iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
To reload a Ryobi stapler safely, first read the model label: USB Lithium FVN51/RST4 tools and 18V ONE+ models use different magazine releases and may accept different fasteners. Remove the battery, open the magazine using the mechanism for your model, load only the listed staple profile and length, and close the magazine until it clicks. The USB Lithium FVN51 takes staples crown-down with the legs up; the cited 18V procedure uses a retracting cartridge and a bottom toggle.
Identify the exact stapler before opening the magazine
“USB Lithium” and “18V” describe tool families, not one universal magazine or staple specification. Model labels also vary by market. The USB Lithium US operator manual discussed here is for model FVN51. RYOBI Australia identifies its USB Lithium 4-in-1 kit as RST4K and the included tool as RST4. Those labels should not be treated as interchangeable without checking the label on your tool and the manual for your region.
The 18V examples are also separate products. The R18ST50 operator manual specifies T-50 staples, while the US P317 product listing describes another 3/8-inch-crown stapler that accepts 1/4- to 9/16-inch staples and is compatible with Arrow T50. A shared “18V” name does not prove that the magazines, fastener ranges or loading steps are identical.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
| Tool identified in the sources | Magazine release | Supported fasteners stated by the source | Capacity or indicator |
|---|---|---|---|
| USB Lithium FVN51 | Squeeze the magazine latch and slide the magazine open while holding the tool upside down | Use the staple profile and length specified for your FVN51 manual; its manual gives the staple orientation below. It separately describes nail loading. | Side indicator window shows when staples are running low |
| USB Lithium RST4 (in RST4K kit) | Confirm the release and loading diagram for the exact regional tool | T50, 6–10 mm; JT21, 6–10 mm; T25, 10–14 mm; and 15 mm 18-gauge brad nails | Up to 58 T50 staples |
| 18V ONE+ R18ST50 | Depress the toggle at the bottom of the magazine and pull the cartridge back | T-50 staples with a 10 mm (3/8-inch) crown and 6–14 mm (1/4–9/16-inch) length | Magazine capacity: 85 staples |
| 18V ONE+ P317 (US listing) | Follow the release shown for the P317 manual | 3/8-inch crown staples, 1/4–9/16 inch; listed as compatible with Arrow T50 | Capacity not stated in the cited listing |
If the label is worn or the model is not one of these examples, stop at identification. Do not infer compatibility from the battery family alone. Look for a model code on the housing, battery bay, packaging or manual, and match the market designation where possible. A US FVN51, Australian RST4 and Australian R18ST50 may look similar while having different published instructions.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Safety checks before loading any Ryobi stapler
- Remove the battery pack. Take out the USB Lithium battery or 18V battery before opening the magazine. This prevents an accidental trigger operation while your hands are near the feed path.
- Keep the discharge nose pointed away from people and surfaces that could be damaged. The RYOBI FVN51 Operator’s Manual, revision 02 (2024), states: “Always keep your fingers away from the discharge area of the tool when driving a fastener.” Keep that area clear while loading and when reinstalling the battery.
- Use a staple strip that matches the model, profile and length. A strip that does not sit correctly in the track can jam the tool or damage the magazine. Never make a different gauge or type fit by trimming, bending or forcing it.
- Inspect the magazine and strip. Remove loose pieces, bent legs or a damaged strip before closing the magazine. If a fastener will not lie flat in the track, do not proceed.
Battery removal is required for both cited families, even when the tool appears empty. A partly used strip can leave a loose staple in the feed path, and a magazine that is open or not latched should never be treated as ready to fire. Keep the battery separate until the cartridge is closed, latched and visibly seated.
How to load staples into the USB Lithium FVN51
These steps follow the USB Lithium FVN51 US operator manual. They apply to staples, not automatically to brad nails: the manual gives nail loading separately, so do not transfer the staple orientation to nails.
1. Remove the USB Lithium battery
Release and remove the battery pack. Keep it off the tool until the magazine is fully closed and you have checked that the fasteners are seated correctly.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →2. Turn the tool upside down
Hold the stapler with its underside and magazine facing upward. This position exposes the magazine latch and helps you see the loading channel.
3. Squeeze the magazine latch and slide the magazine open
Press the latch, then slide the magazine out in the direction shown by the tool. The magazine should move with the latch released. If it resists, stop and check that you are pressing the latch completely; do not pry the magazine or apply excessive force.
4. Place the staple strip in the correct channel
Put the staples into the middle channel of the magazine, against the magazine’s right side. The required orientation is:
- Crown down: the horizontal bridge of each staple faces the bottom of the channel.
- Legs up: the two points of each staple face upward toward the magazine opening.
Seat the strip straight along the channel. A strip lying on its side, in an outside channel or reversed with the crown up will not feed as intended. Check the entire strip, not only its first staple; a bent section can keep the magazine from sliding home even if the leading end looks correct.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteRank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
5. Slide the magazine closed
Push the magazine back into the tool until the latch clicks. The click indicates that the magazine has reached its latched position. Do not force it past a resistance point. Reopen it and check the strip’s channel, crown-down orientation and model-approved length if it will not latch.
