Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose the Ryobi USB Lithium FVN51K when you need a compact, light-duty 4-in-1 tool for craft work, small repairs, or occasional fastening. Choose the Ryobi 18V ONE+ P317 when your project specifically calls for 3/8-inch crown staples, longer runs, or the capacity of an 18V battery. They are not interchangeable versions of the same stapler. The FVN51K is a 4V craft stapler/nailer, while the P317 is a dedicated crown stapler with a larger magazine and a much higher manufacturer-stated staple count per charge.

Before buying, identify the fastener your material requires, then check the exact regional SKU and whether its battery is included. Battery platform ownership should break a tie, not override fastener compatibility.

FVN51K and P317: different tool classes

The two products sit in different parts of Ryobi’s fastening range. The USB Lithium FVN51K is marketed in the United States as a 4-in-1 Craft Stapler/Nailer Kit. Its compact format is intended for light fastening and craft-oriented jobs, and Ryobi lists an integrated fastener guide line. The 18V ONE+ P317 is a dedicated 3/8-inch crown stapler with a screen/wire guide attachment and a larger staple magazine.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That distinction matters more than the voltage printed on the battery. A 4V tool can be the better choice when access, portability, or occasional use is the priority. An 18V tool is the more appropriate choice when the work is defined by crown staples, repeated shots, or a material and fastener combination that needs the P317’s stated range. Treating the USB model as a smaller replacement for the P317 can lead to buying the wrong staples or an unsuitable tool for the job.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

Quick comparison

Characteristic USB Lithium FVN51K 18V ONE+ P317
Tool type 4-in-1 craft stapler/nailer 3/8-inch crown stapler
Battery system USB Lithium, nominally 4V ONE+, 18V
Fasteners identified on the US listing Staples and nails; exact US sizes are not stated on the product result and must be checked in the local manual and package 3/8-inch crown staples, 1/4 to 9/16 inches long; listed as compatible with Arrow T50 staples
Magazine information Not stated on the cited US product information 85 staples
Claimed output per charge “Over 600 Staples/Nails Per Charge,” according to Ryobi “Over 5,500 Staples Per Charge” with a ONE+ high-capacity Lithium+ battery, according to Ryobi
Battery in the US listing Verify the exact kit configuration Battery sold separately on the US product listing
Best fit Crafts, small repairs, tight access, and mixed staple/nail tasks Higher-volume crown-staple work, screening or wire attachment, and users already invested in ONE+

The output figures are manufacturer claims for different tools and battery configurations, not results from a controlled side-by-side test. The P317’s figure specifically depends on a high-capacity ONE+ battery, while the FVN51K figure combines staples and nails in a single claim. Do not convert the numbers into a direct efficiency or runtime ranking.

Fastener compatibility should decide first

When the P317 is the right match

The P317 is specified for 3/8-inch crown staples from 1/4 to 9/16 inches in length. Ryobi also identifies compatibility with Arrow T50 staples. If your project instructions, material, or existing staple inventory call for that family and size range, the P317 gives you a clearly documented match.

Typical decisions include choosing a shorter staple for thin material and a longer one for a thicker assembly, while staying inside the stated 1/4-to-9/16-inch range. The crown width is not optional: a narrow-crown or specialty fastener is not automatically compatible simply because its leg length looks similar. Read the fastener package and the P317 documentation together before loading the tool.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the FVN51K needs a manual check

The US FVN51K result identifies the tool as a four-in-one stapler/nailer but does not expose the complete US staple and brad-size list. Do not assume that every staple sold for a manual stapler, or every 18-gauge brad, will fit. Confirm the local operator manual and the fastener packaging for the exact FVN51K SKU you are buying.

Regional listings illustrate why this check is necessary. Ryobi’s Middle East page identifies an RST4-0 4V USB Lithium stapler that accepts T50, JT21 and T25 cable staples, plus 18-gauge brads up to 15 mm. Those specifications belong to RST4-0 in that market; they must not be transferred to the US FVN51K without confirmation. A UK category listing also shows that 4V USB Lithium and 18V lineups vary by market.

Project volume and battery claims

What “over 600” means for the FVN51K

Ryobi’s US FVN51K page states “Over 600 Staples/Nails Per Charge.” The wording combines two fastener types and does not identify a standardized material, fastener length, firing pattern, or test protocol in the cited product information. Use it as a manufacturer expectation for the tool’s intended light-duty class, not as a guaranteed count for your particular nails or staples.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What “over 5,500” means for the P317

Ryobi states that the P317 can drive “Over 5,500 Staples Per Charge Using A ONE+ High Capacity Lithium+ Battery,” with the battery sold separately on the US listing. The battery qualification is part of the claim. A smaller or older ONE+ battery may produce a different result, and fastener length, material density, temperature, and pauses between shots all affect practical output.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Because the claims use different fasteners, battery capacities, and test conditions, the nearly order-of-magnitude difference should not be read as a laboratory comparison. It does, however, signal the intended scale of each tool: the P317 is designed for substantially more crown-staple work per charge when paired with the specified high-capacity battery.

