Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose a dedicated Ninja air fryer if crisping is the main reason you are buying an appliance. Choose a Ninja multicooker when you need several pot-based methods—such as slow cooking, steaming, searing or sous vide—in one unit. The word “multicooker” is not a single specification: Ninja uses it for substantially different models. Its Combi SFP701, for example, combines multicooker functions with air-frying and oven-style modes, while the PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 is a pot-focused cooker. Match the exact model’s functions, capacity and layout to the meals you actually make; there is no catalog evidence for a universal speed, energy-efficiency or food-quality winner.

Air fryer or multicooker: the decision in one table

Question Dedicated Ninja air fryer Ninja multicooker
Primary role Air-frying and crisping Several cooking methods; the combination depends on the model
Typical layout One basket or two independent baskets A cooking pot; the Combi SFP701 also uses an oven-style cooking environment
Functions to look for Air Fry, Max Crisp and the modes listed for the particular fryer Slow Cook, Steam, Sear/Sauté, Sous Vide, Pressure Cook or Air Fry only when the model explicitly lists them
Best fit Frozen foods, vegetables, wings and other meals where a crisp exterior is the priority Soups, stews, grains, braises, steamed foods and recipes that benefit from a covered pot
Main buying risk Choosing too little basket space or assuming one basket can cook two foods independently Assuming every “multicooker” pressure-cooks or air-fries

This is a function-based comparison drawn from Ninja’s US catalog descriptions, not a head-to-head cooking test. Use it to narrow the category, then verify the model number on the current listing.

What “Ninja multicooker” actually covers

“Multicooker” is a broad family label. Two current catalog examples illustrate why the model number matters:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Model Catalog capacity Functions listed by Ninja Air-fryer capability Catalog price snapshot
Ninja PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 8.5 qt Slow cook, sous vide, sear/sauté, braise, steam, bake, proof and keep warm Not listed as an air-fry model Not stated in the catalog details
Ninja Combi SFP701 6.3 qt Combi Meals, Combi Crisp, steam, rice/pasta, air fry, bake, broil, pizza, toast, slow cook and sous vide (14 functions listed) Yes; Air Fry and Combi Crisp are listed Not stated in the catalog details

The MC1001 and SFP701 should therefore not be treated as interchangeable “multicookers.” The first is oriented toward covered-pot techniques; the second is a hybrid that adds dry, crisping and oven-style modes. If you want one appliance to replace both a pot cooker and an air fryer, inspect a hybrid model such as the SFP701 rather than buying a multicooker on the name alone.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The difference also affects recipe planning. An MC1001 buyer can reasonably prioritize soups, braises, steamed dishes and long, unattended cooking. An SFP701 buyer can look for recipes that move between crisping, baking and covered or steam-assisted methods. Those are menu-planning implications of the listed functions, not a claim that one model performs any method better than the other.

Dedicated Ninja air-fryer options

Ninja’s air-fryer catalog includes both single-basket and dual-basket designs. The basket arrangement changes how you plan meals: a single cavity is straightforward for one food or a larger continuous batch, while two baskets let you run separate foods or settings at the same time. Capacity is model-specific, so compare the stated quart figure and basket layout rather than assuming all air fryers hold the same amount.

Model Catalog capacity and layout Functions and technology listed Catalog price snapshot
Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 6.5 qt; single-basket design Six functions and Max Crisp technology $119.99 in the catalog snapshot; price can change
Ninja DualZone DZ901 10 qt; two baskets Six functions and DualZone technology $219.99–$229.99 in the catalog snapshot; price can change

The larger number in a product name or a higher price does not, by itself, establish better cooking results. It tells you what the catalog lists for capacity, layout and features. Decide whether one large cooking area or two independently managed baskets fits your normal meal pattern.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A single-basket model is easier to evaluate if your routine is one main food at a time or a batch that needs one uninterrupted cavity. A dual-basket model is worth considering when dinner commonly contains two foods with different settings or finish times. The two-zone arrangement can reduce the need to run separate cycles, but it also divides the total listed capacity. Check each basket’s dimensions against your largest regular item rather than relying only on the combined quart figure.

