Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: the Xbox and PlayStation storefronts both advertise Mafia III: Definitive Edition with 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. Neither publishes a game-specific resolution target or measured frame-rate testing, so the available evidence cannot identify a technical winner. The bundled game, story expansions and bonus content appear broadly aligned on both platforms.

The honest performance verdict

Mafia III: Definitive Edition is listed for current-generation hardware on both Xbox and PlayStation. The Xbox Store describes the game as optimized for Xbox Series X|S and advertises “60 FPS gameplay” alongside technical improvements. The PlayStation Store likewise describes the PS5 edition as offering 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements.

Those are official feature claims, not the results of a frame-time test. The listings do not state a resolution target, minimum frame rate, frame-pacing behavior, or whether demanding scenes maintain the advertised rate. They also do not identify a test method or distinguish performance between Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S and the two PS5 hardware revisions. It is therefore accurate to say that both platforms claim 60 FPS gameplay, but not that either version is proven to be locked at 60 FPS or that one console is definitively faster in Mafia III.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Question Xbox Series X|S PlayStation 5 What can be concluded
Is there a current-generation listing? Mafia III: Definitive Edition is listed as optimized for Xbox Series X|S, with an Xbox One game included in the package listing. Mafia III: Definitive Edition is listed for PS5 and PS4. Both families have a current-generation edition listed.
What frame-rate claim is published? The store description says 60 FPS gameplay; the capabilities section also lists 60 fps+. The store description says 60 FPS gameplay. Both storefronts make the same broad 60 FPS claim. No independent stability measurement is supplied.
Is a resolution specified? No Mafia III resolution figure is stated in the listing. No Mafia III resolution figure is stated in the listing. Resolution is unknown from the official listings.
What technical improvements are itemized? The listing uses the general phrase “technical improvements.” The listing uses the same general phrase. The wording does not establish a particular texture, lighting, loading or resolution upgrade.
Is HDR mentioned? HDR10 is named in the Xbox capabilities information. No directly equivalent HDR capability is enumerated in the cited PlayStation listing. The store descriptions are not symmetrical; silence is not proof that a feature is absent.
What content is bundled? The main game, story DLC and bonus packs are described. The main game, all story DLC and bonus packs are described. The advertised package contents appear aligned, subject to the exact SKU shown in your store.

Does Mafia III run at 60 FPS on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S?

Yes, both official storefronts advertise 60 FPS gameplay. That is the strongest performance information currently available in the platform listings. It should be read as a publisher or platform feature description rather than a laboratory result.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

What “60 FPS gameplay” does and does not tell you

  • It indicates that the current-generation edition is intended to support gameplay at a 60-frame-per-second target.
  • It does not state that every scene renders at 60 frames per second.
  • It does not disclose frame-time variance, stutter, drops during driving or combat, or the behavior of cutscenes.
  • It does not tell you whether Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S and PS5 use identical internal settings.
  • It does not provide a resolution number or explain whether resolution is fixed, dynamic or reconstructed.

A genuine platform comparison would need the same game build tested on a specified Series X, Series S and PS5, with a documented capture method, resolution analysis, frame-time graph and repeatable demanding scenes. No such comparative measurements are established by the store pages.

Why a general console specification cannot fill the gap

Microsoft’s general backward-compatibility guidance says that most Xbox One games can run on Series X|S and that selected titles can render at up to 4K. That is platform-wide guidance, not a Mafia III resolution statement. It cannot be used to claim that Mafia III runs at 4K on Series X, Series S or any other console. The same discipline applies to assumptions based on PS5 hardware specifications: a console’s theoretical output does not establish the settings used by this game.

Resolution, image quality and loading: what remains unknown

Neither listing supplies a Mafia III resolution target. Do not quote 1080p, 1440p, 4K, dynamic resolution or a reconstructed output as an official specification unless a separately documented test measures it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What the phrase “technical improvements” supports

Both stores use broad language indicating that the current-generation release has technical improvements over an earlier edition. The wording does not identify which systems changed. It therefore supports a cautious statement that the edition is presented as technically enhanced, but not a list of specific visual or loading upgrades.

Claims such as “higher-resolution textures,” “faster loading,” “better shadows,” “improved draw distance” or “native 4K” require a source that names and demonstrates those changes. They should not be inferred from the generic storefront phrase.

