iTechGuides is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Short answer: You create one main Pawn who travels with your Arisen, and you can add up to two Pawns hired through the network, for a party of four including your character. Pawn temperament changes how that companion speaks and behaves. Capcom has announced a June 2026 update adding an Eternal Ferrystone and more Portcrystals, plus an August 2026 update adding save slots. However, the available official announcement does not specify the detailed fast-travel rules, difficulty options, or save procedures. Those mechanics must be checked against the current manual and the update notes for your platform rather than guessed from older guides.
Dragon’s Dogma 2 FAQ at a glance
| Question | Confirmed information | Still requires a current version check |
|---|---|---|
| How do Pawns work? | You create one main Pawn who always accompanies the Arisen. Up to two additional Pawns can be hired from other players through the network. | Specific recruitment locations, fees, dismissal rules, and every available command are not established by the cited official material. |
| How many Pawns can I have? | One main Pawn plus up to two network Pawns; with the Arisen, the active party can contain up to four characters. | None of the basic party-size facts are ambiguous. |
| How does fast travel work? | Capcom’s June 2026 update description names an Eternal Ferrystone and additional Portcrystals. | Acquisition, destinations, costs, restrictions, and platform coverage are not stated in that announcement. |
| Can I change difficulty? | The available official material does not confirm a difficulty menu, modes, or a switchable setting. | Check the current in-game options and edition-specific documentation. |
| How do saves work? | Capcom’s August 2026 update description says save slots are added. | The number of slots, autosave and manual-save behavior, loading rules, and platform scope are not stated. |
How do Pawns work in Dragon’s Dogma 2?
Pawns are the companion characters that make up the Arisen’s party. Capcom’s official descriptions separate your main Pawn from support Pawns obtained through the network. You create and customize the main Pawn, and that character accompanies the Arisen throughout the game. The other available party members are Pawns associated with other players and hired through the network.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Capcom Dragon's Dogma 2 Standard Anglais Playstation 5 [video game] | $24.49 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Dragon's Dogma 2 - XBX | $25.50 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Dragon's Dogma 2 - PS5 | $37.98 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 |
|
Dragons Dogma 2: Dark Arisen - Nintendo Switch 2 | $49.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 |
|
Dragons Dogma 2: Dark Arisen - PlayStation 5 | $49.99 | Buy on Amazon |
This structure matters because the main Pawn is not simply a temporary hire. It is the companion you build around your own character: its appearance and other player choices are customized by you, while its temperament influences how it speaks and conducts itself. Network Pawns let you fill out the rest of the party with companions created by other players.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Main Pawn
Your main Pawn is the one player-created companion that always travels with the Arisen. Capcom’s store descriptions identify the Arisen and main Pawn as the core of the party. The official manual excerpt also explains that a Pawn’s temperament affects speech and behavior, so the personality choice has an observable effect rather than being only a cosmetic label.
#1 Best Overall
- A Grand Adventure – Dragon’s Dogma 2 begins in a subterranean jail, where the Dragon’s voice echoes in the fog of lost memories. With their heart taken by the Dragon, the Arisen is set on a path to slay that symbol of the world’s destruction as it soars through the sky on massive wings, breathing flames that scorch everything in its path. With the Arisen’s future veiled in mystery, what challenges and triumphs await on the path to their destiny?
- Single-Player Cooperation – Up to three mysterious otherworldly beings, known as Pawns, accompany the Arisen throughout their journey. Pawns create the feeling of a cooperative gameplay experience by offering unique characteristics, skills, and knowledge gained from their experiences with other Arisen.
- Made with RE ENGINE – Capcom’s advanced RE ENGINE produces vividly detailed, high fidelity graphics combined with immersive physics and complex and reactive character AI to create a setting where decisions, and their consequences, come to life.
Support Pawns from the network
Capcom says you can hire up to two additional Pawns from other players through the network. These companions are the way you complete the party beyond the Arisen and main Pawn. Because they come from other players, their appearance, equipment, and behavioral profile may differ from the choices you made for your own character.
What temperament changes
The accessible Capcom manual excerpt describes four Pawn temperaments with different tendencies. Its examples range from support-minded or cautious conduct to exploratory or aggressive behavior. In practical terms, temperament is a behavioral preference that can affect a Pawn’s speech and the way it approaches situations. The excerpt does not establish that a temperament guarantees a particular action every time, so treat the descriptions as tendencies rather than fixed scripts.
- Support-oriented tendencies: The manual’s examples include behavior focused on helping allies.
- Cautious tendencies: Some temperaments are described as more careful in how they act.
- Exploratory tendencies: Another behavioral pattern emphasizes investigating or ranging through the environment.
- Aggressive tendencies: The remaining example favors a more forceful approach.
