iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Phantom Blade Zero is an upcoming cinematic wuxia action RPG in which Soul, an assassin framed for his master’s murder, has 66 days to uncover a conspiracy before he dies. Official descriptions emphasize fast swordplay, seamless combos, dodges, deflects, counters, a large weapon roster, and semi-open maps filled with side quests and secrets. The announced launch date is October 29, 2026 on PS5 and PC, although Steam currently displays October 28, 2026. Because the game has not launched, these details describe S-GAME’s published design and platform claims rather than an independent hands-on assessment.
What is Phantom Blade Zero?
PlayStation’s official game page describes Phantom Blade Zero as a dark wuxia action RPG built with Unreal Engine 5. You play Soul, a swordsman with a wounded heart and only 66 days left to live. He is framed for murdering his master and becomes a target while investigating the conspiracy behind the accusation.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Stellar Blade - PlayStation 5 | $53.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Marvel Tōkon: Fighting Souls- PlayStation 5 | $59.00 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Persona 3 Reload: Standard Edition - PlayStation 5 | $19.40 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Dolmen - PlayStation 5 | $31.95 | Buy on Amazon |
The setting is the Wulin, a martial-arts world combining Chinese kung fu with machinery, occult imagery, and punk styling. S-GAME called this visual direction “Kungfupunk” in its 2023 introduction. The studio’s premise gives the story a clear countdown: Soul is not simply traveling to become stronger; he is racing to expose the truth before his limited time runs out.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThe game is being presented as a single-player action adventure rather than a live-service title. Official material focuses on authored maps, combat systems, weapons, characters, and story paths. It does not establish a final playtime, total number of maps, multiplayer modes, or post-launch content plan.
#1 Best Overall
- Stunning PS5 visuals: Explore vibrant futuristic environments, and engage with a cast of original friends and foes from the creative minds of the SHIFT UP team, led by renowned artist Kim Hyung Tae.
- Ultra high-speed SSD: Explore new locations, overcome powerful enemies, and encounter jaw-dropping revelations as you advance relentlessly through EVE’s mission with lightning-fast load times.
- Adaptive triggers: Unleash devastating yet graceful acrobatic moves, and interact with the technological remnants of an abandoned Earth using the DualSense wireless controller’s adaptive triggers.
- Haptic feedback: Feel the thrill of combat as your blade slashes its way to victory, with sensations enriched by the DualSense wireless controller’s responsive vibrations.
- Users Interact, In-Game Purchases
What is Phantom Blade Zero gameplay like?
S-GAME says combat is designed to be fast, stylish, and cinematic. The official Steam description lists seamless combos, dodging, deflecting, countering, and striking; PlayStation says the combos should be easy to learn while offering room to master them. Those are design goals and feature descriptions, not a verified judgment about responsiveness or difficulty after release.
Fast attacks and seamless combos
Combat is intended to flow between attacks instead of forcing Soul into isolated, turn-like exchanges. The published descriptions point to chaining strikes into combinations, then moving directly into defensive or counterattacking actions. The exact input layout, stamina rules, cancel windows, and weapon-specific combo lists have not been fully published, so it is too early to promise how forgiving or technical the system will feel.
Dodges, deflects, and counters
Three defensive ideas are repeatedly named in the official material:
- Dodging: repositioning or avoiding an incoming attack.
- Deflecting: meeting an attack with precise timing rather than simply moving away.
- Countering: turning a successful defensive action into an offensive opening.
The combination suggests that players will choose between evasion and timing-based defense depending on the opponent and weapon equipped. No official source yet defines universal timing windows, invulnerability duration, or whether every enemy attack can be deflected.
Handcrafted martial-arts animation
S-GAME Founder and CEO Soulframe Liang explained the studio’s animation approach in the 2023 PlayStation Blog article: “Combat moves in Phantom Blade Zero have to be made with handcrafted animation, because motion capturing can’t do it justice.” The statement indicates that the team is authoring exaggerated martial-arts movement rather than relying exclusively on captured performances.
Kenji Tanigaki is identified as action director and demonstrates designed movements used as animation reference. S-GAME later identified Donnie Yen as a creative consultant; he also performs Mó Yuan through facial and motion capture. These credits establish who contributed to the combat and character work, but they do not prove how the finished controls will perform on release.
