Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

If you are shopping for a phone instead of Samsung’s Galaxy S27, start with a confirmed model rather than an unverified launch rumor. The current 2026 phone guides support a clear price ladder: Google Pixel 10a for value, Samsung Galaxy A57 for a lower-cost Samsung experience, Apple iPhone 17e for a cheaper iPhone, Google Pixel 10, OnePlus 15, Apple iPhone 17 or Samsung Galaxy S26 for mainstream buyers, and Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra or other top-end phones when camera reach and maximum performance matter.

Galaxy S27 pricing, specifications and availability are not established by the sources reviewed for this guide. Use the alternatives below as current-model choices, then recheck official Samsung information before buying if the S27 has been announced by the time you read this.

What is confirmed about the Galaxy S27?

The available 2026-era comparison and buying guides do not confirm a Galaxy S27 launch date, price, specifications or regional availability. That means a phone described online as an “S27 alternative” is really an alternative to Samsung’s flagship position, not a measured response to confirmed S27 hardware.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

This distinction matters when comparing value. A rumored camera, battery size or display feature cannot be used as a baseline. The reliable approach is to compare phones that are already documented, check the exact storage and regional variant, and revisit the decision if Samsung publishes official S27 details.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Samsung Galaxy A17 5G Smart Phone 128GB US 1 Yr Manufacturer Warranty Black | Large AMOLED, High-Res Camera, Durable Design, Super Fast Charging, Expandable Storage, Circle to Search, 2025
  • YOUR CONTENT, SUPER SMOOTH: The ultra-clear 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED display of Galaxy A17 5G helps bring your content to life, whether you're scrolling through recipes or video chatting with loved ones.¹
  • LIVE FAST. CHARGE FASTER: Focus more on the moment and less on your battery percentage with Galaxy A17 5G. Super Fast Charging powers up your battery so you can get back to life sooner.²
  • MEMORIES MADE PICTURE PERFECT: Capture every angle in stunning clarity, from wide family photos to close-ups of friends, with the triple-lens camera on Galaxy A17 5G.
  • NEED MORE STORAGE? WE HAVE YOU COVERED: With an improved 2TB of expandable storage, Galaxy A17 5G makes it easy to keep cherished photos, videos and important files readily accessible whenever you need them.³
  • BUILT TO LAST: With an improved IP54 rating, Galaxy A17 5G is even more durable than before.⁴ It’s built to resist splashes and dust and comes with a stronger yet slimmer Gorilla Glass Victus front and Glass Fiber Reinforced Polymer back.

The shortlist below draws on current buying guides from Tom’s Guide, its cheap-phone roundup, the Gadgets 360 comparison, TechSpot’s June 16, 2026 phone guide and TechRadar’s US roundup. Their rankings are editorial judgments and can change as prices, testing and availability change.

Best Galaxy S27 alternatives by price and use case

Price position Phone to consider Why it belongs on the list Important trade-off
Value Android Google Pixel 10a Tom’s Guide’s best cheap phone overall in its 2026 roundup; 6.3-inch display, 8GB RAM, 128GB or 256GB storage, 48MP main and 13MP ultrawide cameras, and a 15h 16m result in that outlet’s battery test. It retains the Tensor G4 and brings no major camera hardware improvement. The guide’s $499 figure is a reported price point, not a guaranteed current street price.
Value Samsung Samsung Galaxy A57 Tom’s Guide’s best cheap Samsung Galaxy phone, with a 6.7-inch AMOLED display and long battery endurance. No telephoto camera; performance and charging are weaker than some rivals. Price was not stated in the cited guide.
Value iOS Apple iPhone 17e A lower-cost route into iOS, with 256GB starting storage and MagSafe support. 60Hz display and a single rear camera. Tom’s Guide cites $599; confirm the current price.
Mainstream Android Google Pixel 10 Listed by TechSpot among phones that are best for most buyers and included in Gadgets 360’s four-way comparison. Exact price, storage and regional specification are not stated in the supplied comparison.
Mainstream performance OnePlus 15 TechSpot places it in the “best for most” group; it has the largest listed display in the Gadgets 360 comparison at 6.78 inches. Confirm local software support, bands, warranty and camera performance before purchase.
Mainstream iOS Apple iPhone 17 A 6.30-inch model in the Gadgets 360 comparison and a mainstream option in TechSpot’s guide. Exact price and configuration depend on market and storage.
Compact mainstream Samsung Samsung Galaxy S26 A 6.30-inch Galaxy flagship in the Gadgets 360 comparison and a current reference point for Samsung’s standard S-series tier. Do not assume it matches an unannounced S27; verify price, storage and regional hardware.
Premium Android Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra Tom’s Guide names it the best Android phone in its current guide and reports a $1,299 starting price. It is expensive, and Tom’s Guide’s testing found the iPhone 17 Pro Max lasted longer. The $1,299 figure needs current-price verification.

