Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Choose a USB-C-to-USB-C cable whose power rating meets the output of the specific Anker port you are using and the charging limit of your device. For Anker’s Prime Charger A2688, Anker recommends an e-marker cable for optimal 100W charging from a single USB-C port. A cable rated above 100W provides headroom, but it cannot make the charger or device deliver more than its own limit.

Before buying, check four separate specifications: charging power, e-marker status, data speed, and video support. A high-wattage cable can still be USB 2.0 and unable to drive a display, while a cable with a USB-C plug is not automatically suitable for every USB-C charging or data mode.

What determines your actual charging speed?

USB-C charging speed is negotiated among three components:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • The charger port: Its rated output and any power-sharing rules set the maximum available power.
  • The device: A phone, tablet, laptop, or other equipment accepts only the charging rate its hardware and firmware support.
  • The cable: Its stated wattage, construction, and—at higher USB Power Delivery levels—its e-marker identification chip determine whether the negotiated power level is allowed.

The lowest limit wins. A 240W cable connected to a 65W laptop and a 65W charger remains a 65W setup. Conversely, a 100W charger cannot provide 100W through a cable that is not rated for the required power, and a 100W-rated cable cannot overcome a device that accepts less.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

USB-C Power Delivery (PD) negotiates voltage and current rather than simply forcing the cable’s printed number into the device. Anker also describes PD and PPS support for its USB-C-to-USB-C cables in its FAQ. PPS can let compatible chargers and devices adjust voltage more precisely, but the cable still has to be appropriate for the negotiated power.

Read the charger’s port rating, not just its headline wattage

Locate the exact charger model and identify the output for the USB-C port you intend to use. A package headline such as “100W” may describe the maximum under one-port use, not the power available when other ports are occupied.

Anker Prime Charger A2688 example

Anker’s specifications for the A2688 list up to 100W from one USB-C port. The same specification lists 89W total when three ports are in use. That means a cable selected for a single-port 100W laptop session may be suitable electrically, yet the charger can allocate less power once other devices are connected.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
A2688 use case Published charger output What to check
One USB-C port in use Up to 100W Use a cable rated for the device’s requested power; Anker recommends an e-marker cable for optimal 100W charging.
Three ports in use 89W total Consult the charger’s allocation table and verify how much reaches your particular port before troubleshooting the cable.

Do not infer the output of an unspecified port from the charger’s total label. If the model’s manual gives a port-by-port matrix, use that matrix with the number of connected devices and their charging demands.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter | USB C Dongle with 90W Max Power Delivery, 3×5Gbps USB A Data Ports, for MacBook, Dell, and More (Charger Not Included)
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Why e-markers matter at higher USB-C power

An e-marker is an identification chip inside some USB-C cables. It reports cable capabilities to the charger and device, including whether the cable is designed for higher-power USB PD operation. Anker explicitly says, “For optimal 100W charging, we recommend using an E-Marker cable” with the A2688.

That recommendation is model- and use-case-specific, not a claim that every USB-C cable must contain an e-marker. Anker’s FAQ names particular models as e-marker cables, including A8856, A8552/A8553, A8758, A8756, and A8757. Check the exact model number on the product page or packaging instead of assuming that all cables from a line have identical electronics.

An e-marker does not increase the charger’s wattage. It provides capability information so compatible equipment can safely negotiate a supported high-power mode. The charger, device, and cable must still agree on the final level.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Step-by-step: choose the right cable

  1. Identify the exact charger. Record its model number, then read the output for the specific USB-C port. For multi-port chargers, note the allocation table for one, two, and three-port use where provided.
  2. Identify the device’s charging limit. Check the laptop, tablet, phone, or accessory documentation for its maximum USB-C PD input. If it supports only 45W, buying a 240W cable will not make it charge at 100W.
  3. Set the minimum cable rating. Select a cable whose stated maximum charging power meets or exceeds the power your charger and device need. For a single-port A2688 setup targeting 100W, choose a cable rated for at least 100W and follow Anker’s e-marker recommendation.
  4. Verify the e-marker status. Look for an explicit e-marker statement tied to the precise model number. Do not treat “fast charging” or a large wattage printed on a package as proof of an e-marker.
  5. Check data requirements separately. If you transfer files, compare the listed USB data standard and speed. Charging wattage does not indicate whether a cable is USB 2.0, USB 3.x, or another data class.
  6. Check video support separately. A USB-C connector and a high power rating do not establish display output or screen mirroring. The cable’s specification must explicitly list the video mode you need.
  7. Confirm connectors and length. The cited Anker products are USB-C-to-USB-C cables. Make sure both the charger port and device use USB-C, and choose a length that reaches without tension or excessive slack.
  8. Review the manufacturer’s model-specific guidance. Confirm regional specifications, included certifications, and any limitations before purchase because product offerings can change.

