Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The most affordable option depends on what you mean by “online” and “cybersecurity.” The University of Southern Mississippi lists a 54-credit Computer Science PhD, with cybersecurity as a research area, at $578.12 per credit and says online students pay resident tuition; the university says no campus travel is required. For a doctorate specifically titled in cyber defense, Dakota State University is worth comparing, but it requires annual campus seminars and its published cost figures differ. Capitol Technology University lists a fully online PhD in Financial Cybersecurity with a minimum 60 credits and a Fall 2026–Summer 2027 rate of $980 per credit plus a $55 per-credit technology fee.

Those published figures are not directly interchangeable, and none establishes a universal cheapest program. Compare required credits, fees, travel, residency rules, funding and your research fit before deciding.

Online cybersecurity PhD programs and published costs

The figures below come from the institutions’ program or tuition pages. They are published price bases, not guaranteed total bills or net prices. Check with each university for a current, written estimate that accounts for your enrollment plan and any additional fees.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
University and degree Format and focus Published cost basis Important qualification
The University of Southern Mississippi, Computer Science PhD 100% online; cybersecurity is a research area within computer science. 54 credits at $578.12 per credit, or $31,218.48 when those figures are multiplied. The university says online students pay resident tuition and do not need to travel to campus, including for commencement. The multiplication is not a guaranteed total bill. Program page
Dakota State University, PhD in Cyber Defense Online coursework plus an annual campus residency that includes three research seminars. 72 credits; the program page estimates $3,365.10 per semester. A separate tuition page lists $4,938.75 for nine online PhD credits and fees. The two official cost figures do not establish a dependable full-program total. Ask the university for a current program-specific estimate and include residency travel. Program page; tuition and fees page
Capitol Technology University, PhD in Financial Cybersecurity 100% online; focused on financial cybersecurity. Minimum 60 credits at $980 tuition plus a $55 IT fee per credit for Fall 2026–Summer 2027. The minimum tuition-and-IT-fee basis is $62,100. The $62,100 calculation excludes additional dissertation credits and other costs. Rates may change. The application fee is $100 and is waived for Capitol Tech master’s graduates. Program page
National University, PhD in Cybersecurity Online; the program page lists specializations. Tuition amount not stated on the reviewed program page. The university reports an average completion time of 40–44 months. Request current tuition directly before comparing cost. Program page
University of the Cumberlands, PhD in Information Technology Online; an adjacent IT doctorate with cybersecurity-related curriculum. 60 credits; a comparable total cost is not stated on the reviewed program page. Confirm current tuition and fees directly. This is an IT degree rather than a doctorate titled in cybersecurity. Program page

Which program is the best fit?

For a fully online computer science doctorate with cybersecurity research

Southern Miss is a price-led option if you want a Computer Science PhD and can pursue cybersecurity within that broader discipline. Its published rate and credit count produce a tuition calculation of $31,218.48 before costs not captured by that multiplication. The university says the program can be completed entirely online without travel. It reports an average completion time of four years and allows up to eight years. Southern Miss program details

#1 Best Overall

For a doctorate specifically in cyber defense

Dakota State’s PhD in Cyber Defense is directly focused on the field, but “online” does not mean no travel: students complete online coursework and attend an annual campus residency with three research seminars. The university describes a three-year full-time path and up to seven years for part-time study. Its separate official cost presentations need clarification before you can calculate a reliable total. Dakota State program details

Dakota State reported that Cybersecurity Guide’s 2026 rankings named its online cybersecurity PhD programs the most affordable. That is an attributed ranking, not proof that DSU will cost least for every student; the residency and the university’s differing cost figures matter to an individual estimate. Dakota State’s December 5, 2025 announcement

For financial cybersecurity or a degree explicitly titled in cybersecurity

Capitol Tech’s doctorate is specifically in Financial Cybersecurity and is listed as 100% online. Its published minimum tuition-and-IT-fee calculation is higher than Southern Miss’s multiplication, but the degree focus and published cost structures differ. National University also offers a PhD in Cybersecurity; its reviewed program page lists specializations and an average 40–44-month completion time but no tuition figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For an adjacent information technology doctorate

The University of the Cumberlands lists a 60-credit online PhD in Information Technology with cybersecurity-related curriculum. Consider it if an IT degree matches your goals; do not treat it as equivalent to a doctorate titled in cybersecurity without checking the curriculum and research options.

How to compare the real cost

  1. Confirm the credential and research fit. Ask whether cybersecurity is the degree’s central discipline, a specialization, or one research area within computer science or IT. Compare faculty expertise and dissertation opportunities against your research question.
  2. Get a written, program-specific cost estimate. Ask for the required credits, current per-credit or per-term tuition, mandatory fees, and any dissertation or continuation charges. For Dakota State, specifically ask the university to reconcile the $3,365.10 semester estimate with the separate $4,938.75 figure for nine online PhD credits and fees.
  3. Clarify what “online” requires. Ask about required campus visits, residencies, seminars, commencement attendance, and whether travel is optional. Include transportation and lodging for any required visit in your personal budget.
  4. Check your rate and eligibility. Verify whether online tuition depends on residency, and whether you qualify for scholarships, tuition support, or discounts. Southern Miss says online students pay resident tuition. Capitol Tech describes a 20% doctoral tuition discount for eligible full-time high school and community college faculty and staff; confirm eligibility and availability before counting it toward your costs. Southern Miss tuition information; Capitol Tech program information
  5. Ask how the timeline affects charges. Request the expected course sequence and the billing rules if research takes longer than planned. Published completion estimates are not guarantees: Southern Miss reports four years on average and permits up to eight, Dakota State describes three years full time and up to seven part time, and National University reports 40–44 months.
  6. Compare your likely out-of-pocket cost, not a headline rate. Apply only funding for which you have confirmed eligibility and availability. Ask each school whether transfer credits can reduce required credits and how that changes tuition or time to completion; do not assume credits will transfer.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why there is no single cheapest-program answer

The programs differ in degree title, credit requirements, fee treatment, delivery and the information they publish. Southern Miss’s $578.12-per-credit rate applies to a 54-credit computer science doctorate with cybersecurity as a research area; Capitol Tech’s current listed per-credit rate includes a separate IT fee and applies to a minimum 60-credit financial cybersecurity doctorate. Dakota State lists 72 credits and two semester-cost presentations that do not align clearly enough to calculate a reliable full-program total. National University and the University of the Cumberlands do not provide comparable total costs on the reviewed program pages.

Before choosing, request estimates for the same scenario: your expected pace, residency status, required campus attendance, likely transfer credit and confirmed aid. A low per-credit rate alone cannot establish the lowest total cost or the best match for your research.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.