Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The HH-60W Jolly Green II is the U.S. Air Force’s successor to the HH-60G Pave Hawk. Both are combat-rescue helicopters built to recover isolated personnel, including in hostile conditions. The W modernizes that job with a redesigned fuel system, updated digital avionics and data links, improved defensive systems, and the ability to fire a GAU-21 .50-caliber machine gun. It is a replacement program, but operational milestones do not mean every Pave Hawk has already left service.
What is the difference between the Pave Hawk and Jolly Green II?
The HH-60G Pave Hawk and HH-60W Jolly Green II belong to the same Air Force combat-rescue family, but they represent different generations of equipment. The G is a highly modified Black Hawk configured for recovery missions. The W succeeds it, retaining the central personnel-recovery and combat search and rescue (CSAR) role while updating the aircraft’s fuel capacity, information systems, protection, and some weapons capability.
That distinction matters more than simply asking which helicopter is “better.” Both aircraft are designed around rescuing personnel from dangerous or difficult-to-reach locations. The newer aircraft is intended to do that work with more modern systems and improved capabilities, but specifications published on separate fact sheets are not the results of a controlled, same-condition comparison. A listed figure should be read with its source and metric, not as an automatic head-to-head verdict.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →| Area | HH-60G Pave Hawk | HH-60W Jolly Green II |
|---|---|---|
| Role | Air Force combat rescue and personnel recovery; also listed for civil search and rescue, medical evacuation, disaster response, humanitarian assistance, NASA support, and rescue command and control. U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. | Successor combat-rescue helicopter for hostile or denied territory, with collateral rescue, medical, disaster-response, humanitarian, and rescue-command duties. U.S. Air Force and Air Combat Command descriptions. |
| Fuel and range | Auxiliary fuel is among the listed systems; fact sheet range is 504 nautical miles. U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. | New fuel system and improved range are described by the Air Force. Davis-Monthan Air Force Base lists 599 nautical miles. Lockheed Martin says internal fuel capacity is doubled versus the UH-60M baseline without auxiliary tanks. |
| Avionics and information | Navigation, satellite communications, secure voice, weather radar, night-vision/FLIR support, and other mission systems are listed by the Air Force. | Updated flight-management and flight-director systems, weather radar, tactical data reception, and faster data movement and integration are described in Air Force reporting. |
| Defenses and weapons | Fact sheet lists two 7.62 mm or .50-caliber machine guns and defensive-related equipment. | Air Force sources describe improved defensive systems, including warning receivers linked to countermeasures, and the ability to fire a GAU-21 .50-caliber machine gun. |
| Hoist | 600-pound-capable hoist; the fact sheet describes operation from a 200-foot hover but does not state cable length. | 600-pound-capable hoist with 250 feet of cable, according to an Air Force Reserve Command report published in 2024. |
The table combines descriptions from different Air Force pages and reports, not a single standardized comparison. For example, a claim that the W has “improved range” is an official Air Force characterization; the published G and W range figures alone do not establish a measured percentage gain under matching loads, fuel configurations, or test conditions.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Do both helicopters perform combat search and rescue?
Yes. Combat search and rescue and personnel recovery are the defining missions of both aircraft. In practical terms, the helicopter and its crew must locate isolated personnel, reach them in an operationally difficult environment, and bring them to safety. The Air Force describes the HH-60G as configured for day and night recovery in hostile conditions. The HH-60W is likewise described as a combat-rescue helicopter intended to operate in hostile or denied territory.
The Pave Hawk’s listed duties extend beyond wartime recovery. The Air Force fact sheet also names civil search and rescue, medical evacuation, disaster response, humanitarian assistance, NASA support, and rescue command and control. Air Force descriptions of the Jolly Green II retain collateral responsibilities such as civil search and rescue, medical evacuation, disaster and humanitarian response, and rescue command and control. These are additional duties within the rescue mission set, not evidence that one aircraft has ceased to be a combat-rescue helicopter.
