Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: Sipeed MaixStation is the clearest named rival to NVIDIA DGX Spark. On paper, both compact systems pair 128GB of memory with 273GB/s bandwidth, but that does not make them performance equivalents. MaixStation is reported to use an Axera AX8860P and is expected to cost about $3,999; its retail price and software support are not yet established. DGX Spark combines NVIDIA’s GB10 Grace Blackwell platform, a documented CUDA-based software stack, DGX OS, ConnectX-7 networking and support for linking up to four systems. For CUDA applications, validated model tooling and very large models, DGX Spark is the lower-risk choice. MaixStation could be attractive if its hardware delivers competitive performance at the expected price, but there is no independent, directly comparable benchmark proving that it is faster.

MaixStation and DGX Spark at a glance

The two machines target the same broad idea: a compact workstation that can run substantial AI models locally without a conventional multi-GPU server. The published information shows a close match in memory capacity and bandwidth, but a major difference in how much is known about the surrounding platform.

Specification or capability Sipeed MaixStation NVIDIA DGX Spark
Compute platform Axera AX8860P, according to Tom’s Hardware GB10 Grace Blackwell platform
AI accelerator details Detailed GPU or accelerator performance figures are not established in the available reporting Blackwell GPU with fifth-generation Tensor Cores
Peak AI figure Not stated Up to 1 PFLOP FP4, according to NVIDIA’s product specification
Memory capacity 128GB LPDDR5X 128GB coherent unified memory
Memory bandwidth 273GB/s 273GB/s
CPU Not stated in the cited report 20-core Arm CPU
Storage Not stated Up to 4TB NVMe storage
Networking and expansion Not stated ConnectX-7 networking; up to four systems can be connected for larger models and multi-agent workloads
System power figure Not stated 140W GB10 SoC TDP in NVIDIA’s hardware guide
Software An equally detailed official stack description is not available in the cited material DGX OS plus NVIDIA’s AI software stack
Price Expected around $3,999; not a confirmed retail price Not stated in the supplied specifications
Availability Region and retail availability not established Availability, configuration and support depend on the seller and region

The identical 128GB and 273GB/s figures are useful starting points, not a benchmark result. Accelerator architecture, compiler maturity, model kernels, thermal limits, storage configuration and software all affect the work a system completes per second.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What Sipeed MaixStation is—and what is still unknown

Published hardware position

Tom’s Hardware identifies MaixStation as a Sipeed system built around the Axera AX8860P, with 128GB of LPDDR5X memory rated at 273GB/s. The report gives an expected price of approximately $3,999. That number should be treated as a forecast rather than a confirmed retail price: a final price, sales region, taxes, storage option, warranty and delivery date are not established by the cited material.

MaixStation’s headline specification therefore resembles DGX Spark’s memory configuration. A 128GB pool is large enough to make local experimentation with models that would not fit in an ordinary 16GB or 24GB graphics card plausible. It does not, by itself, establish how quickly those models run, which numerical formats are accelerated, or whether a particular model can be loaded without conversion or offloading.

The missing software information matters

The available MaixStation report is principally a hardware description. It does not provide an equivalent, official account of operating-system integration, supported frameworks, container images, compiler toolchains, model formats, quantization paths, driver updates or multi-machine orchestration. Consequently, it would be inaccurate to promise CUDA, ROCm or compatibility with a named model family for MaixStation without separate documentation.

That uncertainty is not a minor footnote. Local AI users spend substantial time preparing weights, selecting runtimes, compiling kernels, resolving dependencies and updating drivers. A machine with impressive memory numbers can still be a poor workstation if the desired framework or model has no maintained path to the accelerator.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What NVIDIA DGX Spark provides

GB10 Grace Blackwell hardware

NVIDIA describes DGX Spark as a GB10 Grace Blackwell system. Its specification lists a 20-core Arm CPU, a Blackwell GPU and fifth-generation Tensor Cores, with up to 1 PFLOP of FP4 AI performance. The machine has 128GB of coherent unified memory running at 273GB/s, up to 4TB of NVMe storage and ConnectX-7 networking. NVIDIA’s hardware guide lists a 140W TDP for the GB10 system-on-chip.

Coherent unified memory is relevant when a model and its working data need to be addressed across the CPU and GPU without the conventional split between system RAM and a discrete graphics-card pool. It does not remove the need to budget memory for weights, activations, context, runtime overhead and the operating system. A model advertised as fitting in 128GB may still require a smaller quantization, a reduced context window or a different serving configuration.

A complete platform rather than only a board

DGX Spark ships with DGX OS and NVIDIA’s AI software stack. NVIDIA positions that stack for developing, testing, validating and deploying models and agents. Release notes document continuing DGX OS updates, setup improvements and fixes affecting multi-system performance. This gives buyers a documented update path instead of leaving the operating environment entirely to community-maintained packages.