Best lower-cost alternatives

Google Pixel 10a: the safest value Android pick

Choose the Pixel 10a when the goal is to spend substantially less than a flagship while keeping a balanced Android phone. Tom’s Guide’s 2026 cheap-phone guide names it the best cheap phone overall, highlighting value and battery life.

The documented hardware is unusually useful for comparing offers: a 6.3-inch display, 8GB of RAM, 128GB or 256GB storage, a 48MP main rear camera and a 13MP ultrawide. In Tom’s Guide’s test, it recorded 15 hours and 16 minutes. That is an outlet-specific laboratory-style result, not a promise of 15 hours of screen-on use for every owner.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The compromises are clear. The phone continues to use Google’s Tensor G4, and the guide reports no major camera improvement. If you already own a recent Pixel and want a substantial camera or processor jump, the 10a may feel evolutionary. If your priority is a dependable everyday phone, battery endurance and Google’s Android experience, it is the strongest evidence-backed low-cost choice in this list.

Tom’s Guide cites $499 for the Pixel 10a. Treat that as the guide’s price reference: check whether it applies to the 128GB or 256GB version, whether the phone is unlocked, and whether a sale or carrier promotion has changed the current total.

Samsung Galaxy A57: the lower-cost choice for Samsung users

The Galaxy A57 is the logical alternative when you want Samsung’s software and services without paying S-series money. Tom’s Guide calls it the best cheap Samsung Galaxy phone and specifically highlights its 6.7-inch AMOLED display and long battery endurance.

Its larger screen may suit streaming, reading and split-screen work better than a compact phone. The trade-off is photographic versatility: the guide notes that it has no telephoto camera. It also reports weaker performance and charging than some competing budget phones.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
SAMSUNG Galaxy A16 4G LTE (128GB + 4GB) International Model SM-A165F/DS Factory Unlocked 6.7" Dual Sim 50MP Dual Cam (Case Bundle) (Gray)
  • Please note, this device does not support E-SIM; This 4G model is compatible with all GSM networks worldwide outside of the U.S. In the US, ONLY compatible with T-Mobile and their MVNO's (Metro and Standup). It will NOT work with Verizon, Spectrum, AT&T, Total Wireless, other CDMA carriers, it is also not compatible with their MVNO (Visible, Xfinity Mobile, US Mobile, Cricket Wireless, etc).
  • Compatibility with certain third-party devices and accessibility accessories, including some hearing aids, may vary depending on manufacturer support, Bluetooth protocols, software compatibility, and regional firmware limitations. For additional hearing aid compatibility information, please refer to Samsung’s official support documentation.
  • 4G LTE Bands: B1/B3/B5/B7/B8/B20/B28/B38/B40/B41
  • Display: Super AMOLED, 90Hz, 800 nits (HBM) | 6.7 inches, 110.2 cm2 (~86.0% screen-to-body ratio) | 1080 x 2340 pixels, 19.5:9 ratio (~385 ppi density)
  • Camera: 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro)

No price is established in the cited material, so compare the A57’s current unlocked price with the Pixel 10a rather than assuming Samsung’s model is automatically cheaper. Check storage, charger contents and update-policy details for your market before ordering.

Apple iPhone 17e: the lower-cost iOS route

The iPhone 17e is aimed at buyers who want iOS, Apple services and an easier path into the iPhone ecosystem at a lower price than Apple’s premium models. The cited guide highlights 256GB starting storage and MagSafe support, which can reduce the need to buy a larger-capacity model or replace magnetic accessories.

The compromises are straightforward: a 60Hz display and one rear camera. Those limitations matter if you value high-refresh scrolling, ultrawide framing or multiple focal lengths. The guide cites a $599 price point; verify whether that is the current unlocked price and which region and storage configuration it describes.

