Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Yes—Gran Turismo 7 is worth buying on PS5 if you want a detailed circuit-racing simulator built around collecting cars, tuning them, and progressing through structured events. Start with the Standard Edition for the clearest value. Digital Deluxe is mainly a bundle of digital bonuses, and the separate Power Pack is worthwhile only if you specifically want endurance races and complete race-weekend formats. The important qualification is connectivity: PlayStation Plus is required for online multiplayer, while an internet connection is needed for most functionality even when you are playing alone. Official product information says that offline access is limited to Arcade Mode.

The buying verdict in one minute

Gran Turismo 7 makes the strongest case for itself as a long-term driving hobby rather than a pick-up-and-play arcade racer. Its core loop combines a campaign, circuit events, Driving School lessons, Sport mode, car collecting, tuning, customization, and photography. The official PlayStation listing describes more than 420 cars, 37 tracks, and 110 layouts. On PS5, the game also uses DualSense haptic feedback and adaptive triggers to communicate road texture, braking load, and traction changes.

Buy it if you enjoy learning circuits, comparing car setups, completing championships, and gradually building a garage. Think twice if you require a fully offline campaign, dislike maintaining an internet connection, or mainly want simple arcade handling. The base game is substantial without paid add-ons; the Power Pack is an optional specialization, not a missing part of the main experience.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What each PS5 edition includes

The US PlayStation store lists two principal digital editions, while the official Gran Turismo product page also lists a physical PS5 Standard Edition disc. Prices and stock can change by region, sale, and date, so treat the figures below as US storefront listings rather than permanent prices.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Option Platform entitlement Included content US price listed by PlayStation Who should choose it
Standard Edition PS4 and PS5 entitlement on the listed digital product Base game plus 750,000 in-game credits $69.99 at the time of the US listing; check the current store price Most PS5 buyers, especially anyone who wants the complete core game without cosmetic extras
Digital Deluxe Edition Dual PS4/PS5 entitlement In-game credits, a special Toyota GR Yaris, 30 avatars, and the official soundtrack $89.99 at the time of the US listing; discounts and availability can change Buy only if those digital bonuses and the larger credit allowance matter to you
Physical PS5 Standard Edition PS5 disc ownership The Standard Edition game on a PS5 Blu-ray disc Not stated in the official product information; retailer pricing varies Players who prefer a disc, resale flexibility, or a physical collection

Why Standard is the default recommendation

The Deluxe package does not add a separate campaign, new tracks, or an exclusive progression system. Its value is concentrated in digital credits, the GR Yaris, avatars, and soundtrack. Those extras can be attractive to collectors, but they do not change the fundamental driving, event, or tuning systems. Unless you already know that you want the included items, putting the price difference toward a sale purchase or optional content is more rational.

Buying a PS4 copy and moving to PS5

Owners of the PS4 Standard Edition can purchase the PS5 digital Standard Edition at a discounted upgrade price. A PS4 disc must be inserted every time you download or play the PS5 digital version because the disc acts as the ownership license. That route does not work on a disc-free PS5 Digital Edition: a PS4 disc cannot be used to claim the upgrade there. If you own a PS4 digital license, use the upgrade option shown for that account in the PlayStation store and confirm the regional terms before purchasing.

Disc, download, and storage decisions

The physical PS5 edition is useful when you want to lend or resell a game, but the disc does not remove the game’s connectivity requirement. A digital purchase is more convenient for switching games and is the only practical route for a disc-free console. In either case, install the latest game update before judging the available content; features and menus have expanded substantially since launch.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much game is in the base package?

The base release is organized around several distinct activities rather than a single linear championship.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
  • Campaign progression: structured menus and events introduce cars, tracks, and racing concepts in a guided order.
  • Arcade: the mode that remains available when the game is offline, according to the official product information.
  • Driving School: lessons and license-style challenges for learning braking points, lines, and car control.
  • Sport mode: organized competitive racing that depends on online services.
  • Collecting and tuning: acquiring cars, changing parts and settings, and adapting a vehicle to different circuits.
  • Scapes and photography: placing cars in photographic locations and building images from them.

