iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
For a heavy-duty 1/2-inch impact wrench, start with the battery platform and the exact job—not the biggest torque number. Milwaukee’s M18 FUEL 2967 kits offer four drive modes and two published torque configurations tied to specific batteries; DEWALT’s DCF961 lists higher maximum fastening and breakaway figures on its product page, but is sold as a bare tool in the DCF961B listing. Those manufacturer ratings use different labels and are not the result of a shared independent test, so they do not establish an objective winner.
Milwaukee 2967 vs. DEWALT DCF961: what the specifications show
The table separates manufacturer claims from practical purchase details. Torque figures are the manufacturers’ published specifications, not independently measured head-to-head results.
| Decision point | Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2967 | DEWALT DCF961 |
|---|---|---|
| Published fastening rating | Up to 1,200 ft-lb with the M18 FORGE XC8.0 battery in the 2967-21F kit; up to 1,100 ft-lb with the XC5.0 battery in the 2967-21B kit. Milwaukee product listings; year not stated. | Up to 1,320 ft-lb maximum fastening torque. DEWALT product page; year not stated. |
| Published loosening rating | Up to 1,600 ft-lb “nut-busting” torque with the XC8.0; up to 1,500 ft-lb with the XC5.0. Milwaukee product listings; year not stated. | Up to 1,900 ft-lb maximum breakaway torque. DEWALT product page; year not stated. |
| Battery platform and package | M18 platform. The 2967-21F kit includes an XC8.0 battery, charger, and contractor bag; the 2967-21B kit includes an XC5.0 battery, charger, and bag. | 20V MAX platform. The DCF961B is a bare tool; battery and charger are sold separately. |
| Length and weight | Milwaukee lists a tool length of 7.6 inches. A comparable tool-only weight is not stated in the cited product listings. | The DCF961/DCF964 manual gives the DCF961 weight as 3.5 kg without battery. A comparable length is not stated in the cited product material. |
| Drive and control | 1/2-inch friction-ring (hog-ring) anvil; four drive modes, including auto-shutoff hand-tightening mode capped at 50 ft-lb, and bolt-removal control that reduces speed after loosening. | Three speed settings, Precision Wrench Mode, and oil-resistant housing. |
The torque labels are not interchangeable: Milwaukee calls its removal figure “nut-busting,” while DEWALT calls its figure “breakaway.” The listed values also depend on different manufacturer conditions and battery configurations. Treat them as product specifications, not a common-condition comparison.
Recommended Free Tools
There is another reason not to mix figures casually: DEWALT’s product page lists 1,320 ft-lb maximum fastening and 1,900 ft-lb maximum breakaway torque, while the DCF961/DCF964 manual’s technical table gives the DCF961 1,626 Nm maximum tightening torque in high mode, 1,496 Nm maximum tightening, and 2,372 Nm breakaway. The manual distinguishes the DCF961 from the 3/4-inch DCF964; these manual values are not the same as the product-page claims. Check the exact model and source when using a specification.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Which is the best high-torque 1/2 impact wrench for heavy-duty work?
There is no defensible universal winner from these specifications alone. Choose by battery ecosystem, package contents, control features, access, and the manufacturer’s stated use of the tool. A larger published number does not prove faster work or better performance on a particular fastener.
Choose the Milwaukee 2967 if its platform and controls fit your shop
- You already own compatible M18 batteries and chargers, or want a kit that includes them.
- You want the listed four-mode control set, including auto-shutoff hand-tightening and speed reduction after bolt removal.
- Its stated 7.6-inch length suits the space where you need to work.
- You can select the exact kit and battery configuration that matches the work: the XC8.0 2967-21F listing carries higher published ratings than the XC5.0 2967-21B listing.
Choose the DEWALT DCF961 if its platform and bare-tool purchase make sense
- You already use compatible DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers.
- You want three speed settings, Precision Wrench Mode, and the listed oil-resistant housing.
- You are comfortable buying the DCF961B without a battery or charger, or can source compatible packs separately.
- You have checked the specific product-page and manual specifications rather than treating their differently presented figures as one rating.
How much torque do you need in a 1/2-inch impact wrench?
There is no single torque threshold that makes a 1/2-inch wrench suitable for every heavy-duty application. The fastener, condition, access, required procedure, and battery configuration all matter. Start with the equipment or vehicle service specification and the tool maker’s application guidance, then consider whether the wrench’s stated fastening and loosening capabilities are appropriate.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- For removal: compare the manufacturer’s loosening-related figure, but note whether it is called breakaway or nut-busting and what battery condition applies.
- For installation: distinguish a maximum fastening rating from the final torque required by the job. Neither product’s maximum marketing rating is a precision final-torque setting.
- For critical fasteners: follow the applicable service procedure and use a suitable calibrated torque tool where a specified final torque is required. The DEWALT manual describes professional impact fastening and applications driving fasteners in wood, metal, and concrete; that does not make an impact wrench a substitute for a required final-torque procedure.
Will the impact wrench come with a battery?
It depends on the exact SKU. Milwaukee’s cited 2967-21F and 2967-21B are kits that include batteries, chargers, and bags. The DEWALT DCF961B listing is for a bare tool, with the battery and charger sold separately. Check the full model number and package contents before comparing prices or assuming a battery is included.
For either platform, confirm the specific battery is compatible with the tool and whether it matches the battery condition behind the manufacturer’s published rating. A bare tool’s platform designation alone does not establish that every pack configuration produces the same claimed torque.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
What to know about fit, retention, and control
Access
Milwaukee states a 7.6-inch length for the 2967. This is useful when comparing the space available around a fastener, but the cited material does not give a matching DCF961 length for a direct comparison. Also account for socket length and clearance around the workpiece.
Socket retention
The Milwaukee 2967 uses a 1/2-inch friction-ring, also called hog-ring, anvil. Confirm the anvil type on the exact tool you are buying and use impact-rated sockets sized for the drive and fastener.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Control modes
Milwaukee lists four drive modes, with a 50 ft-lb maximum in its auto-shutoff hand-tightening mode and a bolt-removal feature that reduces speed once the fastener loosens. DEWALT lists three speed settings and Precision Wrench Mode. These controls can help manage tool behavior, but they do not replace a verified final-torque process.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
A practical buying check
- Identify the job. Determine the fastener and service procedure, whether you need removal capability, installation control, or both, and whether access is constrained.
- Match the platform. Check whether your shop already owns compatible M18 or DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers. Verify compatibility and the battery configuration associated with any claimed rating.
- Compare exact SKUs. Distinguish the Milwaukee 2967-21F and 2967-21B kits from the DCF961B bare tool; confirm battery, charger, and bag contents for the actual listing.
- Choose controls and fit. Consider the Milwaukee’s listed length and drive modes, the DEWALT’s speed settings and Precision Wrench Mode, and the anvil and socket-retention requirements for your work.
- Use the right tool for final torque. If the fastener requires a specified final torque, follow the application procedure and use a suitable calibrated torque tool where required.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

