iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Yes. ELDEN RING Tarnished Edition is available for Nintendo Switch 2. It launched worldwide on August 28, 2026, and includes the original ELDEN RING, the Shadow of the Erdtree expansion, two new starting classes, four new armor sets, and three additional Torrent appearance options.
The important qualification is performance. The publisher delayed the Switch 2 version from 2025 to 2026 for additional performance adjustments, but the official product information reviewed does not state a frame-rate target, resolution, or measured comparison with other platforms. If smooth frame pacing or image quality is your priority, use a current post-release technical review that identifies the platform, game mode, and software build before buying.
Is Elden Ring on Switch 2?
Yes. The release is specifically for Nintendo Switch 2, not the original Nintendo Switch. Bandai Namco lists ELDEN RING Tarnished Edition for Nintendo Switch 2 and says it supports both docked and handheld play. The game is therefore a full Switch 2 title rather than an original-Switch edition that happens to run through backward compatibility.
The worldwide launch date was August 28, 2026. Bandai Namco’s release-day announcement confirmed that the edition was available on that date, so a listing described as a future release is out of date unless it refers to a later shipment or regional stock situation.
#1 Best Overall
- Read Before You Buy — No Video Output: These adapters support charging and USB 2.0 data transfer, but cannot transmit video signals. Except for standard USB webcams (which use USB data only), they are not compatible with HDMI/DisplayPort cables, video-capable USB-C hubs, or docking stations with video output.
- Convert USB-A Ports to USB-C: Designed to connect USB-C earphones, cables, flash drives, card readers, and other USB-C accessories to standard USB-A ports. Plug-and-play with no drivers or software required.
- Aluminum Alloy Housing: Built with a sturdy aluminum alloy shell that aids in heat dissipation and protects against daily wear and scratches. Designed to maintain a stable and secure connection.
- Compact & Travel-Friendly: The ultra-compact design allows the adapter to stay plugged into your device without blocking adjacent ports or adding bulk, reducing wear and tear on your original USB ports.
- 12-Month Warranty: Backed by a 12-month manufacturer warranty for peace of mind. Designed to meet strict quality control standards for reliable everyday performance.
When did Elden Ring Tarnished Edition release?
The worldwide release date was August 28, 2026. The date followed a delay announced on October 23, 2025. In that notice, the official ELDEN RING site explained that the team had decided more time was needed for performance adjustments. That history matters when you assess technical quality, but a delay is not a performance test and does not prove how the final version behaves on your console.
What comes with Elden Ring Tarnished Edition?
Tarnished Edition is the complete package described in the publisher’s announcements. It combines the base game with the major Shadow of the Erdtree expansion and adds Switch 2 edition content.
| Content | Included in Tarnished Edition | What the announcement establishes |
|---|---|---|
| ELDEN RING base game | Yes | The original game is part of the edition. |
| Shadow of the Erdtree | Yes | The expansion is included rather than requiring a separate purchase. |
| New starting classes | Two | Bandai Namco’s June 4, 2026 announcement specifies two additional classes. |
| New armor | Four sets | The same announcement specifies four new armor sets. |
| New Torrent appearances | Three options | You receive three additional looks for Torrent. |
The extra classes, armor, and Torrent looks are additions to the game package; they do not replace the original classes, equipment, or mount. The announcements do not describe these items as a separate mode or a short trial.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What is Shadow of the Erdtree?
For a buyer who has not played the expansion, its inclusion means you are buying the base ELDEN RING experience and its major paid expansion together. You do not need to budget for the expansion separately when selecting Tarnished Edition. The official material does not provide a separate Switch 2 price for the expansion, so avoid treating an unverified store breakdown as a confirmed regional price.
Rank #2
- 5-in-1 USB-C Hub: Experience comprehensive connectivity featuring a Power Delivery input, two USB-A 2.0 ports, a USB-A 3.0 port, and an HDMI port. (Note: The USB-C power delivery input port is only for connecting an external wall charger to power your laptop and cannot power peripheral devices.)
