Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Halfords currently lists the Carrera Subway-E 2’s range as 25–40 miles (about 40–64 km) per charge, describing the upper end as an ideal-conditions maximum. Treat that as a broad estimate, not a guaranteed distance: the retailer does not publish the test conditions behind the figure, and your route, assistance setting, weather, tyre pressure and combined rider-and-luggage weight can change how far the bike travels.

What the published range means for a real ride

The range is useful for setting expectations, but it is not a promise that every Subway-E 2 will cover the same distance. Halfords calls the figure a real-world range while also identifying the furthest range as an ideal-conditions maximum. The product listing does not disclose the rider’s weight, route, temperature, wind, tyre pressure or assistance mode behind its estimate. Without those details, there is no reliable way to predict a particular rider’s exact mileage from the listing alone.

For an unfamiliar route, plan conservatively around the lower end of the published range rather than treating the maximum as a dependable destination. That is a cautious planning approach, not a separate test result for this bike. Hills, a headwind, cold conditions, a heavier combined load or frequent stopping may leave less usable range than a short, steady ride in favourable conditions.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Range estimates are most useful when comparing rides made under similar conditions. If you compare two trips, note the assistance mode, weather, tyre pressure, rider and luggage load, route elevation and amount of stop-start traffic. A difference in any of these can make the comparison misleading.

#1 Best Overall
Elebase USB to USB C Adapter for iPhone 18 Pro Max,USBC Car Charger Adapter | 4Pack Type C Female to A Male Cable Converter for Apple Duo 17 16 15 14 Plus,iWatch Watch 12 11 10,iPad 9 8 Air,Airpods 5 4
  • Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
  • Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
  • Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
  • Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
  • 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.

For a useful comparison, record the same details each time rather than comparing mileage alone. For example, a ride in Eco on a mild, level route with little traffic is not a like-for-like test against a trip in Boost over hills in a headwind. Halfords does not publish a controlled comparison across these conditions, so there is no reliable per-mode table or percentage adjustment to apply to the 25–40-mile estimate.

Battery and assistance details on the current model

The current Subway-E 2 listing describes a removable 378 Wh (10.5 Ah) Bafang battery. It can be charged off the bike, and Halfords says a completely flat battery takes up to six hours to charge using the supplied 2 A charger. These are the retailer’s specifications for the current listing, observed in 2026.

Current listing detail What it tells you
Battery 378 Wh, 10.5 Ah, removable Bafang battery
Charging Can be charged off the bike; up to six hours from completely flat with the supplied 2 A charger
Assistance modes Eco, Tour, Sport, Sport+ and Boost
Display Shows remaining range
Tyres Kenda, 27.5 × 1.95 inches

The six-hour figure is an upper charging-time specification for a completely flat battery with the supplied charger; it is not a range figure or a promise that every top-up takes that long. Because the battery is removable, you can charge it off the bike if that better suits where you store or park the bicycle.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The display’s remaining-range reading can help you monitor a ride, but Halfords does not publish a current-model range figure for each assistance mode. Do not assume, for example, that Eco will always deliver a particular mileage or that changing to a higher mode reduces range by a fixed percentage. The effect depends on the ride and the conditions as well as the selected support.

Rank #2
Sale
Anker USB-C Hub, 5-in-1 USB Hub for Laptops, 4K HDMI Multiport Adapter
  • 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
  • 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
  • Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
  • 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

What affects how far the bike can go?

Assistance mode and how you ride

The bike offers five assistance modes, from Eco through Boost. When a lower setting provides enough support, using it is a sensible way to avoid drawing on more assistance than you need. Increase support when it is useful, such as on a climb, rather than trying to hold one setting for every part of a route. This is practical guidance, not a quantified current-model test: the retailer does not give miles-per-mode results.

Pedalling behaviour, speed changes and stop-start traffic are also identified as range factors in an older manual for a different Subway E system. In practical terms, a route that lets you ride steadily may use the battery differently from one with repeated starts and changes of pace. The manual does not quantify the effect for the current bike, so use this as a reason to compare like with like, not as a formula for calculating saved miles.

Tyre pressure and condition

Halfords specifically names tyre pressure as a factor. Before a longer ride, check the pressure and use the range printed on the tyre sidewall as your guide. The current listing identifies the bike’s Kenda tyres as 27.5 × 1.95 inches, but does not state a separate pressure setting for a particular rider or route. Do not substitute an arbitrary pressure target for the tyre’s own markings.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A bicycle floor pump with a pressure gauge can make it easier to check and repeat a suitable tyre pressure. It is a practical accessory, not a tested upgrade for this model: the useful target remains the pressure range printed on your own tyre sidewall.

Rank #3
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 7in1 Multi-Port USB Adapter, 4K@60Hz USBC to HDMI Splitter
  • Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
  • Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
  • Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
  • Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
  • What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.

Temperature, wind and route

Temperature and wind speed and direction are among the factors Halfords lists. A cold day, a sustained headwind or a route with more climbing can make a planned trip less predictable than a mild, sheltered ride. The older manual also identifies route selection and hills as relevant. Allow more margin when conditions are less favourable, but do not apply a made-up percentage reduction: no current-model test in the product listing supports one.

Rider and luggage weight

Halfords names the combined weight of rider and luggage as a range factor. Include both when deciding whether the published estimate is a comfortable planning basis for your trip. If you are carrying a substantial load, do not plan as though the bike were travelling with the same load as a lighter, unladen ride.