Mainstream alternatives for buyers who can spend more

TechSpot’s June 16, 2026 guide groups the Google Pixel 10, OnePlus 15 and Apple iPhone 17 among phones that are “best for most,” while the Gadgets 360 comparison places those models beside the Samsung Galaxy S26. This is the tier to examine when a budget model’s camera, charging or performance compromises are unacceptable but an Ultra-class phone is unnecessary.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Model Screen size listed by Gadgets 360 Operating-system position How to evaluate it
Samsung Galaxy S26 6.30 inches Android/Samsung Best fit if you want Samsung’s interface, services and a standard-size S-series phone. Confirm the exact processor, cameras, RAM, storage and battery for your market.
OnePlus 15 6.78 inches Android Consider it if a large display and performance-oriented experience matter. Verify camera results, update support, network bands and local warranty.
Apple iPhone 17 6.30 inches iOS Choose it for Apple’s ecosystem and long-term platform continuity. Compare storage and regional pricing with the iPhone 17e before paying more.
Google Pixel 10 6.30 inches Android/Google Consider it for Google’s software and camera-oriented experience. Confirm the storage, modem, battery and current price in your country.

Gadgets 360 lists processor, camera, RAM, storage, battery and operating-system fields for these four phones, but those values can differ by market or configuration. Use its comparison page to check the exact specification before buying rather than treating a regional listing as universal.

When the Galaxy S26 is the right substitute

The Galaxy S26 is the closest confirmed Samsung alternative for someone who wants the familiar S-series format now. Its 6.30-inch listed screen places it alongside the iPhone 17 and Pixel 10 rather than the larger OnePlus 15. That makes it a sensible size reference for one-handed use and pocketability, but you still need to confirm the local camera array, storage and battery configuration.

When to choose the Pixel 10

The Pixel 10 belongs on the shortlist if Google’s Android software and computational photography are more important than matching Samsung’s hardware design. TechSpot’s “best for most” categorization signals a broad-use recommendation, not proof that it wins every camera, gaming or battery test. Compare the actual storage price and service availability where you live.

Rank #3
Samsung Galaxy A16 4G LTE (128GB + 4GB) International Model SM-A165F/DS Factory Unlocked, 6.7", Dual SIM, 50MP Triple Camera (Case Bundle), Black
  • Please note, this device does not support E-SIM; This 4G model is compatible with all GSM networks worldwide outside of the U.S. In the US, ONLY compatible with T-Mobile and their MVNO's (Metro and Standup). It will NOT work with other CDMA carriers, and it is also not compatible with their MVNO (Visible, Xfinity Mobile, US Mobile, Cricket Wireless, etc).
  • Compatibility with certain third-party devices and accessibility accessories, including some hearing aids, may vary depending on manufacturer support, Bluetooth protocols, software compatibility, and regional firmware limitations. For additional hearing aid compatibility information, please refer to Samsung’s official support documentation.
  • Camera: 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/2.76", 0.64µm, AF | 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro). Battery: 5000 mAh, non-removable | A power adapter is NOT included.

When the OnePlus 15 makes more sense

The OnePlus 15 is the largest phone in the four-way Gadgets 360 comparison at 6.78 inches. That is an advantage for video, games and large text, but a disadvantage if you prefer a compact handset. Before selecting it over a Galaxy or Pixel, verify local software-update commitments, 5G bands, repair coverage and camera testing; the supplied sources do not establish one universal configuration.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When the iPhone 17 is worth the step up from the 17e

The iPhone 17 is the mainstream iOS option in the comparison, while the 17e is the value model. The decision should be based on the features you actually need: display behavior, camera flexibility, processor generation, storage and accessory compatibility. Do not pay for the higher tier solely because it carries a larger number; compare the current unlocked prices and your required storage.

Premium alternatives when camera reach and performance come first

Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra

Tom’s Guide names the Galaxy S26 Ultra its best Android phone in the current 2026 guide. The assessment emphasizes zoom and camera capability, performance and AI features. It reports a $1,299 starting price, which should be checked against the current configuration and regional taxes or promotions.

The Ultra is the most direct choice for someone who wants Samsung’s largest flagship experience now. It is not automatically the best phone for every buyer: Tom’s Guide reports that the iPhone 17 Pro Max performed better in its battery test, and the guide identifies the Pixel 10 Pro XL as a cheaper premium comparison. Those are buying-guide assessments, not universal rankings, so weigh battery, camera style, software preference and price together.

iPhone 17 Pro Max and Pixel 10 Pro XL as premium alternatives

The supplied guides use the iPhone 17 Pro Max and Pixel 10 Pro XL as premium reference points around the S26 Ultra. The iPhone is particularly relevant if battery endurance and Apple’s ecosystem are priorities; the Pixel is relevant if you want a premium Google phone at a lower price than the Ultra according to Tom’s Guide’s comparison.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Exact prices and specifications for these two models are not stated in the available material. Confirm storage, camera hardware, warranty and local availability before treating either as a final recommendation.