Both configurations include equipment tied directly to finding and recovering people. Air Force descriptions identify a rescue hoist and personnel-locating capability on each. The W’s personnel-locating system is described as compatible with modern radios, and its tactical data receiver supports the broader movement of information between the aircraft and other platforms or command capabilities.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11What did the HH-60W change?
Fuel system and range
Air Force reporting identifies a new fuel system and improved range as central upgrades in the Jolly Green II. The W’s larger internal fuel capacity is also described by its manufacturer, Lockheed Martin, as double that of the UH-60M baseline without auxiliary tanks. That comparison is specifically against the UH-60M configuration; it is not a claim that the W carries twice as much internal fuel as the HH-60G, nor does it mean every mission will achieve twice the distance.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Range depends on how an aircraft is configured and operated, among other factors. The official fact-sheet figures available here are 504 nautical miles for the G and 599 nautical miles for the W, but they come from different pages and do not document equivalent loading or test conditions. Treat them as source-specific published specifications, not proof of an exact operational advantage on every flight.
Avionics and data integration
The W’s upgrade is not limited to adding screens or replacing individual instruments. Air Force Reserve Command reporting describes a flight-management system combined with a flight director, weather radar, and over-the-horizon tactical data receivers. Air Force reporting emphasizes faster data movement and better integration with other platforms and command capabilities.
Those changes matter in a rescue mission because crews need to navigate, understand conditions, and coordinate with other participants. The G already had mission equipment including navigation, satellite communications, secure voice, weather radar, and night-vision/FLIR support, according to the Air Force fact sheet. The difference is that the W is described as a more integrated, digitally updated system, rather than a helicopter whose predecessor had no avionics or communications capability.
Survivability and defensive systems
Air Force descriptions say the W improves defenses and reduces vulnerability. Air Combat Command lists missile, radar, and laser warning receivers connected to countermeasure dispensing. The warning systems are intended to detect threats; countermeasures such as flares or chaff can then be dispensed in response. These are components of a defensive suite, not a guarantee that an aircraft cannot be targeted or hit.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The G was not defenseless: its fact sheet lists aircraft systems and crew-served weapons. The relevant distinction is that official sources describe the W’s defensive systems as improved and identify a more modern set of warning and countermeasure capabilities. The available source material does not provide a controlled survivability test that quantifies how much more likely one model is to survive a given threat.
Weapon capability
The Air Force Materiel Command specifically identifies the W’s ability to fire the GAU-21 .50-caliber machine gun as a new capability absent from the HH-60G. That detail should not be mistaken for a claim that the Pave Hawk was unarmed. The G fact sheet lists two 7.62 mm or .50-caliber machine guns. The stated change is the W’s addition of the GAU-21, not the arrival of weapons on an otherwise unarmed aircraft.
Cabin, crew, and recovery equipment
An Air Force Reserve Command report says the W has a longer cabin, a faster top speed, and an increased allowed takeoff weight relative to the earlier platform. It describes a crew of two pilots and two special missions aviators. These qualitative comparisons are not accompanied in the article’s cited sources by a matched numerical cabin-length or takeoff-weight comparison, so they should not be turned into precise percentage differences.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
The report specifies a 600-pound-capable hoist with 250 feet of cable for the W. The G fact sheet also lists a 600-pound hoist and says it can operate from a 200-foot hover, but does not state cable length. A 200-foot hover and a 250-foot cable describe different things: one is the reported hover height, the other the W’s cable length. The G’s missing cable figure should not be read as proof that it has a shorter cable.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Both aircraft are also listed with an 8,000-pound cargo hook. This is a useful reminder that the rescue helicopter’s job is not limited to carrying people inside its cabin; the aircraft can also support external cargo operations. The shared equipment does not erase the W’s other upgrades, but it shows continuity in the basic rescue and support role.
Published specifications: what can be compared safely?
