The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Playing with friends? Godlike.Host runs hosted Space Engineers servers from 10 data-center locations, with free DDoS protection.
Short answer: Space Engineers dedicated-server software costs nothing extra for owners of the game. A self-hosted server can therefore have a $0 software bill, but it is only close to free when you already have a suitable Windows PC, reliable broadband, and room in your electricity budget. A managed server adds a monthly charge: a provider directory updated March 9, 2026, lists Wabbanode at a US$5.99 minimum monthly price, while Keen Software House officially identifies GTX Gaming for PC and Nitrado for Xbox without publishing current plan prices.
Your real 2026 cost depends on platform, player capacity, location, backups, support, and whether you must buy or upgrade hardware. The figures below separate confirmed prices from estimates you must verify at checkout.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What you actually pay for
There are four separate cost decisions. Treating them separately prevents the common mistake of assuming that a free server application means a free 24/7 service.
- Game license: Steam lists Space Engineers at US$19.99 on the page accessed in 2026. This is a one-time game purchase, not a hosting fee. Downloadable content shown on the store is optional and cosmetic; it does not unlock a cheaper or more expensive server tier.
- Dedicated-server software: Keen says dedicated servers are free for everyone who owns Space Engineers and require no additional Steam account for the server service.
- Infrastructure: Self-hosting uses your own computer, network connection, public addressing, electricity, backups, and maintenance time.
- Managed hosting: A host supplies the always-on machine and administration for a recurring monthly fee.
Keen describes the purpose of dedicated hosting this way: “Dedicated servers in Space Engineers allow players to connect to a third party host, rather than using a player-host, in a peer-to-peer set-up.” That persistence is what you are paying for when you rent a server.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
2026 price snapshot
| Option | What is established | What is not included or known |
|---|---|---|
| Self-host on an existing PC | $0 additional software fee for a game owner | Electricity, broadband, hardware wear, public IP arrangements, configuration, backups, and your time |
| Self-host after buying hardware | No separate server-software charge | PC or upgrade cost varies by parts and compatibility; ongoing power and network costs remain |
| Wabbanode managed hosting | US$5.99 minimum monthly price in a provider directory updated 2026-03-09 | A dated minimum is not a guaranteed current quote; slots, location, storage, support, backups, and mod features can change the total |
| GTX Gaming (PC) | Named by Keen as the official PC host | Keen’s official page does not state current monthly prices |
| Nitrado (Xbox) | Named by Keen as the official Xbox host | Keen’s official page does not state current monthly prices |
The table is deliberately conservative. No authoritative 2026 price matrix establishes the current slot tiers, taxes, regional surcharges, or promotion terms for the officially listed providers, so those numbers must be checked on the live checkout page before you commit.
Is a Space Engineers dedicated server free?
Yes, the dedicated-server software itself is free for an owner of Space Engineers. Keen’s documentation says a provider does not need a licensed copy installed on the server machine. At least one Steam account must hold a valid Space Engineers license to obtain the dedicated-server files, however. That distinction matters when a hosting company provisions your instance: the machine does not need its own retail game purchase, but the files still originate from a licensed account.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
If you are hosting for friends from your own PC, the game purchase is usually the only software purchase. Steam’s listed US$19.99 price is the base-game price on the page accessed in 2026 and can vary by country, tax, currency conversion, or sale. Optional DLC is not a hosting prerequisite.
Self-hosting requirements and hidden costs
Keen lists a baseline dedicated-server specification of a 3.2 GHz CPU with three logical cores, 6 GB of RAM, and 5 Mbps bandwidth. Those are minimum figures from Keen’s 2026 documentation, not a guarantee of smooth performance for a large or heavily modded world. Keen’s recommended specification raises the CPU target to 4.5 GHz with three logical cores, 10 GB of RAM, and a static IP for public hosting.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
| Resource | Keen minimum | Keen recommendation | Budget implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| CPU | 3.2 GHz, 3 logical cores | 4.5 GHz, 3 logical cores | An older office PC may meet the minimum but still struggle as simulation load grows |
| Memory | 6 GB RAM | 10 GB RAM | Leave headroom for Windows, the server process, and mods; a 16 GB kit is an upgrade option only when your motherboard supports it |
| Network | 5 Mbps bandwidth | Static IP for public hosting | Check upload capacity and ISP terms; a static address or equivalent arrangement makes public access more dependable |
| Operating system | Keen’s documentation specifies Windows requirements | Windows licensing or an existing compatible machine can affect your total | |
Self-hosting is financially attractive when the equipment is already running. It becomes less attractive when you must purchase a PC solely for the server, leave it powered day and night, or pay for a connectivity upgrade. Your recurring cost is best calculated as:
Monthly self-host cost = electricity for server uptime + any added broadband or public-IP charge + backup storage.
Use your electricity bill’s price per kilowatt-hour and the computer’s measured wall draw rather than a generic estimate. If you cannot keep the machine online, a free installation will not provide the persistence your group expects.
What a managed server changes
Managed hosting bundles the computer and operations work into a recurring fee. You normally choose a location and capacity, then use a control panel to start or stop the instance, select a world, install Workshop content where supported, and schedule restarts or updates. The exact tools differ by provider and plan.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
The dated US$5.99 Wabbanode listing is useful as a lower-bound example, not as a promise that every 2026 server costs that amount. A minimum plan may have a limited player or slot count, a particular region, restricted storage, or fewer backups. Before comparing monthly prices, record the following for each checkout quote:
- Included player or slot limit and the price to add capacity.
