Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

No one of these four brands wins on every point. The choice starts with one question: do you want footage stored locally without a required monthly fee, or are you willing to pay a subscription for cloud history and a broader app ecosystem? Eufy’s local-storage cameras and Arlo cameras paired with a compatible SmartHub or Base Station fit the first case best. Ring and Nest lean more heavily on subscriptions for longer or continuous history. Treat these as ecosystem-level tendencies, not rules that apply to every model a brand sells.

Start with how each brand stores footage

Recording model decides two things: what you pay each year, and what footage still exists after an event. Compare the brands on that before you look at image quality or app design.

Brand Default recording model Subscription role Hub or base station
Ring Cloud-based video recording and advanced features tied to service tiers Required for recording and advanced features; terms vary by plan, device, and market Not stated for the models covered here; check the model’s page
Google Nest Limited event history included on cited current models; longer history and continuous video on supported wired cameras Optional for longer history; required for continuous video Not stated; the wired Nest Cam Indoor (3rd gen) needs Google Home and a Google Account
Arlo Cloud recording and extended history; local recording on supported models Required for cloud recording and extended history SmartHub or Base Station for most cameras, with device exceptions
eufy Local storage on selected cameras; optional cloud backup No mandatory monthly fee for its local-security products; cloud service is optional Depends on the model; confirm whether it records onboard, to a HomeBase, or to another supported method

Ring: recording is tied to a subscription

Ring offers an extensive range of wired and wireless home cameras. Its plan materials connect video recording and advanced features to Ring subscriptions. Plan names, prices, and included features differ by plan, device, and country, so you cannot read a single price off the camera box and assume it reflects your total cost.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you choose Ring, price the camera and the plan you need for your intended recording and alert features together. Then confirm the specific model’s power source and installation requirements. A Ring model that suits a doorway may not suit a location with no outlet, so the power check matters as much as the plan.

#1 Best Overall
Ring Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam), Weather-Resistant Home or Business HD Security Camera, Live View, Color Night Vision, Two-Way Talk, Motion Alerts, Works with Alexa, White
  • Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam) Battery is a battery-powered camera that’s built for outside, but ready for anywhere.
  • Live View and Two-Way Talk - See, hear, and speak to people on camera and can check in on your home any time through the Ring app.
  • Place almost anywhere - Place on a flat surface or mount to a wall with the versatile mounting bracket. Add-on the Mount for Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam) for ceiling mount (sold separately).
  • Cover every corner - Watch over your entire home by connecting one or multiple Outdoor Cams (Stick Up Cams) to the Ring app.
  • Rechargeable Battery - Easily setup Outdoor Cam (Stick Up Cam) Battery by inserting the battery pack and connecting to Wi-Fi.

Google Nest: free short history, paid longer history

Battery Nest Cam

Google’s battery Nest Cam supports live view, talk, and alerts for people, animals, and vehicles. Google advertises three hours of event history on that camera, and paid history extensions are available beyond that. Because the free allowance is short, a battery Nest Cam is most useful when you mainly need live viewing and alerts rather than a long replay trail.

Nest Cam Indoor (3rd gen)

The wired Nest Cam Indoor (3rd gen) is the newer model Google’s technical page describes in detail. It has a 2K sensor and a 152-degree diagonal field of view. It requires the Google Home app and a Google Account, and Google states it is not compatible with the Nest app or home.nest.com. It includes six hours of short event previews, and longer event history comes with Google Home Premium.

Google Home Premium plans

Google’s subscription page lists the following US prices. Confirm them before you buy, because they can change.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus, Outdoor Home or Business Security with Motion-Activated 1080p HD Video and Floodlights, White
  • Powerful protection for any property* — 1080p HD security camera for your home or business with motion-activated LED floodlights, 105dB security siren.
  • Real-time alerts* — Get motion-activated notification when anyone steps in view of your camera.
  • Customizable Motion Zones* — Fine-tune which areas you want to focus on in the Ring app.
  • Light up large outdoor areas* — 2000 lumen motion-activated floodlights give unwanted visitors nowhere to hide.
  • Sound the siren with a tap* — Activate the 85dB siren from the Ring app to send unwanted visitors running.
Plan Monthly Yearly Event history Continuous video
Standard $10/month $100/year 30 days Not listed on the plan line
Advanced $20/month $200/year 60 days Up to 10 days on eligible cameras

Paying yearly saves $20 a year on Standard ($120 monthly versus $100 yearly) and $40 a year on Advanced ($240 versus $200). Over three years, Advanced billed yearly costs $600. The page does not state in these summaries whether one plan covers multiple cameras, so check that before budgeting for a whole house.

Do not describe Nest history as one universal number. Included history and clip format depend on the camera generation, and continuous recording depends on the model and its power conditions.

Arlo: cloud features cost money, local storage needs a hub

Arlo’s camera catalog spans several models and configurations. Its support information says cloud recording and extended history are subscription features. It also says local recording requires a SmartHub or Base Station for most cameras, with exceptions for certain devices.

Rank #3
Ring Spotlight Cam Plus, Battery, Home or Business Security with HD video, Two-Way Talk, Color Night Vision, and Security Siren, White
  • Look in anytime – Watch over your home or business day or night in wide-angle, 1080p HD video with Color Night Vision and see what’s happening with Live View.
  • Stop intruders in their tracks – With 2 motion-activated LED spotlights that turn on when they detect motion, and sound the built-in security siren with just a few taps.
  • Focus on important areas – Customizable motion zones let you choose exactly what your camera covers – so you only get notified about what matters most.
  • Convenient Power – Easily power your device with the Quick Release Battery Pack.
  • Speak to visitors on camera – Talk to guests anytime, from anywhere with Two-Way Talk.

