Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The Grappling Hook in ARC Raiders is a traversal gadget for reaching high spots, rappelling from buildings, and swinging across gaps. It behaves like a rope attached to a pivot, rather than simply pulling you in a straight line to the point you aim at. Its maximum range has not been published in the official material reviewed here, so Snap Hook’s range figures are not a reliable substitute.

The item arrived with Frozen Trail 2.0 on October 8, 2026. Embark’s descriptions establish its intended movement roles, while a hands-on preview offers a closer look at how the rope can behave. Those sources do not establish a complete specification: range, crafting, unlock requirements, and several use limits remain unlisted.

What the Grappling Hook does

Embark added the item in the Frozen Trail 2.0 update, released October 8, 2026. The update lists it among the new items; an earlier developer preview describes its purpose as climbing to hard-to-reach places, rappelling from buildings, and swinging over large gaps. Embark’s Frozen Trail 2.0 notes and content preview establish those intended movement roles.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

In its September 23 preview, the ARC Raiders Team said the item lets players “climb hard to reach spots, abseil off buildings, and swing over large gaps.” The wording matters: Embark is describing a traversal tool, not publishing a measured range or promising a particular outcome in every situation. The same broad description supports three different kinds of movement—gaining elevation, descending, and crossing a gap—rather than just one straight-line pull.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

ARC Raiders is a multiplayer extraction adventure, and Embark describes the new hook as adding traversal possibilities. In that context, its documented value is route choice: a player may be able to approach a location from above, descend from a building, or use a swing to cross open space. The sources do not quantify how much faster those routes are, say which route is safest, or promise that the gadget can solve every movement problem.

A hands-on preview by PC Gamer describes the hook as a simulated rope: after it attaches, the anchor acts as a pivot. You can move toward or away from that point, or swing around it. That makes the gadget useful for changing elevation and carrying momentum across a gap, rather than just closing distance to an aimed location. This is a reporter’s description of a preview session, not a published technical specification. PC Gamer’s October 7 hands-on preview

That distinction is useful when imagining how it works. A simple pull-to-target tool would be expected to move a character directly toward the aimed point. The preview’s rope-and-pivot description instead suggests that the attachment point serves as an anchor around which movement can continue. Embark’s official examples—climbing, rappelling, and swinging—fit that mental model. Still, the preview does not give a full control guide, physics specification, or list of situations in which the rope can attach.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How far can the Grappling Hook reach?

No numeric Grappling Hook range appears in the reviewed official update or preview, and the hands-on report does not provide a measured maximum either. In practical terms, the available sources confirm that the item supports traversal to elevated places and across gaps, but they do not establish a maximum distance in metres. Treat its reach as unknown unless the current game client displays a specification or a later official update publishes one.

So, if you are asking “How far can the Grapple Hook reach?”, the accurate answer is that the cited material does not give a number. It does not state a maximum attachment distance, a vertical reach, or a separate limit for swinging versus climbing. The descriptions of “hard to reach” places and “large gaps” are examples of intended use, not measurements. They cannot be converted into a reliable distance estimate.

Be especially careful not to transfer Snap Hook’s figures to the Grappling Hook. Embark’s October 8 notes give range and economy changes for the separate Snap Hook; those values describe that item alone.

Embark’s Frozen Trail 2.0 notes state that Snap Hook’s range was reduced from 20 m to 18 m. That is a concrete, official range change for Snap Hook—not a Grappling Hook specification. The newer traversal gadget has a different name and stated role, and the update discusses the two as separate items. Nothing in the reviewed notes says that Grappling Hook shares Snap Hook’s reach or uses the same range rules.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If you need a precise in-game answer, use the Grappling Hook’s own current item entry or a later official specification rather than inferring a distance from the Snap Hook patch note. Even a distance observed in a single encounter would not necessarily establish every range condition; the cited sources do not discuss how measurement might vary by direction, elevation, or other circumstances. Until a Grappling Hook figure is published, “unknown” is more useful than a guessed metre value.

