Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: vivo’s Vision Discovery Edition has the lower published headset weight and ambitious binocular 8K display claim, while Apple’s M5 Vision Pro has the more fully documented specification sheet, an established visionOS platform, measured battery estimates and a purchase pathway. The available official material does not prove which headset is more comfortable, and it does not provide a like-for-like current price comparison.

The comparison is between Apple’s M5-generation Vision Pro and the vivo Vision Discovery Edition unveiled in 2025—not an older Apple configuration or an unnamed vivo prototype. Treat the figures below as manufacturer specifications and product claims, not as results from a standardized head-to-head test.

At-a-glance comparison

Category vivo Vision Discovery Edition Apple Vision Pro (M5)
Product status in the cited material Unveiled as a mixed-reality exploration edition at vivo’s 30th-anniversary event in Dongguan on August 21, 2025 Current M5 model with an Apple purchase pathway; Apple announced the upgrade on October 15, 2025
Published headset weight 398g, according to vivo’s event coverage; the configuration breakdown is not stated 750–800g with the Light Seal and Dual Knit Band, depending on configuration
Battery weight Not stated Separate 353g battery
Display description Dual-eye 8K Micro-OLED display 23-million-pixel Micro-OLED display system
Refresh rate Not stated 90Hz, 96Hz, 100Hz and 120Hz supported
Processor and operating system OriginOS Vision; processor details not stated in the cited material M5 and R1 chips with visionOS
Input methods Eye tracking that vivo characterizes as 1.5-degree precision, plus hand-gesture recognition Hands, eyes and voice
Stated runtime Not stated Up to 2.5 hours of general use or up to 3 hours of video playback; usable while charging
Retail price and general-sale date Not stated in the official launch material reviewed The indexed store content reviewed does not show a price; regional configuration pricing must be checked directly

These rows are not all measured on the same basis. In particular, vivo’s “8K” wording and Apple’s pixel count describe different specification categories, so the table cannot by itself establish an image-quality winner.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the two products actually are

vivo Vision Discovery Edition

vivo introduced the Vision Discovery Edition during its 30th-anniversary event in Dongguan on August 21, 2025. The company presents it as a mixed-reality exploration edition rather than providing, in the cited announcement, the retail details normally needed for a shopping comparison. Its headline hardware claims are a 398g headset, dual-eye 8K Micro-OLED displays, eye tracking, and hand-gesture recognition. The software name given is OriginOS Vision.

#1 Best Overall
Meta Quest 3 512GB, VR Without Wires, Gorilla Tag Cardboard Monkenaut Bundle, Amazon Exclusive, 3-Month Trial of Meta Horizon+ Included
  • CARDBOARD MONKENAUT — Get our best Gorilla Tag bundle yet with this Amazon exclusive deal. Purchase Meta Quest 3 to get exclusive items, including the Gorilla Space Program Suit and Helmet, plus 2,000 SHINY ROCKS.
  • NEARLY 30% LEAP IN RESOLUTION — Experience every thrill in breathtaking detail with sharp graphics and stunning 4K+ Infinite Display.
  • NO WIRES, MORE FUN — Break free from cords. Game, play and explore in immersive worlds — untethered and without limits.
  • 2X GRAPHICAL PROCESSING POWER — Enjoy lightning-fast load times and next-gen graphics for smooth gaming powered by the Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2 processor.
  • EXPERIENCE VIRTUAL REALITY — Blend virtual objects with your physical space and experience two worlds at once in your VR headset.

The announcement also emphasizes physical customization. vivo describes several combinations of light shields and foam interfaces, along with a dual-loop strap. Those details indicate that the company is thinking about blocking stray light and distributing pressure, but they do not show how many sizes will ship, whether replacement interfaces will be sold, or how the design performs during long sessions.

Apple Vision Pro (M5)

Apple’s current specification page covers the M5 Vision Pro. It lists an M5 chip, an R1 chip, visionOS, a 23-million-pixel Micro-OLED display system and support for several high refresh rates. Apple’s input model combines hand tracking, eye tracking and voice control, so many actions can be performed without a handheld controller.

Apple announced the upgraded model on October 15, 2025, highlighting the M5 processor, Dual Knit Band, visionOS 26, updated display rendering and new spatial applications and Immersive content. “Comfortable” is Apple’s description of the band, not the result of a published comparative fit study.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Display and visual capability

Why the 8K and 23-million-pixel claims cannot be ranked directly

vivo describes its system as dual-eye 8K Micro-OLED. Apple specifies 23 million pixels for the Vision Pro display system. “8K” commonly communicates a resolution class, while a total pixel count communicates the number of pixels across a display system; neither statement, on its own, tells you the exact per-eye resolution, optics, field of view, pixel density at the eye, or clarity at the edges.

