Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose the PS5 Digital Edition if you buy games digitally and want the lower upfront price. Choose the PS5 Pro if you will use its enhanced graphics in supported games, want the listed 2 TB of storage, and accept a substantially higher price. Sony’s US recommended retail prices (effective April 2, 2026) are $599.99 for the Digital Edition and $899.99 for the Pro, a $300 difference. Neither console includes a built-in disc drive, so anyone with a physical-game collection must account for a separately sold Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Drive for PS5.

The Pro is not automatically better value for every player. Its faster hardware matters only where a game uses the supported enhancements, while the Digital Edition delivers the standard PS5 experience for less money. The right choice depends on your game library, media habits, storage needs and willingness to pay for Sony’s claimed performance improvements.

At a glance: the practical differences

Factor PS5 Digital Edition PS5 Pro What it means for your decision
US recommended retail price $599.99, effective April 2, 2026 $899.99, effective April 2, 2026 The Pro requires $300 more at Sony’s US recommended price.
Storage stated in the reviewed official listings 825 GB in the PlayStation Direct US listing 2 TB in Sony’s announcement and PlayStation Direct listing The Pro starts with more listed capacity for a large installed library.
Graphics hardware Standard PS5 hardware Sony says 67% more GPU compute units, 28% faster memory and up to 45% faster rendering than the current PS5 at the time of its 2024 announcement Benefits depend on whether each game supports the Pro features.
Ray tracing and upscaling Standard PS5 implementation Sony says ray tracing operates at more than double the speed and that PSSR provides machine-learning-based upscaling These are manufacturer claims, not independent benchmark results.
Physical media No built-in disc drive No built-in disc drive; a separate Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Drive for PS5 is available Disc owners must include the optional drive in their budget.
PS4 compatibility More than 99% of 4,000-plus PS4 games can be played on PS5, according to Sony’s 2020 FAQ; digital copies are required on this model Broad PS4 compatibility plus Pro Game Boost for supported titles Physical PS4 games require a compatible disc drive.

PlayStation Direct’s US catalog showed $599.00 and $899.00 when accessed, but those were live catalog prices rather than Sony’s recommended retail prices and can change. Retail prices in other countries or at other stores may differ.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Prices by region and what the premium buys

Sony announced the current recommended prices on March 27, 2026, with the increases taking effect April 2. Sony attributed the increase to what Isabelle Tomatis, vice president of global marketing at Sony Interactive Entertainment, called “continued pressures in the global economic landscape.” That is Sony’s explanation for the change, not an independent cost analysis.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Market PS5 Digital Edition PS5 Pro Difference at the announced recommended price
United States $599.99 $899.99 $300
United Kingdom £519.99 £789.99 £270
Europe €599.99 €899.99 €300
Japan ¥89,980 ¥137,980 ¥48,000

These are Sony’s stated recommended retail prices, not a promise that every retailer will charge them. Sony directs buyers in other territories to check local retailers. Do not treat a temporary sale, a bundle or a live retailer listing as the official MSRP.

The extra money pays for the Pro’s upgraded graphics hardware and its larger listed SSD. It does not buy a built-in disc drive, and Sony has not established that every game will look or run better. A Pro purchase therefore makes the most sense when you can identify supported games you actually play and value their enhancements enough to cover the premium.

How much faster is the PS5 Pro?

GPU and rendering claims

In its September 10, 2024 announcement, Sony said the Pro has 67% more compute units in its GPU than the current PS5 and memory that is 28% faster. Sony said those changes enable rendering up to 45% faster. The comparison was made with the current PS5 available when Sony announced the Pro, and the figures are Sony’s product claims rather than results from an independent test.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ray tracing

Sony says the Pro’s ray tracing operates at more than twice the speed of the current PS5. Ray tracing can be used for more detailed lighting and reflections, but the visible result depends on how a particular game implements it. The claim does not mean every title will automatically run with doubled performance.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

PSSR upscaling

The Pro also uses PSSR, Sony’s machine-learning-based upscaling technology. Upscaling reconstructs a higher-detail image from a lower-resolution render, but the quality and mode available are determined by the game. Sony explicitly says its enhanced features apply only to select PS5 games and vary by game.

