Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

Short answer: Cashfree is the strongest choice based on the terms stated by the providers if your business is eligible for its introductory offer and values a larger fee-free allowance, T+1 settlement, or many payment methods. Cashfree advertises 0% MDR up to ₹20 lakh in monthly GMV through 31 March 2027, plus zero setup fee and zero AMC. Razorpay is the better alternative when you prefer its broad checkout ecosystem: its published offer is 0% platform fees for new merchants for 90 days, capped at ₹5 lakh cumulative volume. Freecharge cannot be ranked fairly beside them yet because Freecharge’s public merchant information does not provide a comparable current merchant rate card, settlement schedule, or API documentation.

The practical verdict for a small business

Choose the provider according to the constraint that matters most, not simply the headline percentage.

  • Choose Cashfree first if you are a new, eligible merchant whose monthly GMV can remain within ₹20 lakh and you want the longest and largest published 0% MDR offer in this comparison. Its published material also states T+1 default settlement, optional settlement within 15 minutes, zero setup fee, zero AMC, and more than 180 payment modes.
  • Choose Razorpay if you need a broad general-purpose checkout with cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons, and invoices, and its 90-day, ₹5 lakh introductory platform-fee offer matches your launch period.
  • Do not onboard Freecharge solely on brand familiarity. Freecharge’s public information identifies it as an Indian digital-payments service, but it does not establish a current merchant gateway price, settlement cycle, or API feature set comparable with the two published offers above. Request merchant documentation and a written commercial quote before treating it as a candidate.

These offers are not directly interchangeable. Cashfree’s statement is expressed as 0% MDR for eligible new merchants up to a monthly GMV ceiling and an end date. Razorpay’s statement is expressed as 0% platform fees for a limited number of days and a cumulative volume ceiling. Your actual cost can still include taxes, standard rates after the promotion, refunds, chargebacks, instant-settlement charges, or account-specific terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At-a-glance comparison

Criterion Cashfree Razorpay Freecharge
Published introductory pricing 0% MDR for eligible new merchants up to ₹20 lakh monthly GMV through 31 March 2027; zero setup fee and zero AMC are also stated (Cashfree Payments, 2026). 0% platform fees for new merchants for the first 90 days, up to ₹5 lakh cumulative volume (Razorpay, 2026). Comparable current merchant gateway pricing is not stated in Freecharge’s public merchant information (accessed 2026).
Default settlement T+1 is stated. The same material describes an instant-settlement option within 15 minutes; any fee or eligibility condition must be confirmed for your account. Not stated in the published pricing material. Not stated.
Payment coverage More than 180 payment modes are stated. Debit and credit cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons, and invoices are listed. Not stated in comparable merchant documentation.
API and integration evidence Cashfree’s published information establishes payment-mode breadth, but not a detailed API specification or plugin matrix. Razorpay’s published pricing page lists multiple checkout and collection products, but does not by itself establish every API, SDK, webhook, or plugin detail. Freecharge has not published comparable public API documentation.
Confidence for a like-for-like decision High for the published promotional terms; verify eligibility and post-promotion rates. High for the published introductory terms; verify charges after day 90 and after ₹5 lakh cumulative volume. Low until Freecharge supplies current merchant terms.

How to interpret the advertised charges

MDR, platform fee, and your real effective rate

Cashfree and Razorpay describe their offers using different fee terms. MDR generally refers to the merchant discount rate applied to a payment transaction, while a platform fee may describe the provider’s charge for using a payment service. Do not assume that “0%” in one column means the same thing as “0%” in another. Ask each provider for a written schedule showing the fee base, applicable payment methods, taxes, and what happens when the promotion ends.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
  • Accept contactless payments, chip cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay from anywhere, with improved connectivity, extended battery life, and enhanced security. Pay one low rate for every tap or dip.
  • No long-term commitments or contracts, no monthly fees- and with offline payments, keep taking payments for up to 24 hours.
  • Safely and securely accepts payments anywhere. Plus, get data security, 24/7 fraud prevention, and payment-dispute management at no extra cost.
  • Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.