Power rating: how much headroom should you buy?

The cable rating is a ceiling, not a promise that your setup will draw that amount. A cable rated exactly at the required level can be appropriate when the charger and device are well within specification. A higher rating can provide headroom for a future device or a charger with a higher output, but it does not accelerate the present setup.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter | 85W Max PD, 2 USB 3.0 & 1 USBC Data Ports, SD/TF Card Reader, for Laptops/Mac and Other Type C Devices (Charger Not Included)
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

For the A2688’s single-port 100W use, a 100W cable is the minimum rating that matches the charger’s published maximum. Anker’s 240W A88E2 provides more headroom than that requirement. The extra rating is useful only if the cable’s other characteristics—connector type, length, data mode, and video capability—also fit your needs.

When several ports are active, calculate against the power actually allocated to your device, not the charger’s largest single-port figure. A laptop that normally negotiates 100W may receive less while the charger is powering a phone and another accessory.

Two cited Anker cable options compared

Specification Prime USB-C to USB-C Cable A88E2 100W USB-C-to-USB-C Cable A8758
Stated charging rating 240W 100W
E-marker Not stated in the cited product specification Yes; Anker identifies an e-marker chip
Data capability USB 2.0, up to 480 Mbps Up to 480 Mbps
Video output No screen mirroring No video output
Length Not stated in the cited product specification 10 ft
Durability claim Up to 300,000 bends, an Anker claim Up to 12,000 bends, an Anker-stated laboratory-tested figure

When the A88E2 makes sense

The A88E2 is a high-headroom charging choice for a compatible USB-C charger and device. Its 240W rating exceeds the 100W maximum of the single-port A2688 example, so the cable itself is not the limiting rating in that setup. However, Anker lists it as USB 2.0 with a 480 Mbps transfer rate and says it does not support screen mirroring. Choose it for charging or basic USB 2.0 data when those limits are acceptable, not for an external display or high-speed file workflow.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Anker describes the cable as USB-IF certified and says it supports a 480 Mbps transfer rate while meeting stated safety standards. The listed bend figure is a manufacturer claim, not an independent comparative test.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray | Data transfer & Fast charging for MacBook, iPhone 17/16/15, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Apple Watch
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

When the A8758 makes sense

The A8758 is a closer match for a setup that needs up to 100W and wants an explicitly identified e-marker. Its 10-foot length can help when the outlet or charger is far from the device. Anker lists transfer speeds up to 480 Mbps and states that the cable does not support video output, so it remains a charging-and-basic-data cable rather than a display cable.

Anker reports up to 12,000 bends as a laboratory-tested durability figure for this model. That is still a manufacturer-reported result; it should not be read as an independent comparison with the A88E2 or another brand.

Charging, data, and video are different checklists

Charging

For charging, verify the cable’s wattage, connector arrangement, and e-marker status where the charger’s guidance calls for it. PD and PPS support describe charging protocols, but protocol support does not tell you the cable’s data speed or video functions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Data transfer

A cable can carry substantial charging power while remaining USB 2.0. The A88E2 and A8758 examples both list 480 Mbps-class data capability. That is adequate for ordinary synchronization and many peripherals, but it is not the same as a high-speed USB data cable. If moving large files is important, require an explicitly stated higher data standard rather than inferring it from wattage.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Video and screen mirroring

USB-C plug shape alone does not guarantee DisplayPort Alt Mode, HDMI conversion, or screen mirroring. The A88E2 specification says no screen mirroring, and the A8758 page says no video output. For a monitor, dock, or projector, buy only a cable whose specifications explicitly support the required video function and resolution.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

USB-IF certification: what it does and does not tell you

Anker’s FAQ identifies only particular USB-C cable models as USB-IF certified and describes certification as voluntary. Certification can be a useful signal that a model was submitted to the relevant program, but it does not turn a 480 Mbps cable into a high-speed video cable. Still compare power, data, and video specifications for the exact model.

