iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
There is no single cheap server rack that suits every setup. The right choice depends on your equipment’s usable depth, total loaded weight, required rack units, room clearance and whether you need an open frame or an enclosed cabinet. Compare the complete delivered cost in your region—not just the listing price—and verify the exact configuration before ordering.
Start with your equipment, not the rack’s advertised size
Write down the dimensions and weight of each device you plan to install, including rails, shelves and any other rack-mounted hardware. Then check the rack’s mounting depth, height and load rating against that list. A rack described as a bargain can become an expensive mismatch if the equipment does not fit or required parts are sold separately.
Measure usable mounting depth
External depth is not the same as usable mounting depth. Measure the chassis from its front mounting ears to the back, then allow for rail adjustment, power and network plugs, cable bends and rear clearance. Check the rack’s stated mounting depth and adjustment range, not merely the overall dimensions. For example, OpenFrameRacks lists a 20-inch-deep, 24-inch-wide network rack, but that shallow depth may not accommodate deeper server chassis. Its product page lists 3,000 lb static capacity and 1,200 lb capacity on casters; those are different conditions, not interchangeable ratings. OpenFrameRacks 5U Network Rack
Recommended Free Tools
Choose rack units and plan for clearance
Rack height is measured in rack units (U); one U is 1.75 inches of vertical mounting space. Add the U height of the equipment, then leave room for likely additions. Also check the rack’s overall height and the installation path: a rack that fits the equipment may still be difficult to move through a doorway or place under a ceiling, shelf or cable tray.
#1 Best Overall
- Save valuable floor space: 6U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 13.78" H x21.65" W x17.72" D.Maximum mounting depth is 14.2"
- Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access. Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
- Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punch-out panels for easy cable access
- Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
- PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant
Check loaded weight and rating conditions
Add the weight of the equipment, shelves and accessories you will install. Compare that total with the rack manufacturer’s stated capacity, and confirm whether the rating is for a stationary rack, a rack on casters, or a specified load distribution. Do not infer capacity from height or appearance: two racks with the same number of U can have different ratings.
Decide between an open frame and an enclosed cabinet
Open-frame racks
Open frames make equipment and cabling accessible and leave the sides unobstructed. OpenFrameRacks says its open-frame design “allows unobstructed airflow and increases accessibility, making equipment installation and maintenance easy.” That is the vendor’s product description, not an independent test. Open frames can suit equipment rooms where access and airflow matter and where doors or side panels are unnecessary.
Rank #2
- Universal 19” Rack Mount Compatibility – Perfect for pro audio, video, IT, and network gear. Compatible with mixers, routers, patch panels, servers, power amps, and more.
- Heavy-Duty Load Capacity – Built to support up to 550 lbs. Ideal for studio gear, DJ setups, server equipment, and AV components that demand serious stability.
- Robust Steel Frame & Design – Made with 1.5mm thick steel and weighs 36 lbs for maximum durability, reduced vibration, and long-term reliability in any setting.
- Mobile & Secure – Preinstalled with 3” industrial-grade caster wheels (lockable), making it easy to move and position your rack exactly where you need it.
- All-In-One Setup Kit Included – Comes with 34 rack screws (5mm & 6mm), a 1U blank spacer, and an assembly tool—ready for fast installation out of the box.
They provide less physical enclosure than a cabinet, so consider the room’s dust, access control and noise conditions before choosing one. Check whether the frame includes casters or mounting hardware and whether those parts suit your floor and installation.
Enclosed cabinets
Cabinets add doors and side panels, which may better suit a space where you want equipment enclosed. They also restrict access compared with an open frame, so consider ventilation, cable routing and service access for the specific cabinet. Confirm usable mounting depth and load rating for the exact model rather than relying on a general cabinet label.
Rank #3
- ADJUSTABLE DEPTH: 4- Post 22U 19" server rack enclosure with 4 vertical rails and adjustable mounting depth 5.7" to 33.0" (14,4cm to 83,8cm); IT rack is compatible with various servers / switches / data / video / AV and other IT networking equipment
- EASY SHIPPING AND ASSEMBLY: Enclosed 22U data rack cabinet ships compact flat-packed to avoid damage and facilitate installation; Include wheels & levelling feet to offer more stability; Home server rack cabinet is only 46.6in (118,3cm) in height
- DESIGN AND VENTILATION: Half height server rack cabinet has lockable and removable door and side panels with vented top allowing airflow; 4 Post 19" rack with 1764lb (800kg) weight capacity (stationary); Computer cabinet rack is EIA/ECA-310-E Compliant
- HARDWARE INCLUDED: Rolling home network rack includes rack mounting and equipment mounting hardware, such as 20 M6 cage nuts / screws, PVC cup washers; Front/rear doors and side panels Keys, 2x allen keys; Rack assembly hardware; Casters and leveling feet
- THE IT PRO'S CHOICE: Designed and built for IT Professionals, this 22U IT Server Cabinet is backed for life, including free lifetime 24/5 multi-lingual technical assistance
Compare listed options by fit, not by a single “best” label
The examples below are seller and manufacturer listings, not a comprehensive price comparison or independently tested rankings. Prices and stock can change, and the listed prices are specific to the seller and region shown.