NVIDIA also documents connecting up to four DGX Spark systems for larger models and multi-agent workloads. That capability is distinct from simply owning four computers: the interconnect, software support and model-partitioning method determine whether scaling is useful. ConnectX-7 is part of the documented platform, while MaixStation’s corresponding interconnect specification is not stated in the available material.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Memory capacity, bandwidth and model size

Why the 128GB comparison is useful

Both products are aimed at workloads that exceed the capacity of mainstream consumer GPUs. If a target model’s weights and runtime state fit in one 128GB memory pool, the user may avoid splitting the model across several cards or moving portions over a slower host link. That can simplify deployment and reduce the number of components in a workstation.

The 273GB/s figure is also the same for both systems in the cited specifications. However, bandwidth is a throughput ceiling for memory transfers, not a direct measure of generated tokens, training time or image-rendering speed. The accelerator’s execution units, kernel implementation, precision support and software scheduling determine how effectively that bandwidth is used.

Rank #2
NVIDIA RTX A400 4GB ATX
  • 900-5G172-2260-000

Very large models

A TechRadar report says DGX Spark remains stronger for CUDA applications and for models above 200 billion parameters. That statement is useful context for the class of compact AI systems, but it is not a MaixStation-versus-DGX Spark benchmark. It should not be converted into a claimed tokens-per-second advantage or a guarantee that every model above 200B will run on DGX Spark.

For either system, check the complete memory budget before buying. A parameter count is only the starting point: quantization format, context length, batch size, key-value cache, adapters and serving software can change the requirement substantially. If the model does not fit, the practical alternatives are a lower-bit format, a smaller model, reduced context, CPU offload or multiple connected systems.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Software ecosystem: the largest documented difference

DGX Spark’s CUDA path

DGX Spark’s advantage is not merely the word NVIDIA on the enclosure. Its documented platform includes DGX OS and the NVIDIA AI stack, with CUDA-oriented tooling that is widely used for model development and deployment. The supplied material specifically supports calling the CUDA ecosystem better documented and the NVIDIA tooling validated for this class of workload.

For a developer, that can affect the entire workflow: installing a supported driver, selecting a container, loading a framework build, compiling custom extensions, profiling a kernel, moving from a notebook to a service and applying an operating-system update. The more of those steps are covered by vendor documentation and maintained images, the less time is spent adapting software to the hardware.

MaixStation requires verification before purchase

No equally detailed official software-stack description is established for MaixStation in the available reporting. Before committing, ask the seller for the exact operating system, accelerator runtime, framework versions, supported model formats, container guidance, update policy and examples for the models you intend to run. Also verify whether the documentation covers inference only or includes fine-tuning, custom operators and multi-process serving.

Do not assume that a model documented for CUDA will run unchanged on MaixStation. A compatible model file is not the same thing as a compatible execution runtime, and a runtime that can load a model may not provide optimized kernels for every layer or quantization format.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Real-world AI performance: what can and cannot be concluded

There is no apples-to-apples benchmark

The available evidence does not include an independent test running the same models, quantization, runtime, batch size, context length and power conditions on both MaixStation and DGX Spark. As a result, no defensible tokens-per-second, training-time or image-generation winner can be named.

Comparisons that quote a single speed number without those controls are especially risky here. A larger batch can improve throughput while increasing latency; a shorter context can make a model appear faster; and one runtime may contain a highly optimized kernel that another platform lacks. Power limits and thermal behavior can also change sustained performance after several minutes.

Evidence-based workload guidance

Workload What the evidence supports Buying implication
CUDA-based inference DGX Spark has the better-documented CUDA ecosystem and NVIDIA tooling Prefer DGX Spark when existing software depends on CUDA or NVIDIA containers
Models above 200B parameters TechRadar reports DGX Spark as stronger in this area; this is not a direct MaixStation benchmark Use DGX Spark’s documented memory and multi-system path as the safer starting point
Local inference on models that fit in 128GB Both advertise 128GB-class memory; speed and compatibility remain unproven for MaixStation Compare the exact runtime, quantization and model support rather than capacity alone
Fine-tuning No MaixStation fine-tuning support is established; DGX Spark is positioned for developing, testing, validating and deploying models Confirm training framework and adapter support before selecting either system
Image or video generation No shared benchmark or model-compatibility matrix is supplied Require a vendor-supported workflow for the specific pipeline you plan to use
Agent orchestration across machines NVIDIA documents up to four connected DGX Spark systems for larger models and multi-agent workloads Choose DGX Spark if this scaling path is a requirement; MaixStation’s equivalent is not stated

Can MaixStation run the same local LLMs as DGX Spark?

It may be possible for some models, but the supplied evidence does not establish a shared compatibility list. The 128GB memory figure suggests that the two systems are aimed at overlapping model sizes, yet loading the same weights requires an accelerator runtime and framework support for the model architecture, operators and numerical format.