That breadth is why the game suits players who enjoy steady progression. It is less suitable for someone who wants every car and track unlocked immediately or who finds menus, licenses, and setup work distracting from quick races.

Updates included with ownership

Spec III free update

Sony identifies Spec III as a free update for owners of the game. Its listed additions include eight cars, two tracks, a higher Collector Level cap, unlimited Brand Central invitations, a Data Logger, and other features. Because it is a free update, you do not need to buy a Deluxe edition or Power Pack to receive this content; you do need the current game version and an internet connection to download it.

Update 1.71

The official PlayStation update listing dated August 19, 2026, describes version 1.71 as adding four cars, three World Circuits, and a new Scapes curation. Update numbers and available downloads are time-sensitive. The store or Gran Turismo news page may show a newer version after that date, so check the current notice on your console before assuming 1.71 is the latest release.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What updates mean for a new buyer

Updates improve the value of the same base purchase rather than splitting the player base into separate editions. They can also change menus, event availability, and progression requirements. Plan to leave time for a substantial first download, and keep automatic updates enabled if your connection and storage allow it. If a feature described in an older video is missing, confirm the game’s current version before troubleshooting your account or console.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Power Pack: who should pay for it?

Power Pack is separate paid downloadable content for the PS5 version. The US PlayStation page lists it at $29.99, but that price can change with regional pricing and promotions. Access requires update 1.65 and completion of Menu Book No. 9, so a new player cannot necessarily launch its events on the first day.

PlayStation describes the package as 50 races across 20 themed categories, with 24-hour endurance races, full practice, qualifying, and race weekends, Gran Turismo Sophy 3.0 artificial intelligence, and 5,000,000 in-game credits. This format is aimed at players who want a more complete motorsport schedule: preparation sessions, qualifying strategy, tire and fuel decisions, and a long race rather than a short sprint.

Power Pack is a specialist purchase, not a requirement

The package does not replace the campaign or unlock a basic feature that the Standard Edition lacks. If your ideal session is a 10-minute race, casual car collecting, or learning the original event progression, the base game is the better first purchase. If you already spend most of your time in longer races and want structured weekends with stronger AI competition, Power Pack has a clear purpose. Buy it after you understand how much endurance content you will actually use rather than assuming every add-on is necessary.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Internet connection and PlayStation Plus: two different requirements

Confusing these requirements leads to the most disappointing purchase decisions. PlayStation lists online play as optional and says that PlayStation Plus is required for online play. The same listing supports up to 20 online players with PlayStation Plus. That subscription requirement applies to multiplayer access; it is not a statement that the entire game requires a subscription.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Activity or condition Internet connection PlayStation Plus
Online multiplayer races Required Required
Solo campaign and most connected features Required in practice; PlayStation says internet is required for most functionality Not stated as required for solo play
Offline play Unavailable for most modes Not relevant when disconnected
Arcade Mode while offline No active connection, with the limitations described by the product information Not required

Polyphony Digital’s official product information is explicit: “While offline, only the Arcade Mode will be available to play.” PlayStation separately states, “Internet connection required for most functionality.” Read together, those statements mean that a reliable connection matters even for a player who intends to race alone. Do not buy GT7 expecting the full campaign, progression, garage management, or all events to function during an extended outage.

What to check before buying

  • Confirm that your home connection is stable enough for a large initial download and periodic updates.
  • Check whether your console can reach PlayStation Network from the account and region where you will play.
  • Add PlayStation Plus only if you intend to use online multiplayer; do not treat it as a prerequisite for purchasing the base game.
  • If you travel with the console or have unreliable broadband, plan around Arcade Mode’s much narrower offline scope.