Grappling Hook and Snap Hook: what the published numbers mean

Question Grappling Hook Snap Hook
Published range Not stated in Embark’s reviewed update or preview, or in the cited hands-on report. Embark’s October 8, 2026 update reduced its range from 20 m to 18 m.
Power cost Not stated in the reviewed official sources. Embark’s October 8, 2026 update raised the cost from 50 to 60.
Durability use Not stated in the reviewed official sources. Embark’s October 8, 2026 update raised consumption per use from 2% to 4%.
Stated role or observed behavior Embark identifies climbing, rappelling, and swinging as intended uses. A preview reporter observed a pivoting rope mechanic. Embark describes it as a burst-mobility gadget, rather than a general-use linear upgrade.
Repeat use or cooldown No official cooldown or charge count is stated. PC Gamer observed midair redeployment without a cooldown or use limit in its preview session. The cited update does not provide a Grappling Hook-style midair redeployment observation for Snap Hook.
Crafting or unlock details No recipe, rarity, trader, or unlock requirements are stated in the reviewed sources. The cited notes’ listed range and economy adjustments do not establish Grappling Hook crafting or unlock details.

All Snap Hook figures and its role description come from Embark’s Frozen Trail 2.0 notes. The figures are patch values for Snap Hook, not estimates or specifications for Grappling Hook. The official notes distinguish the gadgets but do not publish enough information for a full performance ranking between them.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

The numbers also describe changes, not a head-to-head test. Snap Hook’s range moved down by 2 m, from 20 m to 18 m; its power cost went up from 50 to 60; and durability consumption per use increased from 2% to 4%. Those are useful facts if you are reading the Snap Hook update, but they cannot answer how far the Grappling Hook reaches or how expensive it is to use.

The role distinction is the safer comparison. Embark characterizes Snap Hook as a burst-mobility gadget, while it presents Grappling Hook as a way to climb, rappel, and swing. This does not prove that one item is better, faster, or more efficient in a particular encounter. It means only that the official descriptions frame them differently. A comparison that ranks their performance would need details that the cited material does not provide.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That is why the 18 m Snap Hook range should not appear as a Grappling Hook answer, even with a caveat. A nearby number can look like a useful estimate, but no reviewed source links it to the new item. Keep the items and their figures separate unless Embark publishes a direct comparison or an explicit Grappling Hook specification.

Best uses supported by the available descriptions

Reach elevated or hard-to-access places

Embark explicitly presents climbing to hard-to-reach spots as a use. Think of the hook as an additional route option when a destination is above or beyond ordinary movement, not as a guarantee that every ledge, wall, or surface can be attached to. The sources do not list which surfaces accept a hook.

For route planning, identify the destination you are trying to reach and consider whether the hook’s climbing role could make that route possible. The source-backed point is that the gadget is intended to help with hard-to-reach places; the exact anchor rules and reachable structures are not stated. Do not assume that every rooftop or ledge is available simply because it looks close enough. The official description does not provide a compatibility chart.

Also separate “can reach a high place” from “can reach every high place.” The first is an expressly stated use; the second is not. There is no supported list of map locations, surfaces, or ledge types that guarantee an attachment. If a specific route matters, check the current game client and test only where the game permits rather than treating the general description as a universal rule.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Rappel down from a building

Rappelling is another stated use. It can provide a way to move down from a building rather than treating every descent as a jump. The description does not promise a safe landing, concealment, or a reliable escape from other players or ARC threats; the outcome still depends on the situation and the route below.

For this use, think of the hook as a possible descent route, not as a guarantee that the path is clear. Embark specifically mentions rappelling from buildings, but its preview does not explain how quickly the descent works, whether it can be interrupted, or what landing behavior to expect. Nor does it say that using the gadget makes a player hidden or protected. Those are separate tactical claims and should not be inferred from the word “rappel.”