- 90W Pass-Through Charging: Achieve optimal charging with 90W pass-through power to your laptop, supported by a total input of 100W, with the hub reserving 10W for operational efficiency. (Note: Wall charger not included.)
- Quick Data Transfers: Accelerate your productivity with rapid data transfers using a high-speed 5Gbps USB 3.0 port and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 ports.
- 4K HDMI Display: Enhance your visual experience with a hub capable of delivering 4K resolution at 30Hz in both mirror and extend modes. Please note that this hub is compatible with MacBook (macOS 12 and newer), Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops equipped with DP Alt Mode and Power Delivery. Note: This device is not compatible with Linux.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (5-in-1, 4K HDMI), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
Is the same new content sold elsewhere?
Bandai Namco said the new classes, armor, and Torrent appearances are also available as the Tarnished Pack on other listed platforms. If you already own ELDEN RING and Shadow of the Erdtree on another platform, compare the cost and practical benefits of buying the complete Switch 2 edition with buying that platform’s Tarnished Pack. The available announcements do not establish current prices, upgrade rules, save-transfer behavior, or cross-progression, so check the store page for your region before assuming an upgrade is available.
How does Elden Ring play on Switch 2?
Handheld and docked modes
Nintendo and Bandai Namco describe both handheld and docked play. Handheld mode lets you play directly on the Switch 2 screen, while docked mode connects the console to a television or other display. The official pages reviewed do not publish separate resolution or frame-rate specifications for either mode.
What has not been officially specified
Do not rely on an article or store listing that presents an official numeric target unless it links to a technical statement or a measured test. The reviewed publisher and Nintendo materials do not state:
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallCrashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minute- A target frame rate or a guaranteed frame-rate floor.
- A docked or handheld resolution.
- A graphics-mode selector or named quality/performance presets.
- A technical comparison with PlayStation, Xbox, or PC versions.
Those omissions do not mean the game cannot run well. They mean the official launch information is insufficient to promise a number. A current review should identify whether it tested handheld or docked mode, which display was used, the game version and patch, and whether it measured average performance, frame-time consistency, or only gave a visual impression.
Rank #3
- Sleek 7-in-1 USB-C Hub: Features an HDMI port, two USB-A 3.0 ports, and a USB-C data port, each providing 5Gbps transfer speeds. It also includes a USB-C PD input port for charging up to 100W and dual SD and TF card slots, all in a compact design.
- Flawless 4K@60Hz Video with HDMI: Delivers exceptional clarity and smoothness with its 4K@60Hz HDMI port, making it ideal for high-definition presentations and entertainment. (Note: Only the HDMI port supports video projection; the USB-C port is for data transfer only.)
- Double Up on Efficiency: The two USB-A 3.0 ports and a USB-C port support a fast 5Gbps data rate, significantly boosting your transfer speeds and improving productivity.
- Fast and Reliable 85W Charging: Offers high-capacity, speedy charging for laptops up to 85W, so you spend less time tethered to an outlet and more time being productive.
- What You Get: Anker USB-C Hub (7-in-1), welcome guide, 18-month warranty, and our friendly customer service.
How does the performance history affect a buying decision?
The October 23, 2025 delay notice moved the release from 2025 to 2026 because the team judged that further performance adjustments required more time. Preview coverage had already made optimization part of the port’s public discussion. That makes current, post-release testing more useful than launch-date speculation.
When reading a technical review, look for evidence that can be reproduced or at least understood:
- Build and patch: A review of an early preview or pre-release build may not represent the August 28, 2026 retail version.
- Mode: Handheld and docked play can impose different rendering demands.
- Location: A quiet interior area is not a substitute for a crowded outdoor scene or a major battle.
- Measurement: Frame-time graphs and clearly described capture methods are more informative than a vague claim that the game feels smooth.
