Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The OnePlus 13 is the more conventional choice: a 6.82-inch phone with a larger listed battery and faster-rated charging. Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra costs more at its reported launch price, but opens into an 8-inch workspace. Choose based on whether that larger screen is worth the foldable form factor and its price—not on megapixel or battery-capacity figures alone.

How these phones differ in everyday use

OnePlus 13: a conventional flagship phone

The OnePlus 13 has one 6.82-inch display and a standard slab design. It is the more straightforward fit if you want a phone-sized screen without unfolding the device. OnePlus lists a 6,000mAh dual-cell, non-removable battery and 80W wired and 50W wireless charging on its US specifications page. Those ratings describe capacity and supported charging, not measured battery life or charging time.

Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra: a phone that opens into a larger workspace

Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra is a book-style foldable with an 8-inch main display. Samsung describes it as designed for demanding creative workflows; the practical distinction is the additional screen area available when unfolded. Samsung lists a 4.1mm thickness when unfolded and a weight of 215g. Its announcement specifies a 5,000mAh battery and 45W fast charging.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The larger inner display is the clearest reason to consider the Fold8 Ultra. If you primarily want a conventional handset, the OnePlus design avoids making a foldable workspace central to the purchase. The available specifications do not establish comparative durability, repair cost, or real-world convenience.

OnePlus 13 vs Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra specifications

Specification OnePlus 13 Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra
Design and display Conventional phone; 6.82-inch QHD+ display, 3168 × 1440, 510 ppi, LTPO 4.1, dynamic 1–120Hz refresh rate Book-style foldable; 8-inch main display. Samsung lists 4.1mm thickness when unfolded and 215g weight.
Processor Snapdragon 8 Elite Not stated in the cited Samsung launch announcement or UK specifications page
Memory and storage 12GB or 16GB LPDDR5X RAM; 256GB or 512GB UFS 4.0 storage Samsung UK lists 256GB, 512GB, and 1TB variants. RAM is not stated in the cited UK specifications page.
Rear cameras 50MP wide, 50MP 3x optical telephoto, and 50MP ultra-wide; OnePlus lists OIS on the wide and telephoto modules 200MP main camera with HDR support in 200MP mode, plus a 50MP ultra-wide camera
Battery 6,000mAh, dual-cell, non-removable 5,000mAh
Charging US specification page lists 80W SUPERVOOC wired and 50W AIRVOOC wireless charging; OnePlus notes up to 100W with its SUPERVOOC 100W Dual Ports Power Adapter 45W fast charging, according to Samsung’s launch announcement
Software listed by manufacturer OxygenOS 15 based on Android 15 on the specifications page; this is the version that page lists, not a claim that it is the latest version Not stated in the cited Samsung launch announcement or UK specifications page
Colors shown in cited product page Not stated here; check the local OnePlus product listing Samsung UK shows Violet Shadow, Graphite, Cream, and Green Shadow; the UK page identifies Green Shadow as exclusive to Samsung.com

Sources: OnePlus 13 US specifications, Samsung Mobile Press launch announcement, and Samsung UK Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra specifications. Configurations and features can differ by market.

Battery and charging: what the numbers do—and do not—tell you

The OnePlus 13 has the higher listed battery capacity: 6,000mAh versus 5,000mAh for the Fold8 Ultra. OnePlus also lists higher charging ratings for the US model: 80W wired and 50W wireless, with up to 100W wired charging when using its specified 100W adapter. Samsung lists 45W charging for the Fold8 Ultra.

These specifications do not prove which phone lasts longer in a day or how quickly either one charges from a particular starting level. Screen size, usage, network conditions, software, charger choice, and other factors affect those outcomes. The figures are most useful for comparing the manufacturers’ listed capacities and supported charging rates, not as a substitute for like-for-like battery testing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Camera hardware is not a photo-quality verdict

The OnePlus 13 has three 50MP rear cameras, including a 3x optical telephoto camera. Samsung lists a 200MP main camera with HDR support in 200MP mode and a new 50MP ultra-wide camera for the Fold8 Ultra. These are different hardware configurations, but the specifications alone cannot establish which phone takes better photos. No independent head-to-head camera test is established by the cited material.

Price difference: compare the same market and storage

TechRadar’s comparison dated July 25, 2026, reported a 256GB Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra launch price of $2,099.99 in the US, £1,899 in the UK, and AU$2,999 in Australia. Those are dated launch figures reported by a secondary source, not a verified current offer. The official OnePlus pages cited here do not establish a current OnePlus 13 price, so an exact price gap cannot be responsibly stated from these figures.

For a useful comparison, check both phones in the same country, at the same storage capacity, and on the same date. Promotions, carrier deals, retailer stock, and local configurations can change the amount a buyer actually pays. Samsung’s UK page lists 256GB, 512GB, and 1TB Fold8 Ultra versions; OnePlus’s US specifications page lists 256GB and 512GB OnePlus 13 versions. A UK or Australian launch price should not be treated as interchangeable with a US price.

TechRadar’s article also gives launch prices for the separate Galaxy Z Fold8, a different Samsung model. Do not use those figures as the Fold8 Ultra price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Availability and ownership checks

Samsung announced the Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra on August 6, 2026, and said sales would begin in select markets on August 7, expanding to 106 markets. The announcement does not mean every configuration is available through every carrier or retailer. Confirm local stock and the exact storage and color before buying.

Before choosing either phone, verify details that the cited specifications do not settle for your market:

  • Whether the exact model supports your carrier’s network bands and features.
  • Local warranty terms, service availability, and repair access.
  • Current software version and the manufacturer’s support commitment for the region.
  • Final price after local promotions, trade-in offers, and storage selection.
  • For the Fold8 Ultra, the local scope and price of any accidental-damage or extended-coverage plan. Samsung says Samsung Care+ offers accidental-damage repairs, extended warranty coverage, and support, but coverage and pricing vary by country.

OnePlus lists IP68/IP69 water-resistance ratings for the OnePlus 13 on its product overview. Treat these as manufacturer specifications and follow the device’s care instructions; a rating is not a guarantee against all water damage.

Which one should you choose?

  • Choose the OnePlus 13 if you want a conventional phone, value its listed 6,000mAh battery and US-market charging ratings, or want a 3x optical telephoto camera in the specified triple-camera setup.
  • Consider the Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra if the 8-inch inner display is important to how you want to work or use content, and you are prepared to assess its local price and foldable ownership trade-offs.
  • Wait to compare prices if your decision depends on the exact premium: use current offers in your country and match the storage tier before calculating a difference.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.