iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The iPhone 18 Pro Max and Google Pixel 11 Pro XL have the same announced US starting price: $1,299. The choice is less about launch price and more about whether you prefer Apple’s iOS and camera controls or Google’s Pixel software, 48MP telephoto and stated seven-year update commitment. Both are large, high-refresh phones; the specifications below are manufacturer-published, not results of independent side-by-side testing.
iPhone 18 Pro Max vs Pixel 11 Pro XL: specs at a glance
| Specification | iPhone 18 Pro Max | Google Pixel 11 Pro XL |
|---|---|---|
| US announced starting price | $1,299 (Apple, 2026) | $1,299 (Google, 2026) |
| Display | 6.9-inch OLED; 2868 × 1320; 460 ppi; adaptive refresh up to 120Hz | 6.8-inch LTPO OLED; 1344 × 2992; 486 ppi; 1–120Hz; peak brightness up to 3,600 nits, per Google |
| Storage information established by cited source | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, or 2TB | Google says the Pro XL starts at 256GB; a full capacity range is not stated in the cited launch announcement |
| Weight | 249g | Not stated in the cited Google launch announcement |
| Processor and software | A20 Pro; iOS 27; Apple Intelligence and Siri AI | Tensor G6; Gemini capabilities |
| Camera highlights | 48MP Fusion main camera with variable aperture; Apple highlights new Pro controls | Updated Pro cameras, including a 48MP telephoto; 5x Portrait Mode and Pro Zoom up to 120x |
| Manufacturer battery claim | Up to 45 hours of video playback for the eSIM-only model, under Apple’s stated test conditions | Google says 15 minutes of wired charging can provide 15 hours of battery life |
| Published update commitment in cited announcement | Not specified as a comparable year count in Apple’s cited launch announcement | Seven years of OS, security, and Pixel Drop updates, per Google |
Sources: Apple’s September 9, 2026 announcement, Apple’s iPhone 18 Pro technical specifications, Google’s August 12, 2026 Pixel announcement, and Google’s Pixel 11 Pro specifications.
How much more does one cost?
Neither costs more at the announced US starting price: Apple set the iPhone 18 Pro Max at $1,299, and Google set the Pixel 11 Pro XL at $1,299. That makes the announced base-price difference $0 before tax, promotions, trade-ins, financing, or storage upgrades. Apple announced availability beginning September 18, 2026; Google announced retail availability beginning August 20, 2026.
These are launch starting prices, not live retailer quotes or prices for matching storage capacities. Apple lists configurations through 2TB, while Google’s cited announcement says the Pixel 11 Pro XL starts at 256GB without establishing the full capacity range. For a purchase today, compare the same storage capacity and check the current unlocked price, inventory, carrier eligibility, and trade-in terms in your region.
#1 Best Overall
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Which phone has the better display?
Both phones have large OLED displays with refresh rates reaching 120Hz. Apple lists the iPhone at 6.9 inches, 2868 × 1320 pixels and 460 ppi. Google lists the Pixel at 6.8 inches, 1344 × 2992 pixels, 486 ppi, and a refresh range of 1–120Hz.
Google also claims peak brightness up to 3,600 nits for the Pixel. That figure and Apple’s display specifications do not establish which screen is brighter in comparable real-world conditions: manufacturer brightness figures may use different test conditions. The iPhone is slightly larger by the listed diagonal; the Pixel has the higher listed pixel density.
Rank #2
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
How do their cameras differ?
iPhone: variable-aperture main camera
Apple highlights a 48MP Fusion main camera with variable aperture and new Pro controls. Its announcement describes the camera system’s capabilities but does not provide a basis here for claiming better photo or video results than the Pixel.
Pixel: telephoto and high-zoom modes
Google describes updated Pro cameras, including a 48MP telephoto, Portrait Mode at 5x, and Pro Zoom up to 120x. Those are advertised modes and specifications, not independent evidence that the Pixel produces superior images at any zoom level.
Rank #3
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
Choose based on the camera features you expect to use: Apple’s stated variable-aperture approach and Pro controls, or Google’s listed telephoto and zoom features. No controlled side-by-side camera test establishes an overall winner.
What do their software and support commitments offer?
iPhone 18 Pro Max
Apple announced the phone with iOS 27, Apple Intelligence, and Siri AI. Whether a particular feature is available can depend on region, language, eligibility, and software rollout.
Rank #4
- BIGGER, YET SLIMMER THAN EVER: Who would’ve guessed that wider could also be lighter? The design of Galaxy Z Fold7 is refined to feel like a traditional smartphone with its expanded cover display.
- BEST CAMERA ON A FOLD YET: You asked for more – now you can have the most. Galaxy Z Fold7 now boasts an ultra-premium 200MP camera with Pro-Visual Engine so you can effortlessly take incredibly detailed pics.
- SCREENSHARE FOR STREAMLINED ASSISTANCE: Intrigued by something you see? Go Live with Google Gemini, then screenshare or point your camera at it for additional info or assistance on the fly.¹
- DO AND VIEW MORE, ALL AT ONCE: With an 8” screen that allows you to view up to three windows at once, Galaxy Z Fold7 is the ultimate device for seeing and doing more.²
- ALL THE POWER AND SPEED YOU NEED Smoothly run your day with the power and speed of Galaxy Z Fold7. With its customized Snapdragon 8 Elite processor for Galaxy, you can stream your favorite shows, edit photos, scroll social feeds and more with ease.³
Pixel 11 Pro XL
Google announced Tensor G6-powered Gemini capabilities and says Pixel 11 phones receive seven years of OS, security, and Pixel Drop updates. Google’s cited launch announcement does not make every AI feature universally available; availability can vary by region, language, eligibility, and rollout. Apple’s cited announcement does not specify a comparable support-duration figure, so the available information does not establish a like-for-like update-length comparison.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsThe practical distinction is the ecosystem and the features you will use: iOS and Apple’s intelligence features on one side, Google’s Pixel software and Gemini capabilities on the other. The published seven-year commitment is a concrete support figure for the Pixel; no equivalent year count is stated in the cited Apple announcement.
Best Value
- This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
- Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
- When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
- The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
- Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
What about battery life, charging, and accessories?
Apple claims up to 45 hours of video playback for the eSIM-only iPhone 18 Pro Max under its stated test conditions and describes faster charging. Google says 15 minutes of wired charging can provide 15 hours of battery life for the Pixel 11 Pro XL. These are differently worded manufacturer claims, not equivalent runtime tests, so they cannot establish which phone lasts longer in everyday use.
Apple lists MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W, USB-C, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, IP68 water and dust resistance, and dual eSIM with no physical SIM compatibility. Google’s launch announcement describes Pixelsnap cases for Pixel 11 Pro and Pro XL, including models compatible with magnetic accessories. Confirm exact case and accessory compatibility for the specific phone before buying.
Which one should you choose?
- Choose iPhone 18 Pro Max if you want iOS, Apple Intelligence and Siri AI, Apple’s variable-aperture main camera, or storage options up to 2TB.
- Choose Pixel 11 Pro XL if you prefer Pixel software and Gemini, want the listed 48MP telephoto and 5x Portrait Mode, or place weight on Google’s seven-year update commitment.
- Compare before deciding if battery endurance, camera quality, or display brightness is decisive: the published claims and specifications here are not controlled head-to-head results.
Since their announced US starting prices match, the more useful price check is the current offer for the storage capacity and carrier or unlocked configuration you actually want.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

