of Warcraft: Forever is official; wowforever.info and ForeverWoW are separate, unaffiliated fan projects. Use Blizzard’s Battle.net, Subscription or Game Time path for the announced game, and verify launch, edition and retail details on current official pages.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
World of Warcraft - PC/Mac
World of Warcraft - PC/Mac
World of Warcraft Game; 30 days of free game time included; Includes levels 1 through 90; Subscription, Internet connection, and Battle.net registration required
$17.39
Bestseller No. 2
Warcraft III Battle Chest - PC/Mac
Warcraft III Battle Chest - PC/Mac
Warcraft III Battle Chest
Bestseller No. 4
World of Warcraft Battle for Azeroth - PC Standard Edition
World of Warcraft Battle for Azeroth - PC Standard Edition
Enter a world divided; Recruit Allied races; Plunder Uncharted islands; Storm the warfronts

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.