Rank #2
Meta Quest Pro Headset with Virtual Reality Field Trips 1-Month Subscription
  • Your purchase of this item includes a new Meta Quest Pro 256 GB VR headset and a 12-month subscription to Optima Academy Online (OAO) field trips.
  • Optima Academy Online (OAO) harnesses the power of virtual reality to make previously impossible learning opportunities just a few clicks away. Our VR Field Trips provide powerful ways of engaging users on a whole new level while providing learning experiences. With our VR Field Trips, we deliver users directly into an immersive educational experience that engages them like never before. We offer a one-month subscription to our VR Field Trips. During your subscription, you can spend as much time in our uniquely created Metaverse environments as you like. Each environment has its own theme, learning experiences, and adventures.
  • High resolution mixed reality passthrough uses full-color sensors to let you see and engage with the physical world around you, even as you connect, work and play in virtual spaces.
  • Share your true emotions and reactions with real time natural avatar expressions. Meta Avatars translate your natural facial expressions into VR so you can bring your true personality to meetings and gatherings with friends.
  • Meta Quest Touch Pro Controllers translate instinctive hand gestures and detailed finger actions directly into VR with self-tracking cameras and precision controls. Multi-point, advanced haptics make virtual interactions feel entirely real

For that reason, it would be inaccurate to announce that one headset has definitively sharper text, a wider field of view or better edge-to-edge clarity based only on these published labels. Those outcomes depend on optical design, rendering, lens alignment and software as well as panel resolution. No standardized visual comparison is established by the cited material.

Apple’s documented refresh options

The M5 Vision Pro supports 90Hz, 96Hz, 100Hz and 120Hz modes. A higher refresh option can be relevant to motion smoothness and perceived latency, but the specification does not say that every application or scenario runs at the maximum rate. The actual mode can depend on content and system behavior.

What is missing from the vivo disclosure

The vivo announcement does not state refresh rates, per-eye pixel allocation, field of view, optical adjustment range or a runtime display mode. Those omissions do not mean the hardware lacks those features; they mean they cannot be compared responsibly from the available official figures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Comfort: the weight headline needs context

What the published weights include

vivo reports a 398g headset, but the cited material does not provide a matching breakdown showing whether that number includes every production strap, light-shield and foam combination. Apple’s 750–800g figure explicitly includes the Light Seal and counterbalanced Dual Knit Band. Apple lists its battery separately at 353g.

Rank #3
Sale
Meta Quest Pro
  • Meta Quest Pro unlocks new perspectives in work, creativity, and collaboration.
  • Multitask with ease with multiple resizable screens so you can organize tasks, work on new ideas or message with your friends.
  • World class counter balanced ergonomics and our sleekest design let you wear the headset for longer in premium comfort.
  • High resolution mixed reality passthrough uses full-color sensors to let you see and engage with the physical world around you, even as you connect, work and play in virtual spaces.
  • Share your true emotions and reactions with real time natural avatar expressions. Meta Avatars translate your natural facial expressions into VR so you can bring your true personality to meetings and gatherings with friends.

If you carry the Apple headset and its battery together, the arithmetic is 1,103–1,153g of hardware. The battery is separate rather than mounted on the front of your face, so that total is not a head-borne comfort measurement; it is simply the amount of equipment involved. Cable routing, where the battery sits, and how the strap transfers force all affect the experience.

vivo’s fit hardware

The Vision Discovery Edition is described with multiple light-shield and foam combinations and a dual-loop strap. A light shield can help limit outside light, while different foam shapes can change pressure around the cheeks, brow and nose. A dual-loop system may offer more adjustment points than a single-band design. None of those features guarantees a good seal or even pressure for every face, and vivo has not published a pressure map, sustained-wear test or independent comfort score in the cited material.

Apple’s fit hardware

The M5 model uses a Light Seal and Dual Knit Band. Apple calls the band comfortable and describes it as counterbalanced, but the published specifications do not establish how it compares with vivo’s strap on different head shapes. The Light Seal also means the listed headset weight already includes a face interface, making Apple’s number more specific than a bare-device measurement.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What you can and cannot conclude

The stated figures give vivo a substantial weight advantage on paper. They do not prove that it will feel better over a two-hour session. A lighter device can still create a pressure point if its center of gravity or foam shape does not suit you; a heavier device can feel manageable if its load is distributed well. Face shape, hair, glasses, strap adjustment, light leakage and session length are all personal variables.