What has not been independently established

No independent performance measurements are established here. Sony’s percentages should be read as manufacturer specifications, not as a guarantee of a particular frame rate, resolution or image-quality improvement in a title you own. Before paying for the Pro, look for a game’s own PS5 Pro support information and consider whether its enhancement is meaningful to you.

Storage: 825 GB versus 2 TB

PlayStation Direct’s US listing identified the Digital Edition as an 825 GB model. Sony’s Pro announcement specified a 2 TB SSD, and the PlayStation Direct listing also showed 2 TB for the Pro. The figures describe the listed drive capacity; the sources do not state the usable space after system software, and storage or model revisions can vary by region.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The practical difference is how often you manage an installed library. A player who rotates a few games can save money with the Digital Edition and remove titles when space is tight. Someone who keeps many large games installed may value the Pro’s additional listed capacity, although storage alone does not justify the entire $300 premium unless the graphics improvements matter too.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Choose the Digital Edition’s capacity if you are comfortable downloading games as needed and managing free space.
  • Favor the Pro’s 2 TB listing if keeping a larger installed library is important and you also want its graphics features.
  • Verify the exact listing before ordering because Sony and retailers can revise models, capacities and regional product pages.

Disc games, Blu-ray movies and the optional drive

Neither named console has a built-in drive

The Digital Edition has no disc drive. Sony also describes the Pro as a disc-less console and says the Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Drive for PS5 is sold separately. The Pro’s higher price therefore does not include a way to read physical games or movies.

What a Digital Edition owner can play

On the Digital Edition, games must be obtained as digital copies. A physical PS4 or PS5 disc cannot be used without a compatible disc drive, so a disc-heavy library is a poor match unless you are prepared to buy the separate drive and confirm compatibility.

Adding a drive to the Pro

A Pro buyer who wants physical media must purchase the separate Ultra HD Blu-ray Disc Drive for PS5. The supplied pricing information does not establish a current price, stock status or retailer listing for that accessory, so include its actual local price at checkout rather than assuming one. Confirm that the specific drive is compatible with the exact Pro model and region you are buying.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why physical PS4 ownership changes the calculation

Sony’s PS5 FAQ says more than 99% of more than 4,000 PS4 games can be played on PS5. That statement comes from Sony’s 2020 FAQ and describes broad compatibility, not a promise that every title works. Digital Edition owners need the digital versions of compatible games; owners of physical copies need a disc drive. If most of your PS4 collection is on discs, the drive is effectively part of the console’s total cost.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Backward compatibility and Pro Game Boost

The Pro supports the same broad PS4 compatibility described for PS5, and Sony says Pro Game Boost can apply to more than 8,500 backward-compatible PS4 games. Sony says the feature may stabilize or improve supported titles. “May” is important: Game Boost is not a guarantee that every PS4 game receives a visible improvement, and the more-than-8,500 figure is Sony’s product statement.

The two compatibility figures have different contexts. The 2020 FAQ refers to more than 99% of 4,000-plus PS4 games playable on PS5, while the 2024 Pro announcement discusses more than 8,500 games to which Pro Game Boost can apply. They should not be treated as identical counts or as an exhaustive list of games with a particular enhancement.

If your main reason for upgrading is an older game, check whether it is supported and whether the improvement addresses something you care about, such as steadier performance or image quality. Do not assume that the Pro will transform every backward-compatible title.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Which console fits your type of player?

