Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

There is no defensible universal winner among Samsung, LG, and Whirlpool refrigerators. The right choice depends on the refrigerator style that fits your kitchen, the exact model’s dimensions and features, warranty language, and whether an authorized technician serves your area. In the 2025 J.D. Power U.S. study, Whirlpool had fewer reported problems than LG in the side-by-side and French-door categories, but the published results available here do not include a comparable Samsung score. Treat those figures as category-specific survey evidence—not a guarantee for any individual refrigerator.

Use the process below to compare equivalent models, verify installation fit, and avoid paying for features or service arrangements that do not suit your household.

What the comparison can—and cannot—tell you

Brand reputation is a poor substitute for model-level research. Samsung, LG, and Whirlpool each sell multiple refrigerator layouts, capacities, dispenser arrangements, and smart features. A compact top-freezer refrigerator from one brand is not a meaningful reliability comparison with a large, plumbed four-door model from another. Compare French-door with French-door, side-by-side with side-by-side, and similar capacities before drawing conclusions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The available evidence also has boundaries. J.D. Power’s 2025 study reports side-by-side and French-door reliability results for Whirlpool and LG, but no corresponding Samsung result appears in the published material used for this comparison. Consumer Reports’ latest visible search summary gives an overall icemaker estimate, not a brand ranking, and its full article was inaccessible. Current prices, EnergyGuide ratings, and exact local service coverage must be checked for the models and ZIP code you are considering.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Choose the refrigerator layout before the brand

French-door refrigerators

French-door models put the fresh-food section at eye level behind two narrow doors and place the freezer below. The layout is convenient for wide platters and frequently used foods, but the freezer is usually a pull-out drawer rather than a full-width shelf. Measure the drawer’s travel path and make sure an island or walkway will not block it. External ice and water dispensers, dual-ice systems, and flexible temperature zones are model-specific options.

Side-by-side refrigerators

Side-by-side models divide the cabinet vertically, keeping both refrigerator and freezer contents at standing height. Narrower shelves can make large trays awkward, while the freezer’s vertical organization may suit households that prefer eye-level access to frozen items. Check the usable shelf width rather than relying only on the advertised cubic-foot figure.

Four-door and flexible-compartment models

Four-door designs separate compartments more finely and may let you switch a section between refrigerator and freezer temperatures. That flexibility can reduce wasted space when your shopping pattern changes, but it adds controls, seals, and moving parts. Confirm the exact temperature ranges, conversion procedure, and warranty coverage for those components in the model’s documentation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Top-freezer and bottom-freezer models

Top-freezer refrigerators put the freezer at eye level and generally use a simpler arrangement. Bottom-freezer models keep fresh food higher and provide a drawer-style freezer. Neither layout is inherently more reliable than the others in the evidence cited here; choose based on access, capacity, and fit.

Measure the kitchen and delivery route

Fit is a hard requirement. Before comparing prices, record the opening width, maximum height, available depth, ceiling height above the cabinet, and the space needed for doors and drawers to open. Include handle projection, hinge clearance, ventilation requirements, and the path through doorways, hallways, stairs, and turns. A refrigerator that fits the opening can still fail to reach the kitchen.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Whirlpool distinguishes counter-depth and standard-depth designs: counter-depth models are intended to align more closely with surrounding cabinets, while standard-depth models typically provide more interior storage. These are general design trade-offs, not a promise about every model. Follow the installation guide for the exact refrigerator.

Example model Configuration Published size and capacity Published depth
Whirlpool WRFC2036RZ French-door, counter-depth 36 inches wide; 20 cu. ft. 29-3/8 inches

The WRFC2036RZ is an example from Whirlpool’s U.S. catalog, not a claim that it is equivalent to every 36-inch French-door refrigerator. Confirm required side, top, rear, and door-swing clearances in the installation guide before ordering. Whirlpool’s current refrigerator catalog, including its French-door, side-by-side, four-door, and counter-depth ranges, is at Whirlpool’s refrigerator catalog.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use this measurement checklist

  • Measure the finished opening at its narrowest points, not just the nominal cabinet width.
  • Record floor-to-ceiling height and any molding, soffit, or cabinet overhang.
  • Measure the refrigerator’s case depth separately from depth with doors and handles.
  • Check hinge-side and handle-side swing clearances with adjacent walls and cabinets.
  • Verify rear ventilation space, water-line routing, electrical-outlet position, and whether the floor is level.
  • Ask the seller or installer to confirm the delivery path and whether doors must be removed.