Match the appliance to your cooking jobs

When an air fryer is the better match

  • Crisping is the central requirement. Air-fry circulation and the listed crisping modes are the reason to choose this category.
  • You mostly cook foods in a shallow layer. Baskets are suited to foods that need exposed hot air rather than a covered simmer.
  • You want a focused control panel. A dedicated fryer avoids paying counter space for pot-based modes you will not use.
  • You regularly cook two foods at different settings. A dual-basket model can keep those foods separate; confirm that the exact model provides the synchronization controls you need.
  • You reheat or finish small portions often. A basket layout keeps the decision centered on the air-fry cycle, rather than requiring a pot, rack or steam setup. This is a workflow advantage, not a tested speed claim.

When a multicooker is the better match

  • You make soups, stews, braises or other wet dishes. A pot and a lid support methods that a fryer basket cannot provide.
  • You need steaming, searing or slow cooking. Select a model whose listing explicitly includes each method; do not infer it from the category name.
  • You use sous vide or keep-warm functions. Those are listed for the PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 and the Combi SFP701, but they are not universal multicooker features.
  • You want one vessel for a sequence. Searing, adding liquid and slow-cooking in the same pot can reduce transfers, provided the chosen model lists all of those steps.
  • You cook in large, liquid-based batches. The MC1001’s listed 8.5-quart capacity may be more relevant than a smaller hybrid’s capacity when the menu is dominated by pot recipes. Capacity alone does not indicate the usable fill level for every recipe, so follow the model’s instructions.

When a hybrid deserves consideration

The Combi SFP701 is the clearest catalog example for someone who wants both styles. Its listing combines pot-oriented methods with air fry, bake, broil, pizza, toast and Combi modes. A hybrid can be attractive when counter space matters or when your weekly menu genuinely alternates between crisp foods and one-pot recipes. It is still a distinct design, not proof that every multicooker can air-fry. Compare its cooking chamber, accessories and controls with the dedicated fryer you are considering.

Before choosing a hybrid, write down which functions must be available at the same time and which are merely nice to have. The SFP701’s 14 listed functions are meaningful only if they match your recipes. A long menu does not automatically mean simpler operation; read the instructions for the racks, trays, pot and lid configuration required by each mode.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Capacity and layout: choose for your real batches

Quart capacity is only one part of usable space. A single-basket fryer presents one cooking area; a dual-basket fryer divides the listed capacity into two zones. That division can be useful for variety, but it also means you should check each basket’s individual dimensions when a recipe calls for a large item. The catalog figures identify total capacity, not the amount of food every recipe will hold.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Multicooker capacity describes the pot or hybrid cooking chamber. A larger pot may suit batch soups or meal prep, while a smaller hybrid may fit a household that values multiple modes over maximum volume. Before ordering, measure the counter depth, overhead clearance and storage space, then check the manufacturer’s current dimensions for the exact model. Those dimensions were not included in the catalog material summarized here, so do not substitute one model’s measurements for another’s.

Also account for the space needed while the appliance is operating. A lid, steam outlet, basket handle or rear vent may require clearance that is not obvious from the footprint. Confirm the manufacturer’s placement and ventilation guidance for the exact model, and make sure the power outlet and cord position work in your intended location. If you store the appliance after every use, measure the shelf or cabinet opening as well as the counter.

Function names are not interchangeable

Read the complete function list in the model’s product details. “Air fry,” “Max Crisp” and “Combi Crisp” describe related but not identical named modes, and their availability differs by model. Likewise, “steam,” “bake,” “slow cook,” “sous vide” and “sear/sauté” should be treated as individual capabilities. If a listing does not explicitly name pressure cooking, do not assume the appliance is a pressure cooker. If it does not name air frying, do not assume a multicooker will produce fryer-style results.

