Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose memory before anything else. Some Ryzen AI Max computers solder LPDDR5X to the board, so the capacity you buy is the capacity you keep. GMKtec, for example, specifies 128GB of onboard, non-upgradeable LPDDR5X in the EVO-X3. Then select storage from the finished computer’s actual M.2 and SATA layout, and select networking from its Ethernet ports, Wi-Fi generation, and your router or switch—not from the Ryzen AI Max processor name alone.

The platform label covers very different products. AMD’s Ryzen AI Halo developer platform, GMKtec’s EVO-X3 compact system, and Minisforum’s N5 Max AI NAS have materially different memory, drive-bay, and network configurations. The comparison below shows how to make a model-specific choice without assuming that one implementation represents every Ryzen AI Max mini PC.

What Ryzen AI Max tells you—and what it does not

A processor family is not a complete mini PC specification

Ryzen AI Max identifies a processor platform, while the computer maker decides how much memory is fitted, whether it is replaceable, how many drive connectors are wired, which Ethernet controller is installed, and whether Wi-Fi is included. AMD’s product material names Strix Halo as the former codename for Ryzen AI Max+ 395 and lists PCIe 4.0. It also lists 16 CPU cores, 32 threads, boost speeds up to 5.1GHz, and a 55W default TDP. None of those processor details tells you whether a particular enclosure has one M.2 slot or five, or whether its network jack is 2.5GbE or 10GbE.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Treat every finished computer as its own configuration. Read the exact SKU specification and current manual, including regional variants, before ordering memory or drives. A product page can describe a platform reference design, a preconfigured system, or a NAS chassis; those are not interchangeable.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Samsung SSD 990 PRO 2TB, PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280, Up to 7,450 MB/s | NVMe Internal Solid State Hard Drive for High End Computing, Gaming, and Heavy Duty Workstations, (MZ-V9P2T0B/AM)
  • MEET THE NEXT GEN: Consider this a cheat code; Our Samsung 990 PRO Gen4 SSD helps you reach near max performance with lightning-fast speeds; Whether you’re a hardcore gamer or a tech guru, you’ll get power efficiency built for the final boss
  • REACH THE NEXT LEVEL: Gen4 steps up with faster transfer speeds and high-performance bandwidth; With a more than 55% improvement in random performance compared to 980 PRO, it’s here for heavy computing and faster loading
  • THE FASTEST SSD FROM THE WORLD'S FLASH MEMORY BRAND: The speed you need for any occasion; With read and write speeds up to 7450/6900 MB/s you’ll reach near max performance of PCIe 4.0 powering through for any use
  • PLAY WITHOUT LIMITS: Give yourself some space with storage capacities from 1TB to 4TB; Sync all your saves and reign supreme in gaming, video editing, data analysis and more
  • IT’S A POWER MOVE: Save the power for your performance; Get power efficiency all while experiencing up to 50% improved performance per watt over the 980 PRO; It makes every move more effective with less consumption

The useful AMD reference point

AMD’s Ryzen AI Halo Developer Platform is a compact developer-system example. Its listed configuration includes 128GB of LPDDR5x at 8000MT/s, 256GB/s of memory bandwidth, a 2TB M.2 SSD, 10Gbps Ethernet, and Wi-Fi 7. Those are specifications for that platform configuration, not minimum or universal requirements for all Ryzen AI Max computers. The page does not establish the platform’s number of usable M.2 sockets or whether its memory can be replaced.

Start with memory, because it may be permanent

Can I upgrade the RAM later?

Only if the finished computer provides replaceable memory. GMKtec explicitly describes the EVO-X3’s 128GB LPDDR5X as onboard and non-upgradeable, so buying a smaller version with the intention of replacing or adding RAM later is not an option for that model. AMD’s Halo listing also describes LPDDR5x but does not, by itself, establish an upgrade procedure. Other Ryzen AI Max systems may differ; the processor family does not guarantee a universal RAM-upgrade rule.

Before purchase, look for the words onboard, soldered, or non-upgradeable in the manufacturer’s specification or service manual. If the listing is silent, ask the manufacturer for a written answer rather than inferring from photographs. Also verify whether a quoted capacity is the installed total or an optional maximum, and whether any portion is reserved by the system. The available product pages do not document a universal memory-allocation rule for local AI workloads.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How much RAM do I need for local AI?

