What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

SpaceX is not competing with every private space company on the same mission. Falcon 9 dominates the mature, reusable medium-lift market; Falcon Heavy serves exceptionally heavy payloads; and Starship/Super Heavy is being developed for much larger, eventually beyond-Earth transport. Blue Origin targets heavy lift with New Glenn, Rocket Lab concentrates on small orbital payloads with Electron, Relativity Space is developing the reusable Terran R, and ULA provides institutional heavy-launch services with Atlas and Vulcan.

The useful comparison is therefore mission-specific: destination orbit, payload class, demonstrated operations, recovery and reuse, launch cadence, licensing, and eligibility for government work. A single “best company” does not exist without first defining the mission.

What “SpaceX vs. other private space companies” really compares

Space companies are often grouped together even though their launch systems occupy very different parts of the market. A small satellite needing a dedicated low-Earth-orbit (LEO) launch has different requirements from a national-security payload going to geostationary transfer orbit (GTO), a crew mission, or a future lunar cargo flight.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This article compares providers and vehicles separately. SpaceX is the company; Falcon 9, Falcon Heavy and Starship/Super Heavy are different systems. Blue Origin is the company behind New Glenn. Rocket Lab operates Electron. Relativity Space is developing Terran R. ULA (United Launch Alliance) is a joint venture rather than an independently held startup, and operates Atlas and Vulcan.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Capacity numbers are not interchangeable. A rocket’s published LEO figure cannot be used as a price, reliability or schedule proxy, and a GTO number generally is much lower than the same vehicle’s LEO number. Where figures differ between NASA and Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) publications, both are identified rather than silently combined.

At-a-glance comparison

Provider Vehicle(s) in scope Primary mission segment Operating or development status Reuse and recovery Published capacity evidence
SpaceX Falcon 9 Reusable medium-lift orbital launches, including people and payloads Operational service Reusable first stage; NASA describes the rocket as reusable Capacity varies by orbit and configuration; no single neutral figure supplied here
SpaceX Falcon Heavy Heavy lift to orbit Operational launch system Three reusable Falcon 9 cores Nearly 64 metric tons to orbit, according to NASA
SpaceX Starship/Super Heavy Very large reusable transport for Earth orbit, the Moon, Mars and beyond Development and flight testing; not equivalent to routine Falcon customer service Designed as a fully reusable system FAA FAQ: 100,000–150,000 kg to LEO and 27,000 kg to GTO
Blue Origin New Glenn Heavy-lift orbital missions Vehicle specifications and design claims published by NASA; cadence is not established here First stage designed for at least 25 flights NASA: 45 metric tons to LEO and more than 13 metric tons to GTO; FAA FAQ lists 35,000 kg LEO and 13,600 kg GTO
Rocket Lab Electron Dedicated small-payload orbital launches Operating small orbital rocket First-stage capture and reuse are part of the program Small-rocket class; a directly comparable heavy-lift figure is not stated
Relativity Space Terran R Planned reusable medium/heavy orbital launch Developmental; an FAA forecast said first launch was not expected before 2026 Planned reusable vehicle No demonstrated performance figure established here
ULA Atlas and Vulcan Institutional and heavy-launch missions Atlas and Vulcan appear in the FAA licensing transition update; Vulcan is listed on NASA Launch Services II Not presented here as a stage-reuse competitor No directly comparable figure established here

SpaceX: three systems, three different maturity levels

Falcon 9 is the operational reference point

NASA describes Falcon 9 as a reusable, two-stage rocket designed to transport people and payloads. That combination—an operating orbital service and a reusable first stage—is why Falcon 9 is the most useful reference point for judging other commercial launchers. It has a demonstrated flight history, whereas several alternatives are still moving from design or testing toward regular service.