- Data-center region and expected latency for your players.
- PC or Xbox compatibility; do not assume a PC plan runs on Xbox.
- Workshop and mod support, including any storage or installation limits.
- Control-panel functions for restarts, updates, configuration, and log access.
- Backup frequency, retention, and whether restoring a backup costs extra.
- DDoS mitigation, support hours, cancellation rules, taxes, and billing currency.
- Whether Keen’s official directory lists the provider for your platform.
GTX Gaming is the provider Keen names for PC hosting, and Nitrado is the provider Keen names for Xbox hosting. Keen’s official listings establish provider status, not a guaranteed price, performance level, slot count, or support response. Verify the live plan details for your region and edition.
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minutePC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11PC versus Xbox: choose the service that matches the platform
PC players
For a PC world, compare Windows-compatible managed plans with self-hosting. PC hosting is generally the option where Workshop and mod support, configuration access, and automated maintenance matter most, but the actual features are plan-specific. Keen’s officially named PC provider is GTX Gaming; price information is not published on Keen’s page.
Xbox players
Xbox hosting is a separate purchasing path. Keen names Nitrado as the official Xbox host, and a PC server plan should not be treated as an Xbox substitute. Confirm Xbox support, region, slot capacity, cross-play behavior, and save-management tools before paying. Keen does not publish a current Nitrado price table in the documentation cited here.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Three realistic 2026 budgets
Small private group with an existing PC
Your software cost is $0 beyond the game license you already own. Add measured electricity, any backup storage, and the value of your setup time. This is usually the lowest-cash option for a trusted group that can tolerate occasional maintenance or downtime.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsPublic community that needs persistence
A managed plan is easier to keep online and hand over to moderators. Start with the provider’s minimum monthly quote, then add the cost of the required slot tier, location, backups, and taxes. The US$5.99 Wabbanode figure is a dated minimum example; it should not be used as the final budget without a current checkout total.
New host machine purchase
Include the PC or upgrades, a Windows installation if needed, electricity, networking equipment, and backup media. Keen’s 6 GB minimum and 10 GB recommendation describe server memory, not the total memory Windows and other services may consume. A 16 GB kit can provide practical headroom only if its memory generation, speed, slots, and motherboard compatibility match your machine.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Self-hosting setup checklist
Keen’s documentation covers Windows setup, port forwarding, firewall rules, and maintenance controls. The exact labels can vary by Windows version and router, but the work follows this order:
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
- Confirm ownership and hardware. Make sure a Steam account owns Space Engineers and that the PC meets at least the 3.2 GHz/three-logical-core/6 GB/5 Mbps baseline. Use the 4.5 GHz and 10 GB targets when you can.
- Prepare Windows. Install current system updates, keep the server PC on a wired connection when possible, and create a dedicated Windows user or service routine if your operating practice requires one.
- Obtain the dedicated-server files. Use the licensed Steam account as Keen describes. The server computer itself does not need another retail game license.
- Create or select the world. Set the world, difficulty, player limit, and mods before inviting people. Keep an untouched backup of the initial save.
- Configure the router. Forward the server traffic to the host PC using the port and protocol specified in Keen’s current documentation. Reserve the PC’s local address so the forwarding rule does not break after a reboot.
- Allow the service through Windows Firewall. Create the inbound rule for the dedicated-server program or port, and avoid disabling the firewall globally.
- Arrange public addressing. Keen recommends a static IP for public hosting. If your ISP uses changing addresses, use an equivalent arrangement that gives players a stable destination and verify that the ISP permits inbound traffic.
- Test before publishing the address. Join from a different network, check that players can load the world, and watch CPU, memory, simulation speed, and bandwidth while several people connect.
- Schedule care. Set a backup routine, planned restarts, update checks, and a recovery procedure. A free server without current saves is not a low-risk server.
Common cost surprises and fixes
The $0 server is offline
Usually the host PC is asleep, powered off, disconnected, or blocked by a router or firewall rule. Set a no-sleep power profile, verify the service is running, and test from outside your home network.
Recommended Free Tools
Players cannot connect after a reboot
A changed local address can invalidate port forwarding. Reserve the host’s local address and recheck the forwarding target after network changes. A static public IP, as Keen recommends for public hosting, also prevents address changes from confusing players.
Memory usage keeps climbing
The 6 GB figure is a minimum. Windows, world size, player count, and mods all consume memory. Move toward Keen’s 10 GB recommendation, close unrelated applications, and reduce unnecessary mods before buying parts.
The advertised monthly price is higher at checkout
Check slot tier, region, storage, backup, tax, and billing-term changes line by line. A directory minimum such as US$5.99 is not a universal 2026 rate.
A PC plan does not work for Xbox players
Platform support is not interchangeable. Select an Xbox service explicitly and verify it with the provider; Keen’s official Xbox listing is Nitrado, while GTX Gaming is listed for PC.
Bottom line for 2026
Budget $0 in server software fees if you already own Space Engineers and have a suitable Windows machine, but count electricity, broadband, networking, backups, and maintenance as real costs. For managed hosting, use the dated US$5.99 monthly Wabbanode minimum only as a starting reference, and check live prices for the officially named GTX Gaming (PC) or Nitrado (Xbox) options. Keen’s hardware guidance—6 GB RAM and 5 Mbps as a minimum, with 10 GB RAM recommended—helps determine whether self-hosting is genuinely cheaper for your group.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