- Display and settings: Note the television or handheld screen, any in-game options, and whether the test used a launch patch.
Do not convert the delay into a guaranteed result. It establishes why the publisher postponed the game, not a final frame-rate or resolution.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Does Elden Ring on Switch 2 need Nintendo Switch Online?
Nintendo says that some modes and features require an internet connection and a paid Nintendo Switch Online membership. The requirement is therefore relevant if you intend to use the game’s online functions, but the reviewed Nintendo pages do not map the subscription requirement to every individual multiplayer activity.
Rank #4
- Dual Converters, Infinite Potential:Includes 2× USB C male to USB A female adapters and 2× USB A male to USB C female adapters. Perfect for a wide range of uses—tablets with Bluetooth keyboards, expand USB ports on macbook, and more. Two different converters for all your daily needs
- Next-Level 10Gbps & 3A Charging: No more slow 480Mbps, this usb to usb c adapter has a transfer speed of up to 10Gbps, allowing you to do more transferring in less time. This usb adapter fits both USB A and USB C charger, supporting up to 3A fast charging
- Upgraded Exquisite Craftsmanship: With an aluminum alloy housing and metal connector, the usbc to usb adapter is extremely durable and sturdy. Rigorously tested to withstand more than 10,000 times of plugging and unplugging, ensuring long-lasting performance
- Broad Compatible: The usb c to usb adapter widely supports all USB C/ USB A devices like laptops, tablets, cellphones, car chargers, and phone chargers. Such as compatible with MacBook Pro/Air 2023/2022, Thunderbolt 4/3 Devices,Apple MagSafe Watch 9/8/7/SE/Ultra, iPad Pro 2022/2021, Samsung Galaxy S23/S20/S10, and iPhone 17/16/15 Pro. Plug and play
- Please Note: To reach 10Gbps speed, keep the cable under 3.3 ft. For USB A Male to USB C adapters, try flipping the USB C connector. USB C Male to USB A adapters support bidirectional 10Gbps transfer within 3.3 ft
Nintendo’s Australian overview describes the available multiplayer structure as follows:
- Cooperative play with up to two other Tarnished.
- Invasions, in which another player can enter an active game as an opponent.
- Invited duels.
- Colosseum battles.
Before purchasing a membership solely for this game, open the current Nintendo product page for your country and check the wording for each mode. Regional terms, account requirements, and membership details can change, and the official overview does not promise that every online-related feature has the same access condition.
What works without online membership?
The official material reviewed does not provide a complete feature-by-feature offline matrix. You should not infer from the membership notice that the entire game is inaccessible without a subscription, nor should you assume every network feature is free. Confirm the current regional product information if offline-only play or online co-op is central to your decision.
Should you buy the Switch 2 edition or keep playing elsewhere?
Your decision depends more on content ownership and portability than on a confirmed technical advantage. Use this comparison to identify what still needs checking in your region.
Best Value
- 5-in-1 Connectivity: Equipped with a 4K HDMI port, a 5 Gbps USB-C data port, two 5 Gbps USB-A ports, and a USB C 100W PD-IN port. Note: The USB C 100W PD-IN port supports only charging and does not support data transfer devices such as headphones or speakers.
- Powerful Pass-Through Charging: Supports up to 85W pass-through charging so you can power up your laptop while you use the hub. Note: Pass-through charging requires a charger (not included). Note: To achieve full power for iPad, we recommend using a 45W wall charger.
- Transfer Files in Seconds: Move files to and from your laptop at speeds of up to 5 Gbps via the USB-C and USB-A data ports. Note: The USB C 5Gbps Data port does not support video output.
- HD Display: Connect to the HDMI port to stream or mirror content to an external monitor in resolutions of up to 4K@30Hz. Note: The USB-C ports do not support video output.