Falcon 9 is not a universal substitute for every rocket. Mission planners must match the vehicle to payload mass, fairing volume, destination orbit, required launch site and schedule. A payload that fits Falcon 9 may still require a particular trajectory, upper-stage performance or launch window. Publicly available figures also change with recovery mode and mission configuration, so a generic “Falcon 9 capacity” number can mislead.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Falcon Heavy combines three Falcon 9 cores

NASA describes Falcon Heavy as three reusable Falcon 9 cores operating together. NASA’s current vehicle description says it can lift nearly 64 metric tons to orbit. That is a heavy-lift capability, but the number is not a like-for-like comparison with another provider’s LEO or GTO figure unless orbit, configuration and source are matched.

Falcon Heavy’s architecture is significant because it reuses a family of flight-proven cores rather than introducing an entirely separate first-stage design. The system is still a distinct vehicle, however; Falcon Heavy mission planning, payload integration and launch availability should not be assumed to be identical to Falcon 9 operations.

Starship/Super Heavy is a development step beyond Falcon

NASA describes Starship and Super Heavy as a fully reusable transportation system for crew and cargo to Earth orbit, the Moon, Mars and beyond. NASA’s overview identifies the August 2025 mission as Starship Flight 10. Those destinations and the full-reuse architecture are design goals, not proof that Starship already provides routine customer transport at Falcon 9’s service maturity.

The FAA FAQ accessed in 2026 lists 100,000–150,000 kilograms to LEO and 27,000 kilograms to GTO for Starship/Super Heavy. Treat those as published capability values for a system still in development and flight testing. They should not be read as demonstrated, regularly available capacity or as a current launch-price quote.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Blue Origin: New Glenn targets heavy lift

Blue Origin’s New Glenn occupies the heavy-lift orbital segment rather than Electron’s small-payload niche. NASA’s Launch Services Program vehicle page lists seven BE-4 engines, 45 metric tons to LEO, more than 13 metric tons to GTO and a first stage designed for a minimum of 25 flights.

Those are NASA-published specifications and design statements. They establish the intended vehicle class and reuse objective, not a Falcon 9-equivalent launch cadence. The available evidence here does not provide a comparable current annual flight rate, reliability percentage or named commercial price for New Glenn.

The FAA FAQ accessed in 2026 lists New Glenn at 35,000 kilograms to LEO and 13,600 kilograms to GTO. NASA’s 45-metric-ton LEO figure and the FAA’s 35,000-kilogram figure are different published specifications. A careful comparison keeps the publisher, destination orbit and date attached to each number instead of presenting one as a definitive universal capacity.

Rocket Lab: Electron serves a different customer need

NASA calls Electron an orbital-class small rocket. Its purpose is dedicated access for smaller payloads, not to duplicate Falcon Heavy or New Glenn’s heavy-lift role. A customer choosing Electron may value a vehicle sized for a small satellite and a dedicated mission rather than buying space on a much larger launcher.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

NASA also describes first-stage capture and reuse as part of Electron’s development path. Rocket Lab presents that approach as a way to support more frequent launches without expanding production at the same rate and potentially reduce costs. Those are program objectives; they do not establish a directly comparable price or cadence in the evidence available here.

Electron and Falcon 9 are therefore not interchangeable for every mission. Electron’s small-rocket architecture can be a better fit for payloads that need dedicated deployment, while Falcon 9 is designed for substantially larger and more varied missions. The correct choice depends on payload mass, orbit, schedule and integration requirements rather than on a simple ranking of rocket size.

Relativity Space: Terran R remains developmental

Relativity Space is developing Terran R as a reusable orbital vehicle. NASA identifies its engine layout and planned reusability, while an FAA forecast treated the vehicle as developmental and said its first launch was not expected before 2026. That was a forecast, not confirmation of a launch date or proof that the rocket is now an operational customer service.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Because Terran R is not established here with a demonstrated flight record, published recurring cadence or verified operational capacity, it should be compared with Falcon 9 and New Glenn as a future entrant. Design promises can indicate intended market position, but they cannot substitute for flown performance, recovery results, licensing status and customer missions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

ULA: an institutional heavy-launch comparator

ULA is a joint venture and should not be described as an independently held startup. It remains relevant because institutional customers evaluate launch providers through mission assurance, certification, procurement and licensing frameworks as well as vehicle specifications.