What the wider 2026 landscape changes

TechRadar’s US roundup, updated after the iPhone 18 Pro launch, puts the iPhone 18 Pro models among its top tested picks while still identifying the Galaxy S26 Ultra as a high-end Android alternative and the Pixel 10a as a budget pick. This is a reminder that the “best” phone changes as new devices are tested. If your purchase date is later than the roundup’s update, check whether newer models have altered prices or availability.

Rank #4
Samsung Galaxy A16 5G 128GB Cell Phone, Unlocked Android Smartphone, Large AMOLED Display, Durable Design, Super Fast Charging, Expandable Storage, US Version, 2025, Blue Black (Renewed)
  • Charger NOT Included, 6.7" Super AMOLED FHD+, 90Hz Refresh Rate, 385 ppi, 800 nits (HBM), 1080x2340px, 5000mAh Battery
  • 128GB, 4GB RAM, microSDXC, Exynos 1330 (5nm), Octa-Core, Mali-G68 MP2 or Mali-G57 MC2 GPU
  • Rear Camera: 50MP, f/1.8 (wide) + 5MP, f/2.2 (ultrawide) + 2MP, f/2.4 (macro), LED flash, panorama, HDR; Front Camera: 13MP, f/2.0, Android 14, up to 6 major Android upgrades, One UI 6.1
  • 3G: HSDPA 850/900/1700(AWS)/1900/2100; 4G LTE: 1/2/3/4/5/7/12/13/14/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/39/40/41/48/66/71, 5G: 2/5/25/41/66/71/77/78 SA/NSA/Sub6/mmWave - Nano-SIM + eSIM
  • US Model – Global Connectivity – Compatible with Most GSM Carriers like T-Mobile, AT&T, MetroPCS, etc. Will Also work with CDMA Carriers Such as Verizon, Straight Talk.

How to choose the right alternative

1. Set the real price ceiling

Use the unlocked, delivered price for the storage capacity you need. The documented reference points are $499 for the Pixel 10a, $599 for the iPhone 17e and $1,299 for the Galaxy S26 Ultra, all reported by Tom’s Guide and subject to change. Prices for the Galaxy A57, Pixel 10, OnePlus 15, iPhone 17 and Galaxy S26 are not established in the supplied sources, so do not infer them from model names.

2. Decide whether you are staying with Android or moving to iOS

Android choices make it easier to retain Google accounts, app purchases and familiar file-sharing habits; Samsung adds its own services and accessories, while Pixel emphasizes Google’s software. The iPhone 17e and iPhone 17 make sense when you already use Apple devices or want iOS. Moving platforms can involve repurchasing apps, transferring passwords and replacing accessories, so include that cost in the comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

3. Choose size before counting megapixels

The listed displays range from 6.3 inches on the Pixel 10a to 6.78 inches on the OnePlus 15, with the Galaxy A57 at 6.7 inches and the S26, iPhone 17, Pixel 10 and iPhone 17e positioned around the compact-to-mainstream range. A larger panel helps with video and typing; a smaller one is easier to carry. Refresh rate, brightness and panel technology can matter more in daily use than diagonal size alone, so confirm those details for the exact regional model.

4. Evaluate camera versatility, not megapixels alone

The Pixel 10a’s documented 48MP main and 13MP ultrawide cameras provide two viewpoints, while the Galaxy A57 is specifically noted as lacking a telephoto camera and the iPhone 17e has a single rear camera. The Gadgets 360 comparison lists camera fields for the S26, OnePlus 15, iPhone 17 and Pixel 10, but a component list does not establish image quality. Look for independent low-light, portrait, zoom and video tests before deciding that one phone is better from megapixel counts alone.

5. Separate battery capacity from tested runtime

Tom’s Guide measured the Pixel 10a at 15 hours and 16 minutes in its own test. Gadgets 360 separately lists battery-capacity fields for several comparison phones. Capacity in milliamp-hours and a controlled runtime result are different measurements; neither guarantees your personal endurance. Consider screen size, cellular signal, gaming, camera use and charging speed as well as the headline number.