Count functions by the way you cook, not by the headline number. For example, a buyer who never steams gains little from a model’s steam setting, while someone who routinely browns ingredients before a braise may consider sear/sauté essential. The MC1001’s listed functions and the SFP701’s 14-function list should be checked line by line against your own requirements.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Accessory requirements can also change the practical experience. A mode may depend on a particular rack, tray, basket or lid configuration. Confirm which components are included, how they are cleaned and whether replacements are offered for your exact model. Ninja’s catalog support information indicates that accessories and replacement parts are available through its support channels, but compatibility must be checked by model number.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Cleaning, handling and ownership details

Cleaning is part of the buying decision even though the catalog comparison does not provide a universal cleaning score. Identify every food-contact piece: baskets, pots, racks, trays, lids, seals and any removable inserts. Check the exact care instructions before purchase, especially if you expect to switch between wet recipes and crisping modes. A model that requires several pieces to be removed after a one-pot meal may fit your cooking needs but not your cleanup routine.

Handle the appliance according to its model instructions. Hot baskets, racks, steam and cooking liquids create different handling requirements, and a hybrid’s configuration can change from one mode to another. Do not assume that an accessory from one Ninja model fits another because the brand or capacity looks similar. Use the full model identifier when ordering parts or asking support for help.

Price and availability: treat catalog figures as snapshots

The US catalog snapshot listed the AF181 at $119.99 and the DZ901 in a $219.99–$229.99 range. These are not guaranteed current prices, promotions or permanent list prices. Stock, regional availability and bundles can change. Check the live manufacturer listing and the precise model identifier immediately before purchase.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No catalog price was provided for the MC1001 or SFP701 in the material used for this comparison. Avoid using the air-fryer figures to estimate what either multicooker costs, and do not assume a higher price proves higher performance. A meaningful value comparison should include the functions you will actually use, the counter space consumed and any accessories required.

Retail listings can use shortened names or show a package variant. Compare the model number, stated capacity, basket or chamber layout and included accessories before treating two listings as the same product. Save a copy of the specifications and your receipt so support can identify the correct unit later.

A step-by-step buying method

  1. Write down your five most common appliance jobs. Separate crisping, roasting or reheating from wet cooking, steaming, searing, slow cooking and sous vide. The dominant jobs should determine the category.
  2. Decide whether you need one zone or two. Choose a single basket for one continuous cooking area, or investigate a dual-basket layout when simultaneous foods and settings are routine.
  3. Set a minimum capacity. Use your usual batch size, not a marketing headline. For dual baskets, consider the capacity of each basket as well as the combined figure.
  4. Filter by explicit functions. On each product page, tick off every method you require. Reject a model when a required method is absent or only implied.
  5. Check the physical setup. Verify dimensions, ventilation clearance, outlet location, storage and whether the lid, racks or baskets can be cleaned in your available space.
  6. Compare the exact model numbers. Record the full identifier—such as AF181, DZ901, MC1001 or SFP701—so a retailer’s similarly named variant does not substitute a different specification.
  7. Check the included accessories. Confirm the basket, pot, rack, tray, lid and other parts needed for your planned modes. A function is only useful if the required component is supplied or available for that model.
  8. Verify live price and stock. Catalog prices are time-sensitive snapshots. Recheck the manufacturer listing and the retailer’s return terms at checkout.
  9. Plan for support and parts. Save the model number and confirm that replacement baskets, pots, seals or racks are offered for that model before you rely on the appliance for daily cooking.
  10. Recheck the decision against your menu. If most meals are crisp foods, return to the dedicated air-fryer comparison. If most are soups, braises or steamed dishes, prioritize the multicooker’s explicit pot functions. If the list is genuinely split, evaluate the SFP701 or another clearly documented hybrid.

Common buying mistakes and how to avoid them

Assuming “multicooker” means pressure cooker

Pressure cooking is not listed for the MC1001 or SFP701 in the catalog details supplied here. If pressure cooking is essential, purchase only a model whose current specification explicitly includes it.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Assuming every multicooker air-fries

The SFP701 lists air fry and Combi Crisp; the MC1001’s listed functions do not include air fry. Treat those as different product types despite the shared category word.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Comparing total quarts without considering layout

A total capacity number cannot tell you whether food will fit in one layer, two separate baskets or a pot. Look at the actual chamber or basket arrangement and your largest routine recipe.

