Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Choose Headphone (a) if you want the lower launch price, lighter design and substantially longer published battery claim. Choose Headphone (1) if aluminum construction, a proper hard case, wear detection, head-tracked spatial audio and its more broadly preferred measured tuning justify paying more and carrying a little extra weight.
Neither is a universal winner. The useful decision comes down to your actual local price, how the headphones fit your head, whether you prefer a bass-heavier sound, and which premium features you will use often.
At a glance: the two models make different trade-offs
Nothing positions these as over-ear wireless headphones with a similar core platform but different levels of finish and features. Headphone (a) is the value-oriented model: it weighs less and carries a much longer manufacturer battery claim. Headphone (1) costs more at launch, weighs more and adds premium materials, a more protective case and features that are absent or not identified for Headphone (a).
| Category | Nothing Headphone (a) | Nothing Headphone (1) |
|---|---|---|
| Release date | March 13, 2026 | July 15, 2025 |
| Launch price | $199 / £149 / AU$329 (TechRadar, 2026) | $299 / £299 / AU$549 (TechRadar, 2025) |
| Weight | 310 g | 329 g |
| Driver information | 40 mm drivers | 40 mm dynamic drivers |
| Battery claim with ANC off | Up to 135 hours | Up to 80 hours |
| Battery claim with ANC on | Not stated in the cited specifications | Up to 35 hours |
| Independent battery test | About 80 hours in RTINGS testing | Just over 33 hours in RTINGS testing |
| Construction and case | Plastic construction; bag included, according to SoundGuys | Aluminum construction; hard case included |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.4 | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Shared connectivity | LDAC, USB-C digital audio, 3.5 mm analog input and Bluetooth multipoint | |
| Water and dust resistance | IP52 | IP52 |
| Notable extra features | Not identified in the cited material | Wear detection and head-tracked spatial audio |
The prices above are launch prices, not live offers. Stock, discounts, currency conversion and regional availability can change, so check the retailer and return policy in your country before ordering.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Price and value: what are you paying for?
TechRadar lists Headphone (a) at $199, £149 and AU$329 when it launched on March 13, 2026. Headphone (1) launched earlier, on July 15, 2025, at $299, £299 and AU$549. That is a $100 difference in the US launch positioning, while the United Kingdom and Australia show different relative gaps because regional pricing is not a simple currency conversion.
Do not treat those figures as current street prices. A sale can narrow the gap, while limited stock can push one model closer to its launch price than the other. Compare the two models in the same market on the same day, and include shipping, taxes, warranty terms and the cost of returning an uncomfortable fit.
When Headphone (a) is the better value
- You want to spend less at comparable launch pricing.
- You value the lower 310 g weight for commuting or long listening sessions.
- You want the longest published ANC-off battery claim and do not need Headphone (1)’s premium extras.
- You are comfortable using a soft bag rather than a rigid protective case.
When Headphone (1) earns the premium
- You will regularly use wear detection, which can pause or resume playback when you remove the headphones.
- You want head-tracked spatial audio for compatible content and prefer the sound profile SoundGuys found more likely to suit a broad range of listeners.
- You prefer aluminum construction and a hard case over a lighter plastic build and bag.
- The current price difference is small enough that the upgraded materials and features matter more than maximum battery life.
Battery life: separate claims from independent testing
The largest numerical advantage belongs to Headphone (a) on paper. TechRadar lists up to 135 hours with active noise cancellation (ANC) switched off. Headphone (1) is listed at up to 80 hours with ANC off and up to 35 hours with ANC on. These are manufacturer or published specification claims under stated conditions, not a promise that every listener will reach those durations.
| Evidence type | Headphone (a) | Headphone (1) |
|---|---|---|
| Published ANC-off claim | Up to 135 hours (TechRadar, 2026) | Up to 80 hours (TechRadar, 2025) |
| Published ANC-on claim | Not stated in the cited specifications | Up to 35 hours (TechRadar, 2025) |
| RTINGS comparison test | Approximately 80 hours | Just over 33 hours |
RTINGS measured approximately 80 hours for Headphone (a) and just over 33 hours for Headphone (1) in its comparison. That independent result still represents RTINGS’ test setup; codec, volume, connection behavior, ANC mode and battery age affect real use. It does, however, show why a specification-sheet comparison can exaggerate the practical difference: Headphone (a)’s tested result was lower than its 135-hour claim, while Headphone (1)’s result was close to its ANC-on figure.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Choose based on your charging routine
- Frequent travelers and heavy listeners: Headphone (a)’s longer claim and longer RTINGS result reduce charging interruptions.
