Recommended Free Tools
iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
A June 2026 photo report shows what is claimed to be an Intel LGA1954 socket, but it does not identify a motherboard maker, model, or chipset. Q970 and B960 are among five names in a separate leak about Intel’s anticipated 900-series desktop platform. That means there is no confirmed Q970 or B960 retail motherboard in the available reports—and no basis for saying the photographed board uses either chipset.
What the first look shows—and what it does not
On June 4, 2026, VideoCardz reported a photo attributed to LC Tech Leaks that was said to show an LGA1954 socket in Taipei. The report did not disclose the location beyond Taipei, or name the board vendor or model. It associates the socket with Intel’s upcoming Nova Lake-S desktop platform, but the image alone does not verify the board’s identity or final retail specifications. VideoCardz’s socket report.
The Q970 and B960 names come from a separate leak, not from identification of the photographed board. A leaked chipset table attributed to Jaykihn and reported by Tom’s Hardware and TechSpot lists five anticipated 900-series chipsets: B960, Z970, Z990, Q970, and W980. These are leak-derived names and specifications, not an Intel launch announcement or a complete set of official retail-board details. Tom’s Hardware’s report on the leaked table and TechSpot’s coverage.
What the leaked Q970 specifications suggest
Tom’s Hardware describes Q970 as a performance-mainstream desktop option with business manageability features. The leaked table lists 44 total PCIe lanes, including eight chipset PCIe 5.0 lanes and 12 chipset PCIe 4.0 lanes, plus eight SATA 3.0 ports and two processor TB4/USB4 ports. It also lists vPro/standard manageability support and no CPU, BCLK, or memory overclocking. Every figure and feature below is a reported leak, not an independently measured result or an official Intel specification. Tom’s Hardware.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
| Chipset name in leak | Reported total PCIe lanes | Reported distinction |
|---|---|---|
| B960 | 34 | No further details established here; leaked table coverage, Tom’s Hardware. |
| Z970 | 34 | No further details established here; leaked table coverage, Tom’s Hardware. |
| Q970 | 44 | Reported business manageability; no CPU, BCLK, or memory overclocking; eight chipset PCIe 5.0 lanes, 12 chipset PCIe 4.0 lanes, eight SATA 3.0 ports, and two processor TB4/USB4 ports; Jaykihn leak reported by Tom’s Hardware. |
| Z990 | 48 | Leak distinguishes it with CPU and BCLK overclocking; other values not stated here, Tom’s Hardware. |
| W980 | 48 | Other distinctions and values not stated here, Tom’s Hardware. |
The lane counts place Q970 above the reported 34-lane B960 and Z970 options and below the 48-lane Z990 and W980. That gives a rough platform-level comparison, not a guarantee of how many usable slots, drives, or ports a particular motherboard will provide: board makers determine how they implement and allocate connectivity. TechSpot also covers the leaked chipset names and distinctions: TechSpot’s report.
Q970 or B960: what a buyer can infer
The leak offers a clearer feature description for Q970 than for B960. It reports Q970’s lane total, storage and connectivity figures, and manageability support, while the available account establishes B960’s 34-lane total but not a complete specification set. It would be misleading to fill in B960’s unreported features or treat the chipset names as a final product comparison.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
For someone planning a future system, the reported Q970 profile points toward a mainstream desktop platform with business-management capability, rather than a chipset intended for CPU, BCLK, or memory overclocking. The leaked table distinguishes Z990 by CPU and BCLK overclocking, but it does not establish that every motherboard using a chipset will offer identical features, firmware controls, or port layouts. Wait for Intel and board vendors to publish specifications before choosing a board on the basis of these leaks.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →LGA1954 and compatibility with existing boards
Reports describe LGA1954 as a new socket expected to replace LGA1851 for Nova Lake-S. Do not assume an existing LGA1851 motherboard will support a Nova Lake-S processor: the reports point to a different socket, and final compatibility depends on Intel’s and motherboard vendors’ published specifications. PC Gamer also reports the leaked socket-compatibility distinction: PC Gamer’s coverage.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
A socket photograph is not a complete motherboard specification. It does not establish the final chipset, firmware support, memory requirements, cooler compatibility, power limits, or which features a retail board will expose. Those details should be checked against the exact processor and motherboard model once manufacturers publish them.
Timing: Nova Lake-S is not the same as a board launch date
TechSpot reports that Intel CEO Lip-Bu Tan confirmed Nova Lake for the second half of 2026. That is broad processor timing; it does not confirm when desktop Nova Lake-S CPUs or compatible motherboards will go on sale. VideoCardz notes that retail availability could move closer to CES 2027, so the reported socket sighting should not be read as proof of an imminent retail launch. TechSpot’s timing report and VideoCardz’s report.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
What remains unconfirmed
- The pictured board’s manufacturer, model, chipset, price, and retail availability.
- Final official specifications for Q970, B960, and the other leaked 900-series chipset names.
- Whether specific existing coolers, memory kits, or other components will work with retail LGA1954 boards.
- A confirmed retail date for Nova Lake-S processors and their motherboards.
There is no named Q970 motherboard benchmark, price, seller, or confirmed retail listing in these reports. Until Intel and motherboard vendors publish product details, the reliable conclusion is limited: LGA1954 has reportedly appeared in a socket photo, while Q970 and B960 remain names in a leaked platform lineup.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

