iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Read a pre-workout label from the serving size outward. The serving size tells you what every amount in the Supplement Facts panel actually refers to; then check caffeine and other stimulants, separate individually disclosed ingredients from proprietary blends, inspect the other-ingredients list, and follow the directions and warnings. A complete label still is not proof that the FDA reviewed the product before sale: in the United States, manufacturers are responsible for compliance, while FDA does not pre-approve dietary supplements or their labels for safety or effectiveness.
Why the serving size comes first
Every amount in a Supplement Facts panel is tied to a defined serving. FDA labeling guidance describes serving size as the maximum amount recommended on the label for consumption on one occasion, or one unit when no consumption recommendation is provided. The panel also states how many servings the container holds.
That makes serving size the only reliable starting point for comparing products. A scoop is not a universal unit: one brand’s scoop can contain a different mass of powder from another’s, and a label may define one serving as part of a scoop, one full scoop, or more than one scoop. Use the stated serving and the gram weight when it is disclosed, not the scoop’s appearance.
| Label item | What it tells you | Comparison caution |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size | The labeled amount intended for one occasion | Do not assume one scoop equals one serving across products |
| Servings per container | How many labeled occasions the package contains | Changing the serving changes how long the container lasts |
| Amount per serving | The quantity of each listed dietary ingredient in that serving | An amount cannot be compared fairly until serving sizes match |
| Powder mass | The gram weight of the stated serving, when provided | Scoop volume alone does not establish ingredient mass |
Keep the directions beside the Supplement Facts panel as you read. If the directions say to use two scoops, the label’s per-serving amounts apply to the labeled serving, not automatically to one scoop. If directions are absent, the serving-size convention still matters, but the label gives you less practical information about intended use.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
How much caffeine is in one scoop of pre-workout?
There is no universal answer. Find the caffeine entry and first determine whether the label defines one scoop as one serving. If it does, the listed caffeine amount is the amount in that scoop. If one serving requires two scoops, multiply the per-serving amount only when the label clearly defines the relationship. If caffeine appears only inside a proprietary blend, the exact caffeine amount may not be knowable from the label.
Locate caffeine by name
Look through the Supplement Facts panel for “caffeine” or a named caffeine-containing ingredient. Record the amount per labeled serving and whether the entry has its own line with its own quantity. A caffeine line with a milligram amount is individually quantified. A blend line that mentions caffeine but supplies only a total blend weight does not tell you caffeine’s dose.
Count all of your caffeine sources
Pre-workout is only one possible source. Coffee, tea, energy drinks, caffeinated medications, and other supplements can contribute to the same day’s total. The label cannot account for products you take elsewhere, so write down the serving and caffeine amount for each source before deciding whether a combination is appropriate for you.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Do not compare scoop names
“One scoop,” “one heaping scoop,” and “half scoop” are product-specific instructions. Compare the grams in the serving-size line and the caffeine milligrams in the Supplement Facts panel. Two tubs can both advertise a one-scoop serving while delivering different powder masses and different caffeine amounts.
What a proprietary blend means
A proprietary blend is a group of ingredients presented under one blend name. FDA labeling rules require the label to provide the blend’s total weight and list its component ingredients in descending order by predominance by weight. The label may omit the individual amount of every component.
| Disclosure format | What you can determine | What remains unknown |
|---|---|---|
| Individual ingredient line, such as caffeine — 200 mg | The labeled amount per serving | Whether that amount is appropriate for a particular person |
| Proprietary blend — 1,000 mg, followed by several ingredients | The total weight of the blend and the order of ingredients by weight | The individual dose of each ingredient, including caffeine if it is listed inside |
| Ingredient named outside a blend with no amount shown | That the ingredient is included | The quantity, unless another part of the label supplies it |
Order within a blend is not a dosage. The first ingredient weighs more than the next ingredient in that blend, but the label does not reveal how much more or how the total is divided. Do not subtract the known amounts of other ingredients from the blend total and treat the remainder as caffeine unless the label explicitly gives those amounts.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
An illustrative label example
The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database includes a PUMP-HD pre-workout label showing a one-scoop, 11-gram serving and a 1,230-milligram proprietary blend that includes caffeine without stating caffeine’s individual amount. This is an example of how to read disclosure, not a finding that the product is current, safe, effective, or endorsed. The database contains both on-market and off-market labels, so packaging at a retailer may differ.