Do not generalize certification from one model to every cable sold by the same manufacturer. Match the certification statement to the printed model number, such as A88E2 or A8758, and check whether the claim applies to the regional product listing you are considering.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Length and construction choices

Longer cables improve reach but can be harder to route and more likely to be pulled or bent near a connector. The 10-foot A8758 is practical when distance is the priority; a shorter cable is usually easier to manage on a desk or in a travel kit. Avoid tight bends at either plug, repeated twisting, and weight hanging from the connector.

Durability numbers should be treated as manufacturer claims under stated test conditions. The A88E2’s “up to 300,000 bends” and the A8758’s “up to 12,000 bends” are not directly comparable independent test results. Use them as one input alongside strain relief, warranty terms, intended length, and how often the cable will be moved.

Diagnose a setup that is charging below its expected speed

  1. Check the port in use. Confirm that the cable is connected to the charger port capable of the advertised output. A lower-power port can look like a cable problem.
  2. Disconnect other devices temporarily. On a multi-port charger, retest with only the target device connected. If power rises, the charger’s allocation rules—not the cable rating—were limiting the session.
  3. Check the device limit and battery conditions. The device may intentionally reduce input near full charge, at high temperature, or while performing a demanding workload. Compare behavior with the device documentation rather than the cable’s maximum number.
  4. Verify the cable model and rating. Read the label or packaging and confirm that it is the intended USB-C-to-USB-C model. A visually similar cable may have a different power or data specification.
  5. Confirm e-marker guidance. For the A2688’s recommended 100W use, substitute a model that explicitly includes an e-marker. Do not assume that a 240W label alone proves the feature for every product.
  6. Inspect connectors and ports. Remove lint or debris carefully, look for bent contacts or physical damage, and ensure plugs are fully seated. Stop using a cable that becomes unusually hot, smells burnt, or shows exposed conductors.
  7. Retest with a known-compatible combination. Change one component at a time—cable, charger port, or device—to isolate the constraint. If the same device remains slow with multiple suitable cables and ports, the charger or device may be enforcing a lower limit.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Buying by the biggest wattage number: 240W does not mean 240W will reach your laptop.
  • Assuming all USB-C cables are equivalent: models differ in e-marker electronics, data rate, and video support.
  • Using a charger total as a port rating: multi-port allocation can reduce the power delivered to one device.
  • Expecting a charging cable to run a monitor: video support must be stated independently.
  • Assuming USB 2.0 is high-speed data: 480 Mbps is the listed limit of the cited examples.
  • Treating durability claims as laboratory comparisons: the bend figures above come from Anker, with only the A8758 figure described as laboratory-tested by the manufacturer.
  • Ignoring connector direction: a USB-C-to-USB-C charging cable is not interchangeable with a USB-C-to-USB-A cable when both ends need USB-C.

A practical decision guide

Your priority Specification to require What not to assume
Maximum charging from one A2688 port At least 100W; follow Anker’s e-marker recommendation That 100W remains available with three ports occupied
Future high-power headroom A cable rated above your current requirement, such as the 240W A88E2 That the cable raises the charger or device limit
Basic charging and file synchronization USB-C-to-USB-C cable with a stated power rating and 480 Mbps or better as needed That every high-wattage cable has fast data
External display or screen mirroring Explicit video-support specification That USB-C shape or wattage implies video
Long-distance desk or bedside use A length that reaches without tension, such as the 10-foot A8758 where appropriate That a longer cable automatically has the same data or video functions

Bottom line for an Anker charger

Start with the exact charger port and the device’s input limit, then select a USB-C-to-USB-C cable rated at or above that requirement. For the Prime Charger A2688’s single-port 100W use, Anker recommends an e-marker cable; using multiple ports requires checking the published allocation because the total can be 89W with three ports active. Treat the A88E2 as a 240W charging cable with USB 2.0, 480 Mbps data and no screen mirroring, while the A8758 is a 100W, e-marker, 10-foot option that also lists up to 480 Mbps and no video output. Choose between them—and any other model—only after matching power, e-marker, data, video, connector, and length requirements.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.