A sensible decision is to consider where the descent leads before committing to it. That is general route planning, not a claim about a special Grappling Hook feature: the official sources do not identify a safe landing function or an escape bonus. The tool’s documented purpose is movement, while whether a particular descent is useful depends on the surrounding situation.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Swing across a gap

For a gap, the useful mental model is a rope pivot: attachment gives you a point to swing around, according to the hands-on report. That is different from assuming the gadget will automatically carry you straight to the far side. Embark names swinging over large gaps as an intended use, but does not define a gap size that is always crossable.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The pivot description helps explain why a swing can be different from a direct pull: the player moves around the anchor rather than simply being reeled into it. In practical terms, a gap-crossing attempt depends on having a suitable attachment point and a route to the other side. The hands-on report describes the movement concept, but does not specify how much momentum is retained, how far a swing travels, or whether particular trajectories are possible.

Do not turn the phrase “large gaps” into a universal distance threshold. It is Embark’s broad example of what the gadget is for, not a statement that every gap of a given width can be crossed. The sources do not name a map, demonstrate a guaranteed route, or measure a traversal time. Treat the feature as a way to attempt a swing-based crossing where the geometry and attachment allow it.

Chain movement when the opportunity is there

In its preview session, PC Gamer reported that it could redeploy the hook while airborne without a cooldown or use limit, allowing chained swings. This suggests a route can involve repeated attachments rather than a single pull. It is an observation from that session, however, not an official statement of a permanent live-game rule; the reviewed official sources do not specify a cooldown or charge count.

The useful takeaway is limited but notable: during the preview, the reporter could attach again while in the air and continue the movement sequence. That observation supports describing chained swings as something demonstrated in that session. It does not establish a fixed maximum number of attachments, prove that a release build behaves identically, or rule out later balance changes.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Accordingly, plan around the movement roles Embark confirms, and treat repeat airborne redeployment as preview-reported behavior until the live client or an official update spells it out. “No cooldown or use limit” is not an official item specification here. The available statement is a journalist’s account of one preview session, so keep that attribution attached whenever describing it.

Limits and details that are not established

The published descriptions explain what the gadget is for, but they do not provide a complete item specification. The distinction matters: an unlisted value is not evidence that a mechanic has no limit.

  • Maximum reach: no numeric Grappling Hook range is stated in the reviewed material.
  • Cooldown and number of uses: no official value is stated. The only repeat-use detail is the attributed midair-redeployment observation above.
  • Durability, charges, and power cost: no Grappling Hook values are stated.
  • Crafting, rarity, and unlock requirements: the reviewed official sources do not specify a recipe, rarity, trader, or unlock path.
  • Attachment rules: there is no published list of compatible materials or guarantee that every surface can be hooked.
  • Map or combat performance: the sources do not establish an optimal map, a universal escape tactic, or measured speed advantages.

These gaps put limits on what a reliable guide can promise. A reader may reasonably want to know the gadget’s maximum distance, cost per use, how to obtain it, and whether it works on a given surface. The cited official descriptions do not answer those questions. Likewise, the preview account adds an observation about airborne reuse, but does not supply a full specification for cooldown, charges, or durability.

For current item-specific details, check the Grappling Hook’s entry in your game client and the latest official update notes. Do not assume that an undocumented recipe, control, or limit works a particular way based only on the movement description.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

When checking those details, make sure the entry is for Grappling Hook rather than Snap Hook. Embark’s October 8 update gives concrete Snap Hook values, which makes the distinction especially important. If a patch later adds a Grappling Hook range, recipe, or economy value, use that item-specific information and note the update date; do not backfill missing values from the older gadget.

Which name should you look for?

Embark’s October 8 update uses “Grappling Hook,” while its September 23 preview calls it “Grapple Hook.” The names refer to the new traversal item in these materials, but the current exact in-game label should be checked in the client if you need to match a menu or inventory entry precisely.