A useful calculation is:

effective cost percentage = (gateway fees + taxes on those fees + refund fees + chargeback costs + settlement-option fees) ÷ processed GMV × 100

Run the calculation separately for the promotional period and the ordinary period after it. Include the payment-method mix: a business taking mostly UPI may have a very different bill from one taking cards, wallets, EMI, or pay-later methods. The published offer details do not provide ordinary post-promotion rates for either provider, so those figures must come from your merchant quote rather than an estimate.

Cashfree’s published offer

Cashfree states 0% MDR for eligible new merchants up to ₹20 lakh GMV per month until 31 March 2027. “Eligible,” “new,” and “GMV” are important qualifiers. Confirm whether your legal entity, website category, payment methods, transaction history, and monthly volume qualify, and ask what happens in a month that exceeds ₹20 lakh. The same published material states zero setup fee and zero annual maintenance charge (AMC), but you should still request a complete list of possible charges for refunds, disputes, international or special payment methods, and optional settlement acceleration.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Razorpay’s published offer

Razorpay advertises 0% platform fees for new merchants for the first 90 days, capped at ₹5 lakh cumulative volume. The cap is cumulative, not a monthly allowance, so a fast launch can use it quickly. Obtain written confirmation of the start date, whether the 90-day clock begins at approval or first transaction, how the ₹5 lakh threshold is measured, and the applicable rate once either limit is reached.

Rank #2
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Get set up quickly with no long-term commitments. Download the Square Point of Sale app for free, create an account, and start taking payments anywhere.
  • Run your business all in one place with the free Square Point of Sale app. Track your sales, manage inventory, accept tips, send receipts digitally, and more.
  • Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.

Freecharge’s unresolved pricing

Freecharge’s public description identifies it as a digital-payments service but does not provide a current merchant gateway rate card that can be compared with the two offers above. Treat every number you receive in a sales conversation as provisional until it appears in a merchant agreement or official pricing document. Ask specifically about MDR or platform fees by payment method, GST, minimum charges, refunds, disputes, settlement, and termination.

Settlement speed and working capital

Cashfree’s stated cycles

Cashfree publishes T+1 as its default settlement, meaning the stated default is the next day after the provider’s applicable transaction-day convention. Confirm the provider’s cut-off time, weekends and bank holidays, KYC status, reserve or risk holds, and the bank-account validation process. Cashfree also describes instant settlement within 15 minutes. The published information does not establish the price, eligibility rules, or whether every payment method qualifies, so obtain those terms before relying on it for inventory or payroll timing.

Razorpay and Freecharge

Razorpay’s published pricing material does not state a default settlement time, and Freecharge’s public merchant information does not state one either. Make settlement a contract question rather than an assumption. Ask for the normal cycle, the first-settlement timeline, daily cut-offs, holiday treatment, reserve policy, and the exact fee for any instant or early-settlement feature.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Questions that prevent cash-flow surprises

  • When does the settlement clock start: authorization, capture, or successful payment?
  • Are weekends and bank holidays counted in the stated cycle?
  • Can a new account be placed on a temporary reserve or delayed settlement?
  • What documentation is required before the first payout?
  • How are refunds, reversals, failed settlements, and chargebacks netted?
  • Is instant settlement available for your legal entity and payment methods, and what is the per-transaction or percentage fee?

Payment methods and customer reach

When Cashfree’s breadth matters

Cashfree’s published figure of more than 180 payment modes is the broadest numeric coverage claim in the material. That can reduce the need to assemble separate connectors when your customers use a mixture of UPI, cards, netbanking, wallets, EMI, or other supported methods. “180+” does not mean every mode is enabled for every merchant, so request the current method list, method-specific pricing, settlement timing, refund behavior, and geographic or category restrictions.

Rank #3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
  • With Square Terminal, you can ring up sales, accept payments, and print receipts, all with one device. Use it at the counter or ring up customers anywhere in your store.
  • Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate with no hidden fees and no long-term contracts.
  • Process chip cards in just two seconds.
  • Get your money as soon as the next business day.
  • Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.

When Razorpay’s listed products are enough

Razorpay explicitly lists debit and credit cards, UPI, netbanking, wallets, payment links, payment pages, buttons, and invoices. A small business that sells through social channels, messaging, phone orders, or simple invoices may be able to begin with links or invoices rather than building a full checkout. A website business can evaluate hosted pages, buttons, and a more integrated checkout according to its technical resources. The list confirms product categories, not every implementation detail; verify API versions, SDK languages, webhooks, test credentials, plugin support, and reporting before development.