There is no vendor-published capacity that is sufficient for every local model, quantization, context length, operating system, and concurrent application. Choose from the workload’s peak requirement, then buy the capacity that leaves headroom because a soldered system cannot be expanded.

Rank #2
Sale
Kingston NV3 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD | PCIe 4.0 Gen 4x4 | Up to 6000 MB/s | SNV3S/1000G
  • Ideal for high speed, low power storage
  • Gen 4x4 NVMe PCle performance
  • Up to 6,000MB/s read, 4,000MB/s write
  • Includes Acronis cloning software
  • 5-year limited warranty
  1. List the largest model and format you expect to run. Record the model’s own memory guidance, whether it uses a desktop runtime or a container, and the maximum context or batch size you intend to use.
  2. Add the rest of the machine’s load. Include the operating system, browser tabs, development tools, databases, containers, virtual machines, and any other service that will run at the same time.
  3. Leave operating headroom. If your measured peak is close to the installed capacity, paging or task failure can become the limiting factor. Select the next capacity offered by the exact model instead of assuming a later upgrade will solve it.
  4. Check how the vendor describes memory. AMD lists 128GB LPDDR5x at 8000MT/s and 256GB/s for the Halo platform; GMKtec lists 128GB onboard LPDDR5X for EVO-X3. Those figures describe the respective systems and do not prove that a model will expose all of that capacity to your application.

As a practical decision, a light development or office workload can be matched to the capacities offered by the chosen SKU after checking its application requirements. A local-AI workstation with several models, long contexts, or multiple services should favor the largest factory memory option that the workload justifies, especially when the memory is fixed. Do not call 128GB a universal requirement or guarantee: the cited manufacturers provide configuration figures, not independent workload sizing.

Memory specifications that matter

  • Capacity: compare installed total, not a processor’s theoretical maximum.
  • Technology and speed: AMD’s Halo example is LPDDR5x at 8000MT/s; the EVO-X3 listing says LPDDR5X but does not make the Halo bandwidth figure universal.
  • Upgrade path: identify socketed modules, onboard memory, and any service limitation.
  • Thermal design: fast onboard memory can be part of the system’s fixed cooling and power design; do not assume a different module can be fitted.

Choose storage from the physical slots

Can I add another SSD?

That depends on the finished computer’s slot count, connector type, and available clearance. GMKtec lists two M.2 slots in the EVO-X3, using M.2 2280 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe storage, and states up to 16TB total capacity. That is a model-specific expansion path. AMD’s Halo page lists a 2TB M.2 SSD but does not state a slot count in the cited configuration, so you cannot infer that a second drive will fit. Minisforum’s N5 Max is a different class of machine: its AI NAS design has five SATA bays and five M.2 NVMe slots, with a stated capacity up to 200TB.

Before buying a second drive, verify all of these items in the exact manual:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Number of populated and empty M.2 sockets.
  • Supported length, such as 2280, and whether shorter cards are supported.
  • PCIe generation and lane width for each socket; the EVO-X3 listing specifies PCIe 4.0 x4 for its M.2 2280 NVMe storage.
  • Whether a socket accepts NVMe, SATA M.2, or only one of those protocols.
  • Drive-side heatsink, underside clearance, screw position, and any thermal pad supplied by the manufacturer.
  • Capacity limits stated by the manufacturer and whether the figure is per drive or total.
  • Whether installing a drive disables another connector or changes lane allocation.

Storage layouts compared

System Memory Storage layout Stated capacity Best fit
AMD Ryzen AI Halo Developer Platform 128GB LPDDR5x, 8000MT/s, 256GB/s 2TB M.2 SSD; slot count and expansion details not stated 2TB in the listed configuration Compact developer system
GMKtec EVO-X3 128GB onboard LPDDR5X; non-upgradeable Two M.2 2280 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe slots Up to 16TB total, according to GMKtec Small workstation with internal SSD expansion
Minisforum N5 Max AI NAS Not stated in the cited product material Five SATA bays plus five M.2 NVMe slots Up to 200TB, according to Minisforum NAS and shared-storage deployment

The capacity figures are manufacturer-stated limits or configurations, not independent tests. A 200TB NAS figure does not mean that every combination of drives, filesystem, or redundancy layout yields 200TB of usable space. Likewise, the EVO-X3’s 16TB total depends on drives that fit its slots and the current support list.