- What You Get: Anker 332 USB-C Hub (5-in-1), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.
| Decision factor | Nintendo Switch 2 Tarnished Edition | Another listed platform |
|---|---|---|
| Base game | Included | May already be owned or sold separately. |
| Shadow of the Erdtree | Included | May already be owned or sold separately. |
| New classes, armor, and Torrent looks | Included in the edition | Available through the Tarnished Pack, according to Bandai Namco. |
| Portability | Officially supports handheld and docked play | Depends on the platform; not established by the Switch 2 announcement. |
| Online access | Some modes/features require internet and a paid Nintendo Switch Online membership | Uses that platform’s own network requirements. |
| Current regional price | Not stated in the official material reviewed; check your local store | Not stated; compare the live listing. |
| Physical or digital format | Not verified by the announcements reviewed | Not verified; confirm the exact listing. |
| Measured frame rate and resolution | Not stated officially; seek a current technical test | Use platform-specific tests rather than assuming parity. |
If you already own ELDEN RING elsewhere
Start by listing what you own: the base game, Shadow of the Erdtree, or both. Then compare the price of the Switch 2 complete edition with the Tarnished Pack on your existing platform. The announcements do not confirm save migration, cross-save, cross-play, or a discounted Switch 2 upgrade, so treat any claim about moving progress as unverified until the relevant regional store or publisher support page states it.
If you want portable play
The Switch 2 edition has an explicit portability advantage because Nintendo and Bandai Namco describe handheld play. That is a straightforward reason to choose it if you want to play away from a television. A carrying case is optional; it is not a game requirement. The game itself does not require a special accessory beyond a compatible Switch 2 console and the normal control setup.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What do you need before buying?
Use this checklist before you place an order:
- Confirm the hardware: Make sure the listing is for Nintendo Switch 2. An original Nintendo Switch listing is not the same release.
- Confirm the edition name: Look for ELDEN RING Tarnished Edition if you want the base game, Shadow of the Erdtree, and the new Switch 2 content together.
- Check the territory: Verify the Nintendo account region, language information, seller location, and any regional restrictions shown on the current product page.
- Check format: Confirm whether the exact listing is physical or digital. The announcements reviewed do not establish the format of every retailer listing.
- Check live pricing and stock: Regional prices, taxes, discounts, and availability were not established by the launch announcements and can change after publication.
- Plan for online play: If you want co-op, invasions, duels, or Colosseum battles, budget for internet access and check whether your intended activity requires Nintendo Switch Online in your region.
- Read a current technical test: If performance is decisive, choose a review of the released build that identifies mode, patch, test conditions, and measurements.
What the official announcements do—and do not—tell you
Bandai Namco’s June 4, 2026 announcement establishes the edition’s contents and the two-class, four-armor-set, three-Torrent-option additions. Its August 28 release-day statement establishes worldwide availability and reiterates the base game and expansion bundle. Nintendo’s launch and gameplay pages establish docked and handheld play, the online-membership caveat, and the described co-op and PvP activities.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Bandai Namco also described the original game as having received more than 400 Game of the Year nominations. That is a publisher-reported nomination count, not an independently audited total, and it is context about the original game’s reception rather than a technical specification for the Switch 2 edition.
None of those official pages supplies a numeric Switch 2 frame rate, resolution, storage requirement, current regional price, retailer stock guarantee, or universal physical-versus-digital rule. Those details must come from the current regional listing or a clearly identified technical review.
Bottom line: is Elden Ring Tarnished Edition worth buying on Switch 2?
Buy it if you want the complete ELDEN RING package in a version designed for Switch 2, especially if handheld play is important. The edition includes the base game, Shadow of the Erdtree, two new classes, four armor sets, and three Torrent appearances, and it is already available worldwide.
Pause and verify before buying if you already own the game elsewhere, need a discounted upgrade, or care about a specific frame-rate or resolution target. The Tarnished Pack may be the relevant comparison for existing owners, while current technical reviews—not the historical delay alone—should determine whether the released Switch 2 build meets your performance expectations.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