What is missing for Freecharge

Because Freecharge has not published equivalent merchant documentation, you cannot responsibly infer Freecharge’s supported methods, recurring-payment capability, link collection, plugin availability, or reconciliation tools from its consumer-facing digital-payments identity. Request a current product sheet and test account.

Do you need a full API gateway?

Use payment links or invoices when

  • You take orders manually through phone, chat, email, or social media.
  • Your catalog is small and a hosted payment page is sufficient.
  • You want to validate demand before paying for development.
  • You need a payment request that can be reconciled to an order number without building a checkout.

Razorpay’s published product list includes payment links, payment pages, buttons, and invoices. Confirm whether the provider you choose supports the exact link expiry, partial-payment, notification, refund, and reconciliation behavior your workflow requires.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use a hosted checkout or plugin when

  • You operate an online store but do not want to maintain payment UI and compliance-sensitive flows.
  • Your platform has a supported plugin and you need basic order-status callbacks.
  • You want a faster launch while retaining automated order creation and payment confirmation.

Use APIs and webhooks when

  • Payment status must automatically unlock a digital product, reserve inventory, create a subscription record, or trigger fulfillment.
  • You need idempotency, server-side signature verification, retries, and a reconciliation job.
  • You have developers who can monitor failed callbacks and handle refunds, reversals, and disputes.

Do not select a provider solely because a pricing page mentions an API. Before coding, obtain the current API and webhook documentation, sandbox access, authentication method, supported SDKs, error codes, rate limits, signature-verification procedure, and version-deprecation policy. Neither provider’s published pricing page establishes those details.

Rank #4
Sale
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
  • Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
  • Works in conjunction with most downloadable Square point-of-sale apps on your device. Customers can pay, tip and sign directly on your device. Track payments in cash, gift cards and more. Also lets you send receipts via e-mail or text message, makes it easy to apply discounts, keeps a data and sales history log and more.
  • Accepts magstripe credit card payments, including those from Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express (fees apply).
  • App sends deposits to your bank account within 1 to 2 business days, or enjoy instant deposits (fees apply).

Decision guide by business situation

Your situation Most defensible starting point Why What to verify first
New business below ₹20 lakh monthly GMV Cashfree The published 0% MDR ceiling is ₹20 lakh per month and runs through 31 March 2027 for eligible new merchants. Eligibility, payment-method coverage, post-promotion rates, and settlement holds.
Short launch campaign below ₹5 lakh total processing Razorpay The published 0% platform-fee offer lasts 90 days and covers up to ₹5 lakh cumulative volume for new merchants. Offer start date, cumulative-volume calculation, and charges after either limit.
Need many payment modes Cashfree, subject to testing More than 180 payment modes are stated. Exact methods available to your category, method-level fees, and settlement timing.
Mostly invoices, links, or social selling Razorpay is a documented candidate Its published list includes payment links, payment pages, buttons, and invoices. Link controls, notifications, refunds, and reconciliation exports.
Considering Freecharge Pause and request documentation Freecharge’s public information does not establish comparable merchant pricing or integration terms. Official rate card, API or hosted-checkout documentation, settlement schedule, support channel, and agreement.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

A due-diligence process before you sign up

  1. Describe your payment profile. Record your expected monthly GMV, average order value, refund rate, domestic versus other customer mix, payment methods, peak days, and whether you need recurring billing or marketplace-style split payments.
  2. Separate promotional and ordinary pricing. Put the Cashfree ₹20 lakh monthly ceiling and 31 March 2027 end date, or the Razorpay 90-day and ₹5 lakh cumulative limits, into your forecast. Add the provider’s written standard rates after the offer.
  3. Request a fee schedule. Ask for MDR or platform fees by method, GST treatment, setup and AMC charges, refunds, chargebacks, failed transactions, currency conversion if relevant, and instant-settlement fees.
  4. Confirm settlement mechanics. Get the default cycle, cut-off time, bank-holiday treatment, first-payout requirements, reserves, payout limits, and dispute deductions in writing.
  5. Test the customer journey. In sandbox or a controlled low-value transaction, test success, failure, timeout, duplicate submission, refund, partial refund if supported, and delayed webhook scenarios.
  6. Test reconciliation. Export a report and match order ID, transaction ID, amount, fee, tax, settlement reference, refund, and dispute status to your accounting system.
  7. Review support and risk controls. Identify the support channel, response expectations, escalation route, KYC requirements, prohibited categories, and account-review process.
  8. Run a limited launch. Keep a second collection method available until settlement, refunds, reporting, and support have worked through a normal business cycle.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Comparing unlike fee labels

“0% MDR” and “0% platform fees” are not proof of identical economics. Compare the full invoice and the conditions attached to each offer.

