PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Neither family is an automatic winner. Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 and Acer Aspire 3 each cover several processors, memory capacities, screens, batteries and storage options. The better work laptop is the exact configuration that gives you enough RAM and SSD space, the ports and display you need, and a fair local price with acceptable warranty coverage.
For a useful, evidence-based comparison, consider Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD configurations alongside Acer Aspire 3 models A315-24PT-R288 and A315-24P-R7VH. The Acer R288 is specified with Ryzen 5 7520U, 16GB memory, a 1TB SSD and a touchscreen; Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD page lists Ryzen 5 7530U or Ryzen 7 5825U options, up to 16GB DDR4-3200 and a 512GB SSD. That is a configuration contrast, not proof that one brand delivers better performance or value at the same price.
The direct answer: choose by SKU, not by family name
For documents, web applications, email, video meetings and ordinary multitasking, installed memory and storage usually determine how comfortable a laptop feels over time. A 16GB/1TB Aspire 3 can be a more practical office machine than an 8GB/128GB Aspire 3, while a 16GB IdeaPad Slim 3 can be a better fit than a low-memory Slim 3. Those are differences between configurations, not between the labels IdeaPad Slim 3 and Aspire 3.
Recommended Free Tools
Start with the complete model number and retailer specification. Confirm the processor, RAM type and capacity, whether memory can be upgraded, SSD capacity, screen finish and touch support, ports, weight, operating system, warranty, stock and price in your market. Manufacturer battery figures are estimates made with different test details; they are not a controlled Lenovo-versus-Acer result.
#1 Best Overall
What the cited configurations actually contain
The following table keeps the models separate so a family-level specification is not mistaken for a retail SKU.
| Configuration | Processor | Memory | Storage | Display | Battery and weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lenovo 15-inch AMD page | AMD Ryzen 5 7530U or Ryzen 7 5825U; integrated Radeon graphics | Up to 16GB DDR4-3200 | 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD | 15.6-inch, 1920×1080 IPS, anti-glare | 47Wh; starting weight 1.6kg |
| Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 15AMN8, 82XQ026YRA | AMD Ryzen 3 30 as listed in Lenovo PSREF | 8GB soldered LPDDR5-5500; not upgradeable | 512GB SSD | Not stated in the cited PSREF entry | Not stated in the cited PSREF entry |
| Acer Aspire 3 A315-24P-R7VH | AMD Ryzen 3 7320U | 8GB LPDDR5 | 128GB SSD | 15.6-inch FHD IPS | 40Wh; approximately 3.97lb |
| Acer Aspire 3 A315-24PT-R288 | AMD Ryzen 5 7520U | 16GB | 1TB PCIe NVMe SSD | 15.6-inch FHD IPS touchscreen | 50Wh |
“Up to” values on a family or product page describe the range Lenovo or Acer sells, not every machine carrying the family name. The 82XQ026YRA example demonstrates why the exact suffix matters: it has soldered, non-upgradeable 8GB memory even though another 15-inch Slim 3 page allows up to 16GB.
Processor choice for office work
Ryzen 3 systems
The Aspire 3 A315-24P-R7VH uses Ryzen 3 7320U with 8GB LPDDR5. Lenovo’s 15AMN8 82XQ026YRA is also identified with a Ryzen 3 30 processor and 8GB memory. Either can handle word processing, email, browser tabs, cloud documents and video calls when expectations are moderate. The limiting factors are more likely to be memory pressure and the 128GB drive on the Acer than the family badge.
Ryzen 5 systems
The Acer R288 uses Ryzen 5 7520U, while Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD page offers Ryzen 5 7530U. Both are positioned above the cited Ryzen 3 examples, but the available material does not provide a matched independent benchmark. Do not turn model numbering into a guaranteed performance ranking. Check the complete SKU and compare current prices before treating either as the better value.
Ryzen 7 on the Lenovo page
Lenovo also lists Ryzen 7 5825U for its 15-inch AMD configuration range. That gives the page a higher processor tier than the cited Acer R288 specification, but it may be paired with different memory, screen or regional availability. A stronger processor does not compensate for an unsuitable display, insufficient RAM or missing ports in a work laptop.
What workload changes the decision
- Documents, email and light browsing: Ryzen 3 is serviceable, but 8GB leaves less room for many browser tabs and large collaboration apps.
- Frequent video meetings and multitasking: Prefer a listed 16GB configuration when the price difference is reasonable; meeting software, browsers and office applications can compete for memory.
- Large spreadsheets or local development tools: Start with the highest-memory exact SKU you can verify. Neither cited source establishes a controlled performance winner between the brands.
- Graphics-heavy work: The cited Lenovo page specifies integrated Radeon graphics, and no discrete-GPU option or independent graphics test is specified in the cited material. Treat these machines as general-purpose office laptops rather than workstation replacements.