6. Check the low-staple indicator
The FVN51 has a side indicator window that shows when staples are running low. Use the window as a visual reminder to reload; it does not replace checking that the magazine is latched. The window is an FVN51 feature identified in its manual, so do not assume an equivalent indicator exists on every USB Lithium or 18V model.
How to load staples into a Ryobi 18V ONE+ stapler
The cited RYOBI support procedure is for an 18V ONE+ stapler with a bottom magazine toggle. The R18ST50 manual identifies the compatible fastener family as T-50 staples with a 10 mm (3/8-inch) crown and 6–14 mm (1/4–9/16-inch) length. RYOBI’s support guidance recommends 10 mm T50 staples. Confirm the exact model before applying either dimension.
1. Remove the 18V battery
Detach the battery from the tool. Do not open the magazine with the battery installed.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
2. Find the toggle at the bottom of the magazine
Locate the magazine release toggle on the underside. This is a different mechanism from the FVN51 squeeze latch.
3. Depress the toggle and pull the magazine back
Press the bottom toggle to release the cartridge, then pull the magazine backward until the staple track is exposed. Pull in the direction of the track rather than twisting the cartridge.
4. Load the approved staples into the track cavity
Lay the compatible strip in the exposed track cavity, following the orientation shown on your exact model. For the cited R18ST50, use T-50 staples within the stated crown and length range. The support guidance specifically warns that another gauge or type can damage the stapler.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
5. Push the cartridge forward until it clicks
Return the magazine cartridge to its normal position and push it in until the latch clicks. A cartridge that stops short is not ready for use. Remove the battery again and inspect the track if it will not close without force.
Recommended Free Tools
Staple profiles and lengths: what is—and is not—universal
“T50” identifies a staple family, but the permitted length and crown dimensions still belong to the specific stapler. The values below are the limits stated for the named products, not a universal Ryobi specification.
| Model or product information | Profile | Length or crown | How to use the information |
|---|---|---|---|
| R18ST50 manual | T-50 | 10 mm (3/8-inch) crown; 6–14 mm (1/4–9/16 inch) length | Use only within this range for the R18ST50. |
| RYOBI 18V support recommendation | T50 | 10 mm staple recommendation | A recommendation for the cited 18V support procedure; verify your model before buying. |
| RST4 product information | T50 | 6–10 mm | USB Lithium RST4 information; not proof that every USB Lithium model accepts this range. |
| RST4 product information | JT21 | 6–10 mm | Supported by the listed RST4 product information only. |
| RST4 product information | T25 | 10–14 mm | Supported by the listed RST4 product information only. |
| RST4 product information | 18-gauge brad nails | 15 mm | These are nails, not staples; use the separate nail-loading instructions. |
The RST4 product information says its magazine holds up to 58 T50 staples. The R18ST50 manual states a capacity of 85 staples. Capacity is therefore model-specific as well; do not use one number to estimate another tool’s magazine. The RST4 listing also names JT21 and T25 staples, which is why an undifferentiated package labeled only “Ryobi staples” is not enough evidence of fit.
Choosing replacement staples without guessing
Start with the model number, then match three details: staple profile, crown or gauge where listed, and leg length. For the R18ST50, the published range is T-50, 10 mm crown and 6–14 mm length. RYOBI’s cited 18V support article specifically recommends 10 mm T50 staples, but that recommendation should not override the manual for a different 18V model. For the RST4 information, T50 and JT21 are listed at 6–10 mm, while T25 is listed at 10–14 mm.
When shopping, read the fastener package rather than relying on a photo of a similar tool. “T50 staples for Ryobi stapler” can be a useful search phrase, but the listing still needs to show the exact profile and length your manual permits. Arrow T50 compatibility is stated for the US P317 listing; it does not establish compatibility with every RYOBI stapler. If the package omits the profile, crown or length, choose a clearly specified alternative or consult the exact manual before buying.
What to do when the magazine will not close
The strip will not sit in the channel
Remove the battery, reopen the magazine and verify that the strip matches the model’s profile and length. On the FVN51, confirm that the strip is in the middle channel against the right side, with the crown down and legs up. On the 18V design, verify that the strip is inside the exposed track cavity rather than beside the track. If it still does not lie flat, it is not a compatible strip for that loading path.
The release does not move
Use the model-specific release: squeeze and slide the FVN51 latch, or depress the bottom toggle on the cited 18V design and pull the cartridge back. Do not use a screwdriver or another object to lever the magazine open. A release that remains stuck after the battery is removed needs the exact model manual or qualified service rather than additional force.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
The cartridge stops before the click
Pull it back out with the battery removed and look for a crooked strip, a loose fastener or debris in the track. Correct the seating and try again. If the strip is outside the listed profile or length, replace it with the specified type. The magazine must latch; do not reinstall the battery while it is partially open.