- ANC users: Use Headphone (1)’s up-to-35-hour ANC-on figure as the only cited ANC-on benchmark; no comparable Headphone (a) ANC-on figure is established here.
- People who top up often: Battery capacity may matter less than fit, sound and case quality if you charge whenever you work at a desk.
Build, weight and everyday comfort
SoundGuys and RTINGS identify a clear materials difference. Headphone (a) uses plastic construction and weighs 310 g, while Headphone (1) uses aluminum and weighs 329 g. The 19 g gap is small on a scale but can become noticeable over several hours, especially if the headband concentrates pressure.
Headphone (a) comes with a bag, according to SoundGuys. Headphone (1) comes with a more substantial hard case, a practical advantage when the headphones travel in a crowded backpack or luggage. Aluminum can also feel more substantial, but it does not automatically make a headphone more comfortable; clamp force, pad shape, headband pressure and your glasses matter more during a long session.
Fit checks that matter more than the specification sheet
- Wear each model for at least 20 to 30 minutes if a return policy permits; short showroom trials can hide pressure points.
- Check whether your glasses’ arms break the ear-pad seal. A poor seal can reduce bass and weaken perceived ANC.
- Move your jaw and look down. A shifting seal indicates that the fit, not the electronics, may be the problem.
- Confirm that the ear cups fully surround your ears rather than resting on them.
- Keep the packaging and accessories until you know the fit is acceptable.
SoundGuys describes Headphone (1) as having better stability, while still warning that fit depends on head shape and other personal factors. Treat that as a reviewer finding, not a guarantee for every wearer.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteSound quality and EQ: a preference decision
SoundGuys reports that Headphone (a) has a bass-heavier stock tuning. That can suit electronic music, hip-hop, action films and listeners who like a stronger low end without adjustment. It may sound less neutral with vocals, acoustic recordings or dense mixes if you prefer a flatter balance.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
SoundGuys’ measurements and modeling made Headphone (1) more likely to be preferred by a broad group of listeners. That is a comparative reviewer judgment, not a universal ranking. Personal taste, ear shape, seal and the music you play can reverse the result.
Both models support EQ-related adjustment in the cited feature summaries, but the available material does not establish identical presets, adjustment ranges or app screens. If EQ is important, verify the current companion-app behavior for your phone before buying rather than assuming one model’s controls transfer exactly to the other.
Which sound profile fits which listener?
| Your priority | More likely fit | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Energetic, bass-forward default sound | Headphone (a) | SoundGuys describes its stock tuning as bass-heavier. |
| More broadly preferred measured balance | Headphone (1) | SoundGuys’ measurements and modeling favored it for more listeners. |
| Fine-tuning by EQ | Either, pending app details | The cited summaries identify EQ support for Headphone (1); confirm the exact controls for your device and model. |
ANC and passive isolation: keep expectations realistic
SoundGuys characterizes ANC on both headphones as weak compared with the isolation performance many buyers expect from premium over-ear models. That does not mean ANC is useless: it can reduce some steady background noise, but the result may be less dramatic on buses, aircraft or busy streets than the product category suggests.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Fit determines how much of the result you hear. A good seal blocks more external sound and preserves bass; glasses, hair and an undersized or oversized cup can create leaks. If your main reason for buying is maximum airplane or office-noise reduction, prioritize a returnable purchase and test the seal in your normal environment.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
ANC decision rule
- Choose neither model solely because you expect class-leading ANC; the cited comparison does not support that expectation.
- Choose Headphone (1) if you specifically value its adaptive ANC and transparency modes, while accepting the shorter battery result when ANC is active.