Rank #4
Meta Quest 3S 128GB | Virtual Reality — VR Headset — Gorilla Tag Bundle
  • CARDBOARD MONKENAUT — Get our best Gorilla Tag bundle yet with this Amazon exclusive deal. Purchase Meta Quest 3S to get exclusive items, including the Gorilla Space Program Suit and Helmet, plus 2,000 SHINY ROCKS.
  • NO WIRES, MORE FUN — Break free from cords. Game, play and explore immersive worlds — untethered and without limits.
  • 2X GRAPHICAL PROCESSING POWER — Enjoy lightning-fast load times and next-gen graphics for smooth gaming powered by the Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2 processor.
  • EXPERIENCE VIRTUAL REALITY — Take gaming to a new level and blend virtual objects with your physical space to experience two worlds at once in your VR headset.
  • 2+ HOURS OF BATTERY LIFE — Charge less, play longer and stay in the action with an improved battery that keeps up. *Based on the graphic performance of the Qualcomm Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2 platform vs the Meta Quest 2 platform.

There is no controlled side-by-side comfort study, sustained-wear trial, pressure measurement or independent user result in the cited sources. The responsible conclusion is therefore limited: vivo’s published headset number is lower, while comparative comfort remains unverified.

Battery and charging

Apple’s stated endurance

Apple rates the M5 Vision Pro for up to 2.5 hours of general use or up to 3 hours of video playback. These are “up to” figures, so demanding applications, high brightness, wireless activity and other system loads can reduce actual time. Apple also says the headset can be used while charging, which provides a way to continue a session when the battery is depleted.

vivo’s runtime is not specified here

The cited vivo launch coverage does not provide a comparable battery-capacity figure, endurance estimate, charging time or video-playback test. That prevents a runtime winner from being named. Until vivo publishes production specifications or a regional product page with those details, treat battery life as an open question rather than assuming that the lighter headset lasts longer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Software, tracking and everyday interaction

OriginOS Vision and vivo’s interaction model

vivo names OriginOS Vision as the operating system and highlights eye tracking plus hand-gesture recognition. The company characterizes eye tracking as having 1.5-degree precision. That is a manufacturer specification, not an independently measured accuracy result. The announcement does not establish the size of the app catalog, supported languages, desktop integration, controller support, developer tools or long-term update policy.

Best Value
annapro A2 Head Strap for Apple Vision Pro 2, Pressure Reducing Comfort Head Strap Compatible with Vision Pro Accessories, Enhance Comfort and Stability, Suitable for Different Head Shapes, Version 2
  • Ultimate Comfort: Experience superior comfort with the new ANNAPRO A2 comfort head strap. Enjoy pressure-free wear for extended periods, with stable, no-wobble support, and experience unparalleled comfort and an immersive experience like never before
  • Pressure-Free Facial Comfort: The ANNAPRO A2 head strap, designed specifically for Apple Vision Pro, features a new design that fits the head more comfortably, effectively reducing 60%-90% of the pressure on the cheekbones and around the eyes
  • Customizable Fit: Offers 4 different thicknesses of comfortable cushion (5/12/18/25mm) to perfectly fit various head shapes. The upgraded breathable ice silk cushion are soft and skin-friendly, greatly enhancing wearing comfort. Tip: If you encounter issues with eye tracking being too far or too close, select the most suitable cushion and then recalibrate the eye tracking to ensure accuracy
  • Damage-Free Quick Installation: Easily install A2 head strap without harming Vision Pro’s original accessories. Simply align and push the strap into place after removing the official head strap
  • Enhanced Versatility: Combining Vision Pro with our head strap allows for the removal of the light seal or light seal cushion, bringing the lenses closer to your eyes for a wider field of view and improved comfort and breathability

visionOS on the M5 model

Apple’s headset runs visionOS and accepts hands, eyes and voice as input. Apple also identifies visionOS 26 as part of the M5 upgrade and promotes spatial applications and Apple Immersive content. Those details provide a clearer description of the platform and interaction model, but the cited material does not quantify the complete app catalog or guarantee that every iPhone, iPad or Mac application behaves identically in a headset environment.

