Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Slain 2: The Beast Within is an announced action game in which Prince Akran, the last Wolf Knight, fights demonic forces with the sentient sword Bathoryn. Confirmed combat systems include melee strikes, precision attacks, counters, fire and ice powers, and a full-moon werewolf transformation. The campaign is described as three hand-crafted quests tied to three relics, but no skill tree, experience system, currency, loot structure, or upgrade costs have been officially detailed yet.

What Slain 2 is

Slain 2: The Beast Within is an announced action game from Steel Mantis and publisher Silver Lining Interactive LTD. Its protagonist is Prince Akran, identified in the official PlayStation listing as the last of the Wolf Knights. Akran carries Bathoryn, a sentient blade that gives him elemental abilities, while Lord Vroll’s demonic forces provide the central threat.

The game is presented as a focused, hand-crafted adventure rather than a confirmed open-ended role-playing game. That distinction matters for new players: the announcement explains the combat ideas and broad quest structure, but it does not yet publish a detailed character-progression manual. Features such as levels, skill points, weapon rarity, currencies, checkpoints, or permanent builds should therefore be treated as unknown rather than assumed.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How combat works

The announced combat loop has three core parts: brutal melee strikes, precision-based attacks, and counters. These are described as complementary actions, so the intended challenge is choosing the right response and timing it correctly instead of repeatedly pressing one attack button.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Melee strikes

Melee attacks are Akran’s direct damage option. The public description emphasizes forceful swordplay, but it does not provide a complete move list, damage values, hit boxes, stamina rules, or confirmed light-and-heavy attack labels. Expect close-range engagements built around reading an enemy and committing to a strike, while leaving room to adjust once the final controls and animations are published.

Precision attacks

Precision attacks imply that timing and aim will matter more than simply selecting the strongest move. The announcement does not specify whether precision means striking a visible weak point, connecting during a narrow timing window, or using a particular attack against a matching enemy state. Until a final guide explains those rules, consider precision a confirmed design goal rather than a fully documented system.

Counters

Counters are the defensive timing component of the combat model. They suggest that recognizing an incoming attack and responding at the correct moment can create a safer or more damaging exchange. No official source currently states the counter window, whether every enemy can be countered, or what happens after a successful counter. Those details may change during development.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Timing matters more than button mashing

Combining strikes, precision attacks, and counters makes Slain 2’s announced combat a decision loop:

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  1. Read the enemy’s position and attack preparation.
  2. Choose whether to attack, attempt a precision action, or wait for a counter opportunity.
  3. Use the appropriate Bathoryn element when the situation calls for fire or ice.
  4. Reassess after the exchange instead of assuming one sequence works against every opponent.

This is a practical way to understand the design without inventing controls or combos that have not been released. Exact button layouts, cancel rules, recovery times, and combo routes remain unconfirmed.

Bathoryn’s fire and ice powers

Bathoryn is not merely a conventional sword. The PlayStation listing says, “The sentient blade Bathoryn grants elemental powers, letting you cleave through enemies with fire, ice, and raw devastation.” Fire and ice are therefore confirmed themes of the weapon’s offensive toolkit.

Element or capability What is confirmed What is not yet specified
Fire Bathoryn can use fire-based power. Damage-over-time effects, area size, enemy weaknesses, resource use, and upgrade paths.
Ice Bathoryn can use ice-based power. Freezing duration, slowing effects, shatter mechanics, enemy resistances, and resource use.
Raw devastation The listing uses this phrase to describe Bathoryn’s destructive potential. Whether it names a move, a damage type, or general promotional wording.

For a new player, the safest expectation is that elemental selection will be part of combat decisions, not a guaranteed advantage in every encounter. The available material does not identify an elemental weakness chart or promise that fire always beats one enemy type and ice always beats another. Do not plan a permanent “fire build” or “ice build” until the developer explains how those powers are earned, switched, and improved.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The full-moon werewolf transformation

Akran can transform into a feral werewolf under the full moon. The PlayStation description phrases it as, “Under the full moon, the Beast within emerges.” In this form, Akran uses claws, teeth, and enhanced beastly power instead of relying solely on his human sword attacks.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The transformation is a confirmed feature, but its rules are not. The announcement does not say whether the full moon is tied to a fixed story event, a level cycle, a meter, a temporary ability, or a player-controlled trigger. It also does not state how long the Beast form lasts, whether Bathoryn remains usable, or whether the werewolf has different defensive options.

That uncertainty affects how you should approach early information. Treat the Beast as a second combat identity with its own attacks and priorities, not as a confirmed permanent upgrade. Any claims about werewolf skill trees, transformation costs, healing, or cooldowns go beyond the published details.