| Example | Fit and published specifications | Price context |
|---|---|---|
| OpenFrameRacks 5U Network Rack, part 111-4619 | 20 inches deep and 24 inches wide; stated capacity is 3,000 lb static and 1,200 lb on casters. The page says it meets EIA-310 and is UL certified. Its shallow depth may not suit deeper servers. Product page | Price not stated on the cited page. |
| Titan AV 24RU open-frame rack, model NC-ORC-24U | Adjustable depth of 410–510 mm; steel construction, casters, rack bolts and nuts included, and a 12-month warranty are listed. Seller listing | A seller page displayed $205. This is an Australian listing snapshot, not a US or global benchmark. |
| Rack Magic open 12U/21U rack frame | Available height and depth options need to be confirmed for the selected configuration; the listing gives 600–1,000 mm depth options and a 250 kg evenly distributed load. Product page | Starting price €265 including VAT; delivery is extra. |
| StarTech RK1836BKF enclosed 18U rack | 29-inch mounting depth and stated 800 kg capacity. Confirm that the exact configuration suits the equipment and installation. Product page | Price not stated on the cited page. |
| StarTech RK1833BKM enclosed 18U rack | 29-inch mounting depth and stated 450 kg total load capacity. Its rating differs from the other 18U example, so do not assume equal capacity from equal height. Product page | Price not stated on the cited page. |
As another regional listing reference, Compel’s UK catalog overview showed products from £145.99 to £2,279.99 on 30 August 2026. It included a 9U open-frame example at £264.99 and several cabinets; these are catalog examples, not market-wide price statistics, and prices may have changed. Compel rack overview Its specific 12U open-frame listing displayed £641.99 including VAT and stated a 100 kg capacity—one listing, not a representative market price. Compel 12U open-frame rack
Rank #4
- DURABLE BUILD: Constructed from high-quality Cold Rolled Steel, the NavePoint Consumer Series 12U network cabinet boasts a sturdy, welded frame. Fitting EIA standard 19” networking equipment, this server cabinet confidently supports up to 110 lbs, providing a resilient base for your vital IT gear and equipment
- CONVENIENT DESIGN: This 12U cabinet features a reinforced, heat-treated, tempered glass front door with a security lock. Perfect for applications requiring both security and accessibility, its compact design of 17.72"L x 21.65"W x 24.42"H offers a practical solution for space-constrained settings.
- EASY & CUSTOMIZABLE EQUIPMENT SET UP - The 12U IT cabinet, with removable side panels and security locks, offers customization at its finest. Whether it's for an efficient device or cable management, this data cabinet ensures secure, adaptable configurations that suit your networking server requirements
- ENHANCED VENTILATION & SECURITY - Built-in fans and flow-through ventilation work to prevent overheating, ensuring optimal operation of your equipment. The reinforced, lockable tempered glass front door not only boosts security but also facilitates easy monitoring of installed equipment.
- SAFETY & COMPLIANCE - All NavePoint products are built to industry standards.
Calculate the full delivered cost
Compare the amount you will actually pay to receive a usable, installed rack. A low headline price may exclude bulky-item shipping, tax or parts needed to mount your equipment.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →- Shipping and tax for your delivery location; large racks can cost substantially more to ship.
- Shelves, mounting hardware, cage nuts, casters and cable-management parts, if needed.
- Any additional parts required to make the selected rack compatible with your equipment.
- Warranty coverage and the cost or difficulty of returning an oversized item.
Check the exact seller listing for current stock, price, shipping, included hardware, warranty and return terms. The examples above do not establish Amazon availability or current Amazon prices.
Use this checklist before ordering
- List the equipment. Record each device’s U height, chassis depth, weight and mounting method.
- Verify fit. Match the rack’s usable mounting depth and rail adjustment to the chassis, plugs and cable clearance.
- Choose height. Total the required U space, allow for likely additions, and check overall height and installation clearance.
- Confirm capacity. Compare the fully loaded weight with the manufacturer’s rating and its stated conditions, including caster use and load distribution.
- Choose the enclosure. Balance open access and airflow against the doors and panels of a cabinet, taking account of the room and service needs.
- Price the complete setup. Add delivery, tax, required accessories and hardware, then review warranty and return terms in your region.
Bottom line: buy for the exact installation
For a compact network setup, a shallow open frame may be sufficient if its mounting depth and load rating match the gear. Deeper server hardware calls for a rack whose usable depth and rail adjustment have been checked against the actual chassis and cabling. If you need doors and side panels, compare enclosed models by their individual depth and capacity—not just their U count. The lowest sensible-cost option is the one that fits, supports and can be delivered with all required parts at a total cost you have verified.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