6. Check storage and accessories

The Pixel 10a is documented with 128GB or 256GB options, and the iPhone 17e starts at 256GB. Those facts can change the apparent value: a cheaper 128GB phone may cost more after cloud storage or replacement media is considered. MagSafe support on the iPhone 17e is useful if you already own compatible magnetic accessories, but no accessory was tested in the cited material.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

7. Verify regional support before ordering

  • Confirm that the phone is unlocked and supports your carrier’s bands and eSIM requirements.
  • Check whether the advertised storage and processor match your country.
  • Review warranty, repair options and update-policy terms from the seller.
  • Check charger contents and charging standards; the available sources do not establish one universal in-box configuration.
  • Recheck stock and street price on the day you buy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Comparing a rumor with a shipping phone

Because S27 specifications are unconfirmed in the available source set, avoid statements such as “the S27 has better battery life” or “this phone is cheaper than the S27.” Compare confirmed models now and revisit the article or your shortlist after Samsung publishes official details.

Best Value
BLU G35 | 2025 | Unlocked | 6.5” HD+ Infinity Display | Dual 8MP Camera + LED Flash 5MP Selfie Camera | 32GB/3GB I US Version | US Warranty | Grey
  • GSM Unlocked: Enjoy seamless connectivity with your preferred GSM carrier. Compatible with T-Mobile, Metro PCS, AT&T, Cricket, Mint Mobile and other GSM networks. SIM card not included. For network compatibility, please check with your carrier. Note: Not compatible with CDMA networks like Verizon (Visible, Spectrum Mobile, US Mobile, Total Wireless, Straight Talk Wireless)
  • Boundless Views: Enjoy immersive viewing on the spacious 6.5” HD+ display. Whether you're watching videos, browsing, or gaming, every detail comes through with stunning clarity.
  • Smooth Performance, All Day: Powered by an efficient octa-core processor, the G35 ensures smooth performance for your everyday tasks. Enjoy faster app launches, seamless multitasking, and reliable speed.
  • Snap, Share, Repeat: The G35 features a dual rear camera setup for sharp, detailed shots, and a front-facing camera that’s perfect for selfies and video calls. Capture every moment with ease and clarity.
  • Effortless Access: Keep your phone secure with A.I. Face ID technology. Instantly unlock your G35 with just a glance. It's fast, easy, and secure.

Treating a guide price as a permanent price

The Pixel 10a’s $499, iPhone 17e’s $599 and Galaxy S26 Ultra’s $1,299 are reported figures from Tom’s Guide. They may describe a particular storage tier, date or market. Check the seller’s current unlocked price and return policy.

Assuming the cheapest phone has the lowest total cost

Calculate storage, case, charger, insurance, financing interest and cloud storage. A phone with 256GB included may be better value than a cheaper 128GB model if you keep it for several years.

Using battery capacity as a proxy for endurance

A larger battery does not guarantee longer runtime. Use named test results such as the Pixel 10a’s 15h 16m result only as a controlled comparison, then adjust for your network, brightness and workload.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ignoring ecosystem switching costs

Moving from Android to iOS or the other way around can affect paid apps, watch compatibility, messaging habits, backups and accessories. Decide whether those changes are acceptable before comparing processor or camera specifications.

A practical buying sequence

  1. Write down your maximum delivered price and minimum storage.
  2. Choose Android or iOS based on the devices and services you already use.
  3. Pick a size range: compact around 6.3 inches, or large around 6.7 to 6.78 inches.
  4. Mark your non-negotiable feature: zoom, ultrawide photography, battery endurance, gaming performance, MagSafe or Samsung services.
  5. Shortlist one value model, one mainstream model and one premium model from the tables above.
  6. Check the exact regional specification, unlocked status, carrier bands, warranty and current price.
  7. Read independent camera and battery tests for the final two phones, making sure the tests compare similar settings.
  8. Buy only after confirming return terms and stock; prices and availability are volatile.

Verdict

For most budget-conscious Android buyers, the Pixel 10a is the best-supported starting point, provided its Tensor G4 and unchanged camera hardware are acceptable. Choose the Galaxy A57 if Samsung’s interface and a large AMOLED screen matter more than telephoto photography or top performance. Choose the iPhone 17e if you want iOS, 256GB starting storage and MagSafe at a lower entry price.

In the mainstream tier, compare the Pixel 10, OnePlus 15, iPhone 17 and Galaxy S26 by ecosystem, size and verified regional configuration rather than by a single “best” label. At the top end, the Galaxy S26 Ultra is the documented premium Android reference, but the iPhone 17 Pro Max and Pixel 10 Pro XL deserve consideration for battery or price reasons identified by current guides.

There is no confirmed S27 baseline in the available material. Buy the phone that satisfies your budget and priorities today, and recheck Samsung’s official announcement, pricing and specifications before treating any future S27 comparison as definitive.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.