Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsiTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Ghost of Tsushima: Legends is the cooperative online mode for Ghost of Tsushima. It is available on PS4, PS5, and PC through the Director’s Cut, but ownership, account, subscription, and cross-play rules differ by platform. This guide explains exactly what you need, how groups work, which class fits your play style, and a sensible first path into the mode.
What is Ghost of Tsushima: Legends?
Legends is a separate online multiplayer experience set in the world of Ghost of Tsushima. Rather than following the single-player campaign, you and other players take on cooperative missions, defend locations against waves, complete a multi-part raid, or compete against another team. You can invite friends or use online matchmaking.
The mode is available on both generations of PlayStation hardware and in the PC Director’s Cut. The way you obtain it matters: the standalone PlayStation product contains the multiplayer mode only, while editions that include the full game also include Legends.
Which platforms support Legends?
| Platform or route | What you receive | Online requirement | Cross-play or progression |
|---|---|---|---|
| PS4 | Legends through a compatible Ghost of Tsushima edition or the standalone multiplayer product | Internet connection and PlayStation Plus are required to download and play Legends | Can play with PS5; Legends progression carries between PS4 and PS5 |
| PS5 | Legends through a compatible Ghost of Tsushima edition or the standalone multiplayer product | Internet connection and PlayStation Plus are required to download and play Legends | Can play with PS4; Legends progression carries between PS4 and PS5 |
| PC | Included with Ghost of Tsushima Director’s Cut for PC, released May 16, 2024 | PlayStation sign-in is required for online multiplayer and the PlayStation overlay | Can play with PS4 and PS5 by inviting PlayStation friends; PlayStation currently labels this cross-play feature Beta |
| Steam Deck | PC version may run as a game, but online multiplayer is not available | Not applicable for online Legends play | Cannot use Steam Deck for Legends online multiplayer |
The table describes feature support, not a promise of a particular matchmaking population or queue time. Official documentation does not publish player-count or wait-time statistics.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
Can I play Ghost of Tsushima: Legends on PC?
Yes. Legends is part of Ghost of Tsushima Director’s Cut for PC. PlayStation Support lists May 16, 2024 as the PC release date. You need to sign in to a PlayStation account for online multiplayer and for use of the PlayStation overlay.
PC cross-play is not a general public matchmaking bridge that automatically places every platform in one pool. To play with console friends, start a session by inviting friends on PlayStation Network. PlayStation identifies this PC-to-console cross-play support as Beta, so the feature can be subject to changes or limitations described in current support documentation.
A Steam Deck is not a workaround for that limitation: PlayStation’s PC support information states that online multiplayer is unavailable on Steam Deck.
Can PS4 and PS5 play Legends together?
Yes. PS4 and PS5 players can join the same Legends sessions. Your Legends progression also carries between those two console generations, so moving from PS4 to PS5 does not require starting your Legends progress over when you use the relevant account and game access.
This console cross-generation support is distinct from PC cross-play. On PlayStation consoles, the PS4/PS5 relationship is documented as supported play and progression transfer; PC connections use invitations to PlayStation friends and are currently marked Beta.
Can PC players play with PlayStation friends?
Yes, with an invitation-based setup. The official PlayStation Blog describes cross-play between PS4 consoles, PS5 consoles, and PC as supported when a game session is started by inviting friends on PlayStation Network. Current PlayStation support also labels the feature Beta.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
- Install the PC Director’s Cut and complete the account sign-in steps requested by the game.
- Make sure the people you want to play with are added as friends on PlayStation Network, regardless of whether they are using a console or PC.
- Have the host create a Legends session.
- Use the in-game invitation flow to invite the PlayStation friends who should join.
- If an invitation does not arrive, confirm that everyone is signed in to the intended PlayStation account and that privacy or notification settings are not blocking invitations.
The documentation establishes invitation-based cross-play; it does not guarantee a particular matchmaking behavior, party size beyond each mode’s own limit, or a permanent feature status while the Beta label remains.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Do I need PlayStation Plus for Legends?
On PS4 and PS5, yes. PlayStation’s official overview states: “Internet connection and PlayStation®Plus required to download and play Legends Mode.” That requirement applies whether you are using the standalone multiplayer product or Legends included with another PlayStation version of the game.
