Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

If your priority is a phone that will keep receiving Android upgrades and security patches longer than the Galaxy A04s, the best-documented choice in this comparison is the Google Pixel 8a. Google explicitly includes it in a seven-year OS-and-security-update policy. For a lower-cost, same-brand option, consider the Galaxy A07 or Galaxy A07 5G, but treat the often-quoted six-year figure as a secondary-source claim until Samsung confirms it for your country and exact model.

The Galaxy A04s has reached Android 14 in Samsung’s documented record for model SM-A047M, with an update released on September 10, 2026 carrying the August 5, 2026 security patch. That is a dated regional record, not a published end-of-support guarantee.

Which Galaxy A04s replacement has the longest documented support?

Among the phones covered by current, explicit policy evidence, the Pixel 8a is the clearest upgrade for long-term software support. Google’s live Pixel policy states that Pixel 8 and later models, including Pixel 8a, receive seven years of operating-system and security updates. The seven-year clock starts when each model first became available on the Google Store in the United States.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Galaxy A07 family is the more natural budget comparison. Samsung’s current security-scope page lists the Galaxy A07 and Galaxy A07 5G for monthly security updates. A secondary reference reports six Android OS upgrades and six years of security updates for A07 variants, but Samsung’s scope page does not itself state that six-year duration. LTE and 5G support periods may differ, so confirm the exact SKU and market before treating the figure as a commitment.

#1 Best Overall
CostMvp 4G Smartphone Unlocked, Android 12.0 Mobile Phones 6.6'' HD+ Display, 4GB RAM 32GB ROM/256GB SD, 4G Dual SIM Dual Camera, Face ID+WiFi+BT+FM+GPS+OTG (Black)
  • 【High-definition large screen, visually stunning】Featuring a 6.6-inch In-Cell HD display with a resolution of 576×1280 pixels, the screen delivers vivid and bright colors for an exceptional visual experience. Whether watching videos, browsing the web, or playing games, everything appears clearer and smoother.
  • 【Powerful Performance, Smooth Operation】Equipped with a MediaTek MTK6739 quad-core processor, combined with 4GB RAM and 32GB storage, the system runs stable and efficient. Supports microSD card expansion up to 256GB, easily storing more photos, videos, and apps.
  • 【Capture clarity, record brilliance】Equipped with an 13-megapixel front camera and a 16-megapixel rear dual-camera system, it meets all your selfie and everyday photography needs. Capture every beautiful moment in life with clear and natural images.
  • 【Long-lasting battery life, fast charging】Features a built-in 5000mAh high-capacity battery with a Type-C charging port for faster, safer charging. Delivers powerful endurance for daily use, eliminating the need for frequent recharging on the go.
  • 【Smart System, Seamless Experience】Powered by Android 12.0, featuring a clean and intuitive interface. Supports facial recognition unlocking and a triple-card slot design (dual SIM + memory card), offering flexible and convenient communication and expansion options.

No source establishes a precise global sunset date for every Galaxy A04s variant. Samsung warns that update changes can differ by model, country and service provider, and the available A04s history covers the regional SM-A047M record rather than every A04s sold worldwide.

At-a-glance comparison

Phone OS-upgrade evidence Security-update evidence What is confirmed about duration Main qualification
Galaxy A04s (SM-A047M record) Launched with Android 12; documented at Android 14 August 5, 2026 patch in an update released September 10, 2026 No exact remaining term stated in the cited official pages Record is regional; model, country and carrier can change delivery
Google Pixel 8a Included in Google’s seven-year OS-update policy Included in the same seven-year security-update policy Seven years from first US Google Store availability Rollout is gradual and can depend on carrier and device
Samsung Galaxy A07 Six Android upgrades reported by a secondary reference Samsung currently lists it for monthly security updates; six years reported secondarily Six-year total is not stated on the cited Samsung scope page Verify LTE model, country and Samsung’s written terms
Samsung Galaxy A07 5G Six Android upgrades reported by a secondary reference Samsung currently lists it for monthly security updates; six years reported secondarily Six-year total is not stated on the cited Samsung scope page 5G and LTE support periods may differ
Unspecified Xiaomi models Model-specific information required Xiaomi says it typically provides at least two years, with some models receiving three years or longer No named Xiaomi alternative with a longer guaranteed term is established here General policy depends on the model’s actual conditions