What reliability data says about Whirlpool, LG, and Samsung

J.D. Power’s 2025 U.S. Appliance Reliability and Service Study reports problems per 100 units (PP100). Lower PP100 means fewer problems reported on average. The inaugural study collected 12,755 reliability responses and 1,419 service responses online in June and July 2025 from owners who purchased major appliances within the prior one to three years.

Refrigerator style Whirlpool LG Samsung result in the published comparison
Side-by-side 60 PP100 68 PP100 Not reported
French-door 68 PP100 74 PP100 Not reported

In those two categories, Whirlpool’s reported rate was lower than LG’s. The differences are averages across the study population, not a prediction for a particular serial number, retailer, installation, or household. They also should not be extrapolated to four-door, top-freezer, bottom-freezer, or other configurations, and they do not establish a Samsung ranking.

Consumer Reports’ 2026 search-result summary estimates that 30 percent of refrigerators with icemakers will have a problem by the end of the fifth year. The full article was not accessible for this comparison, so use the number only as a cautiously attributed, overall icemaker estimate—not as evidence that Samsung, LG, or Whirlpool is better or worse.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For the primary study definitions and results, see J.D. Power’s 2025 appliance reliability and service release. The study cannot answer every reliability question, so model-specific reviews, warranty terms, installation quality, and service availability still matter.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What each brand’s documented evidence supports

Whirlpool

Whirlpool’s U.S. catalog lists French-door, side-by-side, four-door, and counter-depth refrigerators, with organization features, ice and water arrangements, and smart integration on selected models. The catalog identifies the WRFC2036RZ as a 36-inch, 20-cu.-ft. counter-depth French-door refrigerator with a 29-3/8-inch depth. Feature availability is model-specific; do not assume that one Whirlpool series includes the controls or dispenser arrangement of another.

Samsung

Samsung’s U.S. refrigerator range includes Bespoke, French-door, 4-Door Flex, Family Hub, side-by-side, and top-freezer lines. Availability and features vary by model and market. Samsung’s warranty page says that most U.S. refrigerators typically receive one year of parts-and-labor coverage, five years of parts-and-labor coverage for the sealed refrigeration system, and ten years covering the digital inverter compressor part. Those periods are not a comparative reliability score, and the exact model’s terms, exclusions, registration requirements, and labor limits control. Read the current language at Samsung’s refrigerator warranty page.

LG

The evidence available here supports LG’s category-specific J.D. Power results, but it does not establish a current official LG model comparison, present-day prices, or a complete warranty summary. For an LG candidate, obtain the model’s specification sheet and warranty document, then compare its parts and labor periods with the competing models on the same basis.

Warranty and authorized service are separate decisions

A long component warranty may cover a part while limiting labor, travel, diagnostic charges, or coverage to a particular failure. Compare the number of years for parts and labor separately, identify sealed-system and compressor provisions, and read exclusions for cosmetic damage, installation, water filtration, misuse, and non-authorized repairs. Keep the purchase receipt and record the model and serial numbers.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Service access can be more important than a small difference in survey scores. RTINGS’ ongoing U.S. service-coverage test includes Samsung, LG, and Whirlpool and had tested 522 contiguous-U.S. locations; its map was last updated January 12, 2026. The 522 figure is a sample count, not the number of service centers, and the accessible page does not declare a single national winner. Check whether an authorized technician covers your ZIP code and the specific model before purchase. See RTINGS’ refrigerator service-coverage test.

Questions to ask the seller or manufacturer

  • Who performs in-warranty repairs in my ZIP code?
  • Does the quoted warranty include on-site labor and travel, or only parts?
  • Are sealed-system and compressor claims handled by a different process?
  • What is the expected parts-order process if the model is discontinued?
  • Does installing a water line or third-party filter affect coverage?

Compare features by household need

Ice and water

Choose among an external dispenser, internal water dispenser, dual-ice arrangement, or no plumbed feature. An external dispenser is convenient but requires door hardware and a water connection. An internal reservoir avoids plumbing but needs refilling. A no-ice option removes the need to maintain an icemaker. Extra mechanisms are not automatically defective; weigh their value against cleaning, filter replacement, installation, and local service access.

Organization and usable capacity

Compare shelf depth, door-bin height, drawer separation, and freezer width—not only the headline cubic-foot number. A counter-depth cabinet may look integrated while holding less than a standard-depth model. Bring the dimensions of large containers or trays you routinely store when evaluating shelf layouts.