What you may notice on your own display

Your television or monitor can report an output mode, but that number is not necessarily the game’s internal rendering resolution. A console may scale or reconstruct an image before sending it to the display. If you compare the editions yourself, record the console model, display mode, HDR setting, game version and the exact scene. A casual visual impression can tell you which image you prefer; it cannot establish a universal resolution specification.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Features listed for each platform

Xbox Series X|S listing

The Xbox listing identifies Xbox Series X|S optimization. Its capability information names HDR10, single-player and 60 fps+, while the description mentions 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. “60 fps+” is a capability label supplied by the store; it is not a measurement showing that the game exceeds 60 FPS.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Xbox package description also references the Xbox One game entry in the bundle. That wording identifies the products associated with the listing, but it does not by itself answer every question about a prior owner’s entitlement, save compatibility or which SKU your account will receive.

PlayStation 5 listing

The PlayStation Store lists the edition for PS5 and PS4 and describes 60 FPS gameplay and technical improvements. It also warns that some PS4 features may be absent on PS5, without naming those features in the listing considered here.

That warning should be treated as a documentation difference, not evidence of a major feature gap. The Xbox page lists more capability labels, while the PlayStation page gives a compatibility caveat. Different store templates and wording cannot prove that a feature named on one page is exclusive to that platform or missing on the other.

What is included in Mafia III: Definitive Edition?

The current-generation descriptions present the Definitive Edition as a bundle containing the main game, its story expansions and bonus packs. The named story DLC is:

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Faster, Baby!
  • Stones Unturned
  • Sign of the Times

Both storefront descriptions refer to the story DLC, and both mention bonus content. Check the actual product page immediately before purchase because stores can change package names, regional availability and SKU composition.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Content check Xbox listing PlayStation listing
Main Mafia III game Included in the Definitive Edition description. Included in the Definitive Edition description.
Faster, Baby! Listed as story DLC. Listed among the included story DLC.
Stones Unturned Listed as story DLC. Listed among the included story DLC.
Sign of the Times Listed as story DLC. Listed among the included story DLC.
Bonus packs Described as included. Described as included.

Buying, ownership and upgrade checks

The store pages establish that a current-generation listing exists; they do not resolve every ownership entitlement. A person who already owns an earlier release should verify the exact edition shown in the console library before paying again.

If you already own Mafia III

  1. Open your Xbox library or PlayStation game library and search for “Mafia III” and “Definitive Edition.”
  2. Open the product details rather than relying on the tile’s title. Check whether the page identifies the current-generation version, the included DLC and the console generation supported.
  3. Look for an install or download option associated with your account. If the store shows a purchase price instead, do not assume an upgrade is included.
  4. Confirm that the edition matches the platform on which you intend to play. An Xbox entitlement does not transfer to PlayStation, and a PS4 listing does not automatically answer how a PS5 entitlement is handled.
  5. Check the publisher and platform support pages if your library shows duplicate entries or if saved progress is important. The cited listings do not establish every save-transfer rule.

If you are buying for the first time

  • Choose the listing that explicitly names your console generation.
  • Read the edition description to confirm the three story expansions and bonus packs are present.
  • Review the price and regional terms on the live store page; prices and promotions are changeable and are not specified here.
  • After purchase, verify that the downloadable add-ons appear in your library or installation manager.

Can you play without a subscription or internet connection?

A 2K FAQ states that PlayStation Plus and Xbox Game Pass Core, and online connectivity, are not required to play the game straight out of the box. The same FAQ recommends connecting to the internet to download updates and patches.

The statement is about starting and playing the game, not every account, store or console-management function. You may still need to sign in to the platform account used for the purchase, complete a digital license check or connect once to download the game and its updates, depending on your console settings and edition. The FAQ does not establish rules for every online-linked feature, DLC installation path or future storefront policy.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A practical offline setup

  1. While connected, install the game and any included story expansions you intend to use.
  2. Allow the console to download available patches, then launch the game once so the license and installation can be validated.
  3. Set the console as your primary or home console according to the platform’s account settings if other local users need access to a digital purchase.
  4. Disconnect only after confirming that the main game starts and a saved game can be loaded.

This procedure reduces surprises when traveling or playing in a location without reliable internet, but platform license policies can change and should be checked against the current console support documentation.