What Samsung’s Galaxy A04s record actually tells you

The phone started on Android 12

Samsung Mobile Press product information lists the Galaxy A04s as launching with Android 12. The documented move to Android 14 therefore shows two Android version steps for the cited variant. It does not prove that every A04s received the same timing, nor does it state how many future major upgrades remain.

The latest cited update is a dated snapshot

Samsung’s Galaxy A04s firmware history for model SM-A047M shows an update released on September 10, 2026 with security patch level August 5, 2026. That confirms the device was still receiving firmware in that regional channel at that date. It should not be rewritten as a promise that updates will continue for a particular number of additional months or years.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the A04s security-list omission matters, but does not give an end date

Samsung’s security-scope page groups devices into monthly, quarterly or biannual update schedules and notes that timing can vary by device, model and service version. The current monthly list includes Galaxy A07 and A07 5G, while Galaxy A04s is not on that monthly list. An omission from one cadence list does not establish that all support has stopped or provide a calendar end date; it only means you should not assume monthly delivery for the A04s.

Samsung’s own wording is important: “The exact changes may differ depending on your device model, country, and service provider.” Check your model number and carrier channel before using another region’s firmware history to predict your phone’s support.

How to compare software support correctly

A long support claim is useful only when you know what is being promised and when the clock starts. Use these five checks for every candidate:

  • Separate OS upgrades from security patches. A major Android upgrade changes the operating system; a security patch can protect an older Android version. Count both independently.
  • Identify the support clock. Google defines its seven-year period from first availability on the US Google Store. Other manufacturers may use launch, first sale or another milestone.
  • Match the exact model. LTE, 5G, regional and carrier versions can have different schedules.
  • Distinguish a cadence from a deadline. “Monthly” describes the intended release category, not the exact day an individual handset receives an update.
  • Confirm local availability and terms. A policy published for one market may not apply identically to your country or carrier.

Google Pixel 8a: the strongest documented long-support alternative

What Google promises

Google’s current Pixel update policy explicitly names Pixel 8a among Pixel 8-and-later phones eligible for seven years of OS and security updates. The period begins when that model first became available on the Google Store in the United States. Because the policy covers both categories, it is stronger and easier to evaluate than a statement that mentions security patches without specifying Android upgrades.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to interpret the seven-year clock

Seven years is not automatically seven years from the day you buy a used or imported handset. The relevant date is the model’s first US Google Store availability. Before purchasing, record the exact model and verify that your regional version is covered by the same policy. If you buy through a carrier or another retailer, the update may still arrive later than the Google release because Google says rollouts are gradual and timing can depend on the carrier and device.

Rank #3
Samsung Galaxy A16 5G 128GB Cell Phone, Unlocked Android Smartphone, Large AMOLED Display, Durable Design, Super Fast Charging, Expandable Storage, US Version, 2025, Blue Black (Renewed)
  • Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
  • 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
  • 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
  • US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.

Why it is the clearest A04s upgrade for support

The Pixel 8a is the only candidate in this evidence set with an explicit, manufacturer-published seven-year OS-and-security term tied to a defined starting event. That makes the remaining support easier to calculate than the A04s situation, where the available evidence shows Android 14 and a 2026 patch but no stated end date.

