Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

A shopping agent cannot make a meaningful per-unit price comparison until it knows three things: what the buyer intends to purchase, which exact variant is being priced, and how many sellable units that variant contains. It must also keep the listed item price separate from the delivered total, because shipping and tax may still be unknown.

That sounds obvious, yet search results routinely combine substitutes, accessories, option ranges and “starting at” prices. The safe rule is simple: establish the exact option and what one sellable unit contains before calculating a per-pack price.

What does “one unit” mean in a shopping result?

“Unit” is not automatically the number in a listing title, the number of pieces shown in a photograph, or the smallest price displayed in search. For comparison purposes, one unit is the complete sellable option that the buyer would receive once a specific variant is selected.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a tissue listing, one sellable unit might be a box containing a stated number of tissues, a multipack containing several boxes, or a case intended for bulk purchase. Those are different comparison bases. A tissue holder is not a tissue refill at all, even if both appear for the search term “tissue.”

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

The arithmetic is valid only after the inputs are tied to the same option:

price per contained unit = price for the selected option ÷ number of contained units in that option

If either the option-specific price or its quantity is unknown, the result is unknown. A low “from” price cannot be divided by a pack count copied from another option.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why intent must be checked before price

Is this a substitute or just an accessory?

Search engines often broaden a query with related products. Someone searching for tissue refills may see boxes of tissues, bulk cartons, dispensers, holders and organizers. Only the products that satisfy the same intended use should enter a direct price ranking.

A holder or organizer can be useful, but it does not substitute for consumable tissues. Treating it as a competing offer produces a mathematically neat but commercially meaningless result. The agent should classify each result before it reads the price:

  • Direct substitute: performs the same job and can reasonably replace the requested item.
  • Different format: serves the same broad purpose but has a different quantity, size or use case that may require a separate comparison.
  • Accessory: supports, stores or dispenses the item but is not the item itself.
  • Unrelated match: shares a keyword without satisfying the buying intent.

Related words do not prove substitutability. The agent should preserve the classification and exclude accessories and unrelated matches from a “cheapest equivalent” claim.

Rank #2
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Does that price apply to this pack size?

Variant selection comes before division

Many listings expose several sizes, colors, counts or bundles under one product page. A title may show a range such as “10–30 rolls,” while the visible price is the minimum price for only one option. Until a specific option is selected, the price-to-quantity relationship is unresolved.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The agent should capture the option identifier or exact label, then read the quantity attached to that option. It should not infer quantity from a title, image, seller shorthand or another variation in the same listing.

Seasonkoh, a DEV Community author who identifies as working on WebAZ, states the principle this way: “Before calculating a per-pack price, establish the exact option and what one sellable unit contains.”

What counts as the contained quantity?

Quantity must describe what the buyer receives in one sellable option. Depending on the product, that could mean sheets, rolls, boxes, bottles or another defined unit. A listing that says “six-pack” may contain six boxes, but it does not establish how many tissues are in each box unless that information is also stated.

Record the level being compared. Comparing price per box with price per tissue is legitimate only when the conversion is explicit and the buyer wants that measure. If a listing says “case of 12” but does not state the contents of each inner package, the agent can report 12 cases or 12 packages only if the listing defines them; it cannot invent a sheet count.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is that the delivered price, including shipping and tax?

A displayed item price is not automatically the amount charged at delivery. Destination, handling, shipping, taxes, duties and other fees can change the final total. Estimated handling or delivery information is useful context, but it does not establish a checkout total.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Use separate fields for:

  • the price attached to the selected variant;
  • shipping or delivery charges, with their status (known, estimated or unavailable);
  • taxes and duties, with the same status;
  • the destination used for the estimate; and
  • the final delivered total, only when the seller or checkout flow actually establishes it.

Until those values are known, the agent may say “lowest listed item price among comparable options.” It should not say “cheapest delivered option.” A per-unit delivered price is likewise unavailable when the delivered total is unavailable.

A read-only test you can repeat

The following procedure is a validation exercise, not a purchase test. It is designed to reveal missing information before an agent ranks offers.

  1. Write the buying intent. State the product and use in concrete terms, such as “facial tissue refills,” and note exclusions such as holders or organizers.
  2. Set the destination. Record the country or market used for pricing. Shipping and tax cannot be assessed without a destination; a result resolved to one market must not be generalized to another.
  3. Run a narrow search. Keep the query, sort order and result limit in the log. A small result set is suitable for inspection, not for claiming market coverage.
  4. Classify each result. Mark it as a direct substitute, different format, accessory or unrelated match. Do this before looking for the lowest number.
  5. Select the exact option. Capture the variant label, size, count and any option identifier. If the response exposes only a range or a starting price, mark the option as unresolved.
  6. Verify one sellable unit. Record the quantity contained in that selected option and the unit of measure. Do not borrow a quantity from a title, photograph or neighboring option.
  7. Attach the price. Confirm that the displayed price applies to the selected option. If it is a “starting at” price or the relationship is unclear, leave the option price unconfirmed.
  8. Separate delivery costs. Record shipping, handling and tax individually. Label each as included, separately stated, estimated or unknown.
  9. Calculate only supported figures. Divide the confirmed option price by the confirmed quantity. Calculate a delivered unit price only after the delivered total is established.
  10. Report unknowns explicitly. An unresolved field is a result of the test, not a reason to guess. Keep the offer out of a definitive ranking or rank it as “not comparable.”

