PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Prompt caching can sharply reduce the cost of repeated input to an LLM, but a 70–90% cut in your total bill is not automatic. Providers discount eligible cached input tokens; new input, cache writes, storage, and generated output can still cost money. The result depends on how much context repeats, how often it is reused before expiry, and which model and cache rules apply.
What prompt caching does
Prompt caching reuses computation for eligible context that appears again in later requests, usually a matching prompt prefix or context explicitly stored with a provider. OpenAI describes the mechanism this way: “Prompt caching reuses work when requests share the same prompt prefix.” The new, changing portion of each request still needs processing.
A cache hit is not the same as reusing an entire conversation for free. The provider may charge a discounted rate for cached input, a different rate to create the cache, and—in some configurations—a storage fee. Uncached input and generated output remain separately billable. Each provider and model sets its own eligibility, matching, expiry, and usage-reporting rules.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How much can prompt caching save?
The oft-quoted 70–90% range should be treated as a possible result for a suitable workload, not a general promise about an API bill. The sources cited here do not establish an independent, provider-neutral 70–90% reduction in total LLM spend. A high discount on cached input can produce a much smaller reduction once you include new input, output, cache writes, storage, misses, and expired entries.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Calculate the baseline and cached cost over the same set of requests. For the baseline, assume the reusable context is sent and billed as ordinary input every time. For the cached case, count each token at the rate that actually applies to it:
- Baseline input cost: total input tokens × ordinary input-token rate.
- Cached-workload input cost: cache-write tokens × write rate + cache-read tokens × read rate + uncached tokens × ordinary rate + applicable storage charges.
- Total request cost: input cost + output-token charges + any other applicable charges.
- Savings percentage: (baseline total request cost − cached total request cost) ÷ baseline total request cost × 100.
Use the same model and output workload on both sides of the comparison. If output charges are unchanged, caching reduces the input portion but does not remove output charges.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Worked example: a 71.4% reduction in input cost
This calculation uses Anthropic’s published multipliers for a 5-minute cache, as shown in its pricing documentation accessed October 7, 2026: a cache write costs 1.25× the base input rate and a cache read costs 0.1×. It is a model-independent calculation in units of the base input rate, not a quoted dollar price or a measured result. Check the live price for the model and context tier you use.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Assume ten calls, each containing a 10,000-token stable prefix and 1,000 tokens of new input. The first call writes the prefix to the cache; the next nine calls read it. Assume those reads occur within the 5-minute cache duration, all are eligible hits, there are no storage charges, and all ten calls produce the same output workload in both scenarios.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Without caching: 10 × (10,000 + 1,000) = 110,000 input tokens at the base input rate.
- With caching: first write = 10,000 × 1.25 = 12,500 rate-equivalent tokens; nine reads = 9 × 10,000 × 0.1 = 9,000; new input = 10 × 1,000 = 10,000. Total = 31,500 rate-equivalent tokens.
- Input-cost reduction: (110,000 − 31,500) ÷ 110,000 = 71.4%.
The 71.4% is an input-cost result under those assumptions. Output charges are unchanged, so the reduction in total request spend would be smaller. For example, if output charges happened to equal the uncached input cost in this workload, total savings would be 39.3%: the 78,500 units saved on input divided by 200,000 units of baseline input-plus-output cost. That output-cost assumption is only an illustration, not a provider price.
Why real workloads save less—or sometimes nothing
- Few repeats: an expensive write followed by only one or two reads may not repay its premium.
- Short-lived reuse: requests arriving after expiry may need to write the context again.
- Changing prefixes: edits to the reusable portion can prevent a match under the provider’s rules.
- Short prompts: a request may fall below a model’s minimum eligible length.
- Low input share: output-heavy workloads have less total spend available for input caching to reduce.
- Misses or storage charges: cache misses and any applicable storage costs reduce net savings.
How provider caching rules differ
Do not assume that a cache duration, discount, minimum prompt length, or usage field applies across providers—or even across every model from one provider. The following comparison reflects the cited documentation; “not stated” means the linked source material cited here does not establish a value for that cell.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
| Provider | How caching works | Eligibility and pricing details established here | Retention, storage, and verification |
|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI | Automatic caching for supported models reuses matching prompt prefixes; the guide also describes cache breakpoints and retention options. | The current guide states a 1,024-token minimum for GPT-5.6 and later. Other details depend on the model and request settings. Current cache-write and cache-read dollar rates are model-dependent; consult the OpenAI prompt caching guide. | The guide describes retention options and usage diagnostics; exact options depend on the model and settings. See the guide for current controls and usage fields. The Prompt Caching 101 cookbook example explains that a miss processes the full prompt and may cache an eligible prefix for a later request. |
| Anthropic | Explicit cache control with 5-minute and 1-hour durations, according to its pricing documentation. | The documentation lists 5-minute writes at 1.25× base input pricing, 1-hour writes at 2×, and reads at 0.1×. Dollar prices depend on model and applicable context tier. These multipliers are from the Anthropic pricing page, accessed October 7, 2026. | The cited pricing details establish the two durations; storage charges and verification fields are not stated here. Check the live pricing page and model documentation before estimating costs. |
| Google Gemini | Supports implicit caching for eligible models and explicit context caching. | Eligibility, token minimums, reductions, and storage costs depend on model and configuration; specific values are not stated here. See Gemini context caching and API optimization. | Explicit caching may incur storage charges for the configured duration. Do not assume implicit caching guarantees a hit or a saving; check the model documentation for the applicable controls and usage details. |
OpenAI’s October 2024 announcement includes historical pricing examples, not current prices. Use the live model documentation rather than carrying those old dollar figures into a present-day estimate: OpenAI’s historical prompt-caching announcement.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteHow to set up a workload for cache reuse
- Identify what stays the same. Separate durable instructions, schemas, tool definitions, and other stable context from the details that change with each request.
- Put reusable material early. Where the provider’s rules allow, keep the stable content together at the beginning and put request-specific material later.
- Keep the reusable portion consistent. Avoid unnecessary edits to its content or ordering. Small differences can matter under a provider’s cache-matching rules.
- Choose the right cache mechanism. Use automatic caching where it fits; consider explicit breakpoints or stored context only if the provider supports them and the expected reuse justifies the added controls or storage cost.
- Check model-specific requirements. Confirm supported inputs, minimum eligible length, cache pricing, expiry, and applicable request settings in the current documentation for the exact model.
Repeatedly sending a request or keeping a conversation open does not by itself prove that a provider registered a cache hit.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How to verify savings before changing your budget
- Capture a baseline. Record input and output token usage, total charges, and latency for representative requests before enabling or restructuring caching.
- Run comparable requests. Use the same model and similar inputs and outputs, while allowing enough repeated calls to include normal cache writes, reads, misses, and expiry.
- Inspect the provider’s usage data. Track cache-write tokens, cache-read tokens, uncached input tokens, and output tokens where the provider exposes them. Use the provider’s current usage fields or dashboard, not request count alone.
- Recalculate total cost. Apply the rates for each billing class and include storage where applicable. Compare total spend for the same workload, not just the discounted cached-token rate.
- Check latency separately. Record it if responsiveness matters, but do not infer a latency benefit from a cost discount; measure it on the workload you intend to run.
Price pages and cache behavior can change. Recheck the provider’s current documentation when changing models, request settings, or cost forecasts.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