How to inspect caffeine and other stimulants
After identifying caffeine, scan the entire panel for other stimulant entries. Record each ingredient’s amount when it is individually quantified, and mark whether it is in a blend. A product can list more than one stimulant, and a blend can prevent you from determining the contribution of each one.
- Individually quantified: the ingredient has its own amount per serving, making the label’s disclosure measurable.
- Inside a proprietary blend: the ingredient is named, but its individual quantity is not stated.
- Not listed: the label does not establish that the ingredient is present; it also does not establish that the product has no other effects or risks.
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements notes that many performance products combine ingredients and that many combinations have not been studied. A long list therefore is not evidence of better performance, and a label alone cannot establish that the combined formula is effective or safe for your circumstances.
How to interpret caffeine figures without turning them into a personal dose
NIH ODS describes a usual caffeine range for performance support of 2–6 milligrams per kilogram of body weight, commonly taken 15–60 minutes before exercise in its general summary. For a 154-pound person, that corresponds to about 210–420 milligrams. The fact sheet presents this as population-level context: individual responses vary, caffeine does not help every person or every activity, and more may not improve performance further while increasing the chance of side effects.
That range is not a recommendation to choose a pre-workout containing a particular amount. Your health conditions, medications, age, pregnancy status, habitual caffeine intake, sleep, and sensitivity can change the risk profile. A clinician or qualified pharmacist can help interpret caffeine exposure in light of those factors.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesThe same NIH ODS fact sheet says that up to 400–500 milligrams of caffeine per day seems safe for adults, while teenagers should limit caffeine to no more than 100 milligrams per day. “Seems safe” is the source’s qualification, not a target and not a promise that a specific product will be tolerated. The daily figure includes caffeine from all sources, not only pre-workout.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Highly concentrated caffeine is a separate warning
FDA’s warning about pure and highly concentrated caffeine concerns products in which a tiny measuring error can create a very large exposure. FDA states that one teaspoon of pure powdered caffeine can contain caffeine equivalent to 28 cups of coffee and warns that the difference between a safe amount and a toxic or life-threatening amount in these highly concentrated products is very small. Do not apply that statement indiscriminately to every finished pre-workout powder; it addresses concentrated caffeine products specifically. Never estimate a concentrated powder with an ordinary kitchen utensil.
Read the rest of the Supplement Facts panel
Dietary ingredients and their amounts
The Supplement Facts panel lists dietary ingredients and the amount of each per serving when the label discloses it. Note serving units—milligrams, grams, or other units—and whether an ingredient is listed individually or in a blend. Keep the unit attached to every note; “500” is meaningless without knowing whether it means 500 milligrams, 500 micrograms, or a blend total.
The separate other-ingredients list
Below or alongside Supplement Facts, the other-ingredients list covers nondietary ingredients. These can include flavorings, sweeteners, fillers, binders, and colors. They are not automatically evidence of a problem, but they matter if you avoid a particular substance, have an intolerance, follow a dietary restriction, or need to identify the source of an unexpected reaction.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Directions, cautions, and storage information
Read the directions exactly as written, including serving frequency, whether the powder is to be mixed with a specified amount of liquid, and any instruction not to exceed a stated amount. Read warnings for age limits, pregnancy or nursing cautions, medical conditions, medication interactions, and other restrictions. NIH ODS notes that the absence of a cautionary statement does not mean a supplement has no adverse effects.
Check the package for a lot number, expiration or “best by” information, seal condition, and storage instructions. Those details help you identify a particular package if you need to contact the manufacturer or report a problem, although they do not substitute for evidence of safety or effectiveness.
A repeatable, five-step label-reading method
- Circle the serving size. Write down the number of scoops, the gram weight if shown, and servings per container.
- Find caffeine. Record milligrams per serving and mark whether caffeine has its own quantified line or appears in a blend.
- Scan for other stimulants. Record each named stimulant and its amount, noting any proprietary-blend placement.
- Read every remaining panel. Check dietary ingredients, the separate other-ingredients list, directions, warnings, and storage information.
- Compare only like with like. Put products in a table using the same serving basis, then account for caffeine from coffee, drinks, medicines, and other supplements.
If a key quantity is not disclosed, write “not stated” rather than guessing. An unknown amount is a material difference between labels, especially when the unknown ingredient is a stimulant.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Side-by-side comparison table
Use a worksheet like this when comparing two or more labels. Fill each cell from the package; do not infer missing numbers from marketing names, scoop volume, ingredient order, or another product’s formula.