Rank #3
ASUS Ascent GX10 Personal AI Supercomputer | 1pFLOP FP4 Performance, TAA
  • Extreme AI Performance: Powered by NVIDIA GB10 Grace Blackwell Superchip delivering 1 petaFLOP of AI performance and 128GB memory for 200B model fine-tuning.
  • Developer-Optimized Platform: Designed for AI developers building secure, long-running agentic workflows, with compatibility across frameworks such as OpenClaw and NemoClaw, supporting private on-device inference, sandboxed execution, and governed data access.
  • Scalable Architecture: Featuring NVIDIA NVLink-C2C for ultra-fast CPU-GPU memory communication and NVIDIA ConnectX-7 networking to support dual GX10 system stacking, unlocking superior scalability and performance.
  • Advanced Thermal Design: Engineered cooling ensures sustained high performance and reliability in an ultra-small form factor.
  • Full Stack AI Solution: The GB10 and NVIDIA AI software stack provide a full stack solution for AI development and deployment.

DGX Spark has a clearer path when the model’s documentation assumes CUDA, NVIDIA containers or Blackwell-optimized kernels. For MaixStation, obtain a tested example for the exact model and quantization you want. A useful vendor answer should specify the model revision, runtime version, context length, batch size and whether any layers are executed on the CPU.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you need a model that is close to the 128GB limit, request a memory report rather than relying on the parameter count. Weight storage, key-value cache and temporary buffers can push a nominally fitting model over the limit.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Networking and multi-system scaling

DGX Spark’s documented option

ConnectX-7 networking is part of DGX Spark’s specification, and NVIDIA documents linking up to four systems for larger models and multi-agent workloads. This gives a defined path from one compact workstation to a small cluster. The practical benefit depends on software that can partition the model or coordinate agents efficiently; adding boxes does not automatically multiply single-user latency performance.

Do not infer MaixStation networking

The cited MaixStation report does not state its networking hardware, link speed or supported distributed-inference software. Treat those as purchase questions, not assumptions. A fast local memory subsystem cannot compensate for an interconnect that becomes a bottleneck when model layers or cache data must move between systems.

For comparison, TechRadar notes that an AMD 128GB Ryzen AI Halo alternative uses a slower 10GbE connection. That observation helps explain why interconnect choice matters in this product category, but it is not a measurement of MaixStation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Price, availability and total ownership risk

MaixStation’s expected price

The only price figure supplied for MaixStation is Tom’s Hardware’s expectation of about $3,999. Because it is not a confirmed retail price, treat it as a planning estimate. Verify the final invoice in your region, included storage, power supply, warranty coverage, taxes, shipping and return terms.

DGX Spark’s premium is partly software and support

A confirmed DGX Spark price is not provided here, so a precise dollar premium cannot be calculated. The value case for paying more rests on the documented platform: DGX OS, NVIDIA’s AI software stack, CUDA-oriented tooling, ongoing release notes, ConnectX-7 and a supported four-system expansion path. Whether that premium is worthwhile depends on how much engineering time your project would otherwise spend adapting software and maintaining the system.

Purchase question What to verify for MaixStation What is documented for DGX Spark
Final price Confirm retail price; $3,999 is only an expectation Obtain the current seller quote
Storage included Not stated in the cited report Configurations can include up to 4TB NVMe
Warranty and support Confirm region-specific terms Confirm seller and regional terms
Software updates Ask for cadence and supported versions DGX OS release notes show continuing updates and fixes
Scaling Ask whether distributed workloads are supported Up to four connected systems are documented

Which compact AI workstation should you choose?

Choose DGX Spark when software certainty is the priority

  • Your projects depend on CUDA, NVIDIA containers or existing NVIDIA framework integrations.
  • You need a documented route for models above 200B parameters or multi-system workloads.
  • You value vendor-maintained operating-system updates and a defined deployment stack.
  • You are buying for a team where reproducibility and support matter more than an unconfirmed launch price.

Consider MaixStation when price and experimentation justify verification

  • The expected price is materially lower in your region after storage, taxes and support are included.
  • Your target models have a vendor-tested runtime on the AX8860P.
  • You are comfortable validating framework support, compiling or adapting software and accepting less-documented scaling.
  • You can wait for confirmed retail availability and independent benchmarks.

Use a pre-purchase acceptance checklist

  1. Write down the exact models, quantization formats, context lengths and batch sizes you intend to run.
  2. Request a compatibility matrix and a working example for each model on the proposed machine.
  3. Confirm usable memory after the operating system and runtime overhead, not just installed capacity.
  4. Ask for sustained-performance results with clearly stated power, temperature and runtime conditions.
  5. Verify storage, networking, warranty, replacement procedure and update policy in your country.
  6. If multi-system operation matters, confirm the interconnect, supported software and maximum tested system count.

Bottom line

MaixStation is a credible paper rival because its reported 128GB LPDDR5X pool and 273GB/s bandwidth line up with DGX Spark’s headline memory figures, and its expected price is about $3,999. But the available evidence does not prove that it is faster, cheaper at retail or compatible with the same local LLM workflows. DGX Spark is the safer professional choice when CUDA support, NVIDIA’s documented software stack, validated tooling, large-model guidance and multi-system networking are decisive. MaixStation is best treated as a potentially lower-cost alternative whose real value depends on confirmed software support, availability and independent testing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.