The Air Force HH-60G fact sheet and the Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet publish several figures that readers may want to compare. Their definitions and conditions are not established as equivalent in the source material. In particular, the W figure below is operating weight, not maximum takeoff weight, so it must not be compared as if it were the same measure as the G’s maximum takeoff weight.
| Metric | HH-60G Pave Hawk | HH-60W Jolly Green II |
|---|---|---|
| Speed | 184 mph (159 knots), U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet; publication date not shown. | 176 mph (153 knots indicated airspeed at sea level), Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet. |
| Range | 504 nautical miles, U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet; publication date not shown. | 599 nautical miles (690 miles equivalent), Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet. |
| Ceiling | 14,000 feet, U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. | 20,000 feet, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet. |
| Rotor diameter | 53 feet 7 inches, U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. | 53.6 feet, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet. |
| Weight figure published | Maximum takeoff weight: 22,000 pounds, U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. | Operating weight: 22,500 pounds, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base HH-60W fact sheet. |
The speed entries illustrate why source labels matter: the W figure is explicitly indicated airspeed at sea level, while the G fact sheet gives speed without the same qualification in the supplied record. The range and ceiling figures also lack a shared definition of load, fuel state, or test method. It is reasonable to report that the Air Force describes the W as having improved range, but not to derive an exact improvement rate from these separate fact sheets or declare a universal speed winner from unlike measurements.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Is the Jolly Green II replacing the Pave Hawk?
Yes. The Air Force describes the HH-60W as the replacement for the HH-60G, and delivery and readiness milestones document the transition. The Air Force received its first two HH-60Ws at Moody Air Force Base on November 5, 2020, beginning the transition from the Pave Hawk. The Air Force declared initial operational capability in September 2022. Air Force Materiel Command reported combat-ready status on October 4, 2022.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Those milestones mean the new helicopter entered operational service; they do not prove that every HH-60G was retired at that point. An Air Force Reserve Command report in 2024 documented the first HH-60W for a Reserve group, indicating that fielding continued after the initial operational and combat-ready declarations. The cited dates establish a phased transition, not a complete fleetwide retirement date.
Why program totals can differ
Published program quantities also depend on the document and its framing. An Air Combat Command article published February 25, 2022 described a program of record of up to 113 helicopters. The Department of Defense FY2026 Program Acquisition Costs by Weapon System lists a 100-aircraft program of record that includes four engineering and manufacturing development aircraft. These figures should not be combined or treated as a single timeless count: one is an earlier Air Combat Command description, while the other is a later budget document with an explicitly stated inclusion.
Likewise, “successor” describes the program relationship, not an assertion that the older aircraft vanished as soon as the replacement reached a readiness milestone. The public dates cited above show when delivery began, when initial operational capability was declared, when combat-ready status was reported, and a later Reserve fielding milestone. They do not state a final date on which all HH-60Gs ceased service.
Which helicopter has longer range?
The Air Force describes the HH-60W as having improved range, and the Davis-Monthan HH-60W fact sheet lists 599 nautical miles, compared with 504 nautical miles on the U.S. Air Force HH-60G fact sheet. The W is therefore the aircraft associated with the higher published range figure in these sources. However, the pages do not establish equivalent operating conditions, and they are not a controlled comparison. Use the figures as published specifications with their sources, rather than as a guaranteed mission radius or a precise measured advantage.
The manufacturer’s internal-fuel comparison answers a different question: Lockheed Martin says the W has twice the internal fuel capacity of the UH-60M baseline without auxiliary tanks. Since that baseline is not the HH-60G, it should not be used to claim that the Jolly Green II holds twice the internal fuel of the Pave Hawk.
Bottom line for readers
The HH-60G and HH-60W perform the same essential Air Force job: combat rescue and personnel recovery. The HH-60W is the successor, with Air Force-reported improvements to range, avionics and data integration, defensive systems, and vulnerability reduction, plus the GAU-21 capability. Both retain core rescue equipment such as a 600-pound-capable hoist and an 8,000-pound cargo hook. Published figures provide useful context, but the available fact sheets do not support treating every specification as a controlled, one-to-one test.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

