Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Short answer: Galaxy A36 5G and A56 5G are promised up to six Android/One UI upgrades and six years of security updates. Samsung gives the same stated commitment to A57 5G and A37 5G. The A27 5G appears on Samsung’s US six-year A-series support page, although Samsung’s published material does not separately state an Android-generation count for that model.
The support promises by model
Samsung’s March 2025 announcement for the Galaxy A56 5G and Galaxy A36 5G says each phone receives up to six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades, together with six years of security updates. Both models launched with Android 15 and One UI 7.0.
Samsung’s 2026 announcement for the Galaxy A57 5G and Galaxy A37 5G repeats the same wording: up to six generations of Android OS and One UI upgrades, plus up to six years of security updates. Samsung says the six-year period is measured from the first global launch for supported devices.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The Galaxy A27 5G is listed on Samsung’s US Galaxy A-series page, which describes the listed devices as receiving six years of security and software updates. That page establishes the six-year support positioning, but the material available for this article does not give the A27 a separate, explicit number of Android/One UI generations.
#1 Best Overall
- The included 25W Fast Charger is a generic accessory and is not a Samsung-branded charger, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
- 256GB, 12GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/17/20/25/26/28/38/40/41/66, 5G: N1/3/5/7/8/20/28/38/40/41/66/77/78 - Dual SIM
- International Model – Global Connectivity – Plug & Play with an active SIM on AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, and most U.S. carriers. New activations are supported on T-Mobile and Its MVNO's in the U.S., as some carriers may not recognize International IMEI's as Compatible. (No U.S. manufacturer warranty; Seller Return policy applies.)
| Model | Samsung-stated policy | Planning horizon |
|---|---|---|
| Galaxy A36 5G | Up to six Android/One UI generations and six years of security updates | About 2031, calculated from a 2025 launch year |
| Galaxy A56 5G | Up to six Android/One UI generations and six years of security updates | About 2031, calculated from a 2025 launch year |
| Galaxy A37 5G | Up to six Android/One UI generations and up to six years of security updates | About 2032, calculated from a 2026 launch year |
| Galaxy A57 5G | Up to six Android/One UI generations and up to six years of security updates | About 2032, calculated from a 2026 launch year |
| Galaxy A27 5G | Included on Samsung’s US six-year A-series page; a separate OS-generation count is not stated | About 2032 if its first global launch is treated as 2026 |
The years in the last column are arithmetic estimates, not Samsung-published final-support dates. A phone’s actual last update can depend on its launch context, country, carrier certification and exact model variant.
What “six generations” actually covers
Major Android and One UI upgrades
A generation refers to a major Android operating-system version and the corresponding One UI release, rather than to every monthly or quarterly patch. A major upgrade can change system APIs, privacy controls, multitasking behavior, settings and Samsung’s user interface. The promise therefore describes the number of major platform transitions a supported model may receive.
Security maintenance is a separate stream
Security updates address vulnerabilities and other maintenance issues. They are not the same deliverable as a new Android version. Samsung can continue issuing a security patch after a device has received its final major Android/One UI upgrade, so the end of platform upgrades does not automatically mark the end of security support.
Why Samsung says “up to”
“Up to” qualifies both the number and the delivery. It does not promise that every market will receive every release on the same day, or that a named upgrade will arrive on a fixed calendar date. Samsung’s wording leaves room for regional certification, carrier testing, hardware or software compatibility and rollout decisions.
How the calendar estimates are calculated
2025 models: A36 and A56
Starting with the 2025 launch year and applying the stated six-year security period produces an approximately 2031 planning horizon. This is useful when comparing a new purchase with an older phone, but it should not be read as “support ends on December 31, 2031.” Samsung has not published one universal final-patch date for every country and SKU.
2026 models: A37 and A57
Applying the same arithmetic to a 2026 first-global-launch context gives an approximately 2032 horizon. The calculation uses the year only; the precise end point would depend on the actual launch date and Samsung’s support accounting for the device.
A27’s estimate needs an extra qualification
The A27 appears on Samsung’s US six-year A-series page. If its first global launch is treated as occurring in 2026, a rough 2032 security-support horizon follows. Because the supplied Samsung material does not provide a separate A27 Android-generation figure or a universal final date, buyers should treat both the year and the platform-upgrade expectation as less specific than the A36/A56 and A37/A57 announcements.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsEvidence that the policy is active in current software
Samsung’s update records show the commitment operating at the individual-SKU level rather than only as launch marketing. The SM-A276B Galaxy A27 5G record lists an Android 16 update with a 2026-08-05 security patch; that release was dated 2026-07-27.
Rank #2
- AWESOMELY LIGHT: The sleeker, lighter design of Galaxy A56 5G makes it easier and more comfortable to hold as you browse, snap and share as compared to Galaxy A54 5G.
- AWESOME MADE EASY: The Awesome Intelligence of Galaxy A56 is like having a suite of superpowers. You can find answers quicker using Circle to Search with Google.7 Plus, get the photos and videos you want with tools like Best Face and Auto Trim .
- AWESOMELY VIVID DETAIL: The ultra-clear 6.7” display of Galaxy A56 5G helps you enjoy the latest shows, your favorite pics or fun social videos in awesome detail.2
- DELIGHT IN THE DETAILS: Galaxy A56 5G comes equipped with a triple-lens camera. A 50MP main camera gets great details, even at a distance. The 12MP wide camera allows you to get stunning clarity in your broader shots.