What the developers are still tuning

A Steam developer update says the team has been refining movement, aligning movesets, adding abilities for Akran, tuning Bathoryn’s elemental powers, and upgrading the Beast wolf form. These statements describe active development, so the announced mechanics are not necessarily final.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Movement: speed, acceleration, evasive feel, and how quickly Akran can reposition may change.
  • Movesets: attack animations, chains, timing windows, and the relationship between human and Beast attacks are still being aligned.
  • Akran’s abilities: additional actions may be added or revised before release.
  • Bathoryn’s elements: fire and ice effects are being tuned, so their balance and practical roles are provisional.
  • Beast form: the werewolf’s capabilities are being upgraded during development rather than presented as a locked final kit.

For previews and guides, this means a demonstrated move should be labeled as development footage or a current update unless the publisher confirms it in the final game.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Campaign structure and the three relics

The official listing describes three hand-crafted quests. Each quest is said to have its own landscape, lore, and enemies. The announced relic objectives are The Eye, The Heart, and The Dagger.

Quest information Confirmed detail
Number of hand-crafted quests Three
Relic objectives The Eye, The Heart, and The Dagger
Quest identity Each quest has its own landscape, lore, and enemies
Quest order Not stated
Mission length, optional content, and replay rules Not stated

The relic names establish the broad objective structure, but they do not reveal whether each relic belongs to one quest, whether the quests can be tackled in any order, or whether collecting them unlocks a final chapter. The source material also does not identify bosses, map sizes, side quests, branching choices, or multiple endings.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Does Slain 2 have leveling, a skill tree, or weapon upgrades?

No publicly consulted official material confirms an experience-level system, skill tree, weapon-upgrade costs, currencies, loot tiers, checkpoints, or a permanent build system. That is not proof that these features will be absent; it means they have not been specified in the available announcements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
System new players may ask about Current status What you should assume for now
Experience and character levels Not specified Do not expect a confirmed level cap, experience source, or stat curve.
Skill tree or skill points Not specified Akran’s announced abilities are not the same thing as a documented skill tree.
Weapon upgrades Not specified No costs, materials, tiers, or upgrade vendors are confirmed.
Currency and loot Not specified No currency names, drops, rarity colors, or equipment inventory are confirmed.
Checkpoints and progression saves Not specified Do not rely on a particular checkpoint or retry system until it is documented.
Permanent builds Not specified Fire, ice, and Beast abilities are announced powers, not confirmed build paths.

If a final release adds these systems, compare choices by attack reach, timing difficulty, elemental effect, defensive utility, resource cost, and usefulness against particular enemy types. Those are sensible evaluation criteria, but they are not published in-game statistics.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

A practical preparation guide for new players

Because the game is still in development, preparation means understanding the confirmed design rather than memorizing an unverified build.

  1. Learn the three combat verbs. Think of strikes as direct offense, precision attacks as timing-sensitive offense, and counters as defensive timing.
  2. Expect enemy-specific decisions. The game is designed around choosing and timing attacks, so test whether an enemy invites a counter or a precision response before committing to repeated swings.
  3. Keep both elements in mind. Fire and ice are confirmed Bathoryn powers, but their exact effects and matchups are still undisclosed.
  4. Separate human and Beast play. The werewolf uses claws and teeth and may require a different range and timing mindset from sword combat.
  5. Track confirmed quest goals. The Eye, The Heart, and The Dagger are the only named relic objectives currently identified.
  6. Verify late-breaking mechanics. Movement, movesets, Akran’s abilities, elemental tuning, and Beast form are all being refined.

Platforms and release timing

The official PlayStation listing confirms a PS5 version and DualSense vibration support. That establishes console support for Sony’s current-generation system, but it does not provide a final launch date.

A Steam developer update says the target release window moved from 2026 to 2027. The PlayStation page still lists the release date as to be determined. These statements are provisional rather than a firm day-and-date announcement, so readers should wait for a publisher confirmation before making a purchase or planning time around launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Question Current answer
Is Slain 2 coming to PS5? Yes. A PS5 listing is available, including DualSense vibration support.
When does it release? The Steam developer update targets 2027, while the PlayStation listing remains “to be determined.”
Is there a final launch date? No confirmed date is stated in the available official material.

What is confirmed versus what is speculation

The most reliable way to follow Slain 2 is to separate announced features from details that would require a final manual or guide. Confirmed information covers Akran, Bathoryn, fire and ice powers, melee strikes, precision attacks, counters, the full-moon Beast transformation, three hand-crafted quests, three relic names, PS5 support, and DualSense vibration.

Unconfirmed areas include the complete control scheme, exact combos, elemental weaknesses, transformation controls, quest order, bosses, mission length, experience, skill trees, upgrade prices, currencies, loot, checkpoints, save behavior, and release day. None of those should be presented as established mechanics until Steel Mantis or the publisher publishes them.

For now, the clearest expectation is a compact, authored action adventure centered on deliberate combat choices: sword strikes when an opening appears, precision attacks when timing allows, counters against readable threats, elemental decisions through Bathoryn, and a separate Beast form that emerges under the full moon. The campaign framework is known at a high level, while the systems that would define long-term character progression remain open.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.