For the article title and general search wording, either form is recognizable. For an exact match to a menu, item listing, or patch note, follow the label shown in the current client or the latest official update. The naming difference does not change the movement roles described by Embark, but it is worth noting when searching for official information or distinguishing the item from Snap Hook.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What to take away before using it

The safest way to understand the item is to separate confirmed purpose from unconfirmed specification. Confirmed: Embark introduced it in Frozen Trail 2.0 and describes climbing, rappelling, and swinging as uses. Preview-reported: PC Gamer observed a simulated rope with a pivot and airborne reattachment during its session. Not established in the cited material: numeric range, crafting, unlock path, durability, power cost, official cooldown, and universal attachment rules.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That separation makes the guide useful without turning a preview observation into a permanent rule. If you want to use the item for a particular route, the documented roles can help you decide whether you want to gain elevation, descend, or try a swing across open space. They cannot tell you that a specific surface will attach, that a gap is within range, or that you will land safely.

The most important comparison rule is equally simple: Snap Hook’s patch numbers belong to Snap Hook. Its October 8 changes—range reduced from 20 m to 18 m, power cost increased from 50 to 60, and durability consumption increased from 2% to 4% per use—do not fill the Grappling Hook’s missing specification. Embark’s notes describe Snap Hook’s burst-mobility role; they do not rank the two items by performance.

Bottom line on range and use

Use the Grappling Hook as a rope-based traversal tool for climbing, descending, and swinging. The best-supported explanation of its motion is a pivoting rope, with a preview-session report of airborne reattachment and chained swings. Its numeric reach and several practical limits remain unspecified in the reviewed sources; Snap Hook’s 18 m post-update range, power cost, and durability use belong to Snap Hook, not this item.

Frequently Asked Questions

How far can the Grappling Hook reach in ARC Raiders?

The reviewed official Frozen Trail 2.0 notes and preview do not state a numeric Grappling Hook range, and the cited hands-on preview does not measure one. Its maximum reach is therefore unknown from those sources.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is the Grappling Hook’s range 18 metres?

No published Grappling Hook specification supports that figure. Embark’s October 8, 2026 update reduced the separate Snap Hook’s range from 20 m to 18 m; those numbers should not be assigned to Grappling Hook.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

How does the Grappling Hook move the player?

Embark describes it as a way to climb to hard-to-reach spots, rappel from buildings, and swing over large gaps. In a hands-on preview, PC Gamer described a simulated rope whose attachment point acts as a pivot, rather than a simple straight-line pull.

Can you use the Grappling Hook more than once while airborne?

PC Gamer reported midair redeployment without a cooldown or use limit during its preview session, making chained swings possible in that session. Embark’s reviewed official sources do not state a permanent cooldown or charge limit, so the observation should remain attributed to the preview.

What is the difference between Grappling Hook and Snap Hook?

Embark describes Grappling Hook as a traversal tool for climbing, rappelling, and swinging. The October 8 notes characterize Snap Hook as a burst-mobility gadget and list its own changes: range from 20 m to 18 m, power cost from 50 to 60, and durability consumption from 2% to 4% per use. The notes do not provide a complete performance ranking.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do you unlock or craft the Grappling Hook?

The reviewed official sources do not specify a Grappling Hook recipe, rarity, trader, or unlock requirement. Check the current game client and later official update notes for item-specific acquisition details.

Can the Grappling Hook attach to every surface?

The cited sources do not publish a list of compatible surfaces or say that every ledge, wall, or material can be hooked. Embark’s general description of reaching hard-to-access places is not a guarantee about every attachment point.

When was the Grappling Hook added to ARC Raiders?

Embark listed it among the new items in Frozen Trail 2.0, released October 8, 2026.

Is its in-game name Grappling Hook or Grapple Hook?

Embark’s October 8 update calls it “Grappling Hook,” while the September 23 preview uses “Grapple Hook.” Check the current client if you need the exact UI label.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Bottom Line

The Grappling Hook is documented as a climbing, rappelling, and swinging tool, with a pivoting-rope explanation reported from a hands-on preview. Its numeric range, recipe, unlock requirements, and official use limits are not specified in the cited material. Snap Hook’s 18 m range and economy changes are for a separate item—not a substitute Grappling Hook stat.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.