Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Samsung Galaxy S26 and OPPO Reno16 5G are not a like-for-like price comparison unless you match their market and storage configuration. The available OPPO prices are for India’s Reno16 5G (model CPH2865), while Samsung’s detailed S26 specifications cited here come from its US announcement. OPPO warns that regional Reno16 versions can differ.

On paper, the India Reno16 offers a larger battery, faster wired charging, and a 3.5x optical telephoto camera. Samsung’s US-announcement S26 is the smaller-screen option and lists a different processor, IP68 protection, and 8K video recording. Those specifications do not establish which phone performs better in everyday use.

Which Galaxy S26 and Reno16 models are being compared?

This comparison covers Samsung’s base Galaxy S26 as described in its 25 February 2026 US announcement, plus Samsung India’s listed battery and storage details, against the India-market OPPO Reno16 5G, model CPH2865. It does not cover every regional version.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

OPPO identifies Reno16 5G as CPH2865 and Reno16c 5G as the separate model CPH2859. The names are not interchangeable, and OPPO says specifications and prices can differ in other countries. Its global announcement states: “Pricing, regional availability and release timing will vary by market.”

#1 Best Overall
Samsung Galaxy S26, Unlocked Android Smartphone, 256GB, Black
  • TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
  • MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
  • FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
  • IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
  • FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment

Samsung also cautions that storage, colours, offers, and availability vary by region and other terms. The S26’s connectivity and availability details can vary by market as well.

How do their specifications compare?

Specification Samsung Galaxy S26 OPPO Reno16 5G (India, CPH2865)
Display 6.3-inch FHD+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X; adaptive 1–120Hz refresh rate (Samsung US announcement) 16.05cm display; 2640 × 1216 resolution (OPPO India)
Processor Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy (Samsung US announcement) Snapdragon 7 Gen 4 (OPPO India)
Rear cameras 50MP wide with autofocus, 12MP ultrawide with fixed focus, and 10MP 3x telephoto with autofocus (Samsung US announcement) OPPO lists a 50MP ultrawide and 50MP 3.5x optical telephoto; the cited India specifications do not state the full rear-camera set
Rear video Up to 4K/60fps and 8K/30fps (Samsung US announcement) Up to 4K/60fps (OPPO India)
Battery 4300mAh typical; 4175mAh rated (Samsung India) 6700mAh typical; 6490mAh rated (OPPO India)
Wired charging Not stated in the cited sources 80W SUPERVOOC (OPPO India)
Water and dust resistance IP68 (Samsung US announcement) IP66, IP68, IP69, and IP69K (OPPO India)
Dimensions and weight 71.7 × 149.6 × 7.2mm and 167g for the Sub6 version (Samsung US announcement) Not stated in the cited sources
Memory and storage Samsung India lists 12GB memory with 256GB or 512GB storage OPPO lists LPDDR5X memory and UFS 3.1 storage; India price configurations include 8GB+256GB and 12GB+256GB
Expansion and NFC Not stated in the cited sources No memory-card expansion or NFC, according to OPPO India’s FAQ

What do the camera specifications tell you?

The Reno16’s listed 3.5x optical telephoto is a distinct camera specification; the S26 announcement lists a 3x telephoto alongside wide and ultrawide cameras. Samsung also lists 8K/30fps recording, while both phones are listed for 4K/60fps rear video.

Rank #2
Samsung Galaxy S26, Unlocked Android Smartphone, 256GB, Cobalt Violet
  • TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
  • MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
  • FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
  • IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
  • FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment

These are hardware and supported-mode comparisons, not image-quality results. The cited sources do not provide controlled side-by-side tests of detail, low-light performance, stabilization, or video quality. A higher megapixel count or longer optical zoom figure alone does not establish which phone takes better photographs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which has the bigger battery, and which charges faster?

OPPO lists a 6700mAh typical battery for the India Reno16 5G, compared with Samsung India’s 4300mAh typical figure for the S26. The rated capacities are 6490mAh and 4175mAh, respectively. OPPO lists 80W SUPERVOOC wired charging; the cited Samsung pages do not state an S26 charging rate.