Choosing by ecosystem rather than a single specification

For a buyer already invested in Apple hardware and services, the documented visionOS platform and Apple’s input stack may matter more than a display label. A reader interested primarily in exploring vivo’s mixed-reality direction may care more about OriginOS Vision and the lighter stated chassis. The available evidence does not support a universal software winner because it does not provide a full cross-platform compatibility inventory.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Price and availability: why there is no honest winner yet

What is established for vivo

The official vivo material reviewed establishes the 2025 unveiling and the product’s exploration-edition positioning. It does not state a retail price, a launch price, a sale date or general availability by country. Do not convert the unveiling into an assumption that consumers can order the headset, and do not insert an estimated price into a comparison table.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is established for Apple

Apple provides a store purchase pathway for the M5 Vision Pro, but the indexed store content reviewed for this comparison does not show a price. Vision Pro pricing can vary with region and configuration, so a valid figure requires checking the Apple store for the buyer’s country and selected options at the time of purchase.

How to verify the numbers before buying

  1. Check the official Apple store for your country, select the M5 Vision Pro configuration and record the displayed currency, storage or accessory choices and taxes or delivery terms.
  2. Look for a current official vivo product page or regional announcement that explicitly says the Vision Discovery Edition is available for sale. Confirm the currency, included accessories, warranty region and shipping date.
  3. Compare like with like: include the same prescription accessories, straps, cases, taxes and delivery assumptions for both products.
  4. If vivo still has no retail listing, label the comparison as “price not announced” rather than treating a rumor or reseller listing as an official price.

Prescription vision and fit considerations

Apple’s product information names ZEISS Optical Inserts as an accessory for users who need vision correction. Exact insert compatibility, prescription limits, regional ordering and current pricing should be confirmed on the live Apple listing before purchase. The cited vivo material does not state whether prescription inserts, lens adapters or a similar correction program will be offered.

Glasses wearers should not infer compatibility from the presence of a foam interface alone. Ask the seller whether your prescription is supported, whether inserts replace the need to wear glasses inside the headset, and whether the selected Light Seal or foam configuration leaves enough clearance. Those practical questions can outweigh a nominal difference in display resolution.

Which headset fits your priorities?

Your priority Evidence-based direction What remains uncertain
Lowest stated headset weight vivo has the lower published headset figure Configuration details and real-world comfort are not established
Documented display modes Apple publishes a 23-million-pixel system and multiple refresh rates vivo’s 8K claim is not directly comparable to Apple’s pixel-count description
Known battery estimate Apple publishes separate general-use and video-playback estimates and supports use while charging No comparable vivo runtime is stated
Established operating-system description Apple documents visionOS, M5 and R1, hands, eyes and voice The cited material gives fewer OriginOS Vision platform details
Face-fit options described at launch vivo lists multiple light-shield/foam combinations and a dual-loop strap Apple’s band and Light Seal are documented, but no independent comparison exists
Buy-now price certainty Neither side has a complete, like-for-like price in the cited material vivo’s sale date and price are not stated; Apple’s indexed page lacks a displayed price

A practical decision checklist

  • Confirm the exact generation. Make sure an Apple listing says M5 Vision Pro, not an earlier model or an accessory-only page. For vivo, confirm that the listing is the Vision Discovery Edition rather than a concept announcement.
  • Separate headset weight from system weight. Check whether a quoted number includes the face interface and strap, and account separately for Apple’s external battery.
  • Demand a real availability statement. “Unveiled” is not the same as “shipping.” Look for an order button, delivery estimate, warranty terms and a region-specific seller.
  • Check vision correction before paying. Verify insert availability and prescription limits. Do not assume a headset accommodates glasses because it has adjustable foam.
  • Test fit if possible. Adjust the top and rear straps, check for brow or cheek pressure, look for light leaks and wear the device long enough to expose hot spots.
  • Match runtime to your sessions. If you need long video sessions, plan around Apple’s published limits and charging behavior. For vivo, wait for an official runtime specification.
  • Evaluate the software you will actually use. Identify required spatial apps, work integrations, media services and input methods instead of choosing solely on the display headline.

Bottom line

On published hardware figures, vivo’s Vision Discovery Edition is the lighter design and advertises an ambitious dual-eye 8K Micro-OLED system. Apple’s M5 Vision Pro offers the more complete documented platform specification, explicit refresh-rate options, published endurance estimates and a defined visionOS ecosystem. The evidence does not justify declaring either one more comfortable for every face, and it does not support a current price winner because vivo’s retail terms are unannounced in the cited material and Apple’s indexed store content does not show a price. Choose only after checking regional availability, prescription support and the fit of the exact configuration you can buy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.