When choosing your main Pawn, match the temperament description to the role you want that companion to emphasize, but do not assume the label replaces your own tactical decisions. The official excerpt establishes differences in speech and conduct; it does not publish a complete command-by-command behavior table.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #2
- A Grand Adventure – Dragon’s Dogma 2 begins in a subterranean jail, where the Dragon’s voice echoes in the fog of lost memories.
- Single-Player Cooperation – Up to three mysterious otherworldly beings, known as Pawns, accompany the Arisen throughout their journey.
- Made with RE ENGINE – Capcom’s advanced RE ENGINE produces vividly detailed, high fidelity graphics combined with immersive physics and complex and reactive character AI to create a setting where decisions, and their consequences, come to life.
- Pre-order Bonus: Superior Weapons Quartet
How many Pawns can I have?
The confirmed party limit is one main Pawn plus up to two additional network-hired Pawns. Add the Arisen and the active party can contain up to four characters. This is the number stated in Capcom’s official product descriptions and is the clearest answer to “How many Pawns can I have?”
| Party position | How it is obtained | Maximum |
|---|---|---|
| Arisen | Your player character | One |
| Main Pawn | Created and customized by you | One |
| Additional Pawns | Hired from other players through the network | Two |
| Total active party | Arisen plus all available Pawn positions | Four characters |
The sources used here do not establish a larger permanent roster, a way to exceed four active characters, or detailed rules for swapping individual support Pawns. Do not rely on a guide that claims a different party size unless it is tied to the current version of the game.
How does fast travel work?
Capcom’s announcement for the 2026 update identifies two fast-travel-related items: an Eternal Ferrystone and additional Portcrystals in the June update. That confirms these items are part of the announced update content. It does not provide enough information to publish a complete instruction such as where to obtain either item, which destinations are valid, whether a cost is charged, or whether every platform receives the same behavior.
Rank #3
- A Grand Adventure – Dragon’s Dogma 2 begins in a subterranean jail, where the Dragon’s voice echoes in the fog of lost memories.
- Single-Player Cooperation – Up to three mysterious otherworldly beings, known as Pawns, accompany the Arisen throughout their journey.
- Made with RE ENGINE – Capcom’s advanced RE ENGINE produces vividly detailed, high fidelity graphics combined with immersive physics and complex and reactive character AI to create a setting where decisions, and their consequences, come to life.
- Pre-order Bonus: Superior Weapons Quartet
What the June update announcement establishes
- An Eternal Ferrystone is named as a June 2026 update addition.
- More Portcrystals are named in the same update description.
- The announcement does not state the number of Portcrystals, their exact locations, or their placement rules.
- It does not specify the Ferrystone’s acquisition method, usage interface, destination restrictions, cooldowns, or charges.
- The snippet does not establish full platform-by-platform or edition-by-edition scope for those changes.
How to verify fast travel on your copy
- Confirm the game’s installed version and platform-specific update history.
- Read the current in-game descriptions for the Eternal Ferrystone and each Portcrystal; use those descriptions as the authority for requirements and destinations.
- Check the current official manual or patch notes for any restrictions that the item description does not explain.
- Test the travel command only after confirming the destination and any displayed cost, so you do not assume that every Portcrystal or Ferrystone behaves identically.
Until those current details are documented, statements such as “fast travel is free,” “every city is available,” or “the Ferrystone is unlimited” would be speculation. Older guides may describe an earlier ruleset and should not override the item text and update notes shipped with your version.
Can I change the difficulty?
The official material available for this FAQ does not confirm a difficulty menu, named difficulty modes, or a switchable difficulty setting. That means there is no supported basis here for telling you to open a particular menu, select a mode, or expect a change to enemy health, damage, or rewards.
What to check before following a difficulty guide
- Open the game’s current Options or System menus and look for a clearly labeled difficulty setting.
- Check the edition and installed update number, because a later release or platform build may add options that an earlier manual did not describe.
- Read the official manual or patch notes for any statement about changing difficulty during an existing playthrough.
- Do not treat a community description of “hard,” “story,” or similar labels as an official mode unless the same label appears in your current game or Capcom’s documentation.
If no setting is present, the game may be using progression, equipment, party composition, or other systems rather than a conventional difficulty selector. That possibility is not confirmation of a specific design; it is why the exact current interface must be checked instead of inferred.
Rank #4
- Relic Expedition Cycle – Throughout their journey in the kingdom of Norgan, the Arisen must unearth and appraise forgotten relics to unlock powerful new weapons and skills.
- New Dungeon Challenges – The 12 freshly uncovered Lost Rites dungeons house trials designed by the Pathfinder to sharpen the Arisen’s skills and recover rare equipment once held by past Arisen that now lay dormant.
- Deeper Character Customization – New tattoo and hair options have been added to the already robust character creation tool in Dragon’s Dogma 2 so Arisen and Pawns can have even deeper personalization.