- Choose Headphone (a) if your priority is long playback and you are satisfied with ANC that SoundGuys describes as relatively weak.
Premium features on Headphone (1)
Wear detection
RTINGS identifies wear detection as an advantage of Headphone (1). This is useful if you frequently remove a cup to speak with someone or move between music and conversation. It is less important if you prefer manual controls or routinely leave headphones around your neck while audio continues.
Head-tracked spatial audio
RTINGS also identifies head-tracked spatial audio as a Headphone (1) advantage. Head tracking changes the apparent position of a compatible sound field as you move your head, which can make films or spatial mixes feel more anchored. It is a feature preference, not a guarantee of better stereo music, and it can consume more processing and battery in use.
Adaptive ANC and transparency
TechRadar’s Headphone (1) feature summary includes adaptive ANC and transparency. These modes adjust how much outside sound is reduced or passed through. Their usefulness depends on the same seal and environmental limitations described above.
Connectivity and wired use
SoundGuys reports the same practical connection set for both models: LDAC Bluetooth, Bluetooth multipoint, USB-C digital audio and a 3.5 mm analog input. Multipoint lets you keep connections to two devices, such as a laptop and phone, and switch between them without repeatedly pairing. LDAC can provide higher-bitrate Bluetooth audio when both your source device and settings support it; compatibility and connection conditions still control the result.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
TechRadar lists Bluetooth 5.4 for Headphone (a) and Bluetooth 5.3 for Headphone (1). SoundGuys describes that version difference as not meaningful in practice. Unless you have a specific Bluetooth feature requirement documented by your devices, do not pay extra solely for the newer Bluetooth number.
USB-C versus 3.5 mm
- USB-C digital audio: Useful with devices that lack a headphone jack and can avoid an additional analog adapter.
- 3.5 mm analog: Useful with in-flight entertainment, older laptops, mixers and other standard headphone outputs.
- Multipoint: Helpful for a work setup where calls arrive on a phone while media plays from a computer.
The cited material does not establish whether every USB-C cable, microphone function or console mode works identically, so verify those details for your intended setup before relying on wired USB-C audio.
Which model should you buy?
Buy Headphone (a) if these statements describe you
- You want the lower launch-price position or find a substantial sale.
- You care more about low weight and long battery endurance than metal construction.
- You like a bass-heavier default tuning.
- You do not need wear detection or head-tracked spatial audio.
- A bag is adequate protection for how you carry headphones.
Buy Headphone (1) if these statements describe you
- You value aluminum construction and a rigid travel case.
- You want wear detection, adaptive ANC, transparency and head-tracked spatial audio.
- You prefer the sound balance SoundGuys found more broadly appealing.
- You can accept 329 g and the shorter battery result in exchange for those features.
- The current local price gap is acceptable after checking return and warranty terms.
Wait or reconsider both if these statements describe you
- You need exceptionally strong ANC for aircraft or very loud public transport.
- You cannot return headphones and are unsure whether your glasses or head shape will preserve a seal.
- You need a verified feature not established in the cited specifications, such as a particular console microphone mode or exact app control.
A practical buying checklist
- Check the current price in your country; do not use the launch figures as a live quote.
- Compare the retailer’s return window, restocking policy and warranty coverage.
- Decide whether you will use Headphone (1)’s wear detection and spatial audio often enough to justify its premium.
- Choose your battery benchmark: published ANC-off claims are not equivalent to ANC-on use, and RTINGS’ test results are independent but setup-specific.
- Confirm your phone supports the codecs and features you intend to use, including LDAC and USB-C audio.
- Test the seal with your glasses, hairstyle and normal listening position.
- Keep the case or bag, cable and packaging until comfort and connectivity are proven.
Bottom line
Headphone (a) is the sensible choice for value, lower weight and endurance. Headphone (1) is the more premium choice for materials, protection, stability and feature depth, with a sound profile SoundGuys found more broadly preferable. Check today’s local price and your return options, then choose the model whose advantages you will actually use rather than assuming the more expensive headphone is automatically better.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