Rank #3
Sale
Samsung SSD 990 PRO 1TB, PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280, Up to 7,450 MB/s | NVMe Internal Solid State Hard Drive for High End Computing, Gaming, and Heavy Duty Workstations (MZ-V9P1T0B/AM)
  • HUGE SPEED BOOST: Get random read/write speeds that are 40%/55% faster than 980 PRO; Experience up to 1400K/1550K IOPS, while sequential read/write speeds up to 7,450/6,900 MB/s reach near the max performance of PCIe 4.0*
  • BREAKTHROUGH POWER EFFICIENCY: Use less power and get more performance; Enjoy up to 50% improved performance per watt over 980 PRO, plus optimal power efficiency with max PCIe 4.0 performance**
  • SMART THERMAL CONTROL: Samsung's own nickel-coated controller delivers effective thermal control; With its slim size, 990 PRO is a perfect fit for desktops and laptops that meet the PCI-SIG D8 standard***
  • THE CHAMPION MAKER: Up to 65% improvement in random performance enables faster loads for an ultimate gaming experience on PS5 and DirectStorage PC games****
  • SAMSUNG MAGICIAN SOFTWARE: Get the most out of your SSD with Samsung Magician's advanced yet intuitive optimization tools; Monitor drive health, protect valuable data, and receive important updates for your 990 PRO

Plan the roles of your drives

On a two-slot system, a common arrangement is one drive for the operating system, applications, and active projects, with the second used for datasets, virtual machines, or a separate working volume. Keep backups on a different physical device or location; a second internal SSD is not a substitute for a backup if the whole computer is lost or damaged. On a NAS-style chassis, decide whether bays will hold a redundant array, a large media pool, a separate cache, or another arrangement supported by the operating system. The N5 Max’s five SATA bays and five NVMe slots make it suitable for a storage-service design, but the product specification alone does not define your preferred redundancy scheme.

Match networking to the whole connection

Does this mini PC have 2.5GbE or 10GbE?

Check the exact model and port count. The cited examples span three different answers: AMD’s Halo configuration lists 10Gbps Ethernet; GMKtec’s EVO-X3 lists one 2.5G RJ45 port; Minisforum’s N5 Max lists dual 10GbE. These are not interchangeable characteristics of Ryzen AI Max.

System Ethernet listed Wi-Fi listed What to verify
AMD Ryzen AI Halo Developer Platform 10Gbps Ethernet; port count not stated Wi-Fi 7 Physical port count, connector, and adapter support in the current platform documentation
GMKtec EVO-X3 One 2.5G RJ45 port Wi-Fi 7 Switch or router speed, cabling, and whether a second network interface is available
Minisforum N5 Max AI NAS Dual 10GbE Not stated in the cited product material NAS operating-system support, link aggregation behavior, and switch capacity

A 10GbE port can negotiate at a lower rate when connected to slower equipment. Actual transfer speed is constrained by the slowest part of the path: the mini PC, transceiver or cable installation, switch, router, second endpoint, storage subsystem, and the workload itself. A 2.5GbE computer can be an appropriate choice when the rest of the network is 2.5GbE and your transfers do not justify a 10GbE upgrade. Conversely, dual 10GbE on a NAS is useful only when the network and clients can consume that capacity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Will Wi-Fi 7 help if my router is older?

A Wi-Fi 7 client can connect to an older compatible Wi-Fi network, but it cannot create Wi-Fi 7 features or rates that the router does not support. The connection falls back to the capabilities negotiated by the client and access point. If your router is older, the immediate benefit of a Wi-Fi 7 radio may be compatibility with future equipment rather than a guaranteed speed increase today.