Battery platform and kit contents

USB Lithium ownership

The FVN51K makes sense when you already use Ryobi USB Lithium products or want a small, self-contained fastening tool. Confirm whether the listing is a kit or a bare tool and identify the charging method. A Canadian FVN51K listing specifies an FVB03 3Ah battery and charging cable, a 1.7-pound tool weight, and a two-year limited warranty. Those details are market-specific; the included battery, cable, weight specification, and warranty in the United States or another country may differ.

ONE+ ownership

The P317 is attractive to an existing ONE+ owner because the battery can be shared with other compatible tools. The US product listing says the battery is sold separately, so a first-time ONE+ buyer must budget for both the tool and a battery, and possibly a charger if none is already available. “18V” alone does not tell you which battery capacity is included or what runtime to expect.

How to verify a listing

  1. Read the complete model number, not only the product family name. Look for FVN51K, P317, or a regional model such as RST4-0.
  2. Check the package-contents section for the battery, charging cable or charger, spare parts, and any guide attachment.
  3. Confirm the battery platform: USB Lithium for FVN51K kits and ONE+ for the P317.
  4. Compare the warranty statement for your country; the Canadian two-year listing should not be assumed to apply everywhere.
  5. Use the local manual to confirm fastener sizes before purchasing consumables.

Cost and ownership planning

Compare the price of a complete working system rather than the headline tool price. An FVN51K bundle may include the USB Lithium battery and charging cable in one market, while another listing may separate the tool from its battery. The P317 US listing is a bare-tool offer, so a buyer without a ONE+ battery also needs a compatible battery and, if necessary, a charger. A seemingly cheaper 18V tool can therefore cost more at checkout when the battery ecosystem is new to you.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Consumables are another part of the ownership cost. The P317’s documented 3/8-inch crown, 1/4-to-9/16-inch length range and Arrow T50 compatibility make it easier to identify the correct staple box. For the FVN51K, wait until the local manual confirms the staple, nail or brad formats; buying a large quantity of an attractive but incompatible strip wastes more than the initial price difference between tools. Retail bundles and warranty terms change by country, so record the exact SKU and contents shown on the invoice.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Handling, access, and control

Ryobi describes the FVN51K as compact and lightweight and says it is suited to tight spots. That makes it a sensible format for decorative projects, upholstery-style craft work, small fabric or trim attachments, and repairs where a full-size tool is awkward. “Compact” does not establish a measured grip force, trigger effort, or jam rate, so do not treat the marketing description as an independent ergonomic test.

The P317’s larger 18V format is justified when the job benefits from a dedicated crown-staple mechanism, an 85-staple magazine, and the included screen/wire guide attachment. Its physical size and battery mass may be less convenient in a confined space, but the larger platform is the more logical choice for repeated fastening where magazine changes would interrupt the work.

Neither product’s cited official information supplies side-by-side data for flush driving, penetration in specific woods or plastics, jam frequency, durability, or noise. Those characteristics can vary with the fastener and material. If they are critical to a commercial workflow, arrange a hands-on evaluation with the exact fastener rather than inferring performance from voltage or marketing output claims.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Requirements checklist before ordering

  • Identify the material: Note whether you are fastening fabric, trim, screening, wire, or another substrate, and follow the project’s specified fastener length.
  • Identify the fastener family: For the P317, confirm 3/8-inch crown and a 1/4-to-9/16-inch leg length. For the FVN51K, obtain the local size chart first.
  • Count the work: Estimate shots per session and how often you can stop to reload or recharge.
  • Check access: Measure confined areas where a battery and tool body must fit, rather than assuming the compact model is always necessary.
  • Confirm what you own: List USB Lithium or ONE+ batteries, charging cables, chargers and spare consumables already on hand.
  • Confirm the market: Match the product page, operator manual, warranty and package contents to your country.

Which tool fits common jobs?

Job requirement Better starting point Reason
Occasional craft projects with mixed fastening needs FVN51K Four-in-one format and compact USB Lithium platform are aligned with light, varied work.
3/8-inch crown staples, 1/4 to 9/16 inches P317 That range is explicitly documented for the P317.
Screen or wire attachment using the guide P317 The P317 listing identifies a screen/wire guide attachment.
Hundreds of occasional shots, with portability more important than capacity FVN51K Ryobi claims over 600 staples/nails per charge and describes a compact design.
Long runs of crown staples P317 Ryobi claims over 5,500 staples per charge with a high-capacity ONE+ battery and lists an 85-staple magazine.
You already own USB Lithium batteries FVN51K Existing batteries can reduce the cost and charging equipment required, subject to the kit and regional compatibility.
You already own ONE+ batteries P317 The bare-tool listing can fit an existing 18V ecosystem; verify battery capacity for the stated output claim.
You need a fastener size not documented for the US FVN51K Neither until verified Check the FVN51K manual and package; do not substitute regional RST4-0 specifications.