Confusing a function count with versatility you will use

Six functions on a dedicated fryer may be more useful to a crisping-focused cook than 14 functions on a hybrid that spends most of its time in one mode. Conversely, a pot-focused buyer may value slow cook, steam and sear/sauté more than any crisping feature.

Using price as a performance proxy

The catalog specifications contain no independent tests of speed, energy use, durability or food quality. A more expensive model may simply include a different layout or more modes.

Buying for hypothetical recipes

Count the methods you will use in an ordinary month. Extra modes add value only when they replace another appliance or a step you would otherwise perform elsewhere.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ignoring the support model

Keep the model number and confirm replacement-part compatibility before ordering a basket, pot, rack or seal. Brand-level compatibility is not enough; support information is model-specific.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the catalog evidence can—and cannot—tell you

The model capacities, function counts, layouts and listed technologies are manufacturer catalog specifications for the US market. They support a practical category decision, but they do not establish which appliance cooks faster, uses less electricity, lasts longer or produces crispier food. Those outcomes depend on the recipe, load, settings and technique, and no independent comparison test is included here.

For that reason, the safest verdict is conditional: a dedicated fryer is the focused choice for air-frying; a multicooker is the flexible choice when its specific methods match your menu; and a hybrid such as the SFP701 is worth evaluating when you need both sets of functions. Verify the live listing because model availability and prices can change.

Quick checklist before checkout

  • Have you identified the exact model number?
  • Is the appliance’s main function the one you will use most?
  • Does the listed capacity and basket or pot layout fit your normal batch?
  • Are every required mode—air fry, steam, slow cook, sear/sauté, sous vide or another—explicitly listed?
  • Have you checked dimensions, clearance, cleaning and included accessories?
  • Will the appliance’s operating setup fit your counter, outlet and storage space?
  • Did you verify current price, stock, return terms and model-compatible replacement parts?

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a Ninja multicooker the same as a Ninja air fryer?

No. Ninja’s multicooker label covers different designs. The PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 lists pot-based methods and does not list air fry, while the Combi SFP701 lists air fry and Combi Crisp alongside multicooker and oven-style functions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which is better for crispy foods?

A dedicated Ninja air fryer is the focused choice when crisping is your main job. The SFP701 is a hybrid option because its listing explicitly includes Air Fry and Combi Crisp. The catalog does not provide an independent test proving a universal crispness winner.

Does the Ninja PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 pressure-cook?

Pressure cooking is not included in the listed MC1001 functions. Do not assume pressure cooking from the word multicooker; buy only a model whose current specification explicitly names it if that method is required.

Can the Ninja Combi SFP701 replace an air fryer and a multicooker?

It is the catalog’s clearest hybrid example: its 6.3-quart listing includes air fry, Combi Crisp, steam, slow cook, sous vide and several oven-style modes. Compare its chamber, accessories and controls with a dedicated fryer before deciding that it fits your recipes.

Is a 10-quart Ninja air fryer always better than a 6.5-quart model?

Not automatically. The DZ901 is listed at 10 quarts with two baskets, while the AF181 is listed at 6.5 quarts with one basket. Choose based on the total and individual cooking areas, whether you need two settings at once and the size of your usual foods.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What should I check before buying a Ninja appliance online?

Confirm the full model number, capacity, layout, explicit function list, dimensions, clearance, included accessories, cleaning instructions, current price, stock, return terms and model-compatible replacement parts.

The Bottom Line

Buy the Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 or another dedicated fryer when crisping is the job you do most. Consider a dual-basket model such as the DZ901 when separate foods and settings are routine. Choose the PossibleCooker Pro MC1001 for its listed pot-based methods, or investigate the Combi SFP701 when you genuinely need air-frying and multicooker functions in one appliance. In every case, verify the exact model’s current specifications, dimensions, price and accessory compatibility before checkout.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.