The FAA’s March 17, 2026 Part 450 transition update lists Atlas and Vulcan among operators transitioning legacy licenses. NASA lists Vulcan on Launch Services II. Those entries show participation in government and regulatory systems; they do not mean every planned configuration is licensed for every mission or that Atlas and Vulcan have the same reuse model as Falcon 9.

Payload capacity: compare orbit and source before comparing rockets

Payload capacity changes with destination orbit, trajectory, upper-stage configuration and recovery requirements. LEO is comparatively close to Earth, while GTO requires additional energy; the same vehicle can therefore have very different published figures. The FAA FAQ accessed in 2026 lists the following values:

Vehicle or system LEO value in FAA FAQ GTO value in FAA FAQ How to interpret it
Starship/Super Heavy 100,000–150,000 kg 27,000 kg Published capability range for a developmental system; not demonstrated routine service capacity
New Glenn 35,000 kg 13,600 kg FAA FAQ value; NASA separately lists 45 metric tons to LEO and more than 13 metric tons to GTO
Falcon Heavy Not separately stated in the FAA figures cited here Not separately stated in the FAA figures cited here NASA describes nearly 64 metric tons to orbit; orbit and configuration must be specified before comparing

The table is not a price list, reliability ranking or forecast of annual launches. Payload volume, fairing dimensions, allowable environments and deployment hardware can matter as much as mass. The available material does not establish comparable volume figures for each provider, so a planner should request the vehicle’s current payload user guide and mission-specific performance analysis.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Reuse and recovery: similar words, different evidence

Demonstrated reuse versus design intent

NASA explicitly describes Falcon 9 as reusable and Falcon Heavy as using three reusable Falcon 9 cores. That is an operating architecture. New Glenn’s first stage is designed for at least 25 flights, which is a design target. Starship/Super Heavy is described as fully reusable by NASA, but remains in development and testing. Terran R is planned as reusable. Electron’s first-stage capture and refly are described as part of its program.

These categories should not be collapsed into one “reusability” score. A recovered stage, a planned recovery system and a fully reusable transport architecture represent different points on the maturity curve. The relevant questions are whether recovery has been demonstrated, whether a stage has reflown, what refurbishment is required, and whether the vehicle is available for the customer’s mission.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Why reuse does not automatically reveal price

Reuse can affect manufacturing demand, refurbishment work, range operations and schedule, but none of the cited sources supplies a neutral, current launch-price comparison across these companies. Do not infer that the most reusable design is automatically the cheapest launch or that a less reusable vehicle is uneconomical. Pricing also depends on mission energy, payload processing, insurance, integration and contractual terms.

Cadence, schedule and reliability: what can and cannot be compared

A demonstrated flight history is more informative than an advertised maximum. Falcon 9 has an operating service; Electron has an operating small-rocket service; New Glenn and Terran R require separate treatment of design claims and operational evidence; Starship’s 2025 Flight 10 reference confirms test activity, not routine customer cadence.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The material available for this comparison does not establish a comparable current statistic for each company’s annual launch cadence, on-time performance or reliability rate. A responsible buyer should ask for a provider’s current manifest, confirmed launch windows, previous mission record for the relevant orbit, range and weather constraints, and contractual remedies for delay. Do not fill those columns with estimates from unrelated vehicle variants.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which company fits which mission?

For a mature, general-purpose orbital launch

Falcon 9 is the reference system when the priority is an operating reusable vehicle with experience carrying people and payloads. The decision still depends on mission-specific performance, orbit, integration and schedule; “mature” does not mean every Falcon 9 configuration serves every payload.

For very heavy payloads or future super-heavy transport

Falcon Heavy and New Glenn are the relevant heavy-lift comparators in the current set, while Starship/Super Heavy represents a much larger future-oriented architecture. Use the published capacities only with their orbit and source attached. Starship’s Moon, Mars and beyond-Earth role is a development objective, not an existing routine service.