Maintenance and traffic conditions

The older manual’s list of general e-bike range factors includes maintenance, tyre condition, traffic flow and speed changes. These are useful reminders when investigating why two rides differ, but they are not a current-model range test. If range seems unexpectedly poor, first compare the ride conditions and check the tyre pressure and condition; the available information does not establish a specific mechanical fault from a low display estimate alone.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How to plan a trip and monitor range

  1. Estimate the route conservatively. For a route you have not ridden before, use the lower end of the retailer’s stated range as your starting point, not its ideal-condition maximum. Leave extra margin if the forecast, hills or load are likely to be less favourable.
  2. Check the tyres before setting off. Confirm that the tyres are in suitable condition and inflate them within the pressure range printed on the sidewall. Pressure is one of the factors the retailer explicitly identifies.
  3. Choose assistance to suit the section of road. Begin with Eco or another lower mode if it gives enough support, then select more help when needed. The bike has Eco, Tour, Sport, Sport+ and Boost, but no published mileage breakdown for those settings.
  4. Watch the display during the ride. The current listing says the display shows remaining range. Treat that reading as an estimate to monitor as the trip unfolds, rather than a guarantee that the same amount of distance will remain under every condition.
  5. Keep a reserve on unfamiliar trips. Do not plan to arrive with the battery estimate at its limit. If the displayed remaining range falls faster than expected, reduce assistance where comfortable and reassess the route against the distance still to travel.
  6. Use your own rides to refine future plans. Note the route, mode, weather, tyre pressure and load after a ride. Comparing trips with those details recorded can help you understand your own bike’s performance without confusing a change in conditions for a change in the bike.

These steps are planning advice based on the listed range factors and display features. They do not promise a particular improvement or add a tested mileage figure to the retailer’s estimate.

Rank #4
Sale
UGREEN USB to USB C Adapter Combo 4-Pack, 10Gbps USB C Converter Space Gray
  • Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
  • Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
  • Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
  • Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
  • Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft

Why older Subway E 2 range figures do not match the current bike

Older online references may quote a longer range, but one relevant manual is for an earlier SR Suntour HESC system, dated November 2020. It gives a chart of 30 miles in Turbo and 62 miles in Eco. Its stated assumptions are 12.5 mph (20 km/h), level road and a temperature of 15–20°C.

Those values belong to that older system and those stated conditions. The current Halfords listing describes a Bafang system with a 378 Wh battery, so the manual’s chart is not a current-model result. It should not be used to predict the present Subway-E 2’s mileage or to conclude that the current bike will achieve the older manual’s Eco figure.

The older manual is still relevant for understanding why conditions matter: its factor list includes rider weight, luggage, route, pedalling behaviour, maintenance, tyre condition and pressure, hills, speed and speed changes, traffic flow and wind. These are general e-bike considerations, not a controlled set of current Subway-E 2 measurements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What is—and is not—established about the 40-mile maximum

Halfords’ current listing presents the 25–40-mile range and qualifies the farthest distance as an ideal-conditions maximum. It does not provide a controlled test report or specify the exact combination of rider, luggage, route, temperature, wind, pressure and assistance mode used to establish the estimate. No independent current-model range test or named external range statistic is established.

Best Value
Sale
Anker USB C Hub, 5-in-1 USBC to HDMI Splitter with 4K Display | 85W Max PD, 1 Powered USB-C 5Gbps & 2 Powered USB-A 3.0 5Gbps Data Ports, for MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, Dell and More (Black)
  • 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
  • Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
  • Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
  • HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
  • What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

That means the upper figure is best treated as a favourable-condition reference point, not a target to build a return journey around. The most dependable personal estimate will come from observing your own bike on comparable rides and maintaining a reserve for differences in weather, terrain and load.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Carrera Subway-E 2’s 40-mile range realistic?

Halfords lists 25–40 miles (about 40–64 km) per charge and describes 40 miles as an ideal-conditions maximum. It may be possible in favourable conditions, but the listing does not disclose the test setup, and it is not a guaranteed distance for every rider or route.

How far can I expect to go in Eco mode?

Halfords lists Eco, Tour, Sport, Sport+ and Boost, but does not publish a current-model mileage figure for each setting. The 62-mile Eco figure sometimes associated with the bike comes from a November 2020 manual for an earlier SR Suntour HESC system, not the current Bafang model.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How long does the Subway-E 2 battery take to charge?

Halfords says the removable 378 Wh (10.5 Ah) battery takes up to six hours to charge from completely flat with the supplied 2 A charger. It can be charged off the bike.

What should I check before a longer ride?

Plan around the lower end of the listed range on an unfamiliar route, check tyre condition and pressure against the sidewall markings, account for rider and luggage weight, and allow extra reserve for cold, wind or hills. The display shows remaining range, but that reading is an estimate rather than a guarantee.

Why do older Subway E 2 range charts show 62 miles?

The 62-mile Eco figure appears in a 2020 SR Suntour HESC manual, with assumptions of 12.5 mph (20 km/h), level ground and 15–20°C. The current listing describes a Bafang system and a 378 Wh battery, so the older chart should not be treated as a result for the current bike.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Halfords lists the current Carrera Subway-E 2 at 25–40 miles per charge, with 40 miles described as an ideal-conditions maximum. Use the lower end as a cautious starting point for unfamiliar rides, keep a reserve, and refine your expectations using comparable trips on your own bike. Its removable 378 Wh battery can be charged off the bike; the retailer says a full charge from flat takes up to six hours with the supplied charger.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.