Rank #4
Sale
Samsung SSD 9100 PRO 2TB, PCIe 5.0x4 M.2 2280, Up to 14,700MB/s | NVMe Internal Solid State Hard Drive best for AI Computing, Gaming, and Heavy Duty Workstations (MZ VAP2T0B/AM)
  • BREAKTHROUGH PCIe 5.0 PERFORMANCE: Supercharge your workflow and gaming with PCIe 5.0, boasting up to 14,700/13,400 MB/s* sequential read/write speeds. Tackle massive files and power up your gaming with Gen5—twice as fast as the 990 PRO SSD.
  • EVERY TASK, TURBOCHARGED: Speed past productivity limits. With random read/write speeds up to 1,850K/2,600K IOPS*, enjoy fast game loads, seamless AI apps, and efficient multitasking. Virtually no lag, no limits—just nonstop performance.
  • THINK FAST, CREATE FASTER: With random read/write speeds of up to 1,850K/2,600K IOPS*, the 9100 PRO SSD fuels seamless AI content creation, swift loads, and smooth gameplay. Work, play, and create at lightning speed.
  • SPEED, WHENEVER YOU NEED: From laptops to desktop PCs, experience blazing PCIe 5.0 speeds and up to 8TB of storage. Perfect for video editing, gaming, and creative tasks, with the compatibility to match your device.
  • STAY COOL, RUN FAST: Push limits, not temperatures. A 5nm controller boosts power efficiency up to 49% over the 990 PRO SSD*, while advanced thermal control keeps performance smooth and reliable.

For a fixed desk, wired Ethernet is usually the more predictable choice for large local-AI model files, backups, and NAS transfers. Use Wi-Fi when mobility or installation makes it preferable, and check the access point’s standard, channel configuration, signal quality, and client placement. The EVO-X3 and AMD Halo listings both specify Wi-Fi 7; the N5 Max material cited here does not state a Wi-Fi generation, so do not assume one is included.

A model-by-model buying comparison

AMD Ryzen AI Halo Developer Platform

Select this configuration when you want the documented developer-platform combination of 128GB LPDDR5x, 8000MT/s memory, 256GB/s bandwidth, a 2TB M.2 SSD, 10Gbps Ethernet, and Wi-Fi 7. Confirm the shipping configuration and expansion details because a platform reference is not necessarily the same as a retail mini PC with a user-accessible second slot. Its published figures are useful as a reference point, not as a specification sheet for every Ryzen AI Max product.

GMKtec EVO-X3

The EVO-X3 illustrates the most important split in the decision: memory is fixed, while storage can be expanded. GMKtec specifies 128GB onboard, non-upgradeable LPDDR5X, two M.2 2280 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe slots, up to 16TB total storage, Wi-Fi 7, and one 2.5G RJ45 port. Buy the memory capacity you need at checkout, then verify which slot is occupied, the supported SSD thickness, and the current manual before adding a drive.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Minisforum N5 Max AI NAS

The N5 Max is aimed at a different job. Its advertised five SATA bays, five M.2 NVMe slots, up to 200TB capacity, and dual 10GbE favor shared storage and network-service roles over the smallest possible desktop footprint. The cited material does not state its RAM capacity or Wi-Fi generation, so those must be checked separately. Do not use its ten-drive layout as a proxy for a typical Ryzen AI Max mini PC.

Best Value
Sandisk Optimus 5100 500GB NVMe SSD, PCIe 4.0, M.2 2280
  • SPEED UP PROJECTS. Launch creator applications fast with uncompromising PCIe 4.0 read speeds up to 7,100MB/s,[2] (1TB and 2TB[1] models) and write speeds up to 6,700MB/s[2] (1TB[1]-4TB[1] models).
  • CREATE AND STORE MORE. Make more room for your 4K videos and high-resolution images with capacities from 500GB[1] up to 4TB[1] on M.2 2280 built with our trusted 8th generation SANDISK BiCS QLC 3D CBA NAND.
  • IT GOES WHERE YOU GO. With an all-new power efficient design, your drive delivers high performance with low power, giving you more time to be productive while on the go.
  • UNCOMPROMISED RELIABILITY. With up to 1,200 TBW[3] (4TB[1] model) endurance rating, your drive is designed for creators.
  • KEEP YOUR DRIVE UPDATED. Monitor your SSD’s performance and check for updates with the downloadable SANDISK Dashboard application.[5]
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A practical selection process