Pick the PS5 Digital Edition for an all-digital, price-conscious setup

The Digital Edition is the straightforward choice when you buy downloads, do not need discs and want to minimize the initial cost. At the US recommended prices, it leaves $300 that could instead go toward games or other accessories. It provides the standard PS5 experience without asking you to pay for Pro-only graphics features that you may not use.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Pick the PS5 Pro for supported-game visual upgrades

The Pro is aimed at players who care about the documented hardware upgrades and have a meaningful set of games that support them. Its 67% increase in GPU compute units, 28% faster memory, claimed up-to-45% faster rendering, faster ray tracing and PSSR can provide a better experience in supported titles. Because support varies by game, identify those titles before buying rather than assuming a universal improvement.

Choose based on a large installed library

The Pro’s listed 2 TB capacity is useful if you prefer to keep more games installed. It is not a substitute for checking actual game support: additional storage does not improve a title that does not use Pro features. The Digital Edition’s listed 825 GB can still be adequate for players who rotate games or routinely remove finished titles.

Budget for the drive if you own discs

If you own PS4 or PS5 discs, watch the total system cost rather than comparing console prices alone. The Digital Edition cannot read those discs without an added drive, and the Pro also requires the separately sold drive. Since the accessory’s current price is not established in the available information, check the local listing and add it to whichever console you choose.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use the Pro only if its benefits match your games

The Pro is difficult to justify solely as a future-proof purchase when you cannot name supported games you will play. Sony says game creators can continue developing for PS5 hardware, but that statement does not establish a schedule or guarantee for Pro enhancements in future releases. Buy for documented benefits relevant to your current priorities, not an assumption that every upcoming game will use them.

A step-by-step way to decide

  1. Inventory your library. Separate digital games from PS4 and PS5 discs. Mark which games you play often and which you would need to rebuy digitally if you chose a disc-less setup.
  2. Check Pro support for your priority games. Look for the game publisher’s or PlayStation’s current PS5 Pro designation. Sony has not established an exhaustive game-by-game list in the available information, so verify each important title individually.
  3. Calculate the complete purchase. Start with $599.99 or $899.99 in the United States, or the applicable local recommended price. Add the separately sold drive if you need physical media and use the retailer’s actual current price for that accessory.
  4. Decide how much storage management you tolerate. Compare the Digital Edition’s listed 825 GB with the Pro’s listed 2 TB, remembering that usable capacity is not stated and regional listings can change.
  5. Apply your value threshold. Ask whether the supported-game improvements and extra capacity are worth the $300 US MSRP gap. If the answer depends on a game you rarely play, the cheaper model is usually the more rational purchase.
  6. Verify the final listing. Check the model name, storage, included accessories, territory-specific price and drive compatibility before paying. Live retailer prices can differ from Sony’s recommended prices.

Common buying mistakes

  • Assuming the Pro includes a disc drive. It does not; Sony sells the drive separately.
  • Treating Sony’s performance percentages as universal results. The 67%, 28%, 45% and more-than-double ray-tracing figures are Sony claims, and enhancements vary by game.
  • Comparing only console prices when you own discs. Add the optional drive to the total cost and confirm that it works with your model.
  • Reading 2 TB as guaranteed usable space. The listed capacity does not state how much remains after system software.
  • Assuming all PS4 games are improved. Sony describes broad compatibility and says Game Boost may help supported titles; neither is a promise of an upgrade for every game.
  • Using a live catalog price as MSRP. PlayStation Direct displayed $599.00 and $899.00 when accessed, while Sony’s recommended prices are $599.99 and $899.99 effective April 2, 2026.

Bottom line

The PS5 Digital Edition is the better fit for an all-digital player who values the lower $599.99 US recommended price and does not need physical media. The PS5 Pro is the specialist choice: pay $899.99 for the listed 2 TB storage and Sony’s enhanced GPU, memory, ray-tracing and PSSR features when the games you play support them. If you own discs, include the separately sold drive in the comparison for either disc-less console, and make the decision from your actual library rather than from the Pro’s specifications alone.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.