iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The OnePlus 15R gives you a much larger, faster-refreshing screen, more listed RAM and a substantially larger stated battery capacity. The iPhone 16 is smaller and lighter, and runs iOS. Neither specification sheet establishes which phone is faster in everyday use, takes better photos or lasts longer between charges. Price is also not a fair head-to-head comparison unless you check current local listings: Apple’s US purchase page showed the iPhone 16 from $799, while the OnePlus US specifications page did not state a current price.
At a glance: iPhone 16 vs OnePlus 15R
| Specification | Apple iPhone 16 | OnePlus 15R |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.1-inch OLED; 2556 × 1179 pixels; 460 ppi | 6.83-inch; 2800 × 1272 pixels; 450 ppi; adaptive refresh up to 165Hz in supported listed apps |
| Dimensions and weight | 147.6 × 71.6 × 7.8 mm; 170 g | 163.41 × 77.04 × 8.30 mm; 214 g in Charcoal Black or 215 g in Mint Breeze |
| Processor and RAM | Apple A18; Apple’s cited specifications do not state RAM | Snapdragon 8 Gen 5; 12GB LPDDR5X Ultra |
| Storage options | 128GB, 256GB or 512GB | 256GB or 512GB |
| Rear cameras | 48MP main and 12MP ultra-wide; Apple lists 2× optical zoom capability through the main camera system | 50MP Sony IMX906 main camera with OIS and 8MP ultra-wide |
| Front camera | 12MP TrueDepth | 32MP with autofocus |
| Battery and charging | Apple lists playback estimates and charging specifications, but the cited page does not give battery capacity in mAh | 7400mAh typical capacity (7250mAh rated); 55W SUPERVOOC, up to 80W with a specified adapter |
| Operating system | iOS 26 on Apple’s UK specifications page | OxygenOS 16 based on Android 16 on OnePlus’s US specifications page |
| Water and dust resistance | IP68 under IEC 60529; Apple states a maximum depth of 6 m for up to 30 minutes | OnePlus product material cites IP ratings with qualifications; verify the exact rating for the regional model |
Specifications are from the manufacturers’ iPhone 16 technical specifications and OnePlus 15R US specifications. The OnePlus page says its highest refresh settings are available only in listed apps. A refresh-rate maximum therefore does not mean every app or screen use runs at that rate.
Which phone is easier to carry and use?
The iPhone 16 is the more compact choice. It weighs 170 g, compared with 214 g for the Charcoal Black OnePlus 15R and 215 g for Mint Breeze—a difference of 44–45 g. The 15R is also wider, taller and thicker. If you often use a phone one-handed, carry it in a small pocket or prefer a lighter device, the iPhone’s dimensions are a meaningful advantage. Choose the 15R if the larger display matters more than the extra size and weight.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Which display better fits your priorities?
The OnePlus 15R’s 6.83-inch display offers more screen area for video, games and reading, and its adaptive refresh rate can reach 165Hz in supported apps. The iPhone 16’s 6.1-inch OLED is considerably smaller and has a listed pixel density of 460 ppi, compared with 450 ppi on the 15R. Pixel density alone does not determine perceived image quality, and the figures do not establish which screen looks better overall. Pick based on screen size, handling comfort and whether your apps can use the 15R’s higher refresh settings.
#1 Best Overall
- 6.1" Screen size
- iOS Operating System
- 128 GB Flash Memory
Performance, storage and software
Processor and memory
The iPhone 16 uses Apple’s A18 chip; the OnePlus 15R uses Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 and lists 12GB of LPDDR5X Ultra RAM. Apple’s cited specifications do not state iPhone RAM. Because these phones use different operating systems and platforms, the RAM figures are not a direct measure of which feels faster. The available manufacturer material does not provide an independent head-to-head performance test.
OnePlus says the 15R supports always-on 120 FPS in MLBB for at least 60 minutes, based on OnePlus Test Laboratory data. That is a vendor test claim for a named game, not an independent comparison with the iPhone; OnePlus also says actual frame rates can vary with environment and use. See the OnePlus 15R product overview for the test qualification.
Rank #2
- Titanium frame combines strength and lightness, giving the iPhone 16 Pro a premium feel while reducing weight for prolonged daily use. The polished edges and textured back enhance grip and handling, making it easier to use during long calls, gaming sessions, or when capturing photos and videos on the move.
Storage choices
The iPhone 16 is listed with 128GB, 256GB and 512GB options; the OnePlus 15R lists 256GB and 512GB. The 15R therefore starts at twice the iPhone’s base storage, but that does not make the devices directly price-comparable: regional configurations and prices vary. Choose enough space for your apps, photos and videos, and compare the price of the same capacity where both are available.