Checks before buying a Pixel 8a

  1. Confirm that the listing says Pixel 8a, not a similarly named older Pixel model.
  2. Ask the seller for the exact regional model and verify that it is not an imported variant with different carrier support.
  3. Use the first US Google Store availability date as the start of the seven-year calculation.
  4. Check your carrier’s compatibility and expected update timing, since a policy guarantee does not mean every carrier releases an update on the same day.
  5. Keep the purchase record and model identifier so you can resolve a support or warranty question later.

Galaxy A07 and A07 5G: budget choices that need verification

What Samsung’s current list confirms

Samsung’s current security-scope page places both Galaxy A07 and Galaxy A07 5G on its monthly security-update list. That is useful evidence that Samsung currently treats these models as active monthly-update devices. It does not, by itself, promise that every monthly release reaches every country or carrier simultaneously.

Where the six-year claim comes from

A secondary reference published by Wikipedia contributors in 2026 reports six Android OS upgrades and six years of security updates for Galaxy A07 variants. Samsung’s security-scope page corroborates that A07 models are listed for monthly updates, but it does not state the six-year total. Present the duration as a secondary-source report unless Samsung confirms it in writing for the exact market and SKU you plan to buy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

LTE and 5G are not interchangeable for support purposes

The secondary account indicates that LTE and 5G variants can have different support periods. Do not use a six-year statement about one version to make a promise about the other. The box, model number, retailer listing and Samsung support page should all identify the same connectivity variant.

Rank #4
Unlocked Cell Phone, Android 14 Smart Phones 2+8G, 5.8 Inch HD Smartphone, 2850mAh Long Battery Cellphone, Dual Sim Mobile Phones (Black-1)
  • 【2025 Smartphone Available Frequency 】Make sure your SIM card is compatible with the following frequencies: GSM 850/900/1800/1900; 3G WCDMA/B1/B2/B5/B8.
  • 【Powerful Processor】The powerful processor greatly improves the network, running speed, frame rate and picture smoothness when playing large games.
  • 【Dual SIM Unlocked Phone】Dual card dual standby, high‘definition full screen, smart phone, high‘quality performance.
  • 【Multiple Functions】Face recognition can accurately recognize faces, bringing science fiction unlocking experience.High definition camera, vivid Colors, every photo is as beautiful as wallpaper.
  • 【3MP Front Camera & 5MP Rear Camera Combination】Take stunning photos in any light, as well as beautifully blurred portraits and incredibly detailed closeups.

When the A07 makes sense

Choose an A07 when you want to remain with Samsung, need a lower-cost alternative and are willing to verify the written support terms locally. It is a more defensible long-support choice than buying another phone solely because it is newer: the current monthly-list presence is official, while the total duration still requires confirmation.

What Xiaomi’s policy can—and cannot—tell you

Xiaomi’s general support policy says the company typically maintains security updates for at least two years after a model’s first shipment. It also says some models may receive three years or longer, depending on actual conditions. This is a broad policy statement, not a named replacement for the A04s with a guaranteed longer term.

For that reason, do not select an unspecified Xiaomi phone on the strength of the company-wide minimum alone. You would need a model-specific page stating Android-version coverage, security-update duration, the first-shipment date used for the clock and the market that the page covers. Without those details, the A07 or Pixel 8a has clearer evidence for this particular support-focused purchase.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which alternative fits your priority?

Choose Pixel 8a for the clearest long-term commitment

Pick the Pixel 8a if your first requirement is an explicit, multi-year promise covering both Android versions and security patches. Its seven-year policy is the most complete documented term here. Your remaining task is to confirm the regional model, the policy start date and carrier rollout conditions.