Arlo’s plan details and some features vary by region and camera. If you are in the UK, the US, or another market, read the regional support page for that market. Before you recommend or buy a local-storage setup, verify the exact camera-and-hub combination. A camera that works locally with one hub may not work with another.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

eufy: local storage without a required subscription

eufy positions its selected local-storage cameras as usable without mandatory monthly fees, and it describes an optional cloud backup service. That makes eufy a strong candidate if avoiding a required plan is your priority.

“No required subscription” does not mean every eufy camera stores, syncs, and backs up footage the same way. Before you buy, check whether the specific model records onboard, to a HomeBase, or to another supported storage method. The storage method determines how you retrieve clips and what happens to them if the camera is damaged or stolen, so confirm it on the model page rather than assuming it from the brand’s general message.

Rank #4
Ring Indoor Cam — Home or business security in 1080p HD video, White
  • Get the whole picture – Watch over your home day or night in 1080p HD video with Live View and Color Night Vision.
  • Video previews – Record a few extra seconds before every motion event with Advanced Pre-Roll to get a more complete picture of what happened.
  • Privacy at your fingertips – Turn off your camera and mic with the manual Privacy Cover, then reactivate with a simple swivel.
  • Get important alerts – Get real-time alerts when the camera detects movement, and choose exactly what your camera covers so you only get notified above movement that matters.
  • Versatile mounting options – Find the perfect angle on a table, or mount up high with the flexible swivel mount. Indoor Cam is plug-in, making it easy to move where you need it.

Work out total cost in four steps

  1. List the features you must have: live view only, event clips, continuous history, or a specific retention length.
  2. Check which of those features need a plan on the model you are considering. For Ring and Arlo, cloud recording and extended history are subscription features. For Nest, longer history needs Google Home Premium. For eufy, local-storage models do not require a monthly fee, but optional cloud backup is an extra cost.
  3. Add the hardware cost, including any required hub or base station. For Arlo local recording, the hub is part of the bill.
  4. Calculate one, three, and five years. A plan that looks cheap monthly can cost more than the camera over time. Compare yearly billing against monthly billing where both are offered.

Power and installation checks

Before you compare features, confirm that the camera can be installed where you need it. Use this checklist for each shortlisted model:

  • Power source: battery, plug-in, hardwired, or PoE. Battery models avoid running cable; wired models need an outlet or wiring but are not limited by battery charge.
  • Indoor or outdoor rating for the exact location you plan to use.
  • Wi-Fi strength at the mounting spot, including any outdoor or distant location.
  • Whether a hub or base station is required. Arlo local recording usually needs one; check Ring, Nest, and eufy models individually.
  • Required account and app. The Nest Cam Indoor (3rd gen) requires the Google Home app and a Google Account, so existing Nest app setups do not carry over.
  • Voice assistant support, which is model-specific. Confirm it for the exact camera rather than assuming it from the brand.

Image and detection features to compare

Image and detection features are model-specific, so compare them on the spec page of each camera you are considering. The points below are the ones that most often affect the choice:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Resolution and field of view. The Nest Cam Indoor (3rd gen) offers a 2K sensor and 152-degree diagonal field of view. Resolution and field of view for the other cameras in this comparison vary by model and are not established here for every product.
  • Night vision, motion zones, and detection types. Google’s battery Nest Cam detects people, animals, and vehicles; detection categories for other brands differ by model.
  • Which features need a plan. On Ring, advanced features are tied to subscriptions. On Nest, continuous video on eligible cameras requires Google Home Premium.
  • Alert usefulness. Test the alerts you care about, such as person detection or a motion zone over a doorway, on the exact model before relying on them.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Privacy and outage behavior

Three questions reveal most of the practical difference between these systems:

Best Value
Ring Battery Doorbell 2K (newest model) Retinal 2K with wide-angle video, up to 6x Enhanced Zoom, Two-Way Talk, and Built-In Battery, Speckled Gray
  • Capture it all with Retinal 2K video — From wide views to tighter focus, it’s easy to see your home or business in crisp clarity with Retinal 2K.
  • Zoom in up to 6x — Catch details at a distance, inspect faces, and more with up to 6x Enhanced Zoom.
  • Connect to who’s there — See, hear, and speak in real time with Live View and Two-Way Talk.
  • Get real-time alerts — Receive real-time notifications on your phone when motion is detected.
  • Easily recharge — Simply insert the included removal tool to detach your doorbell from the wall, then recharge the built-in battery via USB-C. (Cable not included.)
  • Where are clips stored: in the cloud, on the camera, on a hub, or on a storage device?
  • How do you access them: through the app only, or also through a local interface?
  • What happens during an internet or power outage? Behavior is not uniform across brands or models, so check the outage section of the support documentation for the specific camera.

If you want local control, a camera that records onboard or to a hub gives you more direct control of the footage. If you prefer to reach footage from anywhere without managing storage, a cloud-based plan is simpler, but you pay for that convenience. Neither approach removes the need to check the specific model before buying.

Which brand fits which buyer

  • You refuse any recurring fee: shortlist eufy cameras with local storage, or Arlo models that support local recording with a compatible SmartHub or Base Station. Confirm the storage method on the model page before purchase.
  • You already use Google Home and want cloud history: choose a Nest model, then decide between Standard and Advanced based on how many days of history you need.
  • You want Ring’s camera range and accept a subscription: price the camera plus the plan required for your recording and alert features, and check the model’s power requirements.
  • You want cloud recording from Arlo: budget for the subscription, and check the plan for your region before buying.

Choose the brand after you have checked the storage method, power source, account requirements, and retention behavior for a specific camera. A brand name alone does not settle any of these points.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.