On PC, the cited PlayStation support page requires PlayStation sign-in for online multiplayer and the PlayStation overlay. It does not state that a PC player needs PlayStation Plus. You should therefore distinguish the documented PC account requirement from the console subscription requirement rather than assuming they are identical.
All players still need an internet connection for online Legends activities. An offline installation or a local-only session is not an alternative documented by the official support information.
Is Legends included with Ghost of Tsushima?
There are two main ways to get access on PlayStation:
Buy a version that includes the full game
Ghost of Tsushima Director’s Cut includes the Legends online cooperative mode. This route is appropriate if you also want the single-player campaign and the rest of the Director’s Cut content. The PC version is offered as Director’s Cut, and Legends is part of that package.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Use the standalone Legends product
The standalone PS4/PS5 product contains the online multiplayer mode and does not include the single-player campaign. It is therefore the narrower option for someone who wants only Legends.
Owners of another Ghost of Tsushima version
PlayStation says owners of other Ghost of Tsushima versions already have Legends content and updates without an additional Legends purchase. Your exact entitlement can depend on the edition and platform attached to your account, so check the product and account details shown in your regional PlayStation store before buying anything.
The available documentation does not establish a physical standalone Legends disc. Do not assume that the multiplayer-only product is offered as a boxed physical edition. Store prices, stock, and regional availability change, so a current listing should be checked at the time of purchase rather than relying on an old price.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteHow many players can play co-op?
| Activity | Group size | What you do |
|---|---|---|
| Story | Two players | Complete cooperative missions built around Gyozen’s stories. Higher difficulties add tougher encounters and bonus objectives. |
| Survival | Four players | Defend locations against waves of enemies. |
| Raid | Four players | Work through a three-part adventure that expects communication and coordinated teamwork. |
| Rivals | Two teams of two | Defeat enemy waves, collect Magatama, and race through the Final Stand waves against the other team. |
These limits are mode-specific. A two-player Story party cannot simply add two more players without switching to an activity designed for four, and Rivals uses two opposing pairs rather than one four-player cooperative team.
What should I play first?
For a first session, choose the activity that matches the size and communication level of your group:
- Playing with one friend: Start with Story to learn the combat loop and mission structure together.
- Playing with three friends: Survival introduces the four-player format and clear defensive objectives.
- Looking for a coordinated challenge: Save the Raid for a group ready to communicate throughout its three parts.
- Wanting competition: Rivals is the option for two teams of two, with resource collection and a race through the final waves.
- Playing alone at first: Use online matchmaking for a supported activity, or invite friends when you have a group available.
This is a practical starting recommendation based on the official descriptions of the activities, not a claim that one route is the universally optimal progression path.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Which class should I pick first?
There are four distinct starting points. You can choose according to the role you enjoy rather than trying to satisfy a required party composition; the official class description does not require a specific lineup.
Samurai: direct frontline combat
Choose Samurai if you want to fight enemies at close range and stay in the middle of an encounter. This class suits players who prefer direct combat and a durable frontline presence.
Hunter: ranged attacks
Hunter is the natural starting point for players who prefer distance and ranged damage. It lets you contribute while managing positioning away from the most concentrated melee pressure.
Ronin: support and revival
Ronin focuses on supporting the group and reviving teammates. Pick it if you value keeping a party functioning, helping allies recover from mistakes, and contributing beyond personal damage.
Assassin: stealth and burst damage
Assassin emphasizes stealth and high-impact damage. It fits players who enjoy choosing an opening, striking vulnerable targets, and avoiding a prolonged open fight when possible.
No class is identified by the official material as a mandatory first choice or as a prerequisite for a particular mode. Your first class can therefore be a preference decision; later experience can inform whether you want to develop another role.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
How does Legends progression work?
Missions award gear and cosmetics, while experience unlocks techniques, perks, and class abilities. Higher difficulty offers gear with greater power and rarity, giving you a reason to increase the challenge as your equipment and familiarity improve.
- Choose a class. Select Samurai, Hunter, Ronin, or Assassin according to the role you want to learn.
- Enter a suitable activity. Start with Story or Survival that matches your available group size.
- Complete missions. Use the rewards to build your equipment collection and earn experience.
- Review your rewards. Equip useful gear and note improvements in power or rarity rather than treating every drop as automatically better for your preferred play style.
- Raise the difficulty when ready. Higher difficulties introduce stronger encounters and can provide more powerful, rarer gear.