Recommended Free Tools
| Comparison axis | Product A | Product B |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size and powder mass | Record scoops and grams; if absent, write “not stated” | Record scoops and grams; if absent, write “not stated” |
| Caffeine per serving | Milligrams and “individual” or “blend” | Milligrams and “individual” or “blend” |
| Other stimulant ingredients | Name and disclosed amount, or “not stated” | Name and disclosed amount, or “not stated” |
| Proprietary blend | Blend name and total weight, if any | Blend name and total weight, if any |
| Other dietary ingredients | Names and amounts per serving | Names and amounts per serving |
| Directions and warnings | Summarize the labeled instructions and cautions | Summarize the labeled instructions and cautions |
| Servings per container | Number shown on package | Number shown on package |
This format compares transparency, not product quality. A label with more disclosed numbers is easier to evaluate, but disclosure by itself does not prove that an ingredient works or that a formula is suitable for you.
Does the FDA approve pre-workout supplements?
No. FDA’s “FDA 101: Dietary Supplements” states: “The FDA does NOT have the authority to approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness, or to approve their labeling, before the supplements are sold to the public.” Companies are responsible for ensuring that their products and labels comply with applicable requirements. FDA’s role primarily begins after products enter the marketplace, including oversight and action when problems are identified.
Therefore, a Supplement Facts panel is a disclosure document, not an FDA approval seal. The presence of a label does not establish that FDA premarket-tested the product, confirmed its claims, or verified that a combination of ingredients improves exercise performance.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Where to verify a label and what can change
The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database contains more than 200,000 labels and is regularly updated. That count describes the database’s scale and includes on-market and off-market products; it is not a count of products currently sold. Use a database image as a historical or illustrative reference, then check the current package for the exact serving size, formula, directions, and warnings.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Formulas and labels can change. A tub purchased at a different time or in a different market may not match an older image. If the package and a database record disagree, treat the package you have as the relevant label for that product and lot, and contact the manufacturer for clarification when a critical amount is unclear.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Common label-reading mistakes and fixes
Mistake: treating a scoop as a standard measurement
Fix: Use the labeled serving and gram weight. Record whether the directions call for one scoop, part of a scoop, or multiple scoops.
Mistake: treating a blend total as caffeine content
Fix: Separate the total blend weight from each component’s dose. If caffeine has no individual amount, mark it as unknown rather than assigning it the blend total or a guessed fraction.
Mistake: ignoring other caffeine sources
Fix: Add caffeine from all products used during the day before interpreting the pre-workout amount.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteMistake: assuming “natural” or a long ingredient list means low risk
Fix: Read quantities, directions, and warnings. Safety and effectiveness cannot be established by an adjective or by the number of ingredients.
Mistake: treating no warning as a safety guarantee
Fix: The absence of a cautionary statement does not establish the absence of adverse effects. Consider your own conditions and medicines and seek professional advice when needed.
Mistake: assuming FDA reviewed the label before sale
Fix: Remember that FDA does not pre-approve dietary supplements or their labels for safety and effectiveness. Evaluate the disclosure on its own terms and use official safety information for questions about exposure.
Questions a label cannot answer by itself
- Whether the formula improves your particular workout or sport.
- Whether a combination of ingredients has been adequately studied; NIH ODS notes that many combinations have not been studied and study participants have not always represented every population or sport.
- Whether an undisclosed component inside a proprietary blend is present at a meaningful or trivial dose.
- Whether the product is appropriate with your medical history, medications, age, pregnancy status, or caffeine sensitivity.
- Whether an old label image matches the formula in a package sold today.
Use the label to establish what is disclosed, what is not disclosed, and what the directions require. Use a qualified health professional for individualized decisions rather than converting a general caffeine figure into a personal prescription.
A practical pre-purchase checklist
- Can I state the exact serving size in scoops and grams?
- How many servings are in the container?
- What is the caffeine amount per labeled serving?
- Is caffeine individually quantified or hidden in a proprietary blend?
- Are other stimulants listed with their own amounts?
- What is the total weight of each proprietary blend?
- Have I read the other-ingredients list for substances I avoid?
- Do the directions and warnings fit my circumstances?
- Have I counted caffeine from every other source that day?
- Am I treating the label as disclosure rather than FDA premarket approval?
If the answer to a key question is “not stated,” that uncertainty is itself a reason to avoid assuming the amount. A transparent comparison can proceed only from quantities the label actually provides.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