Confusing monthly GMV with cumulative volume

Cashfree’s published ceiling is monthly GMV; Razorpay’s published ceiling is cumulative volume over the offer period. A business can fit under one measure and exceed the other quickly.

Budgeting promotional pricing forever

Both published offers are limited. Build your operating model with the ordinary rate that the provider confirms in writing, not only the launch incentive.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming instant settlement is free

Cashfree describes settlement within 15 minutes, but Cashfree’s published information does not state its price or universal eligibility. Treat it as an optional service until those conditions are documented.

Best Value
SumUp Plus Card Reader, Bluetooth - NFC RFID Credit Card Reader for Smartphone
  • Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate
  • No hidden fees and no long-term contracts
  • Mobile card reader that accepts payments anywhere & anytime
  • Use the free SumUp App on your smartphone or tablet to start accepting transactions
  • Simply pay 2.6% +10 per in-person transaction

Choosing a gateway before checking reconciliation

A payment that succeeds for the customer can still create accounting work if order IDs, fees, refunds, and settlement references are difficult to export. Test the report format before switching all traffic.

Ranking Freecharge without merchant evidence

A consumer digital-payments presence does not establish merchant-gateway economics or APIs. Require current documentation before making Freecharge your primary processor.

What to put in your written comparison

Create one row per provider and one column for each item below. Mark anything not stated as “not stated” rather than filling it with an assumption.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Eligibility entity and onboarding requirements.
  • Offer start date, end date, monthly or cumulative cap, and post-offer rate.
  • Fee by payment method, GST, refunds, chargebacks, failed payments, and disputes.
  • Default settlement, cut-off, holidays, reserves, and instant-settlement price.
  • Supported payment modes for your account, not only the headline total.
  • Hosted checkout, links, invoices, plugins, APIs, SDKs, webhooks, sandbox, and version support.
  • Settlement and transaction reports, reconciliation fields, refund workflow, and dispute tooling.
  • Support channels, escalation path, account manager terms, and exit procedure.

This worksheet turns a marketing comparison into a decision based on your volume, cash-flow needs, customer payment habits, and technical capacity.

Final recommendation

For most eligible new small businesses choosing only among these three based on the providers’ published terms in 2026, start with Cashfree: its published offer has the larger ₹20 lakh monthly GMV allowance, lasts through 31 March 2027, includes T+1 default settlement, and states more than 180 payment modes. Select Razorpay instead when its links, pages, buttons, invoices, and broad listed payment coverage fit your workflow better, or when your launch is comfortably inside the 90-day, ₹5 lakh cumulative introductory offer. Keep Freecharge in a verification stage until it provides current merchant pricing, settlement, and integration documentation. In every case, sign only after you have compared the ordinary post-promotion cost and confirmed how money, refunds, disputes, and reports move through your business.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Square Reader for contactless and chip (2nd Generation)
Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.; Use the, easy-to-use, and customizable POS to get started.
$47.20
Bestseller No. 2
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Square Reader for magstripe (USB-C)
Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Works with Apple devices with a Lightning connector.
$9.88
Bestseller No. 3
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Square Terminal - Credit Card Machine to Accept All Payments | Mobile POS
Process chip cards in just two seconds.; Get your money as soon as the next business day.; Use it cordlessly with the built-in battery, designed to last all day.
$298.99
SaleBestseller No. 4
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Square Reader for magstripe (with Lightning connector)
Pay one transparent rate per swipe for Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.
$9.40
Bestseller No. 5
SumUp Plus Card Reader, Bluetooth - NFC RFID Credit Card Reader for Smartphone
SumUp Plus Card Reader, Bluetooth - NFC RFID Credit Card Reader for Smartphone
Accept all major credit and debit cards and pay one low rate; No hidden fees and no long-term contracts
$54.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.