- Develop your class. Experience unlocks techniques, perks, and class abilities that expand how your chosen role works.
The official store description also describes Gear Mastery upgrading gear to level 120. That is a gameplay-system ceiling stated in the product information, not a measure of player population or a promise that every item reaches that level under every condition.
How should a beginner build a reliable first session?
Before launching
- Confirm that every player owns the required version or has access to the included Legends content.
- On PS4 or PS5, verify internet access and an active PlayStation Plus subscription.
- On PC, sign in to PlayStation before trying to start online multiplayer.
- Agree on the activity and class roles before sending invitations, especially if you are entering a four-player mode.
During the first missions
- Use Story to become familiar with the mission format if your party has two players.
- Use Survival when four players want a straightforward shared objective and repeated enemy waves.
- Communicate before attempting Raid, because it is explicitly designed as a teamwork-focused, three-part challenge.
- In Rivals, discuss whether your team will prioritize enemy defeats, Magatama collection, or positioning for the Final Stand waves.
After the session
- Compare new gear with what you were using and keep items that support your class role.
- Spend earned experience on the techniques, perks, and abilities that make your preferred approach more effective.
- Move to a higher difficulty only when your group can handle tougher encounters without turning every mission into a recovery exercise.
What are the main differences between the purchase routes?
| Decision | Standalone Legends on PlayStation | Edition that includes the full game | PC Director’s Cut |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single-player campaign | Not included | Included with the relevant full-game edition | Included with Director’s Cut |
| Legends access | Online multiplayer mode | Included | Included |
| Console subscription rule | PlayStation Plus required on PS4/PS5 | PlayStation Plus required on PS4/PS5 | Not stated as a PC requirement by the cited support page |
| Account rule | PlayStation account for console services | PlayStation account for console services | PlayStation sign-in required for online multiplayer and the PlayStation overlay |
| Best fit | Someone who wants multiplayer only | Someone who wants campaign and multiplayer together | Someone who wants the PC version and its supported cross-play option |
These are access-route distinctions, not current prices. Because pricing and availability vary by region and date, use the store listing for your platform when making a purchase decision.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What should I do if cross-play or invitations fail?
PC friend does not appear in the invite list
Confirm that the PC player has completed PlayStation sign-in and that both players are friends on PlayStation Network. The documented PC cross-play flow depends on inviting PlayStation friends, not merely having the same game installed through a PC storefront.
A PS4 or PS5 player cannot join
Check that the console player is online, has PlayStation Plus, and is using the account that owns or has access to Legends. Then have the host send a fresh invitation from the Legends session.
The group is using Steam Deck
Steam Deck does not support online multiplayer for this PC version according to PlayStation Support. Move the PC player to a supported PC setup or a PlayStation console; changing invitations alone will not enable online Legends on Steam Deck.
Progress seems missing after changing consoles
PS4-to-PS5 progression is supported for Legends, but the player must use the relevant PlayStation account and have access to a compatible version. Verify the account before assuming that a transfer has failed.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Players expect automatic PC matchmaking across platforms
Set expectations around the documented behavior: PC cross-play is invitation-based and currently identified as Beta. The official information does not promise automatic cross-platform matchmaking, fixed queue times, or a specific population level.
Quick Recap
What Legends does not promise
- It does not provide a documented offline mode for the online activities.
- The standalone multiplayer product does not include the single-player campaign.
- PC support does not include online multiplayer on Steam Deck.
- Official pages do not publish guaranteed matchmaking wait times, current player counts, or an “active community” statistic.
- PC cross-play is not described as a permanently finalized feature; PlayStation currently marks it Beta.
Quick answer: which route is right for you?
- You own a PS4 or PS5 and want only co-op: The standalone Legends product is the multiplayer-only route, subject to the console internet and PlayStation Plus requirements.
- You want the campaign as well: Choose a Ghost of Tsushima edition that includes the full game and Legends, such as Director’s Cut.
- You play on PC: Use the PC Director’s Cut, sign in to PlayStation for online play, and invite PlayStation friends for the documented cross-play path.
- You are moving from PS4 to PS5: Legends progression carries between the two console generations when you use the appropriate account and access.
- You are choosing a first class: Pick Samurai for frontline combat, Hunter for ranged attacks, Ronin for support and revival, or Assassin for stealth and burst damage.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