Recommended Free Tools
iOS or Android
Apple’s UK specification page lists iOS 26 for the iPhone 16. OnePlus’s US page lists OxygenOS 16 based on Android 16 for the 15R. Your existing devices, apps, account services and comfort with each platform may matter more than a small difference in listed hardware. These software labels are tied to the cited regional pages; check the listing for your country for the software and model being sold.
Rank #3
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, Dolby Vision, 1000nits (typ), 2000nits (HBM), 2556x1179px at 460ppi, 3561mAh Battery
- 128GB 8GB RAM, Apple A18 (3nm), Hexa-core (2x4.04 GHz + 4x2.20 GHz), Apple GPU 5-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/32/34/38/39/40/41/42/48/53/66/71, 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/53/66/70/71/75/76/77/78/79 - Dual eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint., Etc.
Camera hardware does not settle photo quality
The iPhone 16 lists a 48MP main camera and a 12MP ultra-wide, with 2× optical zoom capability through its main camera system. The OnePlus 15R lists a 50MP Sony IMX906 main camera with optical image stabilization and an 8MP ultra-wide; its front camera is 32MP with autofocus, compared with the iPhone’s 12MP TrueDepth camera. Megapixel counts and component names do not establish which phone produces better photos or video. The cited material contains no independent camera image-quality comparison.
Battery capacity, charging and real-world endurance
OnePlus lists a 7400mAh typical battery capacity and 7250mAh rated capacity for the 15R, along with 55W SUPERVOOC charging and support for up to 80W using a specified adapter. Apple’s cited iPhone 16 page gives playback estimates and charging specifications, but not battery capacity in mAh. Capacity figures and charging wattage do not show how long a phone lasts under comparable use. No independent, directly comparable endurance test is established by the cited sources, so a battery-life winner cannot be named from these figures.
Rank #4
- 6.7" Super Retina XDR OLED, HDR10, Dolby Vision, 1000nits (typ), 2000nits (HBM), 2556x1179px at 460ppi, 4674mAh Battery
- 128GB, 8GB RAM, Apple A18 (3nm), Hexa-core (2x4.04 GHz + 4x2.20 GHz), Apple GPU 5-core, 16‑core Neural Engine
- Rear camera: 48MP, f/1.6, wide + 12MP, f/2.2, ultrawide, Front Camera: 12MP, f/1.9, wide, iOS 18, upgradable to iOS 18.5
- 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12/13/14/17/18/19/20/25/26/28/29/30/32/34/38/39/40/41/42/48/53/66/71, 5G: n1/2/3/5/7/8/12/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/53/66/70/71/75/76/77/78/79 - Dual eSIM
- Unlocked for freedom to choose your carrier. Compatible with both GSM & CDMA networks. The phone is unlocked to work with all GSM Carriers & CDMA Carriers Including AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Straight Talk., Etc.
Price difference and availability
Apple’s US purchase page displayed the iPhone 16 from $799 when accessed. That is a volatile listing, not a permanent price guarantee; configuration and carrier discounts can affect the displayed total. OnePlus’s US 15R specifications page lists 12GB+256GB and 12GB+512GB versions but does not state a current price. See Apple’s US iPhone 16 purchase page and the OnePlus US specifications page.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
OnePlus has published a US notice saying it will conclude product rollouts in North America and Europe. The notice says updates, security patches and after-sales support for existing devices will continue under applicable terms. It does not establish whether a particular 15R listing is currently available or authorized in your country. Check the seller, model, warranty terms and local support before buying; the OnePlus notice of business adjustment describes the rollout change.
Best Value
- This pre-owned product is not Apple certified, but has been professionally inspected, tested and cleaned by Amazon-qualified suppliers.
- There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length. There will be no visible cosmetic imperfections when held at an arm’s length.
- This product will have a battery which exceeds 90% capacity relative to new.
- Accessories will not be original, but will be compatible and fully functional. Product may come in generic Box.
- This product is eligible for a replacement or refund within 365 days of receipt if you are not satisfied.
A reliable current price gap cannot be calculated from the verified information: one current US price was shown, but a comparable OnePlus price was not. To compare offers, use the same country, unlocked or equivalent carrier terms, matching storage where possible, taxes and an authorized seller. Do not treat old or unmatched listings as a current price difference.
Which phone should you choose?
- Choose the OnePlus 15R if you want a 6.83-inch screen, a high refresh rate in supported apps, 256GB minimum listed storage, or the larger stated battery capacity and faster wired charging.
- Choose the iPhone 16 if you prefer a smaller, lighter phone, want to use iOS, or prefer its 6.1-inch OLED form factor.
- Compare locally before deciding if price or long-term support is central. Verify the 15R’s availability, seller authorization and warranty in your country, and compare equivalent storage and purchase terms.
Neither manufacturer specification sheet settles real-world speed, camera quality or battery endurance. If those are decisive, look for independent tests that compare the exact regional versions under the same conditions.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