Xbox Series X versus Series S within the Xbox choice

The Xbox listing covers both Series X and Series S, but it does not publish separate Mafia III resolution or performance figures for them. Do not assume that the two consoles render the game at the same internal resolution simply because they share an optimized listing.

If your priority is… What the evidence lets you choose What it cannot promise
The Xbox ecosystem Both Series X and Series S have a current-generation listing under the Xbox Series X|S optimization label. It cannot promise identical resolution or frame-time behavior between the two models.
HDR10 as a named store capability The Xbox listing explicitly names HDR10. It cannot establish how HDR is implemented in every scene or compare it with PS5 output.
A measured technical advantage No official listing supplies the measurements needed to choose one Xbox model on that basis. Do not infer a Mafia III benchmark from general hardware specifications.

Choosing between Xbox and PS5

Choose Xbox when your decision is ecosystem-led

Xbox is the sensible choice when your existing library, controller preference, account, display setup or household console is already on Xbox. The store explicitly labels the game as optimized for Series X|S and names HDR10 in its capability information. Those are documented platform details, not proof of higher image quality than PS5.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Choose PS5 when your decision is ecosystem-led

PS5 is the sensible choice when your game library and friends are on PlayStation or when you prefer the DualSense and PS5 interface. The PlayStation listing advertises the same 60 FPS gameplay and technical-improvements language and includes the same named story expansions and bonus content in its description.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not choose solely on an unverified resolution claim

Because neither store publishes a Mafia III resolution figure or measured frame-rate stability, a claim that one platform is definitively “the 4K version” or “the locked-60 version” goes beyond the available evidence. If those distinctions matter more than ecosystem convenience, wait for a same-build technical analysis that identifies each console, game version, capture method and test scene.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to evaluate a future performance test

Independent testing can answer questions the storefronts leave open, but only if it is specific enough to be compared. Use this checklist when reading or conducting a review:

  • Hardware: identify Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S and the exact PS5 model tested.
  • Build: record the game version, edition and installed patches.
  • Resolution method: distinguish internal rendering resolution from the console’s output signal and explain whether scaling or reconstruction is used.
  • Frame-rate method: report frame times or a capture-based measurement rather than a visual estimate.
  • Scenes: include driving, combat, dense city areas and cutscenes, not only a quiet opening section.
  • Settings: document HDR, display mode and any performance or quality toggle.
  • Repeatability: test the same route or scene on each platform and identify conditions that could affect the result.

A test that omits those details may still describe that reviewer’s experience, but it should not be presented as a universal platform specification.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

“60 FPS” becomes “locked 60 FPS”

The stores say 60 FPS gameplay. “Locked” adds a stability claim that the listings do not make. Use the store wording unless measured frame-time data supports a stronger statement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Up to 4K becomes “Mafia III runs at 4K”

General Xbox guidance about selected games rendering at up to 4K does not identify Mafia III’s internal resolution. Keep platform-wide guidance separate from game-specific evidence.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Different store fields become a feature war

Xbox names HDR10 and 60 fps+; PlayStation warns that some PS4 features may be absent on PS5. These are not parallel lists. A capability omitted from one store page may simply be undocumented there.

A bundle description becomes an entitlement guarantee

The listings describe the included game and DLC, but they do not settle every prior-owner upgrade, duplicate-SKU or save-transfer scenario. Check your account’s live product page before purchasing.

An offline statement becomes a promise about every function

The 2K FAQ says a subscription and online connectivity are not required to play straight out of the box and recommends internet access for patches. It does not define every license, update, account or online-feature behavior.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bottom line for buyers

Mafia III: Definitive Edition is a broadly comparable purchase on Xbox Series X|S and PS5 based on the official storefront descriptions: both advertise 60 FPS gameplay, technical improvements, the main campaign, the three named story expansions and bonus content. Xbox additionally lists HDR10 and Series X|S optimization, while PlayStation’s page notes that some PS4 features may be absent on PS5.

The evidence stops short of a technical ranking. No cited listing supplies a resolution target, measured frame-rate stability or a console-by-console benchmark. Pick the platform that fits your existing library and hardware, verify the exact edition in the live store, and treat any stronger performance verdict as dependent on properly documented independent testing.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.