Smart controls and connectivity

Smart screens, app alerts, cameras, and temperature zones can be useful if your household will configure and maintain them. They also add software, networking, and control hardware. Decide whether remote alerts solve a real problem, and verify that essential cooling functions remain usable if Wi-Fi or an account is unavailable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Match the choice to your priorities

If your priority is… How to decide
Lowest documented problem rate in the available style data For side-by-side or French-door models, Whirlpool’s 2025 J.D. Power PP100 was lower than LG’s; no comparable Samsung figure is reported here. Confirm that your chosen style matches the study category.
A particular smart or flexible-compartment feature Start with the exact Samsung, LG, or Whirlpool model that has the feature, then verify dimensions, warranty, and service before comparing brands.
A cabinet-aligned appearance Look at counter-depth models and check their reduced usable capacity and installation clearances against your kitchen.
Maximum storage for the opening Compare standard-depth and counter-depth usable capacity, shelf geometry, and door swing; Whirlpool notes that standard depth typically offers more storage.
Easy local repair Use the manufacturer’s authorized-service lookup and confirm coverage for your ZIP code and model before paying a deposit.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A step-by-step buying process

  1. Choose the layout. Decide whether French-door, side-by-side, four-door, top-freezer, or bottom-freezer access suits the foods and freezer space your household uses.
  2. Set physical limits. Measure opening, depth, height, swing, ventilation, and delivery route. Reject any model that fails a required clearance.
  3. Build an equivalent shortlist. Keep configuration, width, approximate capacity, dispenser type, and depth comparable across Samsung, LG, and Whirlpool.
  4. Check the specification sheets. Confirm usable storage, shelf and drawer arrangement, water requirements, electrical requirements, noise information if provided, and included accessories.
  5. Read the exact warranty. Record parts and labor terms, sealed-system and compressor provisions, exclusions, and claim procedures for each model.
  6. Verify service. Call the listed authorized provider or use the manufacturer’s lookup for your ZIP code. Ask whether technicians stock or can order model-specific parts.
  7. Compare operating information. Use the exact EnergyGuide label and current retailer pricing for the same configuration. Do not substitute a different capacity or promotional bundle.
  8. Plan installation. Confirm water-line materials, outlet location, floor protection, door removal, haul-away, and who is responsible for leveling and testing.
  9. Inspect at delivery. Photograph packaging and exterior condition, check doors and drawers, verify temperature after startup, and report shipping damage through the seller’s stated process.

Price and energy comparisons require live model data

No like-for-like current prices or energy-use figures for Samsung, LG, and Whirlpool were established here. Prices change with capacity, finish, promotions, retailer, delivery, and installation. Compare the same style and approximate capacity, include delivery and haul-away charges, and read the exact EnergyGuide label rather than relying on a brand-wide assumption. A lower purchase price can be offset by installation, filter, ice-maker, or service costs.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Picking a brand before a configuration

A brand-first decision can lead you to compare unrelated layouts. Select the refrigerator style and physical constraints first, then compare equivalent models.

Using a headline warranty number as a reliability ranking

Samsung’s ten-year digital-inverter-compressor figure covers the compressor part under stated terms; it does not mean ten years of complete refrigerator repair. Separate parts coverage from labor and read exclusions for every brand.

Ignoring service geography

A national brand name does not guarantee convenient authorized repair in every ZIP code. Check local coverage and expected parts availability before purchase, especially for complex dispensers or flexible compartments.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming counter-depth means the same capacity

Counter-depth models can align with cabinets but generally sacrifice some interior volume compared with standard depth. Compare usable shelf and drawer dimensions, not just exterior width.

Overinterpreting survey averages

The J.D. Power PP100 figures describe reported problems in named styles and a defined 2025 survey population. They do not rank Samsung, every refrigerator type, or every individual unit. Installation quality and model-specific design still affect ownership.

Verdict: choose the model that wins your checklist

Choose Whirlpool when an equivalent side-by-side or French-door model fits your kitchen and the 2025 J.D. Power category results are meaningful to your decision. Choose Samsung or LG when a specific model’s layout, capacity, controls, or local service better matches your household—but verify the warranty and service details rather than relying on the logo. In every case, measure first, compare equivalent configurations, confirm authorized repair access, and use the exact model’s documentation before ordering.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.