Rank #2
- Assemble your team of legendary Marvel characters in the ultimate 4v4 tag team fighter from PlayStation Studios, Arc System Works and Marvel Games.
- Experiment with team compositions to discover new combos, synergies, and strategies. Blast your way through dynamic stages based on iconic Marvel Universe locales, some featuring interactive stage transitions.
- Fighting is both immersive and intuitive, with a range of unique move sets, combos, and strategies to master. Adjustable controls, both traditional and quick inputs, plus easy chain combos make diving right in a breeze.
- Face off against a friend locally or join the fray with up to 64 players in the online lobby, including standard VS modes. Plus, dive deep on each team with the single player Episode Mode to learn more about team dynamics and lore.
How do the weapons and progression systems work?
Phantom Blade Zero separates its arsenal into main weapons and a secondary category called Phantom Edges. S-GAME’s August 2026 gameplay deep dive reports more than 30 main weapons and 25 Phantom Edges. PlayStation’s game page uses the broader wording “30+ primary weapons and 20+ unique Phantom Edges.” The two descriptions come from different official pages and dates, so the most precise statement is that the game is advertised with more than 30 primary weapons, while S-GAME’s later deep dive specifies 25 Phantom Edges.
| Arsenal category | Officially stated quantity | What the category does |
|---|---|---|
| Main or primary weapons | More than 30 | Core weapons used for Soul’s primary attacks and combat style. |
| Phantom Edges | 25 in S-GAME’s August 2026 deep dive; PlayStation says 20+ | Secondary weapons that broaden attack options. |
The counts are an advertised total, not a promise that every item is available from the opening scene. S-GAME says that defeating some enemies expands the arsenal, implying that at least part of the collection is earned during progression.
Upgrades and accessories
The gameplay deep dive says weapons can be upgraded and paired with different accessories. In practical terms, this points to two layers of customization: improving a weapon’s underlying capability and adding an accessory that changes or supports a build. The published material does not provide a complete stat list, accessory catalogue, rarity system, or level cap.
Reforging and recovering materials
S-GAME also describes a reforge option. After investing materials in an upgraded weapon, players can reforge it to recover those materials and spend them on a different weapon. That system is significant because experimenting with the arsenal should not permanently lock every resource into an early choice. The source does not state whether all materials are recovered, whether a fee applies, or whether reforging is available immediately.
How Phantom Edges fit into a build
Phantom Edges are not simply another name for the main weapons; they are presented as a secondary weapon class. Combining a primary weapon with a Phantom Edge should let players shape a preferred attack pattern, but official pages have not yet documented every pairing, ammunition rule, cooldown, or upgrade path. Treat the 25-item figure as the size of the announced secondary roster, not as a guarantee that all 25 can be equipped simultaneously.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How does exploration work?
Phantom Blade Zero is described as semi-open, not as one uninterrupted open world. In S-GAME’s 2023 design explanation, the Wulin is divided into several handcrafted maps of reasonable size. Each map can contain activities and optional discoveries, while the overall structure remains more directed than a single continent-scale sandbox.
Rank #3
- Experience the pivotal game of the Persona series faithfully remade with cutting-edge graphics, modernized quality-of-life features, and signature stylish UI.
- Fully immerse yourself in an emotional, gripping journey with new scenes and character interactions, additional voiceover, and a reloaded soundtrack.
- Choose how to meaningfully spend each day through various activities from exploring the Port Island to forging genuine bonds with beloved characters.
- Build and command your optimal team to take down otherworldly Shadows and climb closer to the truth.
Maps, hidden passages, and mechanisms
The Steam listing highlights hidden passages and mechanisms. These details support an exploration loop based on inspecting environments, finding alternate routes, and solving or activating objects rather than simply following a road between quest markers. The official information does not give a final map count, map dimensions, or a total number of secrets.
Side quests and story paths
S-GAME’s August 2026 deep dive says Soul meets citizens in need and that some side quests may open story paths. Optional missions therefore appear to have more purpose than being isolated combat challenges: certain encounters can reveal additional narrative routes. The wording “some” does not establish that every side quest changes the ending or that there are branching conclusions.
What semi-open means for players
Expect multiple areas that invite detours, not a fully seamless open-world map. This structure can support dense environmental design and deliberate enemy placement while still allowing secrets and optional objectives. It also means that claims about hundreds of hours, unrestricted traversal, or a single continuous city are unsupported by the current descriptions.
