Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Apple says eligible buyers can get up to $1,200 in promotional credit when they preorder iPhone Duo with a qualifying carrier trade-in. The saving is conditional: you must activate an approved carrier plan, trade in an eligible device, and keep meeting the carrier’s installment and service requirements. It is not an immediate $1,200 payment; AT&T, for example, spreads its maximum credit across 36 monthly bill credits.
When iPhone Duo preorders open
Apple’s iPhone Duo product page lists preorder availability from 5:00 a.m. Pacific Time on October 16, 2026. The listed prices are before any carrier promotion or trade-in credit.
| Storage | Apple list price before credits |
|---|---|
| 256GB | $1,999 |
| 512GB | $2,199 |
| 1TB | $2,599 |
| 2TB | $3,199 |
If a customer actually qualifies for the full $1,200 promotion, the arithmetic would put the 256GB model at $799, the 512GB model at $999, the 1TB model at $1,399, or the 2TB model at $1,999 before taxes and other charges. Those are illustrative net amounts, not guaranteed checkout prices: the maximum depends on the trade-in, carrier, plan, and continued eligibility.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallWhat Apple’s headline offers include
Apple advertises three carrier paths on its launch materials:
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
- AT&T: up to $1,200 in credits.
- T-Mobile: up to $1,000 in credits.
- Verizon: an activation and financing option; the cited Apple material does not state a comparable maximum credit.
Apple’s October 15, 2026 launch announcement describes the maximum trade-in example as “including up to $1,200 in credit toward iPhone Duo when trading in iPhone 14 Pro Max or higher.” The wording describes a ceiling, not a guaranteed value for every iPhone 14 Pro Max or every condition. Apple’s checkout eligibility result is the authoritative value for a specific device.
How the trade-in promotion works
Trade in through Apple
When you buy online or in an Apple Store, Apple handles the trade-in. The carrier offer is selected during checkout, and you authorize activation on the required plan. Apple’s product page also shows a “connect on your own later” choice, which lets you buy without selecting one of these carrier-financing paths; that option does not by itself promise the promotional credits.
Rank #2
- 6.9" LTPO Super Retina XDR OLED, 120Hz, HDR10, Dolby Vision, 1320x2868px at 460ppi, 1000 nits (typ), 2000 nits (HBM), 4685mAh Battery
- 1TB, 8GB RAM, Apple A18 Pro (3nm), Hexa-core (2x4.05 GHz + 4x2.42 GHz), Apple GPU 6-core, iOS 18, upgradable to iOS 18.3
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 12MP, f/2.8 (periscope telephoto) 5x optical zoom + 48MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide), TOF 3D LiDAR scanner (depth), Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9 (wide)
- 2G: 850/900/1800/1900, 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100, 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/32/34/38/39/40/41/42/48/53/66/71, 1/2/3/5/7/8/12/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/53/66/70/71/75/76/77/78/79/258/260/261 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Dual eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint., Etc.
Credits replace an instant discount
Promotional credits normally offset installments or future bills rather than reducing your card charge by the full headline amount on preorder day. AT&T’s official announcement specifies 36 monthly bill credits for its up-to-$1,200 offer. Leaving the qualifying arrangement before all credits post can reduce the total value you receive.
Plan and device eligibility are separate checks
A high-value phone is not enough on its own. Apple requires activation on the carrier plan named at checkout, and the trade-in must pass Apple’s eligibility and condition checks. The checkout flow determines the final value for the device you submit.
Rank #3
- 6.1inch Super Retina XDR display. Aluminum with color-infused glass back. Ring/Silent switch
- Dynamic Island. A magical way to interact with iPhone. A16 Bionic chip with 5-core GPU
- Advanced dual-camera system. 48MP Main | Ultra Wide. Super-high-resolution photos (24MP and 48MP). Next-generation portraits with Focus and Depth Control. 4X optical zoom range
- Emergency SOS via satellite. Crash Detection. Roadside Assistance via satellite
- Up to 26 hours video playback. USB C, Supports USB 2. Face ID
Carrier comparison
The available evidence establishes the following high-level differences. Confirm the individualized terms shown in checkout before submitting the order, because plan eligibility, account status, taxes, payoff rules, and upgrade treatment can change the realized value.
| Carrier | Maximum advertised credit | Trade-in example or requirement | Required plan | Installment period | New or existing customers | If you cancel or upgrade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AT&T | Up to $1,200 | Apple cites iPhone 14 Pro Max or higher for the maximum-credit example; the device must be eligible. | AT&T Unlimited | 36 monthly bill credits | AT&T says new and existing customers can qualify with an eligible trade-in. | Leaving the qualifying arrangement early can reduce remaining credits; exact payoff language must be checked at checkout. |
| T-Mobile | Up to $1,000 | Eligible trade-in required; the cited material does not specify every qualifying model or condition tier. | Any T-Mobile phone plan, subject to the offer’s detailed terms | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; review the offer terms before canceling or upgrading. |
| Verizon | Not stated in the cited Apple material | Eligible trade-in and activation requirements depend on the selected offer. | Eligible Verizon Unlimited plan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; check Verizon’s installment and promotional-credit rules. |
What to do before preorder morning
- Choose the storage tier. Record the $1,999, $2,199, $2,599, or $3,199 pre-credit price so a promotional estimate is not mistaken for the retail price.
- Back up and photograph your current phone. Save your data, photograph the device and its condition, and remove personal accounts only after the backup is verified.
- Run Apple’s trade-in check. Use the iPhone Duo checkout flow to see whether your exact model and condition qualify and what value Apple assigns.
- Compare the required service commitment. Check the named unlimited or phone plan, the installment duration, and whether your expected time with that carrier is long enough to receive the advertised credits.
- Read cancellation, upgrade, and missed-payment terms. Promotional credits can depend on keeping the account, installments, and qualifying plan in good standing.
- Keep shipping evidence. Retain the trade-in shipment receipt and monitor the order until Apple or the carrier records the device and begins the expected credits.
How much will you really save?
Your outcome is determined by the lower-level details that the headline cannot show: the phone model and condition, the carrier selected, the plan attached to the line, and how long you remain eligible. Someone who leaves AT&T before 36 credits post will not realize the same value as someone who completes the full schedule. Likewise, the $1,200 figure should not be applied to a T-Mobile or Verizon order unless that carrier’s checkout explicitly provides it.
Rank #4
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
- Product may come in generic Box.
For a precise comparison, write down the phone’s full Apple price, the trade-in value shown for your device, the carrier’s promotional-credit amount, the required monthly installment, and any service cost you would pay regardless of the preorder. Compare the total remaining balance after credits, not just the largest number in the banner.
Does the promotion pay immediately?
No. The cited AT&T terms make the timing explicit: the up-to-$1,200 benefit arrives as 36 monthly bill credits. Apple’s carrier checkout can require activation and financing at the time of purchase, while the trade-in itself is completed through Apple. Treat the offer as a conditional subsidy over time, not cash back on preorder day.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 6.7inch Super Retina XDR display. ProMotion technology. Always-On display. Titanium with textured matte glass back. Action button
- Dynamic Island. A magical way to interact with iPhone. A17 Pro chip with 6-core GPU
- Pro camera system. 48MP Main | Ultra Wide| Telephoto. Super-high-resolution photos (24MP and 48MP). Next-generation portraits with Focus and Depth Control. Up to 10x optical zoom range
- Emergency SOS via satellite. Crash Detection. Roadside Assistance via satellite
- Up to 29 hours video playback. USB-C, Supports USB 3 for up to 20x faster transfers. Face ID
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