- Now on Nintendo Switch 2 – Dragon’s Dogma 2: Dark Arisen brings the classic fantasy world of Dragon’s Dogma 2 and the Dark Arisen Expansion to the Nintendo Switch 2 for the first time.
- Pre-order Bonuses – The Norgan Fashion Set - Northern Attire will be available as a pre-order bonus, which can be accessed via in-game storage at launch.
How do saves and save slots work?
Capcom’s announcement says an August 2026 update adds save slots. This is the confirmed change. The announcement does not state how many slots are provided or explain the underlying save rules.
Details that remain unspecified
- Whether the game uses autosaves, manual saves, or both.
- Whether resting at an inn or another location creates a distinct save state.
- How many additional slots the August update adds.
- Whether loading a previous slot is available from the title screen, an in-game menu, or both.
- How the feature behaves across PS5, Xbox Series X|S, PC, and Nintendo Switch 2.
- Whether save-slot behavior differs by edition, region, or update level.
Safe way to confirm your save controls
- Record the platform, edition, and installed patch number shown by your system or game launcher.
- Open the current Load, Save, or System menu and note the labels exactly as displayed.
- Read every confirmation prompt before overwriting a slot; do not assume that a similarly named command creates a separate file.
- After creating a new slot, return to the load screen and verify that it appears before closing the game.
- Keep the game updated and consult the platform-specific Capcom notes if a slot is missing or a load action behaves differently from the on-screen instructions.
Do not import assumptions from another role-playing game about “inn saves,” a single rolling autosave, or unlimited manual files. None of those rules is established by the announcement cited here.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteWhich Dragon’s Dogma 2 version should you consider?
Capcom announced Dragon’s Dogma 2: Dark Arisen for PS5, Xbox Series X|S, PC, and Nintendo Switch 2, with a stated release date of October 9, 2026. The announcement describes the package as including the base game and expansion content. Because product availability and formats can vary by country, check the product page for your region and platform before purchasing.
Best Value
- Relic Expedition Cycle – Throughout their journey in the kingdom of Norgan, the Arisen must unearth and appraise forgotten relics to unlock powerful new weapons and skills.
- New Dungeon Challenges – The 12 freshly uncovered Lost Rites dungeons house trials designed by the Pathfinder to sharpen the Arisen’s skills and recover rare equipment once held by past Arisen that now lay dormant.
- Deeper Character Customization – New tattoo and hair options have been added to the already robust character creation tool in Dragon’s Dogma 2 so Arisen and Pawns can have even deeper personalization.
- Pre-order Bonuses – The Norgan Fashion Set - Northern Attire will be available as a pre-order bonus, which can be accessed via in-game storage at launch.
| Platform | What Capcom’s announcement identifies | What you should verify locally |
|---|---|---|
| PlayStation 5 | Listed as a Dark Arisen platform; bundle includes base game and expansion content. | Regional release listing, edition name, update status, and physical or digital format. |
| Xbox Series X|S | Listed as a Dark Arisen platform; bundle includes base game and expansion content. | Regional listing, edition name, update status, and format. |
| PC | Listed as a Dark Arisen platform; the original game is also described by Capcom as a Steam product. | Store region, system requirements, edition contents, and installed update. |
| Nintendo Switch 2 | Listed as a Dark Arisen platform; bundle includes base game and expansion content. | Regional listing, edition name, update status, and format. |
The announcement establishes the platform list and bundle contents, but it does not establish current retailer stock, physical packaging, regional pricing, or the exact format offered in every market. Match any purchase to your own platform and region rather than relying on a generic listing.
A practical pre-play checklist
- Create or confirm your main Pawn and review its temperament description.
- Remember the party limit: Arisen, main Pawn, and up to two network Pawns.
- Install the current update for your platform before relying on information about the Eternal Ferrystone, Portcrystals, or save slots.
- Read item descriptions and menu labels in your own build instead of assuming older fast-travel rules.
- Check whether a difficulty setting is actually present before following instructions that name one.
- Verify a newly created save slot from the load screen before quitting.
- For Dark Arisen, confirm that the listing is for your platform and region and that it includes the base game and expansion content described by Capcom.
What is confirmed—and what is not
The reliable foundation is straightforward: your main Pawn is a player-created companion who remains with the Arisen; up to two other players’ Pawns can join through the network; Pawn temperament affects speech and conduct; and the maximum active party is four including the Arisen. Capcom’s 2026 announcement adds specific update context—an Eternal Ferrystone and more Portcrystals in June, followed by save slots in August—and names the Dark Arisen platforms and bundle contents.
The same announcement does not settle the practical questions many players ask next: exact fast-travel procedures, a difficulty selector, autosave and manual-save behavior, the number of slots, or the platform-by-platform scope of those changes. For those points, the current manual, in-game descriptions, and patch notes for your edition are the authoritative checks. Treat any more detailed rule as unconfirmed unless those materials state it directly.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