Best Value
CostMvp 4G Smartphone Unlocked, Android 12.0 Mobile Phones 6.6'' HD+ Display, 4GB RAM 32GB ROM/256GB SD, 4G Dual SIM Dual Camera, Face ID+WiFi+BT+FM+GPS+OTG (Pink)
  • 【High-definition large screen, visually stunning】Featuring a 6.6-inch In-Cell HD display with a resolution of 576×1280 pixels, the screen delivers vivid and bright colors for an exceptional visual experience. Whether watching videos, browsing the web, or playing games, everything appears clearer and smoother.
  • 【Powerful Performance, Smooth Operation】Equipped with a MediaTek MTK6739 quad-core processor, combined with 4GB RAM and 32GB storage, the system runs stable and efficient. Supports microSD card expansion up to 256GB, easily storing more photos, videos, and apps.
  • 【Capture clarity, record brilliance】Equipped with an 13-megapixel front camera and a 16-megapixel rear dual-camera system, it meets all your selfie and everyday photography needs. Capture every beautiful moment in life with clear and natural images.
  • 【Long-lasting battery life, fast charging】Features a built-in 5000mAh high-capacity battery with a Type-C charging port for faster, safer charging. Delivers powerful endurance for daily use, eliminating the need for frequent recharging on the go.
  • 【Smart System, Seamless Experience】Powered by Android 12.0, featuring a clean and intuitive interface. Supports facial recognition unlocking and a triple-card slot design (dual SIM + memory card), offering flexible and convenient communication and expansion options.

Choose Galaxy A07 for a Samsung-centered budget path

Pick the Galaxy A07 or A07 5G if Samsung’s interface and ecosystem matter and the phone is available at a price you can justify. Treat the six-year number as provisional until Samsung confirms it for your exact version. The monthly security-list entry is official; the total-duration claim is not established by that page.

Do not choose solely from a manufacturer-wide minimum

A general promise such as Xiaomi’s typical two-year security period cannot answer the key question: how long will this exact model, in this exact country, receive updates? Require model-specific evidence before deciding.

How to verify support before you pay

  1. Write down the full model identifier. “A07” or “A07 5G” is not enough when LTE, 5G, carrier and regional versions may differ.
  2. Find the manufacturer’s support page for that identifier. Check the update policy and the firmware history, not only the retailer’s headline.
  3. Record the policy language. Note whether it promises OS upgrades, security patches or both, and whether the term is “up to,” “at least,” or a fixed number.
  4. Identify the start date. For Pixel 8a, use first US Google Store availability. For another brand, do not assume the same starting point.
  5. Check your carrier and country. Ask whether the exact model is sold and supported on your network and whether carrier approval can delay releases.
  6. Save evidence at purchase. Keep a copy of the policy page, model number and seller description in case the listing changes.

How to check the Galaxy A04s you already own

On the phone, open Settings and look for Software update to see the last installed patch and whether an update is available. Open About phone to record the model number, such as SM-A047M, and the software version. Compare that identifier with Samsung’s regional firmware history rather than searching only for “A04s.”

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If the page shows a recent patch but your handset is not on Samsung’s monthly list, that is not contradictory: a device can receive an update without being assigned to the monthly cadence. Conversely, a listing on a monthly page does not guarantee same-day delivery to your carrier.

How many years of updates does the Galaxy A04s have left?

There is no defensible single number from the cited official evidence. The SM-A047M record demonstrates Android 14 and a security patch dated August 5, 2026 in an update released September 10, 2026, but Samsung does not state a universal remaining-support period for all A04s variants on those pages. A precise answer requires the phone’s country, carrier, model number and a current Samsung statement for that channel.

That uncertainty is itself a buying consideration. If you need a support horizon that can be explained in one sentence, the Pixel 8a’s seven-year policy is clearer. If you want Samsung at a lower cost, verify the A07 variant and obtain the six-year claim from Samsung rather than relying only on a secondary summary.

Bottom line

The Google Pixel 8a is the best-supported Galaxy A04s alternative documented here: Google explicitly promises seven years of OS and security updates, measured from first US Google Store availability. The Galaxy A07 and A07 5G are sensible Samsung budget candidates because they currently appear on Samsung’s monthly security list, but their reported six-year duration needs confirmation for your model and market. The Galaxy A04s has a documented Android 14 and August 2026 patch record for one regional variant, yet no universal end date is established.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.