Memory and SSD: the most important configuration checks
RAM capacity and upgradeability
Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD page lists up to 16GB DDR4-3200, but the 82XQ026YRA Slim 3 configuration has 8GB soldered LPDDR5-5500 and explicitly cannot be upgraded. Acer’s R7VH lists 8GB LPDDR5; the R288 lists 16GB. Do not assume that a laptop family’s maximum memory is available in the unit in your cart, or that an apparently similar model can be expanded later.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
For a work laptop expected to last several years, 16GB is the safer target if you routinely keep many tabs, meeting software, spreadsheets and messaging tools open. If you choose 8GB soldered memory, treat that as a permanent capacity and keep your workload expectations realistic.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
SSD capacity
The 128GB SSD in the cited R7VH is the tightest storage option. The Lenovo 82XQ026YRA has 512GB, Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD page lists a 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, and Acer’s R288 lists 1TB PCIe NVMe storage. A small system drive can fill quickly after operating-system updates, office suites, synchronization caches and offline files are added. Storage capacity is not the same as speed, so retain the exact interface description when comparing listings.
Display: resolution is only the starting point
The cited Lenovo 15-inch AMD configuration has a 15.6-inch 1920×1080 IPS anti-glare panel. Both cited Acer examples have 15.6-inch FHD IPS displays, and the R288 additionally specifies touch. These specifications establish resolution, panel family and, for the R288, touch input; they do not establish equal brightness, color coverage, response behavior or finish.
- Anti-glare: Lenovo explicitly lists anti-glare on the cited page, which can reduce reflections in office lighting.
- Touch: Touch is specified for Acer A315-24PT-R288 only. Do not infer touch support from the Aspire 3 or IdeaPad Slim 3 family name.
- Brightness and color: The cited material does not give a comparable brightness or color-coverage figure. Verify the exact retailer or manufacturer listing if you work near windows, edit images or need predictable color.
- Size: A 15.6-inch screen gives more working area than a compact 14-inch model, but increases the footprint. Lenovo’s family datasheet also covers 14-, 15- and 16-inch AMD variants, so confirm the diagonal before ordering.
Ports, monitors and docks
Lenovo’s listed port set
The cited Lenovo 15-inch AMD page lists one full-function USB-C 3.2 Gen 1 port, two USB-A ports, HDMI 1.4 and an SD card reader. The phrase “full-function” is important: it indicates that the USB-C port is intended to carry more than basic data, but confirm the exact display-output and charging behavior for the SKU and dock you plan to use.
Acer A315-24P-R7VH
Acer documents a USB-C port with DisplayPort support and limited USB charging support at 5V/3A, plus two USB-A ports and HDMI. The same page says there is no memory-card reader. This can matter if your workflow uses an SD card or a USB-C monitor.
Acer Aspire 3 variation
The R288 page lists USB-C and HDMI, but the supplied specification does not establish the same detailed protocol description as the R7VH page. Aspire 3 connectivity varies by model, so verify whether USB-C supports video output, charging, or both before purchasing a dock or portable monitor.
Rank #3
Battery estimates and portability
Battery figures below are manufacturer estimates, not independent tests.
| Model or page | Battery | Published estimate | How to interpret it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lenovo 15-inch AMD | 47Wh | Up to 10 hours under MobileMark 2018; up to 12 hours for 1080p playback | Two different workloads; neither guarantees a full real-world workday. |
| Acer A315-24P-R7VH | 40Wh | Up to 11 hours under MobileMark 2018; up to 13.5 hours maximum runtime | Keep the MobileMark and maximum-runtime fields separate. |
| Acer A315-24PT-R288 | 50Wh | Up to 10 hours under MobileMark 2018; up to 13 hours maximum runtime | Manufacturer claims; no direct Lenovo comparison was conducted. |
Screen brightness, wireless activity, meeting-camera use, background synchronization and battery age can materially change runtime. The numbers cannot establish that Acer lasts longer than Lenovo, or vice versa, because the pages do not provide a controlled head-to-head test.
Lenovo gives a starting weight of 1.6kg for the cited 15-inch AMD page. Acer gives approximately 3.97lb for R7VH. Because family sizes and components vary, compare the exact shipping weight when portability is important rather than relying on a series-wide figure.
Which configuration fits which worker?
Best fit for a light office budget
An 8GB Ryzen 3 model can be adequate for documents, email and a modest number of browser tabs. The Acer R7VH’s 128GB SSD is the main capacity warning; the Lenovo 82XQ026YRA example pairs 8GB soldered memory with 512GB storage. Choose only after checking whether the Lenovo model’s listed Ryzen 3 30 processor and non-upgradeable memory meet your expected lifespan.