For a small dedicated satellite launch

Electron is purpose-built for the small orbital segment. Its value proposition is mission sizing and dedicated deployment, not maximum mass. Comparing it directly with a heavy launcher can obscure the operational reason a customer selected a small vehicle.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a future reusable entrant

Terran R should be evaluated as a developmental option until launch, recovery, licensing and customer-service evidence are established. A forecast that a first launch was not expected before 2026 should not be rewritten as a confirmed schedule.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

For government-certified procurement pathways

ULA, SpaceX and other providers may be evaluated through government certification and contracting channels in addition to commercial sales. The procurement framework can determine eligibility as much as vehicle design.

Government contracts and licensing shape the market

NASA’s VADR contracting vehicle

NASA describes the Venture-Class Acquisition of Dedicated and Rideshare (VADR) program as a way to acquire FAA-licensed commercial launches for risk-tolerant payloads, ranging from CubeSats to Class D missions. NASA uses firm-fixed-price task orders over a five-year ordering period, with a maximum total value of $300 million across all contracts.

The provider list published in July 2025 includes Blue Origin, Rocket Lab, SpaceX and other companies. This demonstrates that NASA maintains a multi-provider portfolio and can place demand across different vehicle classes. It does not guarantee a launch slot, a particular price or access for every customer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

FAA Part 450 licensing

The FAA’s March 17, 2026 update says commercial launch and reentry licensing now occurs under Part 450. A single license can cover a portfolio of operations, multiple configurations and mission profiles, and multiple sites. The FAA says operators including Blue Origin New Shepard, Firefly Alpha, SpaceX Falcon 9/Falcon Heavy and Dragon, Rocket Lab Electron, and ULA Atlas/Vulcan transitioned legacy licenses by March 9, 2026.

A license transition is not the same as universal approval for every planned vehicle. It also does not mean a developmental system is operational. Customers must confirm that the exact vehicle, site, trajectory and mission profile are covered by the provider’s current authorization.

How to make a fair SpaceX comparison

  1. Define the mission first. Record payload mass, dimensions, destination orbit, inclination, launch window, crew or cargo requirements and whether a dedicated launch is necessary.
  2. Separate vehicle variants. Compare Falcon 9 with Electron or New Glenn only for a stated mission class; do not treat “SpaceX” as one rocket.
  3. Label maturity. Mark each capability as demonstrated operation, agency-published design specification, flight test or forecast.
  4. Normalize capacity figures. Match LEO with LEO and GTO with GTO, preserve kilograms versus metric tons, and identify the publisher and access date.
  5. Check recovery assumptions. Determine whether the quoted performance assumes stage recovery, expendable operation, a particular booster configuration or future full reuse.
  6. Verify licensing and procurement. Confirm Part 450 coverage, launch-site authorization and whether the provider is eligible for the relevant government contract pathway.
  7. Request current commercial terms. Ask for a mission-specific quote, integration schedule, manifest status, insurance requirements and delay provisions rather than relying on a generic internet price.

Answers to common comparison questions

Is Blue Origin competing with SpaceX?

Yes, but mainly in overlapping heavy-lift and orbital-service segments. New Glenn’s published role is heavy lift, while Falcon 9 covers a mature medium-lift service and Falcon Heavy covers heavy lift. Their capabilities, flight histories and current cadence are not established at the same maturity level, so “competing” does not mean interchangeable today.

What is the difference between SpaceX and Rocket Lab?

SpaceX operates several systems, including Falcon 9 and Falcon Heavy, while Rocket Lab’s Electron is an orbital-class small rocket. Falcon 9 is suited to a broader and heavier set of missions; Electron is designed around small dedicated payloads. The comparison is primarily about mission class, not a single overall ranking.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which private space company has the biggest rocket?

By the FAA FAQ values cited here, Starship/Super Heavy has the largest listed LEO capability at 100,000–150,000 kilograms, but it is still a developmental system. Falcon Heavy and New Glenn have lower published heavy-lift figures and more defined operational or procurement contexts. “Biggest” should therefore be qualified by whether the question means design capacity, demonstrated service or current availability.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.