Rank #3
Sale
Samsung Galaxy S26, Unlocked Android Smartphone, 512GB, Sky Blue
  • TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
  • MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
  • FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
  • IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
  • FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment

Battery capacity and charging wattage do not establish actual endurance or charging time. The available sources do not report controlled battery-life or charging tests for these two phones.

What is the price difference in India?

OPPO’s India article listed the Reno16 5G, inclusive of taxes, at the following prices as of 31 August 2026. OPPO says prices and offers can change.

Rank #4
Samsung Galaxy S26, Unlocked Android Smartphone, 256GB, Sky Blue
  • TYPE IT IN. TRANSFORM IT FAST: Enhance any shot in seconds on your smartphone by using Photo Assist¹ with Galaxy AI.² Add objects, restore details, or apply new styles by simply typing or tapping
  • MAKE IT. EDIT IT. SHARE IT: Turn everyday moments into something personal with creative tools built right into your mobile whether it’s a special contact photo, custom wallpaper, an invitation or more³
  • FAST. POWERFUL. AI-READY: Power through your day with AI-accelerated performance from our fastest, smoothest and most powerful Galaxy processor yet, built to keep up with everything you do
  • IMMENSELY IMMERSIVE: No matter where you are or what you’re watching, your favorite videos and more come to life with the vibrant display on Galaxy S26
  • FIT EVERYONE IN THE SHOT: Group selfies are easier on your Samsung phone with a wider front camera⁴ that captures more of the scene, so no one gets left out of the moment
India configuration OPPO-listed price as of 31 August 2026
8GB + 256GB ₹66,999
12GB + 256GB ₹72,999

The available Samsung India product information lists 12GB memory with 256GB or 512GB storage but does not state a comparable current S26 price. A reliable India price difference therefore cannot be calculated from these figures. Check the current local S26 price and compare the closest storage configuration; do not compare an India price with a US launch price or an outdated offer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What comes in the box?

OPPO says the Reno16 ships with a charger, USB cable, SIM tool, protective case, and quick guide, while noting that box contents can vary by market. Samsung India says the S26 includes a data cable and SIM-ejection pin but not a wall charger; the charger is sold separately.

Best Value
Samsung Galaxy S26 | 256GB, 12GB RAM | 6.3" Fully Unlocked Android Smartphone, Powerful Processor, Galaxy AI, Immersive Viewing, Durable Battery, 2026, US Model, Black (Renewed)
  • Brilliant 6.3" Display: Enjoy a sharp Dynamic AMOLED 2X FHD+ screen with 120Hz adaptive refresh rate, HDR support, Gorilla Glass Victus 2, and smooth everyday viewing for streaming, gaming, and browsing.
  • Next-Gen Galaxy Performance: Powered by the Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy processor, 12GB RAM, Adreno 840 graphics, and 256GB internal storage for fast multitasking, gaming, AI features, and productivity.
  • Pro-Grade Triple Camera: Capture sharp photos and video with a 50MP wide camera with OIS, 10MP telephoto camera with 3x optical zoom, 12MP ultrawide camera, 12MP front camera, and up to 8K video recording.
  • Fast 5G + Modern Connectivity: Supports 5G Sub-6 and mmWave, 4G LTE, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0, NFC, GPS, USB-C, wireless charging, reverse wireless charging, and a long-lasting 4300mAh battery.
  • Unlocked US Model with Nano-SIM + eSIM (Dual SIM) support. Compatible with major GSM and CDMA carriers including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Metro, Straight Talk, Global GSM and other supported networks. (If carrier not listed, please contact seller to confirm MVNO compatibility. )

Which phone fits your priorities?

  • Consider the S26 if: you prefer the smaller 6.3-inch display listed for Samsung’s US-announcement model, want Samsung’s stated 8K/30fps video mode, or need the 512GB option shown on Samsung India’s product page.
  • Consider the India Reno16 5G if: its listed 6700mAh typical battery, 80W charging, 3.5x optical telephoto, or included charger and case better match your priorities.
  • Check before buying either: confirm the exact regional model, current price, storage tier, local warranty and service terms, and included accessories. The India Reno16 5G does not support NFC or memory-card expansion according to OPPO’s FAQ.

These are specification-based considerations, not a tested performance or camera verdict. Choose using the exact model sold in your country and current local terms.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.