Best fit for heavier multitasking
Prioritize a verified 16GB configuration. Acer R288 provides 16GB and 1TB in the cited specification, while Lenovo’s 15-inch AMD page allows up to 16GB and a 512GB SSD. Compare the actual prices, screen details and warranty terms; capacity alone does not establish a winner.
Best fit for touch workflows
Acer A315-24PT-R288 is the only cited configuration that explicitly includes a touchscreen. Touch may help with presentations, kiosk-style tasks or annotating documents, but it can be less important than a brighter, non-reflective panel for desk work. Confirm the retailer listing says R288 rather than a different Aspire 3 suffix.
Rank #4
Best fit for SD-card users
The Lenovo 15-inch AMD page lists an SD card reader. Acer R7VH’s page says there is no memory-card reader. If you transfer photos or other card-based media, include the cost and inconvenience of an external reader when comparing otherwise similar prices.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteA step-by-step buying method
- Copy the complete model number. Record the family, screen size and suffix, such as 82XQ026YRA, A315-24P-R7VH or A315-24PT-R288.
- Verify the processor. Match the exact Ryzen model in the listing to the manufacturer specification; do not rely on a title that says only Ryzen 3, Ryzen 5 or Ryzen 7.
- Record installed memory and its limits. Note capacity, LPDDR5 or DDR4, and whether the memory is soldered or upgradeable.
- Record usable storage. Compare 128GB, 512GB and 1TB options while allowing for the operating system and recovery partitions.
- Inspect the screen description. Confirm diagonal, 1920×1080 resolution, IPS, anti-glare or glossy finish, brightness information and touch support.
- Map your peripherals. Check USB-C display output, charging behavior, HDMI version, USB-A count and SD-card support against your monitor, dock, phone and storage devices.
- Check physical details. Compare exact weight, battery capacity and charger size if you commute.
- Validate the transaction. Confirm local price, stock, operating system, return policy, warranty provider and regional keyboard or power-adapter details.
- Save the specification page. Product data and inventory can change; retain a copy of the exact configuration you intended to buy.
Price, warranty and availability: what the specifications cannot answer
The cited manufacturer pages do not establish current street prices, retailer stock, affiliate eligibility or a matched same-price contest. A family name can point to materially different hardware, and prices change by country and promotion. Compare two live listings only after their CPU, RAM, SSD, display and ports match closely.
Warranty terms also depend on region and seller. Check the warranty length, who performs service, whether shipping is covered, and whether the listing is new, refurbished or imported. Confirm the included operating system and keyboard layout; neither should be inferred from the family name.
Common buying mistakes and fixes
Mistake: comparing only Ryzen labels
Fix: Put processor, memory, SSD, display and ports in a side-by-side note. A nominally faster processor paired with 8GB soldered memory may be less suitable for your work than a lower-tier processor with 16GB and a larger SSD.
Mistake: assuming every Slim 3 or Aspire 3 has the same screen
Fix: Verify touch, anti-glare treatment, brightness and diagonal on the exact model. Lenovo’s family includes 14-, 15- and 16-inch AMD variants; Acer states that Aspire 3 specifications vary by model and region.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Mistake: treating maximum-runtime numbers as normal office battery life
Fix: Keep MobileMark, video-playback and maximum-runtime claims labeled with their method. Plan for variation from brightness, wireless use and meeting software.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Mistake: buying a dock without checking USB-C protocols
Fix: Confirm DisplayPort output and charging support for the exact Acer or Lenovo SKU. Connector shape alone does not prove a port can drive your monitor or charge the laptop.
Mistake: overlooking storage pressure
Fix: Treat 128GB as a constrained option if you keep offline files, photos or large applications. A 512GB or 1TB model may reduce immediate cleanup and external-drive dependence, subject to the price difference.
How Acer’s family-level thermal claims should be read
Acer’s Aspire 3 overview advertises a 78% increase in fan surface area and 17% additional thermal capacity against a named Acer comparison product. Those are Acer’s model-specific generational claims, not a universal measurement against Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3. They do not establish quieter operation, sustained performance or a battery advantage for every Aspire 3 SKU. Use them as context only after confirming the exact model and independent evidence, which is not supplied here.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Verdict
Choose the Acer Aspire 3 A315-24PT-R288 when that exact listing’s 16GB memory, 1TB SSD and touchscreen match your needs and its local price and warranty are favorable. Choose a Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 when the specific 15-inch AMD configuration gives you the memory, anti-glare display, SD reader, port set or processor tier you need. The cited Acer R7VH and Lenovo 82XQ026YRA are reminders that low-end variants can be constrained in different ways.
There is no evidence here for an all-purpose winner, a same-price performance champion or a battery-test champion. The responsible decision is a verified SKU-to-SKU comparison made immediately before purchase.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