  1. Define the role. Decide whether the computer is a desktop developer workstation, a local-AI appliance, a media and backup server, or a NAS. The right storage and network layout follows from this role.
  2. Freeze the memory decision. Mark the exact capacity, LPDDR generation, rated speed, and upgrade status on the SKU you are considering. If memory is onboard, size it for the largest simultaneous workload you expect, with headroom.
  3. Map data growth. Estimate operating-system space, applications, model files, datasets, virtual machines, project files, scratch space, and backup copies. Compare that total with the manufacturer’s per-drive and total-capacity statements.
  4. Count usable slots. Read the board diagram or manual, not just a marketing photograph. Record M.2 lengths, protocols, PCIe lanes, SATA bays, and any connector-sharing notes.
  5. Choose the network path. Match the advertised Ethernet speed and port count to the switch, router, cabling, and other endpoints. For wireless use, compare the mini PC’s Wi-Fi generation with the access point you actually own.
  6. Confirm support before ordering parts. Ask the manufacturer about SSD model compatibility, thermal clearance, capacity limits, and whether adding a drive affects another connector. Current SKU documentation takes precedence over an older listing.
  7. Plan backups and recovery. Keep a copy of irreplaceable data outside the mini PC. More internal bays increase capacity options but do not remove the need for an independent backup.

Verify the configuration after installation

Use the operating system to confirm that the hardware you received matches the listing. These checks identify mismatched parts; they do not replace the manufacturer’s compatibility guidance.

Windows checks

  • Open Task Manager > Performance > Memory to see installed capacity and reported speed.
  • Open Settings > System > Storage > Advanced storage settings > Disks & volumes to confirm each SSD and its capacity.
  • In PowerShell, run Get-NetAdapter | Format-Table Name,Status,LinkSpeed to see the negotiated Ethernet or Wi-Fi link speed.
  • Run Get-Disk | Format-Table Number,FriendlyName,Size,BusType to identify NVMe and other detected drives.

Linux checks

  • Run lsblk -o NAME,SIZE,MODEL,TRAN to list drives and their transport type.
  • Run lspci | grep -Ei 'ethernet|network' to identify network controllers.
  • Run sudo ethtool <interface>, replacing <interface> with the wired interface name, to inspect negotiated Ethernet speed and duplex.
  • Run sudo dmidecode -t memory only if your distribution exposes the required firmware data; onboard memory may be reported differently or incompletely.

Common mistakes and how to recover

Buying a low-memory SKU with an upgrade plan

Symptom: the system has no accessible memory sockets or the manual says the LPDDR5X is onboard. Fix: return or exchange it within the seller’s policy for the required factory capacity; do not attempt a board-level memory modification.

Assuming every M.2 slot accepts the same drive

Symptom: a new SSD is not detected, does not fit, or runs at an unexpected interface. Fix: compare the slot’s protocol, length, lane width, keying, and thermal clearance with the manual. On the EVO-X3, select an M.2 2280 PCIe 4.0 x4 NVMe-compatible drive and verify the exact SKU’s current support details.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Paying for network speed the rest of the network cannot use

Symptom: a 10GbE interface negotiates at 1GbE or transfers resemble a slower connection. Fix: check the link speed at both endpoints, the switch or router ports, cable installation, and storage performance. A faster port cannot overcome a slower component in the path.

Assuming Wi-Fi 7 automatically upgrades an old router

Symptom: a Wi-Fi 7 mini PC shows the same practical performance as older clients. Fix: identify the access point’s actual Wi-Fi generation and channel configuration. Upgrade the network infrastructure only if the expected coverage, latency, or throughput improvement justifies it; otherwise use wired Ethernet for stationary bulk transfers.

Final buying rule

For a Ryzen AI Max mini PC, lock in RAM first, because onboard LPDDR5X may be permanent. Next, choose SSD capacity and expansion from the exact machine’s slot map—not from the processor badge. Finally, match 2.5GbE, 10GbE, Wi-Fi 7, or another interface to the rest of your network and the way you move data. The Halo platform, EVO-X3, and N5 Max show why the finished computer’s specification is the deciding document.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.