Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The OnePlus 15’s advantages are its lower reported launch price, 165 Hz maximum refresh rate in gaming, and larger stated battery capacity. The iPhone 17 Pro Max offers a slightly larger display, storage options up to 2 TB, and iOS. In TechRadar’s 2025 launch-price comparison, the 256 GB OnePlus was $300 less than the 256 GB iPhone; that gap is not a current-price quote.

iPhone 17 Pro Max vs OnePlus 15 at a glance

The figures below combine OnePlus’s US specifications page with TechRadar’s editorial comparison. Price figures are launch prices reported in 2025, not verified current offers. iPhone specifications and prices are reported by TechRadar, not attributed here to an official Apple specification page.

Category OnePlus 15 iPhone 17 Pro Max
Display 6.78 inches; 2772 × 1272; 450 ppi; adaptive 1–120 Hz, with a maximum 165 Hz in gaming (OnePlus specifications) 6.9-inch OLED; 1320 × 2868; 120 Hz (TechRadar comparison)
Processor and RAM Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5; 12 GB or 16 GB RAM (OnePlus specifications) A19 Pro; 12 GB RAM (TechRadar comparison)
Rear cameras 50 MP main camera with optical image stabilization; 50 MP telephoto with 3.5× optical zoom and optical image stabilization. TechRadar also reports a 50 MP ultrawide. Three 48 MP rear cameras, according to TechRadar.
Battery and charging 7,300 mAh dual-cell, non-removable battery; 80 W SUPERVOOC wired and 50 W AIRVOOC wireless charging (OnePlus specifications) Capacity and charging figures: not stated in the cited TechRadar comparison.
Storage 256 GB or 512 GB (OnePlus specifications) 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB, or 2 TB (TechRadar comparison)
Launch price reported in 2025 $899.99 for 256 GB/12 GB RAM; $999.99 for 512 GB/16 GB RAM (TechRadar) $1,199 for 256 GB; $1,399 for 512 GB; $1,599 for 1 TB; $1,999 for 2 TB (TechRadar)
Operating system at time of comparison Android 16 with OxygenOS 16 (TechRadar) iOS 26 (TechRadar)
Dimensions and weight Not stated in the cited OnePlus specification details or TechRadar comparison. Not stated in the cited TechRadar comparison.

Sources: OnePlus 15 specifications and TechRadar’s comparison. OnePlus’s page is for the US; specifications and configurations may differ by region.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the price difference?

For the base 256 GB configurations, TechRadar reported a 2025 launch price of $899.99 for the OnePlus 15 and $1,199 for the iPhone 17 Pro Max—a $300 difference at launch. These are US-dollar launch-context figures from that comparison, not current street prices, an estimate of today’s discount, or a promise that a configuration is available in your market.

#1 Best Overall
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

The higher-capacity options do not line up exactly: TechRadar reported the OnePlus 15’s 512 GB model at $999.99, while its iPhone comparison listed 512 GB at $1,399 and additional iPhone tiers at 1 TB and 2 TB. If you are buying now, compare the same storage tier and check current local retailer listings; the launch-price gap alone cannot establish which phone is cheaper today.

How do the displays differ?

TechRadar lists the iPhone’s screen at 6.9 inches and the OnePlus at 6.78 inches. The OnePlus specification page gives its display resolution as 2772 × 1272 and 450 ppi; TechRadar reports 1320 × 2868 for the iPhone. These figures do not by themselves tell you which screen will look better to you: size, resolution, content, and viewing preferences all matter.

Rank #2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 2TB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

The refresh-rate distinction needs context. OnePlus specifies adaptive refresh from 1 to 120 Hz and a maximum of 165 Hz in gaming; TechRadar lists the iPhone at up to 120 Hz. The 165 Hz figure is a gaming ceiling, not a promise that every game, app, or screen state uses that rate. If you play supported games and value a higher maximum refresh, it is a OnePlus specification worth considering; for ordinary use, it does not establish a universal smoothness advantage.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What do the camera specifications tell you?

The OnePlus specifications list a 50 MP main camera and a 50 MP telephoto camera with 3.5× optical zoom, both with optical image stabilization. TechRadar reports a 50 MP ultrawide for the OnePlus and 48 MP rear cameras for the iPhone. Megapixel counts and camera hardware are useful for understanding the setups, but they are not a standalone photo-quality verdict.

Rank #3
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

TechRadar’s comparison describes differences in image rendering and quotes its Phones Editor, Axel Metz, calling the iPhone capable of “higher highs and lower lows,” while describing the OnePlus camera as potentially more dependable but less exciting. That is Metz’s assessment in the context of that outlet’s comparison, not a universal result. Your preference can depend on the scene, image processing, video use, zoom range, and the look you want.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Battery capacity and charging: specifications, not endurance tests

OnePlus lists a 7,300 mAh dual-cell battery, 80 W SUPERVOOC wired charging, and 50 W AIRVOOC wireless charging. Those are manufacturer specifications; they do not establish how long the phone lasts in a particular person’s use, how quickly it charges under every condition, or how its endurance compares with the iPhone. The cited comparison does not provide an iPhone battery-capacity figure, so a direct capacity comparison cannot be made from these sources.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,189.97
Bestseller No. 2
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 2TB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 2TB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,597.89
Bestseller No. 3
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Deep Blue- Unlocked (Renewed Premium)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,219.00
Bestseller No. 4
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.; Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.
$1,167.00
Rank #4
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max, US Version, 256GB, eSIM, Cosmic Orange- Unlocked (Renewed)
  • This phone is unlocked and compatible with any carrier of choice on GSM and CDMA networks (e.g. AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint, Verizon, US Cellular, Cricket, Metro, Tracfone, Mint Mobile, etc.).
  • Please check with your carrier to verify compatibility.
  • When you receive the phone, insert a SIM card from a compatible carrier. Then, turn it on, connect to Wi-Fi, and follow the on screen prompts to activate service.
  • The device does not come with headphones or a SIM card. It does include a generic (Mfi certified) charger and charging cable.
  • Tested for battery health and guaranteed to have a minimum battery capacity of 80%.

Which phone fits your priorities?

  • Consider the OnePlus 15 if you prefer Android, want the specified 165 Hz gaming ceiling, value its stated 7,300 mAh battery capacity and charging specifications, or are considering the lower 2025 launch price. Verify the price and exact regional configuration before buying.
  • Consider the iPhone 17 Pro Max if you prefer iOS, want the slightly larger display reported in the comparison, or need a listed storage tier above 512 GB. Its reported iPhone storage options extend to 2 TB.
  • Choose by camera preference, not megapixels alone. Read or watch sample comparisons in the kinds of scenes and video situations you care about; TechRadar’s rendering comments are one editor’s assessment rather than a guarantee of your preference.
  • Factor in the devices and services you already use. Your preferred apps, cloud services, messaging habits, and other devices may make Android or iOS more convenient regardless of the hardware figures.

Check these details before ordering

  • Compare live prices for the same storage capacity in your country; the cited prices are 2025 launch figures.
  • Confirm the exact regional model, network bands, SIM configuration, and availability. OnePlus’s cited specification page is its US page and may not describe every regional SKU.
  • Check whether the charger you need is included with the specific regional package; the cited specifications describe charging support but do not establish package contents.
  • Confirm current software versions for the exact models in your market. Android 16 with OxygenOS 16 and iOS 26 are the versions TechRadar reported at the time of its comparison, not a statement of what is current now.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.