- LASTS LONG. CHARGES FAST: The 5,000mAh battery in Galaxy A56 5G lets you do what you want without worrying about running out of power. And the 45W Super Fast Charging 2.0 recharges your phone faster so you can get back to doing awesome things faster.3
The SM-A576B Galaxy A57 5G record lists an Android 16 update released on 2026-09-17, carrying the 2026-09-05 security patch. These records demonstrate that both an A27 variant and an A57 variant were receiving current platform and security software in 2026. They do not establish that every regional variant receives the same build on the same date.
Why two owners can see different update dates
Country and carrier certification
Samsung distributes firmware by model, market and service configuration. A carrier may need to certify a build before it is offered to customers on that network. As a result, an announcement that an update exists does not mean the download will appear simultaneously on every phone.
Model-number differences
Retail names hide the exact identifier used for firmware distribution. The SM-A276B and SM-A576B records above are examples of specific variants, not universal records for every A27 5G or A57 5G sold worldwide. Storage, radio configuration, regional software and carrier branding can all affect which package a phone receives.
Staged delivery and service versions
Rollouts can be staged, and Samsung’s published patch level is tied to a particular firmware release. One phone may show a newer patch while another is still waiting for certification or a later service version. A missing notification therefore does not by itself prove that a device has been dropped from support.
How to check an A-series phone’s support status
- Open Settings and select Software update.
- Choose Download and install to ask Samsung’s service whether a newer package is available for that exact device and network.
- To identify the installed platform, open About phone, then Software information. Note the Android version, One UI version, build number and Android security patch level.
- Compare the model number shown in the phone’s information screen with the model identifier in Samsung’s update record. A matching retail name is not enough when several regional variants exist.
- If an update is offered, install it on a reliable Wi-Fi connection with adequate battery charge and free storage. Keep the phone connected until the restart and optimization process finishes.
Menu labels can vary slightly by One UI release, language and carrier. The model number and security-patch date are the most useful details to record when asking Samsung or a carrier about a delayed update.
What to do when an expected update is missing
- Check the exact variant: Confirm that the update record applies to your model number, not merely to the A-series marketing name.
- Allow for certification: Carrier-sold devices can receive a package later than an unlocked or differently configured variant.
- Try again later: A staged rollout may not be enabled for every device at once.
- Verify the last patch level: A phone may already have the latest package available for its market even when another country shows a newer date.
- Use official support channels: Provide the model number, carrier, country, Android version, One UI version and current security-patch date so support can identify the correct firmware track.
Avoid treating an unofficial firmware package as a substitute for a delayed official rollout. Installing software intended for another variant can create compatibility or service problems and can make later troubleshooting harder.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How to use the policy when choosing between models
Compare launch year before comparing the number six
The A36 and A56 have the same published duration, but their 2025 launch context gives them an earlier approximate support horizon than the 2026 A37 and A57. A newer model can therefore offer more remaining calendar time even when the formal duration is identical.
Separate platform longevity from security longevity
If you need new Android features, app APIs or One UI changes, focus on the stated generation count and the phone’s launch version. If your priority is vulnerability maintenance, focus on the security-update period. These are related but not interchangeable measures.
Rank #3
- 25W Samsung Super Fast Charger Included, 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1080x2340px, Fingerprint (under display, optical), IP67 dust and water resistance
- 256GB, 8GB, No SD Card Slot, Exynos 1580 (4nm), Octa-core, Xclipse 540 GPU, Android 15, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 7
- Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 + 12MP, f/2.2 + 5MP, f/2.4, Front Camera: 12MP, f/2.2, 5000mAh Battery, Bluetooth 5.3
Ask for the regional commitment, not only the product name
Before buying an imported or carrier-specific unit, verify the model number, intended country and update channel. Samsung’s public language is broad, while delivery timing and eligibility are handled at the SKU and market level.
Use the A27 information conservatively
The A27’s inclusion on the US six-year page is meaningful evidence of long software support, but it is not the same as a published, model-specific promise of six major Android upgrades. If that distinction matters to your purchase, seek a Samsung statement for the exact market and variant rather than inferring an OS count from the security-support page.
Answers to common questions
Does six years mean every phone is supported until the same date?
No. The period is tied to the device’s first global launch context, and rollout timing can vary by country, carrier and model variant. The 2031 and 2032 figures are planning estimates.
Recommended Free Tools
Can a phone receive a security patch after its last Android upgrade?
Yes. Samsung treats major Android/One UI generations and security maintenance as separate promises, so security servicing can continue after platform upgrades stop.
Is the A27 guaranteed six Android upgrades?
The available Samsung US page places the A27 in the six-year A-series software-support lineup, but the supplied published material does not state a separate A27 Android-generation number. Do not convert the six-year wording into an unqualified six-upgrade guarantee.
Why did an A57 update arrive later than the date shown online?
Samsung’s records identify particular variants and release dates. Carrier certification, regional firmware and staged delivery can delay the same package on another device.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will the final support date be published for my country?
Samsung has not provided one universal country-by-country final patch date in the cited announcements. Check the exact model and market as Samsung publishes regional firmware information.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Are the 2031 and 2032 dates guarantees?
No. They are arithmetic projections from launch-year information and the stated duration, not guaranteed final-update days.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