The stapler jams after loading
Disconnect the battery before investigating. Do not repeatedly pull the trigger to clear a jam. Check whether the fastener type, crown and length match the exact model. The 18V support guidance warns that another gauge or type can damage the tool, and the manuals’ model-specific ranges are narrower than the general phrase “Ryobi staples.” If the correct strip was used and the jam remains, stop using the tool and follow the model’s clearing or service instructions.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteThe tool appears empty even though staples are visible
For an FVN51, use the side indicator window as a low-staple check and verify that the strip is in the middle channel. A visible strip can still be incorrectly oriented or positioned. For an 18V model, confirm that the cartridge is fully returned and latched; the cited support procedure does not establish an equivalent low-staple window for every 18V model.
Common compatibility mistakes to avoid
- Choosing by battery family: USB Lithium and 18V labels do not identify one shared staple specification.
- Assuming every T50 strip is interchangeable: the allowed length and crown must match the named model.
- Using the FVN51 orientation for nails: the manual separately explains nail loading.
- Mixing regional product information: RST4/RST4K, FVN51, R18ST50 and P317 are distinct model references from different market documents.
- Forcing a magazine: a latch that will not click is a reason to recheck the strip and manual, not to apply more pressure.
- Confusing capacity with compatibility: 58 T50 staples for the RST4 and 85 staples for the R18ST50 describe how much each magazine holds, not which strips fit the other tool.
Reloading checklist
- Read the model number printed on the tool.
- Open the matching manual or support instructions for that model and market.
- Remove the battery.
- Confirm the staple profile, crown and length.
- Use the correct release: FVN51 latch, or the cited 18V bottom toggle.
- Seat the strip in the correct track; for FVN51 staples, crown down and legs up in the middle channel against the right side.
- Close the magazine until it clicks.
- Keep fingers away from the discharge area before reinstalling the battery or driving a fastener.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use any T50 staples in a Ryobi stapler?
No. T50 is a staple family, but each tool still has its own permitted length and, where specified, crown. The R18ST50 accepts T-50 staples with a 10 mm crown and 6–14 mm length, while the RST4 information lists T50 at 6–10 mm. Match the exact model before purchasing.
How many staples fit in these magazines?
The RYOBI Australia RST4 information lists up to 58 T50 staples. The R18ST50 manual lists a capacity of 85 staples. Those figures are not interchangeable, and the cited P317 listing does not state a capacity.
Why must the FVN51 be held upside down?
The FVN51 loading procedure exposes the latch and channel with the underside facing upward. The manual directs the user to squeeze the latch and slide the magazine open in that position. It also specifies the middle channel, right-side placement, crown-down and legs-up orientation.
Can I load brad nails like staples?
No. The RST4 product information lists 15 mm 18-gauge brad nails separately, and the FVN51 manual explains nail loading separately from staple loading. Do not apply the FVN51 staple orientation to nails.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
What does it mean if the magazine will not click shut?
With the battery removed, check for a crooked or loose fastener, debris, an incorrect track or a staple outside the model’s profile and length. Recheck the release and loading diagram. A magazine that still will not latch should not be forced or used with the battery installed.
Is an 18V R18ST50 the same as a P317?
No. The R18ST50 manual and the US P317 listing are separate product references. Both describe 3/8-inch-crown T50-style staples, but their documents and market labels differ. Follow the manual for the exact model printed on your tool.
Bottom line: model first, fastener second
There is no single loading method for every Ryobi stapler. The FVN51 USB Lithium procedure uses an upside-down tool, a squeezed latch and a middle-channel strip loaded crown-down with the legs up. The cited 18V ONE+ procedure uses a bottom toggle, a retracting cartridge and a compatible T50 strip. RST4, R18ST50 and P317 specifications demonstrate why the exact model, regional manual and approved staple dimensions must be checked before loading.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use any T50 staples in a Ryobi stapler?
No. T50 is a staple family, but the permitted length and crown depend on the exact model. Verify the tool manual before buying.
How many staples fit in a Ryobi RST4 or R18ST50?
The RST4 information lists up to 58 T50 staples; the R18ST50 manual lists 85 staples. Capacity is model-specific.
Can brad nails be loaded in the same orientation as FVN51 staples?
No. Nail loading is described separately, so do not apply the FVN51 staple orientation to 15 mm 18-gauge brad nails.
Why will my magazine not click shut?
Remove the battery and check the strip’s profile, length, channel, orientation and track seating. Never force a magazine that remains misaligned.
Is every 18V RYOBI stapler loaded the same way?
No. R18ST50 and P317 are separate products. Use the release mechanism and fastener specifications for the exact model and market.
The Bottom Line
Identify the exact RYOBI model, remove its battery, use the specified staple profile and length, and close the magazine until it clicks. FVN51 staples load crown-down with legs up in the middle channel; the cited 18V procedure uses a bottom toggle and retracting cartridge.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