A practical buying decision

Step 1: Write down the fastener

Record the staple family, crown width, leg length, or brad specification supplied by the project instructions. If the answer is 3/8-inch crown, 1/4 to 9/16 inches, the P317 has the clearer documented fit. If the project needs multiple fastener types, the FVN51K’s four-in-one design may be useful, but only after its local size chart confirms the required consumables.

Step 2: Estimate the work pattern

Separate a one-time repair from production-like repetition. A few dozen shots in several locations favor portability and convenience. Continuous fastening across a large panel, run of screening, or many assemblies favors the P317’s magazine and 18V capacity claim.

Step 3: Account for batteries and charging

Price the complete system, not just the tool body. Include a compatible battery, charger or cable, and any required guide or accessory. The US P317 listing is battery-bare, while the Canadian FVN51K example includes an FVB03 3Ah battery and charging cable. Retail bundles change, so check the current local package rather than relying on a product photograph.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Step 4: Verify the market SKU

Model names are not globally interchangeable. Confirm that the manual, fastener list, battery, warranty, and included accessories all correspond to the country where you will use the tool. A regional 4V model can have a different fastener list from the US FVN51K.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Step 5: Buy consumables only after confirmation

For the P317, look for 3/8-inch crown staples in the documented 1/4-to-9/16-inch range and the listed Arrow T50 compatibility. For the FVN51K, use the exact staple and nail formats in the local manual. Do not infer compatibility from a similar-looking strip or from the fact that another USB Lithium model accepts it.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

  • Choosing by voltage alone: Voltage does not identify the fastener family, magazine size, or intended workload.
  • Comparing charge counts as test results: The 600-plus and 5,500-plus figures come from different tools, batteries, and fastener claims.
  • Assuming every FVN51K kit is identical: Battery, cable, warranty, and accessory contents can vary by country and retailer.
  • Loading the wrong staple: A staple’s leg length is only one specification; crown width and the tool’s approved family also matter.
  • Buying a P317 without a battery plan: The US listing states that the battery is sold separately.
  • Transferring RST4-0 specifications to FVN51K: The Middle East model’s T50, JT21, T25, and 15 mm brad details are not proof of US FVN51K compatibility.
  • Expecting an unverified performance advantage: Official pages do not provide controlled data for jams, durability, flush driving, or material-by-material penetration.

Bottom-line recommendation

Buy the FVN51K if your priority is a compact, multipurpose tool for light craft and fastening tasks, especially when USB Lithium batteries already fit your kit. Buy the P317 if your project calls for documented 3/8-inch crown staples, an 85-staple magazine, a screen/wire guide, or sustained work and you can supply a ONE+ battery. If the fastener specification is uncertain, pause the purchase and obtain the exact local manual; no battery-platform advantage compensates for an incompatible staple.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can the FVN51K replace the P317?

Not as a direct substitute. The FVN51K is a 4-in-1, 4V craft stapler/nailer, while the P317 is a dedicated 3/8-inch crown stapler. Match the tool to the required fastener and workload.

Which Ryobi stapler has the higher capacity?

Ryobi claims over 600 staples or nails per charge for the FVN51K and over 5,500 staples per charge for the P317 when it uses a high-capacity ONE+ Lithium+ battery. These are different manufacturer claims, not controlled test results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Does the P317 include a battery?

Ryobi’s US P317 listing says the battery is sold separately. Check the retailer’s exact package for a battery and charger.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

What staples fit the P317?

The P317 is listed for 3/8-inch crown staples from 1/4 to 9/16 inches long and is identified as compatible with Arrow T50 staples.

What staples fit the US FVN51K?

The US product result does not show the complete staple and brad-size list. Consult the operator manual and package for the exact FVN51K SKU before buying consumables.

Are RST4-0 specifications valid for FVN51K?

No assumption is safe. RST4-0 is a Middle East 4V model with its own stated fastener list; verify the US FVN51K manual instead.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which model is better for screening or wire?

The P317 is the clearer choice because its listing identifies a screen/wire guide attachment and documents the crown-staple range.

How should I compare total cost?

Add the tool, compatible battery, charger or cable, and consumables. The FVN51K may be bundled with a battery in some markets, while the US P317 listing is battery-bare.

The Bottom Line

Choose FVN51K for compact, mixed, light-duty craft fastening. Choose P317 for documented 3/8-inch crown staples, screening or wire work, and higher-volume jobs with a ONE+ battery. Verify the local SKU and fastener chart before ordering.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.