Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

A NEMA L6-30 receptacle has two hot terminals and a separate equipment-ground terminal; it has no neutral terminal. The locking device is rated for 30 A and up to 250 V, but that rating alone does not determine the correct wire, breaker, or suitability for a particular load. Because those choices depend on the actual circuit, equipment, local code, and device instructions, do not treat this as a universal installation recipe.

What an L6-30 receptacle is

“L” identifies a locking configuration. L6-30 is a two-pole, three-wire grounding configuration: two ungrounded (hot) conductors and one equipment grounding conductor. Schneider Electric describes the device as rated up to 250 V and 30 A; Leviton’s 2620-B is one example of an L6-30R receptacle. These are device ratings, not a complete design specification for the branch circuit.

An L6-30 is not a 120/240 V, four-wire configuration. It has no neutral terminal, and its grounding contact is not a substitute for a neutral. See Schneider Electric’s L6-30 description and Leviton’s 2620-B product page.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Which conductors connect to the terminals?

Leviton’s terminal chart assigns the two hot conductors to the brass terminals and the equipment grounding conductor to the green terminal. There is no neutral assignment for the L6-30. This describes terminal function; it does not mean you can determine the function of wires in an existing box by insulation color alone. Circuit identification must be verified against the installation and equipment documentation.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
  • Two brass terminals: the two hot conductors.
  • Green terminal: equipment grounding conductor.
  • No neutral terminal: do not connect a neutral to ground or use the grounding terminal for another purpose.

OSHA’s general-industry rule says receptacle and cord-connector grounding contacts must connect to the equipment grounding conductor of the supplying circuit. A GFCI does not remove that grounding requirement. See Leviton’s instruction sheet and terminal chart and OSHA 29 CFR 1910.304.

Why the device rating does not specify the circuit

A 30 A, 250 V receptacle rating does not establish the right conductor gauge or type, breaker, enclosure, or load compatibility for every installation. Leviton directs installers to the applicable NEC tables, or CEC tables in Canada, for conductor type and size based on the application and load. The adopted code and local amendments also matter.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Terminal wire acceptance is a device specification, not a branch-circuit sizing recommendation. For example, Leviton’s instructions list up to #10 AWG copper or copper-clad wire at the terminals, while Legrand lists a 14–10 AWG range for its L630R. Those product details do not, by themselves, establish which conductor is correct for a given circuit. Check the instructions for the exact device and have the circuit evaluated against its load and applicable code.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Safety checks before any work

Leviton’s 2024 instruction sheet warns: “TO AVOID FIRE, SHOCK, OR DEATH, TURN OFF POWER AT CIRCUIT BREAKER OR FUSE AND TEST THAT THE POWER IS OFF BEFORE WIRING!” It also says to use copper or copper-clad wire with the covered devices, follow applicable electrical codes, and consult an electrician if any part of the instructions is unclear.

Rank #3
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Use the instructions for the exact receptacle model; do not assume terminal methods or torque values from another device.
  • Confirm that the branch circuit, grounding conductor, protective device, enclosure, installation location, and connected equipment are suitable for one another.
  • Do not proceed if conductor function, circuit configuration, or the applicable requirements are uncertain. Leviton’s guidance is direct: “If you are not sure about any part of these instructions, consult an electrician.”

The manufacturer instructions are not a substitute for a complete safe-work procedure or code review. Consult Leviton’s 20A and 30A flush locking receptacle instructions.

Code requirements depend on the setting

OSHA 29 CFR 1910.304 and 1910.305 are workplace regulations, not universal residential installation instructions. The requirements that apply depend on the work and location, as well as the jurisdiction’s adopted electrical code and amendments. For example, OSHA specifies GFCI protection for certain receptacles used in temporary wiring during construction-like work; where required GFCI protection is unavailable for covered receptacles, employers must establish an assured equipment grounding conductor program. That program includes inspections and grounding continuity and correct-terminal tests at specified times. These conditional workplace rules should not be read as a blanket statement of residential requirements.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

OSHA’s wiring-method provisions also address grounding-type receptacles, equipment grounding conductors, disconnecting ungrounded conductors in covered temporary circuits, and suitability for damp or wet locations. Consult the applicable code authority and a qualified electrician for requirements at a specific site. See OSHA 29 CFR 1910.304 and OSHA 29 CFR 1910.305.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Choosing a replacement receptacle

When selecting a replacement, match the required L6-30R configuration and rating, then check the exact device’s mounting style, terminal compatibility, approvals, location rating, and installation instructions. Published specifications for two examples are:

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Attribute Leviton 2620-B Legrand L630R
Configuration NEMA L6-30R NEMA L6-30R
Rating 30 A, 250 V 30 A, 250 V
Device style Flush-mount locking receptacle Single locking receptacle
Published terminal or wire details Instructions list up to #10 AWG copper or copper-clad wire at the terminals Screw terminals; listed wire range is 14–10 AWG
Published location detail Not stated on the cited product page Listed as indoor

These are manufacturer-published product attributes, not a quality ranking or a complete circuit-design comparison. A terminal wire range does not prescribe branch-circuit conductor sizing. See Leviton’s 2620-B listing and Legrand’s L630R listing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.