How combat, weapons, and exploration connect
The announced systems form a progression loop: enter a handcrafted Wulin map, investigate its routes and mechanisms, help or meet residents, fight enemies with a chosen main weapon and Phantom Edge, and use rewards to upgrade or reforge equipment. Defeating certain enemies can expand the arsenal, while side quests may expose additional story paths.
This is a description of how the advertised features fit together, not a report from the finished game. The sources do not yet specify whether weapon upgrades are tied to particular quests, whether secrets contain unique Phantom Edges, or how freely players can revisit earlier maps.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Release date and platforms
S-GAME’s release announcement says the game moved from September 9 to October 29, 2026. PlayStation also lists October 29. The Steam store page currently displays October 28, 2026, a one-day difference between storefronts that may reflect regional timing or listing conventions. Until the platforms align, check the store serving your region for the exact unlock time.
Rank #4
- Dolmen is a terrifying new action RPG that combines futuristic Sci-Fi and Cosmic Horror elements
- Dolmen casts players onto a hostile alien world known as Revion Prime - Your job is to bring back samples of a crystal with particularly unique properties - the so-called "Dolmen"
- Experience a rich combat system with various weapons and moves at your disposal
- Energy management is key to victory in Dolmen - Energy is not only used for ranged weapons, but also for activating "Energy Mode"
- Revion Prime offers a wide array of gruesome obstacles that will put your skills to the test
| Platform | Date shown in the cited listing | Confirmed features or notes |
|---|---|---|
| PlayStation 5 | October 29, 2026 | Adaptive triggers, haptic feedback, Tempest 3D AudioTech, adjustable difficulty, manual saving, subtitles, and offline pausing are listed on the PlayStation page. |
| PC via Steam | October 28, 2026 on the current store listing | Windows 10/11 support and the requirements below are listed on Steam. |
The available sources establish PS5 and PC/Steam versions. They do not confirm a PS4, Xbox, Switch, or cloud-gaming release.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →PS5 features and accessibility options
On PS5, PlayStation lists adaptive triggers that can represent the resistance of a bowstring or the charge of a cannon when using Phantom Edges. Haptic feedback is described for sensations such as blade clashes and hammer strikes. A standard DualSense controller is therefore an optional way to experience those effects, not a required purchase.
The same page lists adjustable difficulty, control and tutorial reminders, manual saving, full dialogue subtitles, and the ability to pause gameplay or cinematics while playing offline. These are platform-page claims published before launch; menus, defaults, and supported languages should be checked again after release if you need a specific accessibility setting.
PC requirements
Steam’s listing specifies the following Windows requirements. It also gives a performance target for the minimum configuration: 1080p at 30 frames per second with upscaling enabled. Requirements can change before launch, so compare your hardware with the live store page when installing.
| Specification | Minimum | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| Operating system | Windows 10/11 | Windows 10/11 |
| Memory | 16 GB RAM | 16 GB RAM |
| Graphics | NVIDIA GTX 1660 or AMD RX 5500 XT | NVIDIA RTX 3060 Ti or AMD RX 6700 XT |
| Storage | SSD | SSD |
| API | DirectX 12 | DirectX 12 |
| Stated target | 1080p/30 FPS with upscaling enabled | Not stated in the cited listing |
What is still unknown before launch?
Official videos and store pages establish intended systems, but they do not answer several questions that matter to players choosing an action RPG:
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
- How responsive the combat feels, including dodge timing, deflect windows, hit reaction, and camera behavior.
- Whether the advertised weapon counts include variants, duplicate movesets, or entirely distinct play styles.
- The total number and size of Wulin maps, campaign length, and replay options.
- Whether side-quest choices materially alter endings or only open optional scenes and routes.
- Final PC performance across resolutions, graphics presets, and upscaling modes.
Until independent play is possible, treat “fast,” “cinematic,” and “easy to learn, rewarding to master” as S-GAME and PlayStation’s goals rather than settled evaluations.
Where to verify updates
For combat, world design, and contributor details, consult S-GAME’s 2023 PlayStation Blog introduction and the August 2026 State of Play deep dive. The S-GAME Steam Community announcement explains the date change, while the Steam store page carries the current PC date, description, and requirements. The PS5 game page is the reference for console features and the October 29 date.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