What the September 7, 2026 tissue example shows

In the reported anonymous webaz_search call, the query was “tissue,” the destination was Singapore, results were sorted in ascending price order, and the limit was three. The response resolved Singapore to SG, returned three results from six matches, and included two tissue listings plus an under-cabinet tissue-and-lid organizer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The response exposed option ranges and estimated handling or delivery information. It did not establish the final shipping-and-tax total or prove which precise option the starting price purchased. The author did not choose an option, reserve stock or buy anything. The example therefore demonstrates why the checks are needed; it is not a benchmark, a recommendation, a checkout quote or evidence that the checks are already automated.

The catalog snapshot included example pack counts and prices, but those figures belong to that dated observation. They are not current market offers and should not be reused as today’s prices. Exact numeric pack counts and prices are not established in the report available for this article, so a reviewer should preserve them as “not stated” unless the live listing supplies them.

A safe reading of the three result types

Result type Intent status Variant and quantity Price status How to use it
Tissue listing 1 Potential direct substitute, subject to intended use Exact option and contained quantity not established by the report Example price reported in the dated snapshot; exact value not stated here Inspect the selected option before any unit calculation
Tissue listing 2 Potential direct substitute, subject to intended use Exact option and contained quantity not established by the report Example price reported in the dated snapshot; exact value not stated here Keep separate from the first offer until quantities match
Under-cabinet tissue-and-lid organizer Accessory rather than a tissue refill Not a comparable consumable unit Not relevant to a refill price ranking Exclude from direct-substitute ranking

This table is a manual review fixture, not an API schema. One response cannot show that a production system enforces these checks automatically.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Fields a comparison record should preserve

Whether the reviewer is inspecting two offers or two hundred, the record should retain the evidence needed to reproduce the decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Field Required question If the answer is missing
Intended use Does this result satisfy the same buying intent? Do not call it an equivalent offer.
Substitute status Is it a direct substitute, different format or accessory? Exclude it from a direct ranking until classified.
Selected option Which exact size, count, color or bundle is priced? Do not connect a starting price to a quantity.
Contents per sellable unit How many defined units are inside that option? Per-unit arithmetic is unavailable.
Option-specific price Does the displayed amount apply to that option? Preserve the amount as an unconfirmed starting price.
Destination Which country or market controls delivery and tax? Delivered-cost comparison is not supported.
Shipping and tax Are they included, separately stated, estimated or unknown? Do not claim a cheapest delivered offer.
Equivalence Are the compared units meaningfully alike? Report separate categories rather than one ranking.

How developers should handle unknown values

A robust agent should use explicit states instead of converting uncertainty into zero or an estimate. For example, a price field can be confirmed, starting_price or unknown; a quantity field can be confirmed or unknown; and delivery charges can be included, separately_stated, estimated or unknown.

Ranking logic should require confirmed intent, variant, quantity and option price. A separate “incomplete offers” section can show useful leads without mixing them into the cheapest-equivalent list. Never treat an omitted shipping charge as free shipping, and never treat a missing tax value as zero.

When options are presented as a range, the agent can ask the buyer to choose or direct the buyer to the listing. It should not silently choose the smallest pack because that is what produced the lowest displayed number. If the buyer has specified a quantity target, the agent should also avoid comparing a single box with a case unless it clearly normalizes both to the same unit and confirms that the contents are defined.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why official unit-pricing rules do not solve the data problem

The European Commission’s pack-size overview places unit pricing under Directive 98/6/EC alongside unfair-commercial-practice and food-labelling rules. That context explains why consumers benefit from quantity and price-per-unit information.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Commission also describes an EU prepacked product as one placed in packaging without the purchaser present, in a fixed quantity that cannot be changed without opening or modifying the package. Directive 76/211/EEC sets a harmonised method for filling prepackages. These definitions concern prepacked goods and measurement. They do not prove that a particular online result exposes the selected option, its contents or a complete delivered price to an agent.

Best Value
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Legal unit-pricing requirements and machine-readable comparison data are related but different questions. Compliance rules do not remove the need for an agent to identify the exact online option it is comparing.

Common failure modes and fixes

“The cheapest result is the best deal.”

Failure: the result is an accessory, a smaller option or a different format. Fix: classify intent and equivalence before sorting by price.

“The title says six, so divide by six.”

Failure: six may refer to boxes, rolls or a bundle, while the selected option may differ. Fix: obtain the quantity for the exact selected option and record its unit of measure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“The displayed price is what the buyer pays.”

Failure: shipping, handling or tax is estimated or absent. Fix: keep item price and delivered total in separate fields and label unknown charges.

“A three-result search proves the market ranking.”

Failure: a result limit and a single query reveal only a small observation. Fix: describe the scope and date, and avoid market-wide claims.

A buyer-facing checklist

  • Does the item meet the same intended use, or is it an accessory?
  • Which exact option is selected?
  • Does the displayed price apply to that option?
  • How many defined units does one sellable option contain?
  • Are the compared units equivalent in size, format and use?
  • Which destination was used?
  • Are shipping, handling and tax included, stated separately, estimated or unknown?
  • Is the comparison based on a dated listing snapshot or a confirmed checkout total?

If any answer is unknown, the honest output is an incomplete comparison, not a fabricated per-unit figure. Validate the unit first; only then let the agent calculate and rank prices.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.