PS5 features and optional VR

The PS5 version is the natural choice for a new PS5 owner because it includes the current console entitlement and supports the system’s controller feedback. DualSense haptics and adaptive triggers are part of the PS5 feature set described by PlayStation, but they are enhancements to driving feel rather than a separate game mode.

PlayStation VR2 is optional for GT7 generally and required only if you want to use the game’s VR features. You do not need a VR2 headset to play the campaign, Arcade, Driving School, Sport mode, or the car-collecting systems on a television. Treat VR2 as a separate hardware decision: it can change how you experience supported races, but it should not be included in the cost calculation for a standard PS5 purchase unless VR is specifically your goal.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Who will enjoy GT7 most?

Strong fit: the patient car enthusiast

Choose GT7 when you enjoy researching a car’s history, adjusting suspension or gearing, practicing a corner repeatedly, and seeing a garage grow over time. The combination of more than 420 cars and dozens of circuits creates room for varied goals: road-car collections, race-car builds, license challenges, or leaderboard improvement. The structured campaign gives a new player direction, while custom races and Sport mode provide reasons to keep playing after the introductory events.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Strong fit: the organized racer

If you want a weekend-like format rather than a single button press, Power Pack’s practice, qualifying, and endurance structure may be compelling after you reach its prerequisites. The base game also offers circuit events and progression without requiring that add-on. Players who enjoy planning tire choices, fuel use, and pit timing will find more depth here than in a purely arcade-focused title.

Weak fit: the offline-first player

The official offline limitation is decisive. Arcade Mode is available offline, but the broader campaign and most functionality are not presented as fully offline features. A temporary connection failure can therefore affect progression and access even when no other human player is involved.

Weak fit: the instant-action arcade fan

GT7 can be played casually, but its design rewards learning and repetition. Menus, licenses, tuning decisions, and event requirements are part of the experience. If you want exaggerated physics, constant boosts, or immediate access to every vehicle, another style of racer may suit you better.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to choose based on your situation

  1. New PS5 owner with no previous copy: choose Standard Edition unless the Deluxe bonuses are personally important.
  2. Existing PS4 Standard owner with a disc-capable PS5: check the discounted PS5 upgrade listing and keep the PS4 disc available for every launch.
  3. Existing PS4 owner with a PS5 Digital Edition: a disc-based upgrade is not supported; review the digital ownership and upgrade options shown for your account.
  4. Player focused on endurance and race weekends: start with the base game, reach Menu Book No. 9, install update 1.65 or later, then decide whether the Power Pack’s format justifies its separate price.
  5. Player considering VR: buy the base game first unless you already intend to use PlayStation VR2; the headset is not required for normal play.
  6. Price-sensitive buyer: compare the live US or local store price with current sales rather than using an old launch figure as a guarantee.

How the available evidence should shape expectations

The US PlayStation Store displayed a 4.37 out of 5 customer rating from 46,057 ratings in 2026. That is a live storefront average, not a critic score; both the average and the number of ratings can change. It is useful as a broad customer signal, but it cannot tell you whether the always-connected design or simulation-oriented handling matches your preferences.

Sony Interactive Entertainment reported in 2025 that the Gran Turismo series had surpassed 100 million units sold worldwide. That figure describes the entire series, not GT7 sales, and it is evidence of the franchise’s reach rather than a guarantee that every PS5 owner will enjoy this particular entry.

Final buying advice

For most PS5 owners, buy the Standard Edition and treat the free updates as the main reason to keep the game installed. Select Digital Deluxe only when its credits, GR Yaris, avatars, and soundtrack have specific value to you. Add Power Pack later if you want 50 themed races, endurance events, full race weekends, and Sophy 3.0 AI; do not buy it simply to make the base game complete. Before purchase, accept the connectivity trade-off: PS Plus is for online multiplayer, but an internet connection is central to the wider game and offline access is limited to Arcade Mode.

On that basis, GT7 is a strong PS5 purchase for a circuit-racing enthusiast and a poor match for someone seeking an offline-first or purely arcade experience.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.